• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Channahon, IL

Community Park

3.745(based on 56 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Community Park reviews

Filter
9 0
Three Putt
Staff member
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 29.5 years 152 played 127 reviews
3.50 star(s)

One of the nicest parks you will see 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 26, 2011 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

I have a preference for pretty parks that are well taken care of. Channahon's Community Park gets high marks for that. It's just a great public park. The disc golf course specifically is very well taken care of. There are two concrete tees on most holes, with a nice gravel arrow pointing toward the hole in front of the tee. Each hole has a tee sign with a hole map and distances. The baskets are newer and catch well. There is a lot of very pretty landscaping scattered throughout the course that gives the property a nice, peaceful feeling. There isn't a ton of elevation or water to work with, but what is there is used well. A few man-made amenities have been included to help add some challenge to some placements (such as the raised "J-Town" basket on #4 or the drop-off placement on #12.) A spoke on the baskets are painted red to help point you to the next tee, and the course just generally flows well. There is a nice combination of wooded fairways that force you to take a certain route and more open fairways with mature trees scattered through them where you can pick your route and try to hit it. The wooded fairways are fairly wide, but once you stray off them the rough is very thick and tough to find a shot out of. The long tees add some decent distances to the shots, although it's not a big bomber course. The combination of longs and shorts gives the course some very good variety. The whole package comes together in a very enjoyable course.

Cons:

The park is essentially flat, and the wooded holes have pretty wide, well-defined fairways. Lacking a lot of elevation, tight tunnel shots and/or long bomber shots, Channy is probably not all that challenging to the upper tier players. I certainly had my hands full with it, though.

The course can hold water and tends to get buggy, so you have to take precautions against that during those seasons. You also spend a lot of time out in the open, so sunscreen is a must.

Other Thoughts:

In the mid 90's I took a road trip to play what was at the time the best courses in the Chicagoland area-West Park and Channahon. West Park is essentially how I remember it from 14 years ago. Channahon has been tweaked and updated over that same time frame so that it seems like a different course. A lot of care and attention goes into this course, and it shows. It might not be the most challenging course anymore, but it's a course that gets the most out of what the land has to offer. It is certainly still amongst the best courses in Illinois and a course you don't want to miss if you are in the area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
Jukeshoe
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.8 years 316 played 268 reviews
3.50 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 26, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Located in a spacious park, Community's course is well-separated from other park activities. Beautifully manicured, well-defined fairways work their way through open areas dotted with trees as well as wooded sections. In the wooded sections, fair but sometimes brutal punishment in the form of tight scrub awaits those who miss their lines. Short tees are accessible to newer/less-skilled players, while the longs provide a challenge for seasoned discers.
- Decent use of the available elevation (which unfortunately isn't much). #4 has an artificially raised basket that can become a bit tricky on windy days unless you're willing to lay up.
- Water comes into play quite nicely on the second hole. The long tee on #2 shoots over a small water carry, and then works back to the right where the basket is located past another small bit of water. A castle turret-like wooden barrier sits on the far side of the water, waiting to knock down any low approaches.
- Pro and am tees. Long, wide, brushed concrete tees are among the grippiest I've played on. Each tee has crushed gravel in the shape of an arrow in front, which is a nice touch. Good signage, which unfortunately is located only on the am tees. Each basket has a spoke painted red that points in the direction of the next tee.

Cons:

- Unfortunately, the long tees don't have signage, which is a bit of a hassle the first time through.
- A few holes incorporate tall prairie-like grassy areas which might make finding your disc a bit of a pain during the summer months (provided you land there).

