Highland Park, IL

Danny Cunniff Park

Permanent course
1.585(based on 18 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Danny Cunniff Park reviews

Filter
6 0
EspressoPatronum
Gold level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 18.6 years 224 played 215 reviews
1.50 star(s)

Long, Narrow, and Underwhelming

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 6, 2023 Played the course:once

Pros:

- generally well maintained park
- navigation is generally straightforward
- full color tee signs with maps
- generally serviceable baskets
- tons of parking
- a few holes incorporate wooded areas to add a bit of challenge

Cons:

- entirely flat
- no real amenities; no garbage cans, benches, practice basket, etc.
- woodchip tees are lumpy and leave a bit to be desired
- no incorporation of pond water hazard
- fair number of safety hazards playing too close to road
- narrow fairways can punish even decent play and don't lead to the most fun experience
- multiple holes throw over walking paths
- course sign between holes 3 and 4 is confusing
- hole 3 design is very poor and plays entirely along road
- hole 3 basket mounting is all messed up

Other Thoughts:

This is an... interesting course. Mostly not in a good way. On the one hand, it's a mostly well-maintained park and it's not by any means the most objectionable place I've played. However, for an area as affluent as Highland Park, this course is surprisingly mediocre.

For some reason, in the North suburbs there seems to be a lot of very narrow, very long parts. I'm not sure why but I wonder if there is a story behind it. This leads to tons of windy parking lots but very narrow courses. The fairways here are narrow and create some challenging shots; the issue with this is anything that goes off fairway on many holes goes into a parking lot. This is frequently true for holes 3-7 at a minimum. In the case of hole 6, the basket is right up against an OB fence on the other side - recovery of discs beyond this fence would be difficult. To top it off, holes 5 and 6 just turn around and head back without forcing a cool shot over the pond or anything.

Holes 1, 2, 8, and 9 play through a more wooded area a bit more away from the road and these are a bit better. However, there is still no wow factor here. The course is generally pretty open and flat. Multiple holes throw over walking paths and while I found this park deserted, the design doesn't seem well thought out.

For reasons I didn't understand, the course sign is between holes 3 and 4, making it seem like the start of the course is there. Minor confusion, not the hugest deal, but an odd choice. Otherwise, navigation is pretty straightforward.

Hole 3 is the worst hole here - one direction you throw parallel over the road, the other direction you throw over tall prairie plants that kind of eat discs. To top it off, the basket is mounted too high on the pole for the chains so the opening is the smallest I've ever seen for a basket on a course.

My review probably sounds fairly harsh - overall, I still had a generally fun enough time here. This course isn't particularly difficult but also isn't incredibly well designed. If you're in the area, there are 4-6 different nine hole courses to bag, but nobody would go out of their way for this. It's a quick 30+ minute round if you want something casual.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
Billyray
Experience: 20.8 years 71 played 12 reviews
1.50 star(s)

Decent local 9 hole 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Aug 5, 2020 Played the course:once

Pros:

- nice park with disc golf set in its own part
- parking lot was right by 1 but no risk of errant throw hitting your car
- had tee boxes, all the baskets were fine
- mowed when I was there (local I saw at Fink said he doesn't play here in summer due to overgrowth, so got lucky?)
- was not very crowded

Cons:

- tee boxes are filled with old rotted wood chips. I used the grass for half my shots.
- all the holes play similar distances
- signage was missing at a few holes
- if busy could see some issues with throwing into other holes
- played close to the road into the park, risk of hitting cars with a bad throw

Other Thoughts:

This course is fine for what it is. I've seen worse over the last month of courses I have played. This was the 5th course of a long course collecting day with my son (13). I played super conservative and shot a 27 (im decent, not good).There is nothing here to bring me back. Other than course collecting it is not worth a trip to play.

Hole 1- 234 foot, straight or slight hyzer throw. No real trouble here, some rough but nothing too bad.

Hole 2- 246 feet, another straight throw with some tree and weed cover. Basket for 8 is next to the tee so heads up

Hole 3- 273 foot anhyzer shot, could play a hyzer out over the OB road. There is a patch of nasty weeds and throny stuff on the anhyzer/straight route. Saw a local looking for 10 minutes. Basket is well placed behind the course sign. The "signature" hole here.

Hole 4- 282 feet, straight shot no obstacles. Right is the road so be careful if cars are coming. Hole 6 plays next to this one so also heads up there.

