Rock Hill, SC

Fewell Park

Permanent course
1.935(based on 28 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Fewell Park reviews

Filter
10 0
dndelli
Gold level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 16.6 years 134 played 131 reviews
1.50 star(s)

Fewell Park

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 11, 2024 Played the course:once

Pros:

Fewell Park is a short, beginner friendly course with nice Innova DISCatcher baskets. There are short tees and even shorter tees, so players can choose which level of difficulty they want to play. The short tees have tee signs listing the hole, par, and distance.

The two layouts could be played in tandem to create an 18 hole disc golf experience.

Plenty of ace opportunities, so anyone who is hunting and ace, this would be a perfect course to try to find one. For a course of shorter holes, the holes are designed in a fun way with noticeable gaps to hit or obstacles to avoid.

The course is compact, and short, so a round shouldn't take long. A buddy and I played it in 15 to 20 minutes, and we were intentionally trying to take our time

The natural tees are incredibly well marked.

Very close to both Boyd Hill and Winthrop. Fewell Park can be used as a fun warm up or a nice cool-down after a round at either of those local Rock Hill heavy hitters.

A great course for a putters only round.

The slight elevation that does exist is utilized pretty well. Hole 7 is ever so slightly downhill putt off the tee, and Hole 8 goes back up that slight up. Hole 4 plays under a somewhat low ceiling.

Cons:

Played on a particularly grey day, with a light drizzle during our round. Some of the natural tees were fine, but a handful were just sloppy puddles of mud. Luckily a run up isn't really required, but it is less than ideal. The natural tees are showing signs of erosion.

The holes, for the most part, feel very similar to one another. Not much variety in terms of shot shaping or hole length.

Once you get your bearings, navigation is pretty simple, but right out of the gate it can be slightly tricky because the course is so compact. Finding the long tees proved to be the biggest challenge.

Other Thoughts:

I enjoyed my round at Fewell Park. It felt refreshing to play after finishing a round at Boyd Hill, as a nice way to cap off the day. It is a great place for beginners to learn the game, and would be a fun place to play a quick, afternoon round if I lived in the area. I think a 1.5 rating feels pretty fair for the course, but if some form of tee pad were installed to prevent so much erosion, I would probably bump my rating up some.

Favorite Hole: 4
Was this review helpful? Yes No
14 0
wolfhaley
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 19.9 years 970 played 542 reviews
1.50 star(s)

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 26, 2023 Played the course:once

Pros:

Fewell Park is a great course for beginners or those looking for a quick putter only round. Ace runs galore for anyone average or above.

The course itself is tucked into one side of the park and the navigation is pretty straightforward. It's not going to take more than 20, maybe 30 minutes to play a round. Nice warmup for nearby Boyd Hill too.

The baskets are nice newer Innova Discatchers. These are all mounted nice and level and catch great. One basket/pin position per hole. No complaints with these. I updated them on here. Apparently they used to have Mach's at some point, so a good upgrade.

The tees are natural. No, or at least a minimal, run up is required for these short holes. There's colored circular stones in the ground serving as the tees. Long and short positions on all holes which spices it up a bit.

Good flow from hole to hole. There shouldn't be much confusion finding your way around out here. The course starts and ends near the parking area as well.

The park itself is very nice. Pretty area and seemed to be very clean and well kept. Probably never too busy and it's permanent and free to play.


Cons:

The tee "pads" are natural. While normally they're probably fine, it was raining when I played, and they are basically mud puddles in that situation. Probably stay that way for awhile afterwards too. I don't expect them to pour concrete tees for a course like this. But just be warned that you may have to either tee off to the side/front/back/whatever or wear some shoes that you don't mind getting muddy.

The holes are all of similar lengths so the replay value isn't really there. It's fun for what it is, but what it is is very basic.

As was mentioned in other reviews, the tee markers could be hard to find in the fall with any kind of leaf cover on the ground.


Other Thoughts:

This course was actually a really fun little one. Probably helped that I aced hole 2, but it also serves as a nice warm up for nearby Boyd Hill. It's listed on here as "Heavily Wooded". I would go ahead a call that a gross overstatement. It has some trees on every hole. That's it.