Other Thoughts:

- Channahon has a good balance of holes, especially from the long tees. Nothing gets too out-of-hand difficult, but should provide a decent enough challenge for the average player.
- It's obvious a lot of love gets put into this course, and it shows through in the above-average upkeep.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 2
smyith
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 22.7 years 214 played 68 reviews
3.00 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 24, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

- Dual LEVEL cement teepads
- 17 of the 18 baskets are nice and catch well
- Frank Grimmes does some great work out there beautifying the course.
- Fun layout both Pro and Am
- Benches on almost every hole!!!!!
- Lots of trash cans
- Great flow and easy to follow
- After hole 2 you get the feeling you're removed from the rest of the world (always a plus for me)
- Wind definitely adds a great deal more challenge, no wind means its real easy.
- The rough punishes bad shots but its easy to find your plastic.
- Hole 17 is a beach from teh AM pad and much easier from the PRO, realistically they should be switched.
-Several holes have well guarded greens.

Cons:

- Hole 6s basket either needs to be switched with the PB or replaced.
- No tee signs at Pro pads
- Am pads are boring, and the Pro pads only make it a little more interesting.
- 17 of the 18 holes from AM pads are straight shots with SLIGHT hyzers or anhyzers to finish.
- Bridges need some work. Hole 2's is slanted and skinny can be dangerous when wet and doesn't allow for cart pullers to easily maneuver across. Hole 12 to 13s bridge is slightly better but could still be improved ( this one is great if your riding your mtn bike btw).
- Not difficult to score well first time through.
- Hole 17 is the only hole i questioned myself on how to throw and what to throw.

Other Thoughts:

This a very fun course but lacks that replay factor. I played it for the first time at a blind tourny last spring, I had no desire to return again until the tournament this fall. With so many great courses near by this is an easy one to skip over. I will not be returning until next spring.
Frank Grimmes does a great job of making the course look great and slowly tweaking it to play more challenging. However, I feel some of those efforts are un-needed at this time and other areas of the course could use the attention (see cons section).
This course will be most appealing to REC and INT players. It's a great place to work on keeping your lines tight and on target. The PRO pads will provide the extra challenge for INT players and the better REC players. These players will also score well with ease.
ADV and PRO players will find little reward here. The course for them will play like a pitch-n-putt excluding a few holes.
there is alot of repetitive shots! The majority of holes are all straight. their only variance comes in if you need it to finish left or right. About half way through I get bored with the course. The only true challenge here is if you can keep your disc inside of a 20' wide fairway. Most INT and above players will find little to no struggle with that.
Without holes 2 and 17 this course would easily become a 2.5. They are well designed and the only two holes with good replay factor.
With so many great courses in this area, this course ranks very low on the Must Play list. If you're in the area I'd play Highland, West, or Trinity before coming here. If you're traveling and pressed for time this is a quick play and would be a good option.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 3
Hawkmaster
Experience: 6 played 3 reviews
4.50 star(s)

My Favorite Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 10, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Great quality tees.
Great quality signs.
Very easy to navigate.
Very clean.
Tournament quality holes.
Pavilion and splash pad nearby.
Variety of shots.
Always cut grass.

Cons:

It's not a forgiving course on certain holes, easy to lose discs if you're not careful.

Other Thoughts:

This is a really fun course to play if you're an experienced player. It's not a very good beginner course, but it is an example of a well-maintained and great quality course. I play here as often as possible.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
Brent Renken
Experience: 19 played 9 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Great All Around Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 10, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Great all around course for beginners and experts and it's very well maintained. A lot of the holes are set up for the long drive which is fun if you have an arm. The course is well groomed with an obvious path while maintaining the feel of a backwoods area. It has a variety of terrain as well to include trees, overgrowth and water hazards. There are a few elevation challenges as well although it's predominately flat.

Cons:

Most of the challenges come staying away from one edge of the forest or out of the underbrush and the baskets are tucked slightly away in pockets. Not necessarily a bad thing but it does leave out some of the obstacle related challenges you find in other areas. There's not a lot not to like about this course.

I've lost many a frisbee in the overgrowth surrounding the fairway so beware (and keep an eye out for a free frisbee).

