Rockford, IL

Anna Page Park - West

3.735(based on 35 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Anna Page Park - West reviews

Filter
23 0
EspressoPatronum
Gold level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 18.6 years 224 played 215 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Another Great Anna Page Course

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 28, 2023 Played the course:once

Pros:

- concrete tees for every hole
- gray (white) and blue color coded dual baskets for each hole
- quality full color tee signs with maps
- next tee indicators on baskets are very helpful
- shared park amenities include some picnic tables, garbage cans, port o potties, and decent amount of parking
- solid natural beauty with a lot of mature trees and some respectable elevation change
- clean, well maintained park
- no notable safety hazards

Cons:

- perhaps a bit of a long course for some people, but the short baskets help with this
- a bit more elevation change/hole diversity could be nice

Other Thoughts:

Anna Page West was the first of the 3 courses I played, and did not disappoint. As with the other 2 courses, the parks are in beautiful shape and offer great disc golf. Most of my cons are nit picks; there's not much to dislike about this course. While it may not have the true wow factor of a 4.5-5 course, all of the Anna Page courses are solid and enjoyable.

I played to the short (gray) baskets here, and the course still felt pretty long, although the length isn't anything out of the ordinary. I actually think I felt like the East course was more wooded, even though it plays through a lot of wide open areas and just has holes starting/ending in the woods. The West course is a different type of wooded - widely dispersed, mature trees provide lots of obstacles, but it's not the dense wooded you see on the South course and to a lesser extent, the East. The challenge is definitely there, and true noodle arms may struggle a bit.

While the South course is my favorite, I enjoyed this one a lot as well. Perhaps some water hazards or more elevation change would be nice, but the course designers used this piece of land very nicely. The tees, baskets, signs, and navigation are all great, and with areas of the park largely dedicated to disc golf, there isn't much in the way of safety/interference concerns.

Time to play this course was a pretty typical 1:30 for me solo, although you can probably do it a bit faster; this was not my first course of the day. The longer baskets add some additional challenge/distance. I prefer dual baskets to dual tees, as I feel like that add a higher degree of challenge/uniqueness to the course on average.

Overall, Anna Page is definitely worth a visit and I highly recommend trying to play all 3 courses when you are there, as they are all different. It does make for a long day - I think I played a personal high of 81 holes on this day - so it can be good to make a day trip of it if you aren't local. Downtown Rockford has some decent food and coffee options if needed.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
17 0
SneakyJedi
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.7 years 143 played 83 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Great Updates at Anna Page West

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 5, 2022 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

- Every hole has at least two pads or two pins, some have both

- Great mix of fairway types: open prairie, park style with large mature trees, tight wooded lines

- Rolling elevation is used well

- Part of a complex with three quality courses

Cons:

- Many locations of tall grass or thick rough can make finding discs off the fairway difficult

- Navigation is occasionally challenging, especially with some holes having new pad or basket locations that are not yet reflected on tee signs

- Older concrete tee pads can get quite slippery when wet, and a few are sloped up or down

- Permanent tee signs still in development.

Other Thoughts:

West is the longest and most varied course at Anna Page Park, and probably my favorite of the three. Many types of fairways are represented: the majority are park style with large, mature trees defining lines but there is a healthy smattering of more tightly wooded holes and a stretch of long, open prairie holes with baskets tucked into the woods at the end. Rolling hills are used well and there is a sneaky amount of elevation throughout the course. There is a good amount of shop shaping required while still allowing for multiple types of shots to be thrown off of many tees. Left, right, straight and flexing shots are all required to shoot well here, and having 375' plus of power is preferable for the Blue layout.

There have been some recent design updates that included making Hole 11 a great risk-reward par 4 with abundant OB and three landing zones carved out of the tall grass. The new Blue Hole 6 is one of my favorite and more picturesque holes on the complex, playing from the open down a slight hill into a wide corridor of large trees surrounding the basket. There are a handful of additional updates those who play the course more regularly will be familiar with, but it is clear that a lot of great work has gone into Anna Page Park by the locals recently. There are still several areas of thick rough or tall grass that can make finding errant shots difficult.