Not a destination course obviously. But absolutely worth a stop if in the area. Especially since it only takes a few minutes to play it. It's good for what it is, and does a great job doing what it was designed to do. I'd play it again.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
16 0
Shadrach3
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 5.4 years 318 played 306 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Should Be Played with Few(ell) Strokes

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 2, 2022 Played the course:once

Pros:

A fun ace race course that provides Fewell for the disc golfer's fire.

-Amenities: Well-marked dirt tees, numbered DISCatchers, tee signs with number/distance/par for short tees (not for longs).

-Aceable: The primary draw for most players will be the allure of an ace. With holes topping out around 200', most players will be going for chains from the tee.

-"Friendly": A course that is well kept, easy to follow, and hard to lose discs in. It's a nice neighborhood park.

-Shot Shaping/Gameplay: A decent combo of woods and elevation. The lines aren't total gimmes, and it's quite possible to hit trees on any of these shots. There are a couple tunnel-style throws like (3), (4), and (9), doglegs like (5), (7), and (8), and a few more non-descript shots included. In my notes, I categorized the ace runs as "somewhat tricky".

-Time Play: This is an easy bag and a quick stop.

Cons:

Some cons, but only Fewell detract from the experience.

-Navigation: For first-timers, this could be confusing. This is primarily due to the fact that you can see multiple tees and baskets from almost any point on the course. Often, there are two viable baskets from the tee and you have to kind of put the whole course together in your head to avoid shooting for black aces.

-Overlap: Related to the first con, the fairways can easily overlap here. Bad shots for (1) can be on the green of (9), throwers on (1) and (4) will be bumping into each others' tees, etc.

-Odd Shapes: The doglegs are doable, but very tricky due to being so sharp. A flair skip shot or super high spikes are the best routes from the longs on a few holes, which seems a little antithetical to the purpose of an easier course like this.

-Long Tees: Finding them, primarily. The placement is not always clear compared to the shorts. Honestly, having tee signs for the longs could help this a lot, as the stones marking the tees aren't easy to see from farther away.

-Walkers: Not an issue during my round, but there are lots of walking trails on the course and the park wasn't un-busy when I visited.

Other Thoughts:

Even though the cons look like they add up, Fewell is such a small and navigable park that they don't feel like big issues. The holes are creative but aceable, a difficult balance to manage. For the overall experience, this one is a Reasonable. With a few dollars, some good changes could be implemented, but it still serves its basic function.

~Similar Courses: Bluebird Putting Course (Conifer, CO); The Chain Links @ Nashboro - Dogtrot (Nashville, TN); Satchel Ford Elementary (Columbia, SC); Blair Mill/Crooked Creek Crossing (Stallings, NC).
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 0
takman
Experience: 22.4 years 122 played 25 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Cute! 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jun 14, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Short little course to warm up or practice you short game
-Very creative for the land given, almost feels like someone's private garden
- Ace runs

Cons:

-May not challenge the high skilled disc golfer

Other Thoughts:

This course is what it is, one of the best pitch & putts I've played. Nice use of landscape and a variety of shots to shape. Glad it's here in all its glory.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
11 0
pmay5
Gold level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 20.8 years 479 played 245 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Putt-n-Putt Course 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 4, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

Good baskets, small but adequate tee signs.
Nice, well kept small park.
Nice park building with restrooms right near 1st tee.
Well laid out, variety of holes. They even use the little elevation that is available.
Small, family and newbie friendly course.

Cons:

No tee pads, but they really aren't needed when you're throwing putters on every hole.
Course is so small, expect others to be on or near the course.

Other Thoughts:

You've heard of Pitch-n-Putt courses? This is more like a Putt-n-Putt course. OK, I did throw a few Mids, but not too many. This is a great chance to introduce new players to the game, or bring the family for a round, before or after a trip to the playground!
I was there on a weekday morning, and several moms had their kids out running around. In fact, they wandered over to the third basket, just as I was getting to the tee, then proceeded to meander down the fairway! I played it cool and waited on them, no reason to give us a bad rap.
Fun little course to throw different short shots and even deal with elevation change.
#2 goes downhill, #3 uphill, then #7 goes down into the woods and #8 back uphill out of the woods. Nice variety.
Yes, this was my course bagging stop on the way to my first USDGC. Turns out, I had plenty of time so should have played Boyd Hill, that will have to be on my next trip to RH.
Good chance to work on putters and upshots. I'm glad there are courses like this, not everyone can, or wants to, play a championship level course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
11 0
DavidSauls
Gold level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 28.7 years 131 played 65 reviews
2.00 star(s)

For what it is.... 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 6, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

For what it is....it's a pretty good course.