Hole 5- 284 feet, straight shot with a few trees. Plays next to the road so like 4 heads up. A long drive could reach the pond but its set pretty far back.

Hole 6- 312 feet, with a small dogleg at the end around 280 feet. The basket is set in the trees and has a creek 20' behind it. Trees border the fairway the right, left is hole 4 fairway so heads up. There is also a walking trail running through this hole. Would have liked to take a shot at it but was sunset so I played it very safe.

Hole 7- 248 foot hyzer throw. Trees and weeds protect the straight route. Fun hole, the tree up fairway at the hyzer is perfectly placed.

Hole 8- 258 foot slight hyzer shot. Some trees and weeds (man this feels repetitive) guard the line, left trees could be a problem if thrown into it. Basket is right next to tee pad 2 so be careful.

Hole 9- 159 foot shot. It plays slightly anhyzer, i threw a buzzz ss flick and got close. Not hard but there are trees guarding so a bad tee could make a tricky upshot.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
DiscGolfer80
Experience: 4.7 years 57 played 56 reviews
1.50 star(s)

Nothing to write home about 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 19, 2020 Played the course:once

Pros:

Not to many positive things to mention:

Free to play and free to park.

Signage does help with layout of hole.

Cons:

Woodchip tee pads, tee pads tend to have weeds and grass within tee box.

3 holes play along drive in, could hit car if throw is inaccurate.

Area tends to hold water for awhile after a lot of rain.

Narrow fairways in the wooded area.

Other Thoughts:

I recommend the disc golf course at Larry Fink Park over Cuniff. If you have +/- 20 minutes to kill and do mind a subpar course, Cuniff is your course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
0 0
mrbro855
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 10.4 years 363 played 105 reviews
1.00 star(s)

Potential?? 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 12, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

Set on one side of the roadway at the far end of the park.

Ok length with adequate amount of obstacles. Definitely needed to bend throws at the right distance- that did make for a challenging course.

Cons:

Wood chip tee pads- not raked out- very uneven throwing surface.
BUGS- gnats and mosquitos aplenty!!
Couldn't find basket #1- started at #3 and once I got to #9 was able to find #1

Other Thoughts:

Been in Chicago for a couple weeks of work. Have played over 10 courses and this one is definitely at the bottom of the list- by far!!
Not the worst course I've ever seen, but certainly needs a lot of work. Concrete pads, a bit of manicure, replace the missing sign on #1, add a course map to this site just name a few.

Glad I got two other courses in that day, or it would have been a wasted disc golf day!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
The Valkyrie Kid
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 45.8 years 1563 played 1507 reviews
1.50 star(s)

Lackluster Chicago 9'er! 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jul 3, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

The course is located in far back corner of the park. As you drive up to the course, you'll see a large professional sign that says, "Danny Cunniff Disc Golf Course."

The course has older tee signs under a fiberglass cover. The tee pads are large planter box types which are raised about 6" and are filled with a coarse type of wood chips. I really didn't care for them and chose instead to tee off of the grass next to them. However, they might prove better on a wet day.

The course plays short, like all Chicago 9'ers, with no hole longer than 285'. Cunniff does have an element of risk/reward because quite a few holes are bordered on one or both sides with tall prairie grass/other bushy plants. A bad throw will result in time searching.

Cons:

Course had no wow factor for me.

Not a beginner course with all the tall grass and bushes along fairways.

Holes 4 & 5 were essentially the same hole. They were both 268', wide open and straight, with the park road providing the right border.

Other Thoughts:

One thing that bothered me here was, as all 9 of these holes were crammed together on this side of the park road, on the other side along the 4 & 5 fairway, was an inviting sledding hill that could have provided the interesting basket placement and downhill throw that this course so sorely lacks.