Permanent signage is still in progress, there were many good quality but temporary signs in place for a recent tournament, hopefully they remain in place until all permanent signs are updated. The baskets are a mix of DISCatcher 28s (long) and MVP Black Holes (short). At the time of my last round many holes had the baskets stacked at one location for a tournament instead of multiple pin positions, not sure how long they will remain like that. Concrete tee pads are mostly in good shape, but a few are getting a bit worn and are quite slippery when wet. A few were also sloped a bit up or down. In particular I remember 11's downward sloping pad not being ideal for the long drive required. On site restrooms at the parking lot and a few porta-potties scattered throughout the courses add to the amenities.

There are a few areas where navigation can be confusing the first time out. Head to the left after completing both Holes 2 and 3 (going right will take you to Holes 8 and 5 respectively). Next tee signs would certainly help here and at a few other locations. Take a photo of the map before your first round to avoid confusion.

This is a great course on an excellent complex dedicated mostly to disc golf. The multiple layouts make this accessible to many skill levels, tho beginner players may struggle at times. I find the Lemon Lake Complex in Indiana to be an interesting "nearby" comparison. While Lemon Lake has suffered recently due to loss of trees and course redesigns that fail to live up to the originals, Anna Page has improved with excellent course maintenance and design updates. Gold/Silver at Lemon Lake is still probably the best course among the two complexes, but overall I think Anna Page has more to offer. Living about equal distances from the two, Anna Page will likely see more of my playing time moving forward. This is a course and complex worth traveling a couple hours to if you are in the central midwest, if not quite a "disc golf destination".
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 0
emflan11
Experience: 6.1 years 1 played 1 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Great Course in Rockford! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 21, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

My husband and I are beginner to intermediate disc golfers. The west course was a bit advanced for us but we still had a great time and will definitely be back! The signage made finding the baskets and tees super easy and there were poles in the prairie grass to help locate lost discs.

Cons:

We had to do some searching through prairie grass and trees for discs, but that's more our fault than the course :)

Other Thoughts:

I grew up in Rockford and had no idea such a fun course was out there! Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 2
Nussbuss
Experience: 3 played 3 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Nice challenging course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 12, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

I liked the layout of this course. It definitely demanded a little more distance on some holes, yet also required some finesse and control on more wooded shots and guarded greens that would punish an inaccurate or overthrown approach.

Baskets were in good shape (Mach 3's). Multiple baskets and teepads that are marked well (Pay attention to the poker chips on teesigns).

Lots of tees had picnic tables, which are appreciated. Some were spotted with graffiti.

Cons:

A few more trash cans would be nice, but the course wasn't littered by trash and cans.

Other Thoughts:

Overall great course! Multiple baskets/tees to mix things up, as well as two other courses on site! Great place for a day of golf!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 3
xtinox
Experience: 3 played 3 reviews
4.50 star(s)

absolutely beautiful 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 22, 2017 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Probably my favorite course of the three at Anna Page. The mature trees add to the scenery as well as add some challenge to the course as well.

Cons:

Would be nice to have baskets marked on the signs to determine which basket is in play like on the east course.

Other Thoughts:

Just glad to have a place like this in Rockford. Keep up the great work!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 2
bearmax
Experience: 34.6 years 4 played 4 reviews
3.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Feb 16, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

Beginner friendly course with scattered trees. Some long fairways for those who llke to throw long & straight. New signs were installed last fall for easier navigation. The open fairways are cut close with long grass defining the borders.

Cons:

There are some flow issues that need to be addressed. Some poison ivy around the wooded areas.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
The Rake
Experience: 3 played 3 reviews
4.00 star(s)

My favorite of the 3 at Anna Page 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 26, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

Challenging course for beginners, but not punishing. Challenging enough for more experienced players.
Good variety on mildly sloping terrain.
Not heavily wooded, but very good use of the trees and bushes in place. Driving lanes are nicely defined.
Concrete tee pads.
Front 9 is the best consecutive series of holes at the Page. Fair shots for par at each one, advanced players are firing for birdies.
The back 9 has 3 open field air-it-out holes for the big guns.
Equally enjoyable and fair for RHBH and LHBH throwers.
What little elevation is here is put to good use.

Cons:

The back 9 is a little less aesthetically pleasing. The open field holes don't have a lot of definition.
The baskets are old, worn out and ugly. They really need something fresh and with a little color.