Other Thoughts:

All in all, this is one of the best courses in the area. It's worth the trip and you'll be happy you played it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 6
Brick Forcepush
Experience: 15 played 1 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Very Nice 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 15, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Very Well Maintained
-Variety Of Shots
-Long and Far Shots
-Newer Baskets
-Not Many Water Hazards

Cons:

-Hole #16 Was All Screwed Up
-Back 9 Is The Best
-They Need To Get A Better Way Of Walking Over The Creek

Other Thoughts:

-BRING BUG REPELLENT
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 5
try122583
Experience: 25.3 years 126 played 11 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Fun course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 13, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

- A good mix of challenging holes and birdie holes. It will force you to open up the bag a bit.
- Course very well laid out and you get to see the beauty of the park while playing golf. It's also easy to follow if you're playing it for the first time.
- Concrete tees and good signage.
- Long tees provide a good challenge for those looking for it.

Cons:

-Flooding. With a lot of low lying areas, there will be a fair amount of standing water on this course that will affect the way you walk it. I don't mind the water being in the way of play, but I don't want to walk through it unless I throw a disc into it. Bring shoes you don't mind getting dirty.

Other Thoughts:

It's a nice course and being from the Champaign, IL area, I don't mind making the drive up. it's definietly one I look forward to playing when I head up to this area, and always make time for it. I recommend checking this one out if you haven't already.

Happy Golfing!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 0
surgeflx87
Experience: 16.3 years 29 played 4 reviews
4.00 star(s)

A very well maintained gem! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 17, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Where to start off with this one.
Ill start by saying this one one of the most immaculate and maintained courses ive played out around these parts. Frank does a great job of keeping this place up, and the tees are always even cleared in the winter thanks frank!
-Tees are some of the best ive seen with grooves that drain water for those rainy days and have plenty of length.Two sets of Concrete tees on most holes.
-Has a good variety of shots and well placed pins which which make you think well about drive and upsot placement.
-New tee signs are amazing and very professional looking that have great hole layout descriptions.
-Nice closed lid garbage cans at almost every hole.
-Long benches at almost every hole if youneed to take a breather.(Great for tourneys).
-A couple of creeks and murky bodies of water come into play on some holes.
-Great place to play in the winter and hosts the J-Town ice bowl.
-Pro tees really change up the course and add difficulty not just length to holes, some which are already difficult.
-Even on the more open holes there are some groups of trees that really make you hit your lines.
-Baskets are in pretty good condition and catch nicely. Theres also a practice basket next to the parking lot which is a plus.
-Course caters to both left and right handed players.
-Frank is always adding more trees and schrubs and more to the course which is just making it even more beautiful.

Cons:

-Rough can get thick in summer but is usually well maintained like stated above.
-No really tight tunnel holes, but the variety of shots and fun factor for this course make up for it.
-Some parts can get flooded after it rains alot, especially in the spring.
-Only two holes that let you really air it out and one is still a pretty tight shot. Sometimes its refreshing to really be able to bomb one out there.
I really cant find much wrong with this course and even with the cons the pros here definatly out weigh them.

Other Thoughts:

I wish this course was right by my house, I would play here everyday if I could. If you see frank on the course make sure to thank him for keeping this course in great shape and even play a round with him if you get the chance, hes a great guy to play with. I wouldnt pass this course up if your in the area and its well worth a drive. Come out and enjoy one of the nicest courses in the joliet area, you wont be let down!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 12
ElementZ
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.2 years 212 played 200 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Community Park 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Aug 15, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

This course is isolated and serves solely for disc golf, which is super nice. I saw a deer and it's child here and we approached it and came within 20 or so feet before they jumped away. It was really quite a treat.
The holes are, for the most part, all very birdiable.
The elevated tees look pretty cool and are fun to play.
The course is nicely manicured and looked very good overall. It's VERY easy to navigate and the first hole is easy to find.

Cons:

I played this course at 8 in the morning during the last week of summer, and the mosquitos and bugs were TERRIBLE. I've never been biten by so many mosquitos in my life. If these go away and I get a chance to play it again, I'll increase my rating, but the mosquitos just made it a living nightmare.

