• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

New Bern, NC

Glenburnie Park

Permanent course
3.995(based on 35 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Glenburnie Park reviews

Filter
9 0
lee76007
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 4.8 years 113 played 112 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Scenic, F9 Elevated along a River 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 4, 2022 Played the course:once

Pros:

-An 18-hole course along the scenic Neuse River with moderate woods, elevated tees and baskets, and roller greens. The F9 the river can be seen from all holes and meanders up and down the elevated bluffs, the B9 plays deeper into the park. Trees are peppered thru most fairways having to hit gaps down fairway from the tee, and a few holes with tight woods.

-All F9 holes are memorable including in my top 10 for scenic play. Often found me looking towards the river. #7 ranks in my top 50 for scenic holes, and #8 in my top 25.

-There are two tees on most holes, some holes share a tee, and I only saw #2 with a long basket. The roller greens are mostly on the F9 including a few death putts. #12 basket is raised. I played long tees when they were present.

-The newer tee signs have hole number, par, distance, and excellent map graphics. Navigation is counterclockwise with most tees seen from played basket. Didn't need navigation help.

-The Spanish Moss is mostly present on the F9 providing unique flight experience, and my first on a course.

-A unique object on the fairway of hole 15 to fly past, an ocean buoy.

-From the bag on the tee a mid, fairways, and drivers.

-Parking about 10 seconds after shutting my car door, flipping my legs over the rope, and onto the #1 long tee. I think that could be the quickest I've made the first tee from parking.

-Beginners and Recreational will be tested enough from the shorts. Intermediate and Advanced from the longs it will be fun! And a good test of your all-around game, enjoy those views!

Cons:

-#18 is a limp finishing hole compared to the previous 17 holes. The long tees are open with the fairway uphill crossing the park entrance road to an open basket with a few trees to work around. The hole doesn't fit in with the rest of the course.

-Some of the B9 holes are not memorable such as prior to writing the review I can remember the raised basket on 12, and the ocean buoy on 15, but nothing about the entire holes themselves. Regardless the B9 is fun wooded golf just not memorable.

-The flight of the disc from #8 long tee crosses in front of #7 green area.

-There are concrete tee pads in need of repair, there's portions missing or cracked. I had no footing issues, managed to avoid that portion of the tee pad.

-On busy days there could be distractions waiting on passing cars on the #18 fairway. The F9 has picnic tables, pavilions, and a playground proximity to fairways. With the attraction of the river, you may have walkers on fairways. On a weekday morning I was the only one in the park.

-Lost disc potential can be high with the roller greens into the heavy brush or even making it into the river on the F9. Heavy brush here and there on the B9. Also a few blind throws from the tee.

Other Thoughts:

When I did my homework on Glenburnie Park, I had a good feeling this was going to be a fun bag, and a possible favorite. With the elevation, gaps off the tee and down fairway thru woods, well placed baskets, a scenic river, and the new experience Spanish Moss I wasn't disappointed, and I was left with a few memorable tee shots. Even an ocean buoy to remind of those days punching holes on Submarines. Glenburnie Park is a course I hope to play again someday, and if I lived within an hour would be a monthly visit. I still have the personnel con which belongs to the finishing hole #18 for my purposes the weak link of the course, but I didn't see any other way without screwing up the previous 17 holes. Picking up my disc from the #9 basket the course was a 5.0, the B9 started slipping down the 4.5 ladder, and #18 sealed the deal at a 4.0.

My overall rating is anchored on a 5.0 based on a phenomenal F9, the scenic Neuse River, and the experience of Spanish Moss. The time to play 70 minutes.

The Spanish Moss:

-The moss on the course was wispy, just clinging from the branches primarily on the F9. On the elevated 4th tee watched my disc pass thru the moss and brushing it to the side with my disc unfazed. Just mesmerizing to watch expecting my disc to get struck down, only to glide thru. I hope to have that experience again and will remember this one.