Other Thoughts:

Of all the courses in the Rockford region, this is the one I enjoy the most. Each hole is like an old friend. I learned how to play disc golf here and the course continues to help develop my game every year.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
Spike Hyzer 23
Experience: 30.6 years 92 played 87 reviews
3.50 star(s)

More to love about Rockford 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 25, 2015 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

I found it hard to rate this course, as I do still prefer the original because it is more technical.
The first 4 holes are lined with mature trees, have some slope and a little bit of elevation. They are highly technical and even the modest arm can get a deuce attempt (not that it's easy).
The 7th is out of range for the average arm, but it is a beautiful hole with a perfect number. The 8th is a tremendous technical hole just under 300 that golfers of any distance will be pleased to birdie. The 14th is another great technical hole. The 15th is somewhat similar to 5 and 6, but at least a birdie is possible if you can get to the protected green.

The 17th is the signature hole, a marvel of moderate mature trees, elevation change going down and then up, and slope that seems to go both ways at different times. It's in the very reachable--maybe even ace run--range, but it's a difficult shot and rewards accuracy. The 18th is even more technical, almost too much so, but it's really a fun hole to take a rip at.

Cons:

The 5th and 6th are in that reachable range, but they can't really be reached by the 300' thrower and are a bit bland.The 16th is similar, though slightly shorter, and can yield a birdie because the green isn't that guarded (though the fairway is somewhat tight, it's not that hard to navigate).

The course gets a little boring and way too long starting with the 9th hole and through to the 13th (only the 11th is cool, with an insidious low tunnel created by only one branch in front of the tee)

Other Thoughts:

It's great to have two tracks in one place and well worth the trip!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
0 0
prerube
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 16.7 years 274 played 235 reviews
3.50 star(s)

This is where the money ran out. 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 2, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

Again, its nice that there are 2 other courses to play without driving.

It was being sprayed and mowed while I was playing, so maintenance was not an issue.

More opportunities to use your drivers, but the course is much more open with a few trees as obstacles. The flow got a little confusing in the back, but I was able to find all of the baskets and tee pads with out a map.

Nice tee pads.

Cons:

The signs were plywood and sharpie, but they get the job done. This makes this course look like the step child of Anna Park who gets neglected for it's sibling. Anna South or Anna East.

Its a standard Par 3 course. Scoring separation will come more from players screwing up, than making great shots.

Other Thoughts:

The longer bombers will like this course more than the precision of Anna South.
While I feel Anna South was a better course, the two courses will receive the same rating because of how well Anna West was maintained compared to Anna South.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
wolfhaley
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 19.8 years 969 played 542 reviews
3.00 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 1, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

This course is the longest of the 3 courses on site. This course is sparsely wooded for the most part with some basically wide open bomber holes mixed in. The baskets are older Mach 2's that were in pretty decent shape and caught ok. The tees were all nicely sized and level and grippy enough. The flow of the course was pretty easy to follow. There's a good amount of elevation change all throughout this course too. This really adds to this course. If this course was flat it wouldn't be nearly as good. The tee signs were large pieces of plywood with the hole info etched into them. These contain a basic hole diagram, all pin locations, distances and a next tee arrow which is always great to have for first time discers at a course like we were. The course is permanent and there's restrooms and other park activities here too. It's also free which is nuts for having this many courses. There is a good mix of left, right and straight shots on this course just like the other 2. Very nice. The course was well mowed and surprisingly clean for what I assume is a pretty heavily used course.

Cons:

The super long wide open holes were really boring compared to the wooded holes and just not exciting at all. Navigation was a little tricky in a couple spots, though nothing major. The tee signs leave something to be desired as far as looks. They serve their purpose but are pretty unsightly looking. Many of the holes feel similar, not really a signature hole here. The baskets are all in a little rough shape, they catch alright still, but who knows in few years from now.

Other Thoughts:

This combined with the other 2 courses on site makes for a great day of disc golf. It's a cool place, having 3 full 18 hole courses in one park. It took us (2 people) around 4 hours to play all 3 on a non busy day. So don't think this is some easy walk in the park, It's a challenging set up.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
MidwestZest
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 23.7 years 103 played 72 reviews
3.00 star(s)

