• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Emporia, KS

Jones Park - East

Permanent course
3.945(based on 16 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Jones Park - East reviews

Filter
11 0
Surge5
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 9.9 years 170 played 168 reviews
3.50 star(s)

We're Halfway There 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 3, 2021 Played the course:once

Pros:

You'll find elevation, distance, and variation at Jones East. One of three courses on site, East offers several tricky approaches and a few very nice placement based two-shot holes.

Huge parking lot with a practice basket, course sign and even a small chain-ring Marksman basket to really dial in your putts.

All the tee signs are very informative and tell you whether there are multiple pins or not.

There are so many options for play, especially with the gold course interspersed throughout. There are alternate tees on holes 3, 4, 7, 8, and 9, while alternate baskets are available on 1, 3-6, 8, 9, 12, 13, 15, and 18. That's a lot of alternate layouts that can be made which is always a big positive.

The main feature of this course is it's water carries. Holes 4 and 11 are the toughest, but it also comes into play on 10, 12, and right behind the basket on 14. Hole 11 is the best as it is only 382' and is definitely reachable for the just-above-intermediate player, but sitting just 30' from the basket is the pond, which is about a 70' water carry. It's a tough decision. Hole 4 has water most of the way down the fairway, but there is an alternate tee to keep the water out of play.

Plenty of enjoyable elevation. Hole 6 is uphill and has a lot of trees on the way up. Holes 8 and 9 are both big downhill bombers, and Hole 16 is a double-drop with the last drop just in front of the basket.

The two-shot holes make placement the biggest challenge instead of just distance. Hole 3 is a long uphill that will really punish you for going to the left by sticking you behind the bathroom building. Hole 7 is my personal favorite. A blind tee shot from either tee (there isn't really a short/long tee here. Its more of a left/right), you must push the far side of the landing zone, but not so far that you go OB (like me). From there the fairway cuts back to the left and you've got a small but steep downhill to a very small green. Hole 9 forces you to stay to the left off the tee or be in some nasty trees.

The OB is well-marked and well kept up. It adds a lot of challenge and keeps the most dangerous of player honest.

A few more extra challenges, hole 12 short is a nice elevated basket, 13 has some tricky guardian trees to access the green, and hole 17's green will punish you if you're even 15 feet long.

Cons:

While having some of the best holes of the East/West dichotomy, East also has some of the worst. 1, 2, and 3 are all flat without much in the way. 5 and 8 are just carries over OB grass that feel forced in to get to 18 holes, and 17 and 18 are just 1 and 2 in reverse. It's unfortunate that there are so many unimpressive holes when there are also some very good holes here too.

With so many gold baskets on this course, it can be really confusing what exactly you're shooting for, especially when some of them are so close together (looking at you 13 and 15). It's really important to pay attention to the tee signs of the course you're playing and nothing else.

A few navigation difficulties. Having to go out on the road for 1 to 2 and 17 to 18, and finding 16's tee from 15's green is pretty difficult the first time. We are lucky to live in the Udisc age.

Other Thoughts:

East has some excellent holes to really test your placement and accuracy, but unfortunately the rest of the course isn't at the same level. East is definitely the tougher of East vs West, but there isn't the same sense of completeness that West has.

Overall, though, East is 100% worth your time. Play it, enjoy it, and throw better than I did on 4 so you don't have to go for a swim.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 1
Breh
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14 years 192 played 190 reviews
3.50 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 16, 2020 Played the course:once

Pros:

Jones East is a very big Disc golf course. The veteran baskets our in amazing shape, and great tee signs. The course allows you to throw big distance drives. Good mix of lefty/righty holes and open bombs. The east side uses the water well here as multiple holes have you throwing over it. Theres a couple holes that are very high risk high reward which I enjoy. Couple really cool basket placements and settings. Good use of elevation change and well marked obs.