Notable Holes:

-No. 5 Par 3 Longs at 360 feet is an elevated tee to a basket that's elevated higher on a hill. From the tee the fairway slopes down to a wall of trees about 90 feet with spacing about 10-20 feet pick your gap. The fairway drops on a dogleg right and sloping right with a diagonal valley leading to the river, to reach the valley about 200 feet. The rest of the way takes you uphill to the basket with guardian trees, with a green roller backed by heavy brush and trees, and could reach the river. Very scenic hole, and dangerous behind the basket.

-No. 7 Par 3 Longs at 268 feet is a downhill fairway with a beautiful backdrop of the river behind the basket. The fairway is very well shaped with a scattering of trees on both sides. At 60 feet out a bulge of trees on the right will push you to the left, and then doglegs right straight for the basket. The basket a green roller sits open with some brush, a few trees, and the river behind the basket at about C2. The most scenic hole on the course.

Signature Hole:

-No. 8 Par 4 Longs at 473 feet elevated tee straight away to an elevated well protected basket. From the elevated tee the fairway slopes downhill left to right into the river. On your left trees, with the river on your right high grass and trees not until about 220 feet down with a tree line across the fairway as well. The rest of the way are scattering of trees with gaps of 10-40 feet. Beautiful C1 setting basket sits center right and back on a small hill with guardian trees. Depending on where you are in the fairway you may only see a portion of the basket. In C2 to the left heavy brush and a cluster of trees, to the right of basket a death approach or putt into the river. River borders C2. A set of wooden steps up to the green and adds charm. Very scenic hole! I ripped what is still my best Star Wraith, was licking my chops just outside C1 for birdie, but as I walked up the steps onto the green and saw that drop to the river, dump putt.

Trouble Hole:

-No. 3 Par 3 Longs at 295 feet is a straight away uphill hole not seeing the basket from the tee. The left side of fairway is safe, on the right is a drop into heavy brush, trees, and the river. About 100 feet out is a wall of trees with a cluster in the middle a left and right gap of about 20 feet each. The right gap you're flirting with the drop, the left is good. Around the green area on the left a cluster of trees where you may have tree blockage on a putt or approach. Any disc landing to the right of basket could skip or roll down the drop towards the river. As a lefty stayed left, walking up to my disc in C2 and seeing the river behind the basket, my first dump putt of the round.













Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
DanielSon09
Experience: 8 played 1 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Best in The Area! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 20, 2021 Played the course:once

Pros:

Enough variety in shots and shot shapes to make you test your skills but not too narrow and closed in. Two tees or basket placements makes it good for new or seasoned players. Course is in great shape as of 4/20/21. Easy to navigate, surprisingly beautiful by the river. A good course for anyone.

Cons:

A little smelly by the water sometimes. Some blind shots require you to know the course a bit. Grass can get a little long it seems, limiting skip and rolling shots.

Other Thoughts:

Got there around 4pm on a weekday and had the course to myself. If you have the early/mid afternoons free this course will let you breeze right through.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
jeremytf
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 38 years 43 played 17 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Stellar course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 13, 2020 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Seems like the idea during the design of the front 9 was "use the elevation changes and hills to the maximum extent we can." While the back 9 idea was "carve through the trees." There are still plenty of trees on the front 9, but the elevation is what defines the first half of this course. It is a difficult course. It plays longer than its measured length. It will test you. There are a couple more open holes (17-18) that feel rather welcome after the beating you'll take on the rest. I have played a lot of woods courses; this one is better than most at usually giving you at least 2 fair openings so if you hit your line on the drive, you will be rewarded. I often debated between backhand and forehand. But if you miss your first line, you're often in a pinball machine to get to the basket. The rough isn't terribly bad - it is fairly easy to find discs, but sometimes finding open lines from the rough is difficult. The age and size of the trees is impressive and beautiful.

Benches on every hole. Love that.
Very good signage.

Cons:

The designer seemingly pushed to fit the toughest course they could in the park, to the compromise of speed of play and typical safety clearances you'd expect. #17 throws past a dog park and over a parking area. #18 throws over the main park road. #7 and #8 fairways cross each other so that the designer could create a long fairway down to the river (death putt style) on #7. Other holes are a little close to picnic shelters. I could see this course requiring a lot of patience on a busy day.

The front 9 has so many holes with baskets on the tops of hills, it starts to feel a bit repetitive. Design could be a more creative/varied.