And what it is is a beginner's/family/putter course. The short tees---where the signs are---have a bunch of 120' holes (and one 69-footer), but unlike some such courses, they twist around enough trees to screw up if you're not careful.

The long tees vary from having a bit of challenge to, in a few cases, just being perplexing. And, on such a cozy course, create a bit of overlap. But they do offer a step up.

The course sits in a pretty little park in a nice neighborhood.

Cons:

The biggest con is really unfair: It's not for most disc golfers, or probably not most who would be on this site and read the review. It's audience is kids and very casual players, and perhaps some middling players like myself, playing a putter round. The 10-year-old I played with, who frequently plays some fairly challenging adult courses, loved it.

Other Thoughts:

It's a 4-star course in its division.

That being, very short beginner courses.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
Margaret N.
Experience: 6.6 years 23 played 1 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Beginner Friendly. . .ish 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Sep 4, 2017 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

I'm a complete beginner, so please bear with me if some of my terminology is incorrect.

This course has been a nice, easy intro into the game. It has given me an opportunity to get a feel for it without having to tough it out on a more complicated course.

The holes are short, which for me as a beginner is a plus. For more experienced players, I don't think this course would be very helpful beyond working on your short game.

The holes are open enough that there isn't as much of a chance for the disc to end up in the trees, which is nice as a beginner.

Cons:

There are signs missing for tees/holes 1, 4, and 6. I had to walk the whole course before I could figure out where the tees were for those holes through a process of elimination. I'm sure more experienced players could have figured it out more easily, but as a beginner, it was very frustrating having to figure it out for myself.

There is a lot of broken glass on the course. I didn't see any pieces that were big enough to worry about them going through the sole of a shoe, but I did end up with a slice on the back on my finger that I suspect happened when I picked up a disc.

The baskets were a bit banged up/bent. It didn't seem to affect my play, but I could see it being a problem.

Other Thoughts:

This course has potential for very new beginners and children, or maybe people looking to work on their short game, but the missing signs are definitely not beginner friendly. They also really need to work on getting the glass cleaned up, as it could definitely prove to be a hazard, especially if people are taking younger kids there to play.

Updated: 9/26/2017
The concrete posts that mark the tees have been repainted (blue for the short tees, yellow for the long), and hole numbers have been painted on the tops. So, the missing tee signs aren't as big an issue at this point.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
Jaysauls
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.7 years 129 played 71 reviews
2.50 star(s)

A gem of a beginner course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 2, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

Okay, I admit, I couldn't stop grinning when I played this course. Is it cool or tough or unique? No, not really. What it is, is a GREAT,probably the best beginner course I've ever played. When you add in the surroundings...safe neighborhood, 9-holes with dual tees, a great patch of woods for kids to play in and explore...what is not to like?

The shorts are very short...just what beginners need! The longs are much longer and tricky. Once again, what a beginning player needs! Some of the longs had me trying to figure out what line I wanted to throw, so they aren't gimmie holes.

Sure, anyone that's played more than a year is going to eat up the course, but that's not what it's for. It's to get kids 8 and older playing. And there it does a superb job.

And if the kids don't want to play? Well, then let the adults/parents play with putters and mid-ranges while the kids explore the woods (great patch of woods!) or play on the playground.

When you add in all that is here for young players, it was really hard not to let my heart get away with the scoring and give it a 3. If I lived near the park, I'd play every day with a putter to work on crazy upshots.

Cons:

Navigation can be a bit tricky, we got confused on a couple of holes. But since the entire course is on a postage stamp, didn't take long to figure out.

And there was a bit of maintenance that was needed. An hour with loppers would have made a huge difference.

Other Thoughts:

Like I've said before...a fantastic course for kids to learn this sport. Kudos to the designer.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
Bennybennybenny
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 13 years 302 played 285 reviews
1.00 star(s)

Teeny tiny "park" 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Feb 17, 2013 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

-Nice, small park in Rock Hill with an easy disc golf course in a very nice neighborhood, not sketchy or anything.
-You can play 4 rounds here in less than an hour because it's very short.
-It's short but every hole can blow your birdie, for example, #1, you can't throw straight, #2 is a good bit downhill and has a dropoff and #5 is slightly uphill with a bunch of trees and ya have no line. Thing is, every hole can stop you from getting a birdie except #7. You really should birdie that one.
-#2 is pretty fun! It plays nicely downhill and has a dropoff, it's fun AND aceable, like #15 at South Mountain. #9 is also interesting, it's a dogleg left that goes into the woods.
-Baskets are 17 to 18 years old and they catch very well still. I got a hole in one on #7 so it shows that they catch well enough.
-Nice, mild challenge for beginners considering the fact that it's wooded.
-Arrows pointing back where the long tees are. The front tees are blue and the longs are yellow.
-Long tees so it can be a bit more interesting.

