• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

#@&%*! Wind

Tdubya

Wow, wind really makes things so much more difficult out there. I started playing yesterday in 5-10mph winds. By the time we reached the 9th hole the wind was whipping at about 25-30mph with gusts up to 40-50. I tried to hyzer around a tree on the 18th hole and the wind picked up the disc 30 feet into the air, and took it 100 feet behind me. It's difficult enough on a course like Harry Myers http://www.dgcoursereview.com/course.php?id=1347 on your first trip there in perfect conditions.

I'm curious how extreme wind conditions like this affect pro scores during a tourny. If the pros score 8-10 below in ideal conditions what is a typical score with crazy wind conditions.

Without wind, this game would be too easy. Think of playing golf with a bunch of bunkers...Wind and trees are our bunkers.

Playing in fast wind (especailly gusty) is difficult, but what will set you apart from the rest is getting out on those windy days and learning how to play it well.... and sometimes to your advantage. I make it a point to try and get out and throw putts/ layups on those windy days and I can definitely see eventually getting to the point that wind is only a minor factor.

Play conservatively and watch everybody else fall apart around you.

Come to West Texas. 20 mph is calm here. I think wind helps with disc/shot selection a lot. I play better when it's windy. Shot -6 (best at this course for me) yesterday in 30 mph sustained winds with 40-50 mph gusts. Really looking forward to the GBO in Kansas, I know it's gonna be windy as heck.