Other Thoughts:

My friend told me that this was the best course in the Joliet area, but after playing just two, I already disagree. West Park is a lot more fun, at least IMO. It offered a lot more variety of terrain and shots. :)
Please feel free to message me for more details.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
12 0
notapro
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 20.9 years 570 played 284 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Intermediate/Expert 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 3, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Course is mostly in a forested area that has significant shrubbery in addition to the various trees. Most fairways are grass or woodchips, with few obstacles in the way. The challenge is more to keep from straying too far off the mowed area. More trees and low canopies near the basket.
- Some slight elevation changes, but nothing too radical. The most significant changes were raised baskets, or baskets located right next to a drop off.
- Water is in play on a few holes, and in some parts can get pretty deep and stagnant. I could see an errant shot ending up in a bad place here and there.
- Lots of different shots needed throughout the entire course, from hard left to hard right. Full of tight fairways with doglegs either way, as well as some dead straight ones. I liked how the forested area had tight, but clear, fairways, and the open holes had matures trees to avoid. Some holes force a line, while others make you find one.
- Great benches, teepads, signage, and decent baskets. Brilliant idea to paint one wire of the basket red to point to the next tee. Alternate tees on many holes were easy to find and also concrete.
- Lots of garbage cans, I saw virtually no garbage anywhere on the course.

Cons:

- Some of the holes can get a little repetitive, lots of straight/right shots in the forest with minimal obstacles. It is still tough to get the right line with the right power, but they are very similar.
- A lot of the course is on flat land, which also makes the holes blend together. Not much to differentiate one from the other.

Other Thoughts:

- Very solid course, makes great use of the available area. I played the whites the first time through, but checked out the reds as well. Definitely will return to play them some day, without a doubt.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
11 1
ArcheType
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.2 years 38 played 25 reviews
4.00 star(s)

My favorite in the area 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jun 24, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

I don't even know where to begin with this course, it is just beautiful. The scenery here is astonishing, its such a pretty course. Frank Grimes has done a wonderful job keeping this place is beautiful shape. It was a little wet this time I went, but anyone from around here knows its stormed on and off for the last couple of weeks, so there's no way to hold that against the course. This course has a lot of variety in its holes, shallow curves left and right, and a few sharp ones too. I really love the use of the water on hole 2, great risk/reward for my group of players and I. The course also has phenomenally placed long tees on many holes, most of which are even fun for a novice player, like myself. I also absolutely love the elevated basket on hole 4, I'll try and get a picture of it next time I play through. The brickwork on the elevations on several holes is beautiful. By far the greatest course in the area in my opinion.

Cons:

The only thing I can say as a possible con for this course is the holes aren't extremely long. The longest standard tee is just over 400 ft. I believe one of the long tees is about 530 ft. This may be a turn off for higher caliber players, but the technicality of the holes more than makes up for it to me.

Other Thoughts:

If you're going to make a trip out here, I'd bring some bug spray, sunblock, and water. There aren't many holes with plentiful shade, and it can get hot. The humidity from all the recent rains played a bit into this, but you can never have too much water anyway.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
16 1
fractalzoom
Experience: 49 played 4 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Great Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 29, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Let's get the basic stuff out of the way: immaculate. Great parking. Well maintained. Completely free of litter... all the stuff you expect from a top-rate dgc is here. The tees are concrete, grooved, and have a neat little triangle "pointing" to the basket that also serves as erosion control (you can see this from space on google maps - neat). There are no throwaway holes... each one has *something* going on. I played this course in the dead of winter and the tees were swept off. This is like showing up to work and having a fresh brewed cup of coffee waiting for me - just how I like it. Suffice to say, it's pretty welcoming.

Cons:

It's not close enough to where I live. Really... I have to make stuff up to get upset about. Thick brush? I dunno.