Cons:

-Mainly, the "Parking lot" is tiny, only a few parking spots and a couple were reserved. It felt like pulling into a driveway and playing in a man's backyard which was an interesting layout but lack of parking spots.
-The front office isn't open on weekends. So no bathrooms on the weekends.
-#4's long tee was pointless. It's only maybe 4 feet behind the short tee.
-18 years old and has no teepads, only 18 inch carpet and the longs have no teepads at all. -Course seems to be neglected since the baskets are very old and there still are not real teepads. I don't think this "park" is good for a dg course.
-#2's long tee crosses #9's green.
-No benches or trashcans but they aren't really needed due to the course being really short.
-#7 isn't a real hole. It's got about a four to five foot drop and it's only 65'. It's just a long putt with a 0/10 challenge.

Other Thoughts:

Overall, the course was super easy with a couple nicely designed holes for the small space availible for the course. I thought it was boring but I was happy that I got a 1 on #7 even though it's 65 feet long, It definitely has potential to get a higher rating if it gets maintained better. I woundn't consider it good but it was an okay place to practice your approach shots but since I got a hole in one, I don't think I'm coming back. It will get boring quickly.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
terryjoshbennett
Experience: 11.6 years 10 played 4 reviews
2.50 star(s)

do you like woods? 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 12, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This course is very short, example: hole 7 is 65 feet. It is located in a very beautiful park/complex area. The first ace that I ever shot was at this course on the aforementioned hole 7. This course will make you feel great about your skill level.

Cons:

This is a con and a pro: it is heavily wooded. It is bad in the sense that many trees are right in the flight path of many normal shots. Don't be deceived, even though this course is very short, it can still be a challenge to any level of player.

Other Thoughts:

I would suggest playing this course twice on one visit, making it a simple 18. In my experience, if you can't make it out of this park at par or under, then you need to come back and keep trying. The challenge of the trees will make you better!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 2
BraveThrower43
Gold level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 14 years 729 played 59 reviews
1.50 star(s)

you dont have an ace? Play Here! 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 14, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

Great place for beginers or those trying to improve their short game or ace count.

I was qable to play it in less than 15 min by myself.

The course flowed really well and it was easy to find every hole

I felt that the design was great for the tiny piece of property the course is on.

Cons:

The baskets are old school and have bolts that stick out of the top that I bet would tear up your discs.

It is just a pitch and putt.

Other Thoughts:

There really isnt much to say about this one because I felt that it was a good course for the space and the objective of creating a beginer course. I wouldn't say that it was a bad course by any means but its definatly not championship caliber. If your in the Rock Hill area and want to play a quick round to add a new course. Stop here and carry 2 discs. YOu'll be through in no time.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
JBryant
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.9 years 107 played 46 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Needs to be updated 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 20, 2011 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Short game haven. - ace runs (made one on the 65ft hole with my putter) lol

Fast play here. We saw no other DGers there.

Baskets were in good shape for being so old.

-Alternate set of tees, so course can play as 18.



Cons:

Needs to be redesigned. The course was built with old style frisbees in mind. There is plenty of room tomake a nice 9 hole course with alternate tees.

Some existing tees were difficult to find.

No water nor bathroom on site.

Mulch and dirt tee pads.

Other Thoughts:

Had fun there playing all forehand and I NEVER do that lol. All you need is a mid range and a putter.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
S.Cann
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.9 years 156 played 82 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Lots of fun to be had here. 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 20, 2011 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

-Lots of ace runs

-Great course to work on your midrange or putter game or to work on a specific skill (backhand, forehand, offhand, etc.)

-Close proximity to other courses. This course is easily played in just a couple of minutes.

-Pretty well maintained, wasn't overgrown.

-Alternate set of tees, so course can play as 18.

Cons:

-Does not use available woods.