No trash cans away from the main road. Thus some litter sits around.

Other Thoughts:

This is a great course. One of my favorites. Worth a drive from anywhere in the eastern half of NC. I can't in good conscience give it more than 4 stars due to the safety issues and their effect on the pace of play.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 9
blakem0714
Experience: 8.2 years 17 played 2 reviews
5.00 star(s)

great course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 13, 2019 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This is my favorite course i have ever played. The short tee pads make for a par 3 the course thatis a good mix of fun and scoreable without being a birdie or die course. the blue pads make for a much diffrent feel, with a few par 4s in the mix its a layout that can be scored on but you will need to execute all area of your game.

Cons:

the only con i have with the course is the city of new bern waste trearment plant is right next to the park so if the wind is blowing the right direction you will be able to smell it , but thats never been a problem just a mino annoyance
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
kiwichiwi
Experience: 13.9 years 143 played 1 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Best Course east of 95! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 20, 2018 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

The elevation use on this course is phenomenal.
Hole 1 is such a great start to the course with the downhill valley looking shot. The spanish moss and high trees make for an amazing sight. Teepads are in great shape other than a few cracks on the back 9. The course is very easy to follow with each hole ending within easy site of the next and very nice looking tee signs. With all of the walking up and down hills its nice to be able to sit down and there are benches on every hole with shade everywhere to help with the summer heat. Hole 8 is by far one of my favorite holes in NC.

Cons:

Holes 13 and 15 are almost the same to me. They both require some luck down near the basket to be parked and are somewhat the same shot. Hole 17 can get a bit scary on the drive with the OB dog park being a common landing zone. Hole 18 long requires you to throw over the road so on a busy day you can be waiting for some time.

Other Thoughts:

You can come to this course with a mid and a putter and play shorts with no problems but longs require almost every disc in my bag. If you have a chance to play this course do not pass it up.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
KenanFlagler01
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.2 years 198 played 192 reviews
4.00 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 8, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

Glenburnie is a must-play course in eastern North Carolina. You would think that a coastal area course like this would be relatively flat. Not the case here. Glenburnie has great elevation, including numerous valley shots -- one hilltop to another -- and a ridge shot to a blind basket on the banks of the Neuse River.

Speaking of the river, the course designers did a great job of incorporating it into the course, with holes laid out parallel or perpendicular to the water.

The natural beauty of the park is terrific. Lots of big, mature trees, rolling hills, and of course, the river.

Course navigation and tee signage is good.

There's a good mix of open and wooded holes, with the back 9 being much more wooded, until it opens up again on holes 17 and 18.

White and blue tees: great for intermediate to advanced players.

In my opinion, this is one of the most serene, peaceful, yet challenging and fun courses in North Carolina. If you're in the area, put it on your wish list.

Cons:

I share the same cons mentioned by others: holes 17 and 18 aren't great for safety or co-habituating with dog walkers or other park goers.

Another con for me was bugs. Definitely wear your bug spray. But even that won't stop the horsefly that had it out for me.

Some of the rough on the back 9 is truly rough, as the course moves from the more mature trees to pines and "Carolina Scramble" golf.

As you can see, I'm reaching for cons. All in all, this is a great course. I'm tempted to give it a 4.5, but the safety issue (holes 17 and 18), the rough, and bugs knock it down just a peg. Still, an excellent course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 3
nickhead
Experience: 29.5 years 48 played 8 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Nice day to play 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 9, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

Great course layout. space was used well. Course has a little bit of everything, and is well maintained. I enjoyed the course and it was family friendly.