Other Thoughts:

Tl;dr
Last time I visited Channy was with my very young nephew. He's at that age where he asks a lot of stupid questions and wrongly thinks I'm a stud because I can throw the disc 4 times farther than he can. It was Sunday and the kid just got out of church. He was excited.
"This is so much better than going to church... it's so boring. "
"Yup, you're preachin' to the choir, here kid... Not only that, but this place is doesn't cost us any money. Ready to tee off?"
"Uncle Fractal - do you believe in god?"
....oh shit. Ugh.. I hate this stuff... really, he should save this conversation for when he's in a smoky college dorm or something.
"Tell you what... I believe in Frank."
"Frank?"
"Yeah. You see this course? How nice it is, how, even though there's lots of weird looking people about - everyone is nice to each other. The grass is cut, and later on you'll see flower beds and no trash."
"What's that got to do with God?"
*sigh*
"Let me ask you a question. Do you ever really wish for something... even pray for something?"
"You mean like when I prayed for a Nintendo DS?"
"Yeah... did you get it?"
"No... but I did get a Wii."
"Whatever, you wanted that DS. See.. now - I wanted a nice disc golf course that wasn't littered with garbage and had nice tees. Frank gave me - and a whole bunch of people that. And - I don't have to sit in church all day and give them money. I dare say that Frank is better than God."
"You talk a lot."
*sigh*
"I know.. I'll shut up if you throw."
We played a couple holes and then in between the 11th and 12th holes, we happened upon an older fellow who was hunched over in a flower bed. I asked the man if he was the legendary Frank who kept this course so nice, and he nodded that he was indeed the same. I shook his hand and gave him some encouragement and told him how much I appreciated his work. We walked on, and I turned and said to my nephew, "See? Frank's way better. You can see him, know that he's there, and shake his hand."
My nephew just rolled his eyes at me. We came upon hole 17 - which is an amazing left to right hole.. and very difficult for a rhbh player like myself.
"Where's the basket?" my nephew asked.
"Way behind those trees, far to the right. Tucked in like a drag queen."
"Like a what?"
"Nevermind."
I love holes like this. The kind where you throw it, and you can see where your disc went. It's like Christmas to see where your disc went. I got really excited when I found out that I had somehow parked it 20 feet from the basket.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 0
Disc Golf Greg
Experience: 16.3 years 21 played 16 reviews
4.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Apr 14, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-Parking wasn't an issue
-Nice concrete tees that are long enough to work with
-At the end of the tee is a gravel arrow that's purpose is to point to the basket and help with erosion control
- Many holes have pro tees
- One basket was elevated which was a nice touch
- 18 holes
- Not too crowded/flows nicely
- Course is taken care of nicely with no signs of litter. Most teepads have shrubs on the side and it really is a nice touch
- Plenty of risk/reward throws
- Nice shot variety
- In a multi-use park but tucked away from other activities
- Part of the basket is painted marking the way to the next hole
- Practice basket
- One of the firsts holes baskets is tucked near a creek and is a nice touch, also if the Disc lands in it you can dig it out with a stick no problem
- Many places to sit throughout the course
- Very friendly and helpful course locals

Cons:

- Has a tendency to flood after big storms
- Baskets are starting to show their age. Some are bent and the metal is beginning to degrade

Other Thoughts:

I really enjoyed this course. Frank maintains it, and does plenty of work and it sure does show. I live about 40-45 minutes away and drive out here whenever I can get the chance!

One of my favorite courses around Chicago, the only other course I enjoy almost as much as this one is West Park in Joliet.

One last thing; out of all the courses I've reviewed, this one has the least amount of cons that I can think of. Well worth a long car ride.