The West Side 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 3, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Sprawling park setting with large mature trees as the main obstacles.
- Great location with 2 other courses. Ample parking, bathroom/shelter/playground facilities.
- Good concrete tee pads throughout the course.
- Baskets are fine, but older.
- Multiple pins on most holes. Doubt they're changed very often though, from the upkeep of the rest of the course.
- A variety of hole types, ranging from wide open and long to shorter.
- In general, some tight gaps that need to be hit from quite a few of the tees.
- Nice, rolling elevation on this course, used on quite a few holes. Very nice.
- #6 - Liked this pin placement, as the drive is in the open, but you need the shot to land on a certain side of a long row of trees that are guarding the pin. Very nice, obvious addition to this hole.
- #7 - I like this blind pin placement, even though I had to run up to see where the basket was. You feel like you need to throw a hearty 'S' shaped drive to get through the gap, but in fact the gap is 250 or 300' out there, so there's really no need. Just hit a landing zone. Nice hole shape.
- #15 - A nice L to R hole that curves all the way to the pin. Requires a strong RHFH or a huge, accurate RHBH anny.
- #17 - Narrow gaps to hit on a shorter, uphill hole. Accuracy is key.

Cons:

- Pretty terrible signage. At least there's something, but the signs are plywood with crude pictograms wood-burned in. Most have the multiple pins listed with distances. There was also a bolt to indicate pin position in some signs but missing in many.
- Navigation wasn't always the easiest. Definitely needed the map in order to find my way in a couple places. (7-8, 10-11). Also used a map to decide which pin placement was in multiple times.
- I was not a huge fan of 10, 12, and 13. One, or maybe even two of these types of hole (if separated from each other on the course) are fine, but these are long holes for the sole purpose of being long. If you were looking for scoring spread between 300' driving players and 450' driving players, I guess you got it. No obstacles whatsoever on these holes. I understand everyone's preferences are different, but it felt boring to me.

Other Thoughts:

- This course is just obviously pretty well neglected. I played this course first of the three, and I'm glad I did. I wasn't overly impressed, and I can only imagine how unimpressed I would have been if I had played it after one of the other courses.
- All sorts of potential here with better maps and navigation, but in the end this course is just for big arms, without a lot of technical requirements.
- Judging from previous reviews, I feel like the course has been neglected over the past few years, and has suffered. I was unfortunately disappointed with the course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 5
buggzbrown
Experience: 14.7 years 3 played 3 reviews
3.00 star(s)

a close second 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 5, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

-lots of technical shots but also a few holes to just launch off the pad

-nice sized course definitely will get some excersise

-nice park lots of shade

Cons:

- the Signs are terrible.. i appreciate that someone took the time to hand make them but the lines are not very helpful and the distances are all way off

-BUSY the whole time we were there lots of waiting or letting people play through

- a couple holes next to road almost got my car hit while driving

Other Thoughts:

Pretty decent course overall a fun time but i prefer the eastern course to this one
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 1
LeddZepp8687
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 12.8 years 115 played 19 reviews
3.50 star(s)

West side 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Nov 10, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Concrete pads

-Nice rolling elevation that is very well utilized

-Plenty of huge trees that come into play

-Good mix-up of distances, Some shorter holes and some real bombers.

-There is a nice quiet feel to this course and it had a lot less traffic than the east course which made for a casual, relaxed round of DG.

-There are a bunch of nicely tucked away baskets that add to challenge.

-Good "fun factor" to this course, my friend and I liked this course more than it's eastern counterpart.

-Navigation is pretty straightforward

-Even though most holes are relatively open, an off target throw can be punishing if you end up in the brush that surrounds the fairways and baskets. This adds to the reward of a well thrown shot.

-Good variety of shot lines, I found myself throwing all sorts of different shots from hole to hole.

-Not a whole lot of fairway overlap but some overlap is evident on a few holes.

Cons:

-Despite the fact that there are signs there were still a few holes we had to walk out to fully survey before throwing. This is probably being picky, It really doesn't bother me but to some this could get old.

Other Thoughts:

Not a whole lot of cons to this course, I really liked how it played. It has some well guarded baskets in spots and some other holes where you can just grip and rip. This keeps things interesting and never boring.