-This is not the place to work on your driver game.

-Some tees are difficult to find.

-Old baskets that frequently spit out.

-Lack of amenities. No water nor bathroom on site.

-Mulch and dirt tee pads.

Other Thoughts:

This is a fun little course and great place for an ace race. A friend of mine and I played 3 rounds different ways (iron man, forehand, etc.) in under an hour.

All in all, this course is a welcome break from the long and difficult holes of Winthrop.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
freakinback
Experience: 13.1 years 18 played 10 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Fun little course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Apr 7, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Great for short game and noobs like me. Locals are cool and some are helpful. There are two tees for each hole. playing both allows for a round of 18. One set is short the other shorter.

Cons:

You never get a chance to air it out. I don't think there is a hole over 200 feet. Can get crowed quickly on nice days.

Other Thoughts:

I play here every day after work rain or shine. I can play a round with just my putter in under 10 mins. For me this is a good way to unwind from work. There is a field behind the course if you want to test out
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
discgirly
Experience: 5 played 5 reviews
3.00 star(s)

fun course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 22, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

I like the atmosphere of this course and the beauty of the park setting. I am an amatur disc golfer and find the more "pro" courses too difficult but this one is pleasant place to play.

Cons:

Sometimes a bit crowded and some of the baskets need repair.

Other Thoughts:

I bring my children here almost every weekend, they are hooked on disc golf and beg me to take them. When they get older I plan to take them to Winthrop more often.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
bretttallen
Experience: 17.8 years 53 played 2 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Pitch n Putt 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Aug 27, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

You can work on your wooded short game!! Great for skills challenges. Easy to learn all of the holes very quickly without alot of difficulty.

Cons:

VERY SHORT! Only a putter needed for most and watch for discs flying from other holes....tight setup. The terrain is very flat also so mechanics are a big part of this course. The baskets are also a little older so be careful with the speed putting....the small pans spit out discs.

Other Thoughts:

Really enjoyed it from day 1. I learned how to play here. Definitly recommended for kids and new players!! They have cool events several times a year with players packs and prizes at each event. The people in the area are fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
jnuzz17
Experience: 14 years 9 played 5 reviews
1.00 star(s)

Just for practice 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 11, 2010 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Very short course good for pitch and putt practice. many aceable / par at worst holes. If you have young kids take them here to give them confidence.

Cons:

Course layout seems very basic and not well thought out. Baskets are in rough shape. Holes can be boring and basic after playing it once.

Other Thoughts:

DO NOT go here if you want a challenging course. Use this course for sharpening short game skills only!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 2
LiquidIce
Experience: 16.4 years 29 played 3 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Great for Newbies and Those Looking to Improve Short Game 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 23, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-Your bag can stay in the car (only 2 discs needed: mid-range and putter)
-Great course to show newbies how to play
-Great place to improve short game

Other Thoughts:

This is a short course, just like my review :) IMO, the reason for building it was to introduce the game to more people and it does that quite well.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
cvlngnir
Experience: 14.4 years 25 played 3 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Lunchtime Fun 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 14, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Great short game practice.
Plenty of trees on some holes to require you to plan shot lines more carefully.
Very seldom is it crowded.
Baskets in good condition.

Cons:

Way too short to work on any kind of drive.
Dirt tee pads.
Some local schools will use the course for non-dg use during the day.

Other Thoughts:

You can play the whole course twice in a lunch hour with a group of five. We play just about every Friday during lunch just get out of the office and have some fun. I have gotten at least two new DG'ers b/c of this course.

Found and returned my first disc here.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
AndyBernard14
Experience: 2 played 2 reviews
2.00 star(s)

20 minutes of Practice 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 2, 2010 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Nice to practice your short game on. Hole 7 is a mild joke: it's only 65 feet. I played the whole thing with one disc so it was pretty casual. I kind of liked the whole idea because I could play it a few times through and maybe hole a few. Makes the average player feel good. Great for a novice looking to learn the game.

Cons:

Not really a real course. Just a practice course that you can go mess around at. If you want a nice 9 hole course, go to Tirzah. Nothing really bad though. Just a nice course that you can play a casual few rounds on.

Other Thoughts:

Good place to go if you're bored and you wanna play by yourself. Good and casual and nobody will make fun of you if you don't play well. You also can't lose a disc so there's not much downside.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Latest posts

Top