There is poison ivy throughout the course, so be careful!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
fox metro discer
Experience: 26.1 years 81 played 4 reviews
4.00 star(s)

best Western suburbs has to offer 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 4, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Very well groomed course. Frank Grimes has put in much time at this course and it shows. From the elevated basket on #4, to the teepads that point you in the direction of the basket, to the plants throughout the course, his work shows.
With 2 sets of tees, this course has a lot to offer both the beginner as well as the seasoned player. Elevated baskets, some elevation changes (what little there is in the Chicagoland area), and well defined fairways make for an enjoyable round for all.
A good variation of shots are required as well. From straight shots, hyzers as well as a few short turnovers.
A few memorable holes:
2) with the basket over the creek, this hole now becomes a risk/ reward shot rather than a toss and putt for the deuce.
4) the elevated basket puts more difficulty on the putt.
9) The addition of the pole on the left side keeps the fairway tight all the way down to the basket. The schule on the right is THICK!
11) I like that there are multiple ways to the basket on this one with the possibilty of danger any way you go. makes for interesting shot selection off the tee.
14) Longest hole on the course when put in the long pin postition. The slightly raised green makes for a good looking hole with the finished retaining wall and the basket tucked in the rear corner.
15) after a long hole up comes a nice straight technical shot that has water if you go long.

Cons:

The course floods a few places when there is heavy rain.
the baskets are a bit older and don't catch as well as the modern baskets. However, they are much better than what they were 2 years ago.

Other Thoughts:

A few other minor perks at the course:
A good place to see wildlife if you go in the morning or evening.
All baskets have a rod that is painted red which is in the direction of the next tee.
Course is in a multi use park, but course is away from any other activity meaning there are no non-players on the course.
Is 3 minutes off of the interstate.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
12 0
tallpaul
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 36.1 years 934 played 137 reviews
4.00 star(s)

deserving of top ten in state 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 5, 2010 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Tees are long a grooved; with perfect crusher run aprons off the front. These tees are best in production at the moment....barring the advent of very wide tees.

Two set of tees. Both cleared of snow....we played six courses in Joliet in Feb., and all tees were cleared and, where applicable, marked with orange flags; for easy spotting. Kudos to all of those responsible.

Little planted areas; even in the winter, it was obvious these are nice... I could not, of course, tell what the plantings were. Looking forward to seeing everything in bloom at a later date. How many realize what it takes to keep even a little garden weeded and tended?
Directional, red painted, spoke on basket as next tee markers. Another brilliant little touch.
Interesting pin/roll-a-way pins. #4 has an elevated pin; with a concrete/wooden base that is creative.
Paver stone walled, terrace greens in a few spots. (Same style as Token Creek, in Madison, WI, for those that have been there.) These offer nice visuals as well as interesting height looks/putts; at the bucket.
Good use of what elevation there is.

Cons:

Course on the short side to be in the top five in the state. Holes are simply not as challenging as a few others; but, this is obviously extreme nitpicking. There are 130+ courses in Illinois; and IMHO, with nearly 100 played; this does belong in the top ten!
Another nit pick; that just goes to show you can't win in the area of perfect tees; the grooves were ice filled and therefore, a bit dangerous.

Other Thoughts:

I had played this course in the early 90s (maybe even late 80s)...long time ago!!! Had heard I needed to get back and see the modern amenities. I will be excited to get back here when things are in bloom.
I put that this course is a bit short in my cons section. But, when I play this one in bloom; some time in 2010, I fully expect to be thrilled as a blue level player. Some holes that can and should, be reached for bird; but a lot of challenge for my skill level. In pics; rough looks brutal and challenging.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 1
#19325
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 23.1 years 351 played 178 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Chantastic 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jan 9, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

See other thoughts for image gallery.

This ranks as my #1 most well kept course in Illinois. It's not even close. Frank Grimes puts in blood, sweat, and tears along with lots of his own money. If you had played this course 5 years ago you would be amazed with the progress. The landscaping and other work is specific for the course. Each year there is some type of improvment.

Nice cement tee pads for all tees. In front of the tee pad is a limestone traingle for erosion control. The tee pad plus the triangle in front makes a nice arrow pointing in the direction of the basket.

All of the old baskets were replaced a few years ago with new baskets.

Tee signs are adequate and it's not too hard to navigate.

With multiple tees on many holes there is a large variety of shots. There is some heavy rough in areas on this course which I like. It adds to the challenge.