Cons:

The layout is beyond confusing. There's short and long pads on some holes, as well as jones gold playing through most this course. some holes had 3 baskets even on them. Not even sure if we played it how it was truly designed to be played. Not a great place for beginners as most the course is open long holes. Not much tree coverage and the summer sun on this long course is rough.

Other Thoughts:

Jones east and west together makes a great day of disc and a destination area. I did prefer the west however as the layout just flows better.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
Upshawt1979
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 21.1 years 550 played 429 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Jones in My Bones 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 24, 2019 Played the course:once

Pros:

Jones East is fun. It is my favorite of the two 18 hole layouts in the park, although I have only played one round at each, and the round on the West was 3 years ago. The East has fairly consistent rises and falls in elevation, nothing shocking, but it's a factor. There is water in play on several holes, and plenty of OB. The trees will add formidable challenges on a few holes, or at least shape the tee shot most of the time. The winter lawn was nice, and gave some good skips, but the tall grass areas were blanketed with leaves and can still hide an errant shot.

A lot of the holes have long and short concrete tees, and good quality signs are posted at each one. The yellow rimmed baskets from Dynamic Discs will often have alternate pin placements as well. Next to the parking lot there is a practice basket, as well as a narrow profile putting target.

Hole one is a nice starter, with a lot of trees that include a mando forcing a tee shot to be on the left side of the fairway. A building hides the long pin placement, with a road that is OB behind it. Hole 7 is my favorite, with an uphill drive to a landing zone that has quite a few trees, leading to a downhill shot toward the long pin that is also surrounded by trees. This was the only birdie for me on the round, but its a killer hole no matter the outcome. 11 and 12 play across a pond, to heighten the suspense a bit. 11 is a bit longer and may tempt a safe layup to prevent losing discs or taking penalties, but you can go for it and drive the green successfully. 12 can give an ace run with the putter, but it is on an elevated pin that holds the basket about two feet higher than normal. 13 has an interesting dogleg that turns right at the end of the fairway through a gap in a line of trees. 18 is a wild way to finish it out, with the tree lined creek all the way along the right side. It's a long par 3 that ends alongside the parking lot, creating a lot of OB to the left near the basket. My scorecard exploded on this hole, I took a circle 8. Christmas Eve snowman. NOT what I asked for.

Cons:

There are walking trails that may bring pedestrians into the range of a disc occasionally. The basket on 18 is very near the entry to the parking area, and invites a dented fender from a poor throw or untimely gust of wind. Wind and water could add up to lost discs, beginners could be intimidated by a couple of holes.

Other Thoughts:

The East half of the Jones Park duo is probably my favorite. My memory of the West has aged, but I'm pretty sure that I would recommend the East if you could only get to one of them.

The landscape changes more consistently, between slight elevation changes, water and trees. Maybe a few more birdies to be had, somewhat dependent on the layout, perhaps. A couple of the holes were mostly wide open, but there is a good bit of variation required shot to shot and hole to hole. Diversity of switching up tees or changing pin locations can create fresh looks too.

I was 11 over for the one round sadly. I was missing a lot of putts. Mostly it fell apart when I went 5 over par on the last hole. If I played that one par it would have been nice. My only birdie was on 7, which was in the par 4 long position, and felt pretty good.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 2
paulbmann
Experience: 34.2 years 67 played 10 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Beautiful and Well Designed. 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 6, 2016 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Well designed course, variety of shots, championship level holes, some two-drive holes, rolling hills, lake, green grass, just the right amount of trees, good fairways, restrooms.

Cons:

Not beginner friendly, holes are on the longish side.

Other Thoughts:

I heard they are putting in some short tees which would increase the appeal to amateurs.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 5
wannabepudge
Experience: 2 played 2 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Looks like I need to work out 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 30, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Well kept
- Scenic
- Great baskets
- Good driving pads

Cons:

- Couldn't find hole 1 so we started somewhere around 6.
- Many holes had us digging for discs in shoulder high OB grass since we couldn't drive far enough.