Cons:

I have nothing bad to say it was an over all good course. for the area its worth a toss.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 1
Balzac
Experience: 22.2 years 94 played 13 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Hilly in Eastern NC 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 21, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Lots of elevation that is used well. This is certainly unusual in eastern North Carolina and makes this park stand out from many of the other area courses.
- Nice signs at every hole
- Most holes have two different tees, a white and a blue
- Concrete tee pads in good shape
- Benches at every hole
- Beautiful tall trees throughout course, with scenic views of the Neuse River
- Good use of the trees to force you to shape your shot, without it being overly difficult. A few holes do have the plinko feel though.
- Well maintained (ie mowed) park with restroom

Cons:

- The biggest downside for me is the proximity to other features of the park. A couple holes are relatively close to the playground and when busy people/children will stray onto the course. Also, hole #17 plays right along the dog park, and it wouldn't be hard to throw your disc into the dog park or into the parking lot next to it.
- Next to a waste treatment plant so it can get stinky if the wind is blowing right
- You can easily lose a disc in the river on a few holes if your shot caroms off a tree the wrong way

Other Thoughts:

Overall a very nice course. Perhaps my favorite in the eastern half of the state outside of the Triangle area. The elevation changes really seem to set it apart. And of course, who doesn't love a scenic view (in this case the river) while playing a round. Random note: the first time I played this course an older man had set up his video camera on one of the fairways to videotape himself ranting about religion; it was bizarre and I had to tee off from a different spot so that he wasn't in the line of fire. If you're in the New Bern area you should definitely take the time to play this course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 3
reposado
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 13 years 278 played 276 reviews
3.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 29, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

Glenburnie had a lot more elevation than I expected, the front half is the open half but just about every hole in it has you throwing down up or over. There is a decent depression that runs parallel to the river and the designers here took every chance they could to put a tee looking over it. I'd say half of the time the basket is considerably lower than the tee but often it is on the other side of the valley. The back half is wooded and semi wooded, with trees forcing shaped shots and much less elevation. Nice new tees and signs that make navigation easy, both from basket to tee and from tee to basket.
Highlights include 5 a gradual downhill that leads to a basket on a sharp rise as well as 6, a long climb with large trees, almost in two rows, effectively limiting shot selection. 7 is a fun, right-turning shot with a completely blind basket below a sudden decline in elevation.

Cons:

The course definitely ends on a low note. 17 is a longer hole that starts downhill with some tree cover leading to an open flat stretch which could be a cool hole if there wasn't a dog park right there. Now the park itself shouldn't come into play but the parking lot for said dog park is in front of the basket and people walking to and from the park will cross the fairway. That leads to 18 which plays over the park road and through the main section of the park.
As much as I like most of the holes of the front nine, there are a few areas of conflict that could be trouble on a busier day. Parts of the fairway on 4 will prevent players from safely teeing off on 1. The 8 long tee fires directly over the 7 basket.(extra unnecessary because only half the holes have a long tee) And a few places like 9 and 11 are shaped that one can't be sure from the tee which hole other players are on.

Other Thoughts:

Glenburnie and nearby Barnet are both currently in the back end of the North Carolina top twenty and
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 1
Upshawt1979
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 21.1 years 551 played 429 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Glenburnie Gets Me Going 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 2, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

The disc golf course at Glenburnie Park is great. I liked the big grassy hills with great elevation changes, that are shaded by numerous mature trees. A little bit of water in play for good measure. 18 holes with dual concrete tees, signs and baskets are also good quality. The first few holes were a little windy, as the park is alongside the water on the river. Hole one is a pretty good downhill warm up, and hole 2 has two baskets, as well as two tees. It's another pretty decent hole, but this course really gets going on hole 3. Uphill to a pin that drops off steeply behind. I hit the drive, but my birdie putt hit the basket, caught an edge and rolled, leading to a 3 putt bogey. The next several holes run back and forth, up and down hills through the trees. Hole 8 is a par 4 along the water, teeing high crossing a lower area to a basket on top of another hill. I chose the direct route and made par, but if you can crush a righty backhand hyzer, you can take the big window over the trees and try to spike it in front of the hill. I played with Scott, who tried that route and nearly made it. He nipped the top of a tree, but was still able to save a par. To see that shot work out would be pretty cool to witness, but I think it would probably result in a lost disc if I tried. Hole 9 got me for a 5 after bonking two trees solidly in the long fairway, and then two putting. 10 is a good downhill putter throw about 250', with a couple of possible routes. Hole 13 is a fun mid range, that drops downhill about half way. On hole 15 I saw an obstacle that I haven't seen anywhere else, I giant, red, buoy that is grounded firmly in the middle of the fairway. If you get past it, you should have a good shot at par. Hole 17 is a monster downhill, right to left hyzer that cuts in between a stand of trees and the dog park. I got off a good drive into the open, and still had to make a 200'+ approach to get my 3. 18 finishes up playing across the road and around some more tall lumber.