Danny Cunniff is one of my least favorite Chicago 9'ers. I don't know who'll be interested in playing here. Too much tall grass OB's for beginners and too flat and uninteresting for all others.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
Parsaver
Experience: 5 played 5 reviews
1.50 star(s)

Good for Beginners and For Practicing 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:May 4, 2014 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-9-holer located in a well maintained suburban park, trees, brush, road, and a small pond provide sufficient obstacles
-Good beginner course, all the holes are under 300ft, trees force accurate lines but nothing too tight, no real chance of losing a disc except in the pond on 5.
-Some fun holes, but nothing really memorable, I enjoy 1, 3, and 5.
-Hole 1 is a dead straight 230ft shot slightly uphill, you need to hit a 20ft gap to take a two.
-Hole 3 is fun, spike hyzer out around trees to the left and over the road to the right.
-5 plays 270ft and requires some real control as there are large trees to the left and right, the road is to the right the whole way and is only 20 feet away at the basket, also there is a pond that is 35-40ft left at the basket. You can either play a big hyzer over the road or a flick or anhyzer up the middle that finishes left, with either route if you finish too far left or right you can go OB.
-6 can be interesting, its 280ft with a wide open field left and thick brush the whole way to the right, with the basket tucked away to the right. Its a challenge to go at the basket because the brush is so thick it can turn drives that finish too far right into a difficult par save, also there is a path that runs in front of the basket which if played OB adds more challenge.
-2, 7, and 8 are not particularly technical but require controlled hyzers around trees.
-9 is a super short but requires a dead straight shot with the basket tucked into brush on the right, good hole for practicing straight putter/midrange shots you might need on a technical course.
-This is a good course for an intermediate player to practice hitting lines in the 230-280ft range
-Baskets are in good shape, especially 4 and 5 which were recently replaced with new chainstars
-Never crowded

Cons:

-No elevation change, or technical wooded holes (except for maybe 9 but that's too short to count)
-Will not challenge an advanced player, every hole should be a deuce
-All holes under 300ft, you need to come up with alternates if you want any distance shots
-4 is a throw-away hole, wide open 270ft
-Road comes into play on 3, 4 and 5, be sure to wait until cars pass before throwing. Be especially careful on 4 as a turned-over drive could hit cars parked by the soccer field to the right.
-Fair amount of pedestrians on paths that run through the course to watch out for
-In the fall prairie grass in the "rough" can grow high, which can make stray discs tough to find. Keep a good eye on where they go in and you shouldn't have too much trouble
-No course map and the sign is missing from hole 1, but other holes have signs and all the baskets have numbers on them. The course does not have a great flow but the park is so small you shouldn't have a problem navigating it.
-Don't play after a rain, half the course will be under water
-Almost forgot... the tee pads are HORRIBLE. They are woodchips, which are uneven and easy to slip on. I usually just play from the grass next to them. On holes 6, 7, and 8 you can play off the concrete path that runs right next to the pads, and 3 you can play from the road.

Other Thoughts:

-When you drive into the park you want to drive all the way to the parking lots in the back, you will pass holes 3, 4, 5 and 6 on your right. Turn right into the parking lot tucked away in the trees, rather than going straight into the parking lot for the ice rink. The first tee is on the right at the end of the parking lot.
-There is a creek on the right of holes 6-9 but the thick brush prevents it from really coming into play.
-Don't go out of your way, but this is a good spot to introduce beginners to the game and hone your skills for "real" courses.
-This is a "nice that it's even here" course
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 1
#19325
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 22.7 years 351 played 175 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Wood Chips Anyone? 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 14, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This course is located in a very nice North Shore community. The course is very flat. It has large trees scattered throughout. Several baskets are placed near thick areas of rough.Beware there is a creek down the hill beyond the rough! Some fairways are lined by very high grass and flowers. Water comes into play on one hole.

The tee signs are pretty good.

The baskets are in good shape and have the number plate welded to the basket.

Hole #5 has water coming into play on the left side.

You have to hit a line to get to the basket of hole #1.

This is a very beginner friendly course and is easy to navigate.

Cons:

The tee pads absolutely stink! They are framed by railroad ties and filled with wood chips. They are terrible!

The distances are very similar on this course. It's realtively short and boring.

Several baskets are place right near heavy rough. I hate those kind of greens.

Surprisingly this is a fairly large park for the north burbs. There is room for some great holes especially the wooded area and with water. This course does not utilize the potential.