This course when played with the east course is a good time, Both offer something very different. This course is a little less forgiving in regard to the east course but it still has a high demand for on target throws which makes it fun but by no means overly easy.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
notapro
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 20.6 years 568 played 281 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Intermediate 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 25, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Course is set in a large, hilly, and wooded park that has lots of room. Aside from a pavilion and some other random stuff, it is pretty clear for disc golf. A few spots by the road at worst.
- About half of the holes are set in a hilly, wooded section that is chock full of tall trees. Good variety of lines here, a few left and right, and a bunch straight ahead. It's pretty tight in spots; not many places to find a local route. The elevation changes here are very prominent, with some uphills, downhills, valley shots, and some sloped greens.
- The other half is more out in the open, with many areas of deep, thick rough to contend with. Kicks off right with a long RHBH anny on #6 and a long uphill hyzer into the forest on #7. Long uphills and downhills out here, and lines of varying difficulty. Usually a tough finish, after some long driving.
- A good deal of challenge in many spots due to protected or tucked away baskets, in both the open and wooded spots. Shot placement can be very important, especially on the longer ones, to get a clear look at the pin.
- Wide range of hole lengths, with some shorter wooded shots (not that short), and some absolute bomber shots with strategy involved. Both uphill and downhill to add challenge and fun on the longer ones too.
- Great pads, signage, and baskets. Signs showed correct pin placement, which was a huge bonus. Flow was good, went forest-open-forest.

Cons:

- While the terrain is awesome for discing, it is pretty much evenly divided between the two sides. This means that there is basically only two types of holes here. The shots themselves are only somewhat similar, but the feel remains constant.
- No water, the only real hazards are some thick patches of rough/forest.

Other Thoughts:

- Not many cons here! I thoroughly enjoyed this course, very few easy/throwaway holes and lots of different challenges. Holes of varying difficulty, from fun to tight to tough to brutal. A lot of open air, but the elevation still keeps it fresh, and it's well balanced with some tough pin placements. I would think everyone would enjoy this one, if ya don't mind a little length.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
chillis
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 23.7 years 103 played 28 reviews
4.00 star(s)

What a round...! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 30, 2011 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

-Fantastic difficulty. First set of holes winding through the large trees, with the next 4 or 5 that area wide open demanding distance and accuracy to par. These sections are separated by a nasty & magnificent hole #7.
-Beautiful, mature trees all around, provides lots of shade and dynamic lighting effects when you're traversing the area.
-Elevation change, and using the ravines to supplement the course layout is evident! Most, if not all of the wooded holes have good elevation change.
-Good variety throughout the course. Some of the shots in the wooded areas seem similar, where you're beaming 350+ footers toward the pin. These holes still provide a challenge and are very enjoyable.
-More testament to the variety: I used all but one disc in my tourney bag on this course. (Sure, I would've made do with 8-10 discs)
-More shade on the West side than East (well, at least the local we played with made this assertion).
-Love the 750ft and 600+. Great challenge to par.

Cons:

-Some of the wooded holes feel repetitive. They're straight-ish layouts between 350-400ft. They demand accuracy and power, no doubt, but there's 8 or 9 of these holes.
-Poison ivy is all over Anna Page(East & West).
-BUGs were HUNGRY!!

Other than those issues, this course has very few negatives.

Other Thoughts:

What an awesome park! With another 18 holes currently in planning, Anna Page could rival the best that Illinois has to offer. In fact, you'd be hard-pressed to find an area with two 4-star courses situated right next to each other in this state (Joliet or Peoria, maybe?!)

There are now downed oak trees littered throughout the West course. What a tremendous loss! The local who joined us for the round told us a couple of massive windstorms came through this area, and pulled down 20-30 trees, splitting branches on others. The (obvious) negatives are plenty of holes are affected by this, some with downed trees now altering the line you must take to reach the pin. On the bright side, these downed trees add to the difficulty, which I like.

My crew of 6 were debating between Mokena/Highland Park and Anna Page, looking back at our decision I'm glad we chose Rockford for our Memorial Day discing adventure!

Play here!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
mykeg44
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.7 years 72 played 45 reviews
3.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 1, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

Anna Page West is by far the more challenging of the two courses. There is a TON of distance as well as some tough wooded shots.

The course begins and ends in hilly area filled with mature trees. Line shaping is key, but these are not short holes either with most shots at 300 feet or more. After #8, the course runs through a series of long, open bombs where players can crush it without too many obstacles to avoid.

The difficulty is consistent throughout the course whether it be line shaping, or huge distance required to score well. This place will challenge at least one aspect of almost any player's game.

Concrete tee pads are nice and the baskets catch well. The handmade tee signs are pretty cool and they get the job done.

Cons:

My biggest complaint with this course is the repetitiveness of the huge distance holes. I like the opportunity to crush one or two shots in a round, but throwing across open fields gets boring after doing it a couple times.