Cons:

I really can't complain. I wanted to rate this one a 5, but there are one or two holes that are just good, not great. Hole 18 playing across the road next to the entrance is not ideal. Not championship caliber difficulty, but super fun if you ask me.

Other Thoughts:

I like this sort of course the best. The fairways are roomy enough to make shots, but there are numerous trees. The big hills let you get some extra glide on those downhill drives. All the equipment is good. I played 9 courses in the northeast region of North Carolina over the weekend trip, and this was my favorite (Buckhorn a close second). Kind of reminded me of Flat Rock Park in Columbus, GA.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 1
Nemmers
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 11 years 89 played 33 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Worth going out of your way 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 22, 2014 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

- Sweet location. Set in the small town of New Bern, this course is small enough to stay on the down-low (read: not busy) but close enough to the amenities so you can grab a quick bite or a pack of smokes within a few minutes. Gas station down the street was offering $2.49/gallons of gas in November 2014, so you know this place is either behind the times, way ahead of the times, or the owner just hit the lotto and DNGAF.

- Awesome layout. Glenburnie has some sweet elevation changes which are unusual for an eastern Carolina course. It's got uphill and downhill shots, doesn't "cater" to RHBH players with its many left-to-right playing holes, and offers a really great mix of open and wooded shots. The alternate tees (and one alternate pin on #2) also throw you another curve ball because the course REAAALLY kinda grabs you by the boo-boo when you see how different it can be with a little added footage. #8 comes to mind here. Couple this with the wind off the "river" and you might have some trouble shooting even the first several times you play. Nevertheless, you're going to have fun at Glenburnie.

- Technical. If you're wondering whether or not your upshots and short game can hang with the big dogs, Glenburnie will tell you that story. A tough par 3 in the shorts and an even tougher +3 par 3 in the longs (I suck at math), you're going to need a fine touch and a metric butt-ton of accuracy to tame this course. Many of the fairways are very tight so errant shots often end up buried in the woods or floating in the "river," while the elevation changes on these tight fairways can cause off-the-mark upshots to roll long enough to turn a birdie attempt into a double par bogie. (That's a quadruple bogie in case you, like me, are bad at math.) In short, if you're one of those who's questioning whether or not you should move up from Rec to Am or Am to Pro, Glenburnie can provide your answer: If you can par this course consistently or your scores on this course are improving exponentially, you're ready for the next level.

- Great locals. Craven County has an outstanding cadre of passionate disc golfers who really take pride in their course and reach out to visiting golfers who play here. Really just a great bunch of people. If you find yourself lost (which is hard to do on this course) and see someone else playing, give 'em a holler. Guaranteed they help you out.

Cons:

- Uphill/downhill tees. All the tees are concrete and that's awesome, but some aren't very level. Pretty awkward to throw on. Not that this fact is the dagger in the heart of my chances to go pro (Lord knows), but I'd almost rather throw from natural tees.

- Crossing fairways. Some of the holes - specifically 7 & 8 and 10 & 11 could potentially be dangerous if people aren't careful. This isn't a huge issue per se, but it's worth mentioning. Look before you throw.

- Windy! It ain't Texas, but it's close some days. Your beat-in Valkyrie and flippy Teebird are gonna march even harder to the right when it starts moving good across the "river." This isn't necessarily a bad thing, just something to be mindful of when you're playing.

^^^ STANK. Sitting next to the sewage treatment facility in New Bern, if the wind is blowing just right you're liable to catch a whiff of what smells like Bigfoot's d!ck right in the FACE. It happens...just know it's there and be prepared. Kinda like watching football with your friends: somebody's gonna go crazy on the bean dip and get the bubble-guts. Tuck your nose in your shirt and pray for your buddy that it don't itch too bad when it dries and you'll be good to go.

- No topless Hooters girls frolicking along the #8 fairway.