Hole #4 has a sweet man made elevated green that is very difficult to putt on.

Hole #14 is one of the tougher par 4's and has a nice built up putting surface. A cement block retaining wall surrounds it.

Cons:

The land is very flat. If this course had some of the terrain many of the top courses had there is no doubt I would rate it 5 star.

This course is on the shorter side and really has only 2 legit par 4's from the long tees. Like stated in other reviews it's a fantastic par 54 course. With more challenge i'd rate it higher.

Other Thoughts:

Image gallery.
http://discontinuum.org/index...itemId=244318

Check out my Illinois Top 10 courses.
http://discontinuum.org/index...1486.msg68704#msg68704

After heavy rains there may be a few swampy areas. In the warmer monthes bring some bug spary as the skeeters can get bad.

This is one of the better courses in the Chicagoland Area. If you are travleing on I55 to or from Chicago this is a must play. It's only a few minutes off I55.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 2
WindyCityROCer
Experience: 19.2 years 27 played 13 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Simply Beautiful 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 17, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

to paraphrase another reviewer (ie steal/quote) par 3 dg at it's finest...

located at the end of a multi use park, this course is simply great... maybe at one point does the rest of the park come into existance (hole 18) other than that it's dg at it's finest...

A labor of love from Frank Grimes and the Joliet crew from first tee to last basket...

The first 2 holes play fairly open, nice mowed fairways, and "high grass" areas (which actually seem mowed/controlled to previous years). The rest of the front 9 plays through a beautiful wooded area (say East side)(large variety of plantlife, great colors, fall is breathtaking) with varying choke points to keep shots in check. Front 9 ends with a fairly long hole, thick schule down the right side the entire time, basket about 10ft from trees... always feels good to 3 it.

The back 9 starts off with 3 fairly open holes.... leading to a long walk to 13, a rather long (for this course) L>R shot to a pretty green protected by 2 old growth trees. #14 (and 15,16) present the most interesting stretch of the course... 14 could ALMOST be a par 4... it got redesigned last year (08) and the basket is now up on the rock ledge area (that always begged for a basket, Frank just felt EVIL and put it all the way to the right)... for a rec/am player this is THE TOUGHEST upshot on the course, as you need a L>R/overhand shot to the basket, you could beeline a mid, but turn it over and you're in blind, deep schule. Hole 15 "Grimes Grove" is once again a beautiful hole, tight fairway, basket tucked to the left on a grass knoll... (plays E>W, on an afternoon/evening round sun is in your face, adding more light to a beautiful hole). Hole 16... make it or break it... basically a 90 degree + dogleg left, with a hyzer route over the trees.... it's not that hard, there's just infinite ways to screw it up...

Hole 17 and 18 play back into the "regular park." Hole 17, is well, quite frankly, a horseshoe to the right, heavy woods/shule line the path... I hope you have a good L>R shot! (Ironically, the back tee has a better line on this hole) The course ends with an open tee into the woods, a simple roc will do with a touch of anny, just don't hyzer out to the pavillion and look like a noob.

EXCELLENT concrete pads on ALL holes. Over half have an alternate/back tee adding a bit of distance, and a much different look to the hole. Garbage cans are everywhere on this beautiful course... please help keep it that way. Signage is showing it's age, a few of the distances SEEM sketchy... All trails to next tee/throughout course are immaculate wood chips, usually with a few rocks on the side to guide you... If the course is crowded, grab a bench, and check out the wildflower areas by the tees, and the paths to them..

Cons:

uhm........
the practice basket is very rusty, and hates me...
the mach whatevers could use some glow paint or something, spotting is good...
there are a few holes that could be legit par 4's... IMHO I think the extra 75ft/harder line are there...
Not a lot of elevation, if you really NEED it.
I'm really nitpicking...

Other Thoughts:

yes, I realize I have overused the words: beautiful, gorgeous, pretty, stunning...