There are several blind tee shots, and the tee signs are not reliable enough to shoot without walking the fairway. This sucks when the pin is 400ft away.

Navigation is unclear in a couple spots. Next tee signs exist in a few places, but there is still potential for confusion if you're a first time player.

Crowded, but the locals were cool and most had good course etiquitte.

Other Thoughts:

Both courses here are very good, and I enjoyed the variety and distance of this course more, but the East course is still a little better at this point -- mainly because it's older and it seems like there has been more work put into it. I expect the west course to become the better of the two in the near future as it gets more attention. Combined, this ranks among the best DG destinations in the state with two top notch courses on the same grounds.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 1
ElementZ
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.8 years 212 played 197 reviews
3.50 star(s)

West Side 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 12, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

This course plays through a nice, hilly park with trees coming into play on most of the holes.
What I liked most about this course is the great mix of shots. There's a 3 or 4 hole stretch where you just get to crush plastic as the distances are all over 350 feet. There's also memorable dog leg lefts and rights which made it a really fair playing field for left hand vs. right hand. I throw primarily forehand and my two friends throw primarily backhand and we all ended up with scores within a stroke of each other. Other courses I've played definitely tend to favor RHBH throwers by giving huge hyzer lines and leaving me with tricky turnover drives.
I really feel as though the designer of this course utilized the land very well and the pin placements were spot on.

Cons:

While this was a really fun course to play, I don't think it has the signature holes that really wow'd me.
I also felt like navigation would be an issue when in the summer. When I played here a few days ago, there was still snow on the ground and there were footsteps that lead the way to the next tee, which really facilitated everything.

Other Thoughts:

It's a shame that I didn't get to play the other half of Anna Page, but from the looks of it, it looked like it was about the same caliber as this half. If I'm in the area again, I would definitely check out what the East side has to offer. :)
Was this review helpful? Yes No
0 7
Dahlemj24
Experience: 17.8 years 10 played 10 reviews
4.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 24, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

I love playing through the oak ravine. It adds so much variety to your shots and challenges you to hit just the right line. This is also the side that typically isn't as busy as the East side because it is more challenging.

Cons:

I really don't have any con's for this side. Some tee signs could be better, but that's about it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 2
bisket1978
Experience: 16.6 years 6 played 6 reviews
3.50 star(s)

New Signs make all the difference!! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 4, 2010 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

There are many elevation changes on this course which only adds to this challenging, mostly wooded beauty of a course. Concrete tee pads.
NEW SIGNS!! This course was next to impossible without the addition of these new signs, which someone took the painstaking time to make. They are wood-burned, hand-crafted signs. Thank you to whomever made, and placed them!! There are some great distance holes now, with open, slightly elevated tees, you can grab some decent distance.

Cons:

Not too many cons here. Gets some heavy traffic, especially on weekends. Guess you kind of have to expect that though. Could use a source of water somewhere between 1 and 18, even just to cool off.

Other Thoughts:

Love this course now with the new signage. Also, whoever had the idea to put, and I'm not kidding, a 751 foot hole in there was a genius. With the slightly elevated tee, you can get a ridiculous drive from whatever hole number it is. 13, or 14 maybe. Anyway, it's awesome!!

Combined with the East course across the parking lot, and maybe Krape Park in Freeport you can have a full day of fantastic Frolfing.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 3
Blonde Thunder
Experience: 14.7 years 65 played 12 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Beautiful and Fun 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 27, 2009 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Rolling hills provide elevation changes
Large mature trees spread perfectly through the course
Very creative multiple pin placements that provide challenges and fun
Plenty of length but accuracy also required
The risk/reward is high, but without the chance to lose a disc. If your shot is off track you could easily be behind a grove of trees that will cost you at least one shot.
Friendly locals who are helpful and who clearly put a lot of work into the course.
Trash is non-existent on this course!
Beautiful scenery throughout.

Cons:

No real weaknesses unless you want to get picky...signs could be a bit better and it would be nice to have next tee signs for first timers. But, those tiny weaknesses didn't detract from my experience at all!

Other Thoughts:

This course is a little over an hour from my home, but it is well worth the drive! The fact that another great 18 hole course (Anna Page - East) is just across the road makes the trip here even more rewarding!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Latest posts

Top