Other Thoughts:

I'd heard great things about Glenburnie for many moons before I got the chance to play it and - as someone who's pretty skeptical about hype and is fairly stingy with rating courses on DGCR - I don't mind telling you that Glenburnie lived up to it's name. I cut my disc golf teeth on Castle Hayne and this course is a truly refreshing change that isn't too awful far away. I'll be back and I encourage anyone passing through to stop by. Glenburnie is worth a trip out of your way.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
mcodyclapp
Experience: 11.6 years 27 played 3 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Best in the area 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 12, 2014 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-Park is always clean, usually mowed, provides restroom facilities as well as water fountains and trash cans.
-Wide variety of open and wooded holes makes you use your whole game. A cannon arm alone will not get you through this course.
-Even on tight wooded holes, there are still multiple lines you can take.
-Variety of left-to-right and right-to-left finishes prevents right and left handers from complaining.
-White and blue tees provide two very different experiences. The whites, while shorter than or equal to the blue tees, provide what I feel is a more technical approach to the course.

Cons:

-More trash cans would be nice.

Other Thoughts:

While Glenburnie may not be a USDGC level course, it shines in the local area. The park is well kept, offers some beautiful views of the Neuse river, and uses its unusual coastal elevation to its advantage. The local club works extremely hard to improve the course continuously. If you are anywhere near New Bern, it is worth the trip to come and play.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
pmay5
Gold level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 21.1 years 486 played 248 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Buoy, Glenburnie is fun and challenging! 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 6, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

Great course in city park with lots of old-growth trees. Multiple cement tee pads on every hole with several really serious distance from the blues. All baskets were in good shape as well and great signs on each hole.

The large trees force you to shape your shots, but they are not the thick, bushy trees common to a lot of the NC courses that make escapes very difficult. There are some of those bushy trees, but they are mostly on the perimeters of the course.

Maximum use of the elevation in this park. Up and down the rolling hills and two baskets on mounds that test your mettle.

Really nice park with quite a history, property has formerly been the local fairgrounds and a WWII POW camp. Park overlooks the Neuse River, at 1-2 miles across, in looks more like a sound (see pictures for hole #7). Ironically, the quality of this park leads to a Con.

Cons:

I don't have any issues with any of the DG facilities, tees, baskets, signs, layout, flow are all good. The only issue I see, is this park being very busy at times. With the playgrounds, picnic shelters and dog park, these could interfere with the DG course at popular times, weekend afternoons and evenings. Most of this course is probably a challenge at those times.

Other Thoughts:

As I mentioned, the large trees do create paths to the baskets on most holes, so you have to shape your shots.
Some of my favorite holes - #5 Tee across the rolling hills to the basket on a bluff with thick brush behind it.
#7 Probably the signature hole on the course, tee across level ground, then the fairway turns right and drops down to the basket just feet away from the river. Some brush behind the basket, but makes a great image from the fairway.
#15 Much like #13, tee from an open area, find a gap through the trees, then turn left to the basket protected by more trees. The cool thing about 15, pick your gap on either side of a 12 foot high ocean buoy in the middle of the fairway. Really reminds you how close you are to the coast.
#17 Long par 4 across open ground and near the dog park. Wanna chase a frisbee puppy?
#18 Tough finishing hole, especially from the blues. Tee across the entrance drive, between a few trees whose branches create a ceiling. Only 306, but that ceiling should limit the drives, then uphill to the basket, with the drive OB on the left and OB fence on the right. Provides quite a challenge.

Really fun course to play, the trees provide obstacles to avoid, but very little of the disc eating trees. Blues provide extra distance, and some different lines, for the pros. I played early on a Sunday morning and had very few interruptions, except for one off-leash dog, and 3 others taking the long way to the dog park, down 17 fairway.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 6
_willdavis
Experience: 10.2 years 60 played 2 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Great Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jun 1, 2014 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Great Design. Plays along the river and just a mile or two away from Downtown New Bern. It's got a little bit of everything and both the blue and red tees are a must-play.

Cons:

Not too beginner friendly and if you go off the fairway, it could get a little messy with briers or the river. Hole 17-18 are right down wind from a water treatment plant so that's the only part of the course that kinda stinks.