Other Thoughts:

There is another course in Highland Park. It's not very far away.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
Buchajs1
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 11.6 years 168 played 44 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Very short course. Good variety though 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jul 21, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Tall prairie grass on side of some holes forces you to tHrow straight. Water comes into play on 5-9. More so on 5. Water is on right behind trees on hole 6-9(almost out of play but my brother actually put on in there). On hole 5 is a large pond to the left. Blind baskets on holes 6-9

Cons:

Tee pads are elevated and on wood chips. Shhooorrt!
I see no point in hole 4. It is 200ft but dead straight and nowhere to mess up. Road on right on holes 3-5 in winter when crowded at ice rink. You're disc could get run over if you throw it in the street. Almost all pretty easy twos

Other Thoughts:

Short course that is great for beginners to learn different throws. Don't drive 15 mins or more for this course
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
notapro
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 20.6 years 568 played 281 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Beginner/Intermediate 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 26, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

- Course has a good variety of woods on a hole by hole basis. A few are pretty wide open, a few have some trees to avoid, and a few have narrow fairways in dense woods. Great mix of different hole types throughout. The heavily wooded holes require good accuracy.
- Okay mix of different shots needed. There are a few that are very welcoming to a RHBH hyzer shot, almost all others require something that starts and finishes straight.
- A good number of protected and/or blind baskets also helps to keep it interesting.
- Water is in play on a few holes, especially on #5. Not really a big factor on any others, but it is there.
- Decent teepads, signs, and baskets. A few signs are a little misleading, especially on #9.

Cons:

- The first thing that jumps out is the lack of length. Longest at 285', shortest at 135'. While there are trees to add some length side-to-side, the course does play very short.
- Little-to-no elevation change to be found.
- Two holes play right next to (and over) the entrance road to the park. This means some longer wait times, scraped discs, and plenty of extra distractions.
- Hole #4 is a true throwaway hole. 268', completely wide open, with a street on the side.

Other Thoughts:

- Not much to this little course. There are some quality holes with tight fairways and protected baskets, but the difficulty level is lacking. The short holes will allow an experienced player to throw almost any disc, as the length can be easily covered by almost any disc.
- Definitely a good course for beginners to learn about shot selection, line shaping, and dealing with nasty rough. A more advanced or intermediate player will appreciate the design, but not the overall experience.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
lordofchance
Experience: 15.7 years 13 played 5 reviews
1.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 11, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Parking close course
- Course tries to use trees and water as obstacles
- Well maintained park
- Tries to utilize right and left side shots

Cons:

- Course plays too close to roads and thick bushes
- The bugs were horrible
- Holes are way to short
- Wood chip boxes are horrible. They do not provide good footing, and because they are raised if you over step you can twist your ankle.
- Course flat with no elevation changes

Other Thoughts:

This course felt like it was just thrown together as an after thought. The course is way to short for a seasoned vet, but the over grown "rough" can provide a headache for amateurs. In all I would skip this course if in the area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 1
steven2361
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.8 years 286 played 53 reviews
1.00 star(s)

Short and Boring.... 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 5, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Ummmmm. Trees? They help a little bit.

Nicely kept park. Huge woodchip teepads for such a short course. Water (hole 5-9) and roads (Holes 3-5) make this coarse a bit more interesting. Hole 5 is a good risk/reward shot. About 270' with water immediately right of the basket. Other water lurks to the right about 40 feet right of the baskets 6 and 9 but you will only go there if you completely shank your shot. There is also a sled hill nearby that some cool alts can be played from. Its a huge hill to launch drives off of. There are straight, right and left shots, even though they are all short. Take some ace runs. This will be a good coarse for beginners and the young (and very old I guess ;) )

Cons:

Short. Short. Short. I hate that all the holes are reachable with a mid or even a putter for me. I throw mostly aviars on this coarse. There is not much chalenge to it at all. Every hole is aceable and birdyable. The design of this coarse is poor. There are thorns here in the summer. Although I said roads as a pro, they are also a con. When it is busy in the park you will probably have to wait a while for cars to pass, especially holes 3-5. A path also winds through the park but is not as busy and usually does not cause a problem. There is not much variety at all here. Again, it is shorttttt.

Other Thoughts:

Dave242 is trying to make this place a great 18 holer. I sure hope he succeeds. Don't stop here currently unless you really want to try cunniff's awsomeness. Go to Fink about 5 miles south. It is still not a great course but it is much better than cuniff. If you need discs near here go to Ace hardware at 41 and half day road. They are right (west) out of the park and carry a good selection of innova. The discs are tucked in a corner though so you'll probably need to ask where they are like I did.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
tallpaul
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 35.8 years 934 played 133 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Not bad 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 18, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

Two of us played a number of courses on a wet day; which followed a previous couple of wet days. I thought the large chunk, wood chipped, tees did very well under the conditions. They are big: 6' X12'
#2 a nice hole; requiring choosing a line to either side of trees; @125 feet out, with another tree to either side, @40 foot apart. Hole length; 260 ft., plays more like 280.
#3 brings road into play for a skip, or an o.b.?
Road kind of in play on #4 and #5.
We didn't play walking path o.b. on #6 or 7. You can add another layer of nice o.b. if you choose to do so.
Water behind #6 tough to get in to; unless a fairly bad shot is made.
Tight fairway on #9.
Good signage.