The attention to detail is astounding, the things you don't really notice until your second or third time around...Wildflower "gardens" by tee/paths... just add to the experience. It's a labor of love, obvious from the first hole on, and I cannot commend the people responsible for it enough. Is it the greatest piece of land ever, no. Has the land been used to it's best potential for disc golf, yes. I always leave this course wanting to play another round..

Really, it's probably a 4.0 course, but the labor of love gives it an automatic +.5
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 10
sobkwk
Experience: 4 played 4 reviews
4.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 9, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

Fun course that is very well maintained. Easy to find the holes. Also had benches on most of the holes, if not all of them.

Cons:

There were quite a few insects so I would recommend some bug spray.

Other Thoughts:

Would play the course again.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
14 0
mashnut
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 22.3 years 831 played 777 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Very nice course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Aug 23, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

The course plays through a large disc golf only area of a park, with a mix of open fields and some wooded areas. There isn't a lot of elevation, but the available hills are used well, and some pins are artificially elevated on hills or terraces to add some interest and difficulty, as well as some cool looking holes. There is a nice mix of more open holes where the challenge is staying out of the tall grass, and wooded holes that require more finesse to stay out of the thick trees and brush.


Though the short tees don't offer a whole lot of length, the combination of the shorts and longs makes for a wide range of distances and difficulties. There are a couple holes that offer a chance to air it out a little, and some short ace run type holes, with lots in between that are reachable, but still have some difficulty. There are some nice lefty and straight holes mixed in to the mostly RHBH hyzer friendly course. There were some holes with some nice small water hazards that added a cool bit of risk/reward.

The course is very easy to navigate and follow, and there aren't any places I remember having to spend time figuring out where the next tee was, especially with most baskets having a painted spoke pointing you in the right direction.

There are two tees per hole, and many times they offer really different levels of difficulty, and different looks at the hole. It's perfect for a warm up round, then a tougher round, or for groups with wide ranges of skill levels who want to even the playing field a little. Both pads are nicely poured concrete, with a flat gravel area for follow-throughs. The signs were in decent shape, and had the hole layout and distance and were easy to read.

The park is very well kept, with no trash and well-mowed fairways. The course has the area to itself, so there was no interference from other park users.

Cons:

The tee signs are only located at the short tees, which means that if you are playing the course from the longs the first time, you'll do a lot of extra walking if you want to see the signs before you throw. The long tee is often located directly behind the short tee, so if your group is using both sets of tees it can be a bit of a hassle.

The course is pretty heavily in favor of RHBH hyzer shots. There was enough room here to mix things up a little, and have a little more variety. There was also room to stretch out some of the open holes and add a little more length which would have been nice.

I'm not a huge fan of tall grass as a hazard, it does more to hide discs than it does to really add challenge to actually playing the course. That said, it wasn't on every hole, so it wasn't nearly as bad here as on some other courses. The course can get a little buggy, so make sure you bring bug spray.

Other Thoughts:

This is one of the nicest courses in the Chicago area, and definitely worth the trip. If you combine it with some of the other nice courses in the Joliet area, this part of Chicago offers a great day of disc golf. I would definitely try to get out to this course if you have the chance.

The short tees are definitely beginner friendly, with no navigation issues, and reasonable distances. There are some places to lose discs, but it's not excessive. More advanced players will enjoy the challenge of the longs, and will need to throw accurately to get many birdies from the back tees.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 4
Michler
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 32 years 247 played 35 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Classic course! Keeps on getting better! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 20, 2008 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This is par 54 golf at its finest. Really nice park with fantastic tees and baskets. Great bridges and landscaping specifically for the disc golf course in certain places. Its a deuce course, but you have to make some shots out here to card your birdies. There is trouble with heavy rough in some places that yield alot of bogeys. Just a fun course in a nice park.

Cons:

Its a shorter course so you're not working the distance part of your game much here. Maybe a bit too righty hyzer friendly, but not so much that its not fun for all.

Other Thoughts:

One of the best courses in the Chicagoland area!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Latest posts

Top