Other Thoughts:

I try to play there everytime I pass through New Bern. Beautiful park and would highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 4
Rmldchi
Experience: 6 played 6 reviews
4.00 star(s)

ECUDG 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 7, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

Very scenic course, it's set right off a river. Set up well for a back handed thrower. All the holes are par 3's. Concrete pads with great DG baskets

Cons:

picnic areas set up in the middle of the course. If you go play this course; then play it early.

Other Thoughts:

a course that beginners can play
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 1
Hollywood
Experience: 11.7 years 13 played 5 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Love this course! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 27, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

In this part of eastern North Carolina, this is by far one of the best. I have had the opportunity to play this course many times and it always poses a new challenge each time. The first few baskets are pretty open which provide a great warmup before slowly working into the wooded baskets on the back nine.

Cons:

When it rains, its a swamp. No two ways about it. If its rained recently or if you play this course during the summer and experience a true southern t-storm, you'll be sloshing through water on many of the fairways.

Other Thoughts:

This is one of my favorite courses to play and helped me greatly develop my game without being too overly difficult but not very easy either.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 4
clementsjd1
Experience: 13.1 years 54 played 14 reviews
4.50 star(s)

1st Run 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 18, 2013 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

- Bathrooms available
- Had a very good mixture of holes, some very technical shots to be made here which I enjoy.
- Well marked tee's
- Map of the course at the beginning, I took a picture which helped me navigate much easier.

Cons:

- Rude dog walkers is my only complaint.

Other Thoughts:

Every course I have ever played on I have seen at one time or another someone walking their dog, or playing with their kids at the park, for the most part they stay clear of the course. At this particular course we waited 10 minutes for a lady with her dogs after politely letting her know we were trying to throw our discs down past her, in a very rude tone she yelled back we have the right to walk here to, we just laughed and waited the reason we laughed is she was standing there playing with her dogs in the middle of the fairway when their was a huge fenced in dog park 10 feet away from her. Maybe this course could use a walking trail.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 1
prerube
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 17.1 years 275 played 236 reviews
4.00 star(s)

3-4 holes away from being 2 different courses. 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 18, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

Dual concrete tees, nice tee signs and next tee signs for navigation.
Most of the short tees are far different than the longer tees.
Red practice basket and a large rod attached to a tree near the water for fishing out discs.
5 was a great valley shot with a steep blind drop off after the basket.
Hole 7 featured 2 totally different lines to a blind basket just feet from the water.
Hole 8 was nearly 500 feet from the far (nearly 300 from short) with water on right and scattered trees on left over rolling hills.Basket on top of hill.

Cons:

4 of the first 5 baskets are on a slope and it seems that this will be become a course gimick, but it is not as common later in the course.
Parking lot on left next to basket 3 and nearly touching tee 4.
Holes 6, 10, and 12 shared one tee and one tee and one basket which prevented it from being 2 very different sets of 18.
I had to throw over my car and directly at a dog park on 17.
The smell from the waster treatment plant was horrid, but somehow only a factor on hole 18 and as you are entering and leaving.

Other Thoughts:

FREE waterfront camping less than 20 minutes away on Riverdale road in the Croatian National Forest. (turn across from Fuel Market, turn right towards dead end, turn left and follow dirt road to camp sites.
Wind coming off the water was intense.
I did loose one disc in the water, so it is possible, but not common.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 6
chainbangers
Experience: 12.5 years 15 played 8 reviews
4.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 20, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Good Signage
-Nice clean park
-Challenging
-Amenities on site

Cons:

-Lumberjack was in the middle of the fairway cutting up a tree on hole 4 that really slowed down play because he wouldn't get out of the way
-Got pretty busy and cramped from local club

Other Thoughts:

Best course in area
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 5
Andrew_Wilson
Experience: 13.6 years 3 played 3 reviews
5.00 star(s)

Great Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 1, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Great course uses a little of everything from short hole to long holes. Open fairways to tight shots in the trees. Holes to backhand on and holes to flick it makes you use a variety of skills so you have to know how to do all of it if you wanna throw a good round.

Other Thoughts:

Concrete teepads. New tee signs on both whites and blue. The members and local discgolf players keep up with the course and it's only getting better
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Latest posts

Top