Cons:

Short and flat.
Large tees raised above the ground by 6 inches or more. I personally, find this a bit dangerous, and prefer ground level tees....my playing partner liked the raised tees....
More water actually in play would have added a danger feature. One, well constructed, water feature, hole would be nice to leave one with a strong remembrance.

Other Thoughts:

My playing partner and I are 900 to 950 rated players; and for some reason, we didn't score well here. I'm giving the course the benefit of the doubt. That, combined with the o.b., and the possibility of more o.b. (with walkways played); convinced me to give D.C. a 2; slightly higher than most.
We liked this one better than Twin Creeks and Leo Leathers, but less than Diamond Lake Slough.
Visually, the course looks good for a nine year old track. I would bet those tees are a fairly recent addition, or at least, are lovingly maintained by a crew that puts a lot of sweat into it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
clipnfly
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.7 years 60 played 57 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Jeckly and Hyde 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Sep 5, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Plays like 2 different courses. 1, 2, 3, 7, 8, 9 are more wooded and technical. 4, 5, 6 are basically wide open. Wood chip tee boxes are well maintained and nice. Footing is good. Size is good. Park near 1 and you end right near your car, the way it should be. I very much like the tree and angle issues on 1, 2, 3, 7 and 8. Singage is excellent. Course flow is easy to follow. On the first few holes I was seeing extra baskets and wondering how many holes is this course? When can I play the alternates?... later come to find that these are for the last few holes... be careful as on the back end a few holes criss cross each other and if there was to be heavy course use one would need to watch for others flying discs.

Cons:

4 and 5 are nothing special. The hidden basket on 9 is more a nusance than a challenge. Length is short to medium. No real opportunities for the big distance drives (not a con for me as I can not throu big distances anyway).

Other Thoughts:

Overall a very nice multi use park. The rough on 3 and the woods along 6 and 9 are just waiting to swallow up one of your discs. Ace hardware at 22 and 41 has a big rack of Innova discs if you lose few. I have played here a bunch of times since my 1st review. I have come to like the variety here... there are hyzer and anhyzer holes... all mid length... Ply the road as OB on 3 and it is a tougher hole as you will drop the disc in the rough. 1 is a nice tree tunnel. 2, 3, 7, 8 are great natural RHBH hyzer shots. 6 and 9 challenge you ability to toss an annie and NOT over-toss into creek.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
harr0140
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 15.2 years 1508 played 475 reviews
1.50 star(s)

Slightly Below Average 9 holer 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 16, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

1) Tees are defined and secure (see complaint about the mulch used). Railroad ties support the mulch . . . I just wished they used a finer mulch that wouldn't be so loose and large, Much better than dirt or grass . . but still aren't quite perfect.

2) Large mature trees are the main challenge factor in this course. They clealy define the lines you are expected to take. They are a little bit too scattered for my liking and I think they could have been used better in certain spots . . but the large trees certainly add to the quality of this course.

3) Underbrush is well contained in that is it basically wildflowers and woodland plants. There is a little bit of thistle and all sorts of wildflowers. it looks nice and there is abosulutely no buckthorn in the islands of trees and prairie.

4) Nicely mowed turfgrass especially the fairways giving you a clear route to the basket if you choose that direction.

5) Ground around baskets is in good shape . . . no mulch needed right now . . . because the turf is healthy. If the turf gets trampled and compacted then stone or mulch should be put in place.

6) A few right to left holes on the first 5 holes and 3 of the last 4 go right to left. Be ready to have a variety of shots to play well here.

7) Mostly beginner friendly . . . course is open enough on hald of the holes even an errant shot on every hole is manageable.

Cons:

1) Tees leave a litle to be desired because of the course material they used. Basically they used single ground tree chippings which have all sorts of 6-12" twigs in it. If you step one one it might shoot up and cut your leg or make you slip.

2) Buckthorn along the right side of #6, #7, #8, #9 is very dense. DO NOT THROW IN THERE PLAY IT SAFE . . . PLAY IT TO THE LEFT. Native woodland would have been ok, but the Buckthorn has to go.

3) Hole #3 makes this course somewhat beginner unfriendly. The road is OB but there is little to no fairway available to the average player. You will have to throw left into the prairie areas with wildflowers and such.

4) Open areas are simply too open. The road is OB on #5 but you have so much room to the left. #6 has a ton of room also.

5 ) This course is very obviously set into a corner of the park. I saw one other disc golfer and 1 couple walking through the course. I wish I could make money by just walking around a course!!!!

6) Course is completely flat. Again I know this is not the fault of the designer, but it would be nice to see a basket up on a little mound or something to alter how flat this course is.

Other Thoughts:

My last of a 9 course day. I hit 9 more new courses and I thoroughly enjoyed. This course was a perfect finish to my day because it wasn;t too long I had thrown a lot of disc in the day I didn't want to have to overdo my arm.

It has a couple holes through mowed fairways with large mature trees and some thin underbrush. It had a couple open holes with a OB on your right. It has a pond behind the #5 green that can come into play with a rollaway from the baskets or from an errant drive that didn;t get started far enough right. The creek along #6, #7, #8, #9 is almost untouchable and completely invisible from the course . . . so don;t even think about it and you will be fine. The course seems to be well groomed as does the reast of the park. The disc course is almost entirely on its own which is always a positive. There is one walk path that will hold you up on a few holes if people are in the area. As is normally the case they probably don;t even understand what we are doing.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 0
mashnut
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 22 years 831 played 767 reviews
1.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jun 8, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

The course is in the back corner of a park, in a small wooded area. The fairways are nicely mowed grass, and are well defined with unmowed rough alongside, and nice mature trees. One hole plays up to the edge of a pond, and a couple holes play along a creek. The water hazards add a little bit of intrigue, especially on 5 where a shot that goes long or fades out too much will end up in the pond.

The rough adds a nice risk/reward element to some otherwise not very interesting holes, as a bad shot will result in some time spent searching. The trees are used well to define specific lines on some of the holes, and make it so that not every hole is playable with a simple straight ahead shot.

The tee signs are all in good shape, and have hole maps and distances. The tee boxes are very large, and filled with wood chips. I was skeptical of this surface at first, but it offers fine footing, even when wet, and it stays more level and less rutted than many other natural tees I have played.

Cons:

The course is crammed into a tiny little area, so the holes are all right on top of one another. Every single hole plays on top of at least one other hole, and is usually shooting directly at another tee. It has never been crowded when I've played, but even if there is a single other player on the course, watch out for each other's shots.

Because the course is in such a small area, none of the holes have any real length. More experienced players won't need a driver at all here. Because there is no length, and no elevation, the course is very easy. All holes are birdie-able, and none offer any real challenge.

Other Thoughts:

This course is another very easy 9 hole course, similar to many of the others in the area. Though the holes are all easy, beginners might be frustrated by searching for discs in the rough that lines nearly all the holes, and might struggle to keep discs out of the street. That said, it is a good course to work on your short game, and more patient beginners will find it fun. Don't go out of your way to play this one, there are other courses around that are more interesting and challenging.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 6
Nigel
Experience: 7 played 7 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Not So Fun 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 27, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Good practice for controlling accuracy, but what's a course w/o the opportunity for sick drives?

Cons:

Short course, easy to lose a disc if you overshoot hole #5 (pond) or shank hole #6 (river)

Other Thoughts:

If you're in the area, go to Fink instead
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 13
Dave242
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 29.8 years 393 played 271 reviews
1.50 star(s)

C = As average as the come for 9 holers 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 14, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- C-
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- C
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- C+
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- C+
5) Multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- NA

Other Thoughts:

I ranked this course subjectively based on my own personal enjoyment factor...more accurately my "personal addiction factor". Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they chose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage...if what I say adds anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me. See my profile for my rating philosophy.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 5
heywillard90
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.7 years 31 played 28 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Not impressed 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jun 1, 2008 Played the course:once

Pros:

Most shots require sharp accuracy. Located in a comfortable and secluded area. Some holes have nice mowed fairways. Plays around pretty quickly.

Cons:

Very short, leave your distance drivers at home. Two hazards include a pond and the river. Runs alongside a road.

Other Thoughts:

Some holes are really squeezed together. Yet it is good practice for tight shots.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top