Other Thoughts:

I like to think I can drive a decent distance, but a couple of these holes put that to the test (and I failed). We had just played West, so this may have been tired arm syndrome, but I felt it was a bit rough for any player at my level/strength. Which means most would be in my scenario.

Otherwise, very good looking and difficult course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
bangmychains
Experience: 28.9 years 5 played 5 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Top Notch Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 11, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

Good use of elevation and OB's. Long armers dream with many a skill shot with technique required. Being about a 950 or so rated player I questioned at first the par for many of the holes until I got into playing it. It demands a quality shot at the pin on most holes to give yourself a chance for birdie. It can get you in trouble if you can't control your drive

Cons:

Can't really find many negatives. Maybe just some holes were a little too close for my liking to other things such as benches, ball fields and roads but it does give it the precision element.

Other Thoughts:

Nice city with all amenities within a mile or so from the course; restaurants, hotels, convenient stores,etc. There are also additional courses within 5 minutes drive of this one. Can make a day out of it and play many holes.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
spaceguy87
Experience: 18.8 years 213 played 7 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Excellent challenge of a course 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 10, 2013 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

I played this course twice for the PDGA Amateur Disc Golf World Championships in July 2013. Once for practice and once in competition.

This course is a great challenge. The use of elevation and limited water hazards here is well done. It deserves its par 60 status and a score in the 50s should be considered well played.

Most of the holes that use water have a way to lay up for people with smaller arms (except for maybe hole 12).

Course is in great shape following Worlds. Nice tees, nice signs, nice baskets.

Lots of parking at various places around the park allow you to conveniently start at the beginning, or the middle.

Located next to Jones Park - West. One can easily park once and have nice long 36 hole round.

Very few holes that I remember that clearly favor only left hand throws or right hand throws (maybe hole 4 and 14?).

It is a long course, but technical enough that someone with a short arm but accurate control can still score well against a big arm thrower.

Cons:

Some of the OB that I played with in Am Worlds was temporary. The course is not quite as challenging if the casual player does not have the same OB marked.

A few unimaginative holes: I thought Holes 3 and 17 left something to be desired. This is just my opinion and others may like them. Hole 17 felt a bit simple. I think the tee box can be moved slightly to make this hole better. Hole 3 feels a bit forced. I don't feel like using a building in the fairway on a 500 foot hole makes for a good challenge, it's just annoying. These are the only 2 holes I have much negative to say about.

The tall grass, while nice for a clear OB line, makes discs frustratingly hard to find. Some of t he grass has thorns so its not fun to walk through.

This course is a long walk. This is not necessarily a con for everybody, but some casual players, or people with less endurance, will not be able to enjoy this course because it is too long.

No restroom near the parking lot at Hole 1. Restroom is at the parking lot where the two Jones courses meet in the middle.

The course map on DGCR is old. It has the wrong hole numbers, at least compared to what the numbering was for Worlds.

I don't know for sure, but I would guess the drop zones that were marked for Worlds are not permanently marked.

Other Thoughts:

Just wish I lived closer to Jones Park so I could play it more often!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
12 0
TalbotTrojan
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.8 years 112 played 104 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Did That Just Happen? 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 14, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

This course sits in a very nice park that actually has two disc golf coruses in it. The tee pads are incredible consistent and the design of the course makes really good use of land. Many trees and other plant features offer a challenge as OB comes into play on several holes. The variety of shots and length of holes makes this course feel challenging and yet fair at the same time. There are some long pin placements that can really make a hole significantly more challenging. New tee signs and baskets are in place and make the course feel newer than it is. The park does have other amenities for family members who may not like playing disc golf. There are also restrooms at various different places on the course. There is a good amount of elevation that comes into play on a few holes. There are a lot more of those holes that you will remember, either for how well you did on what looks like a tough hole or because of how poorly you did on a really tough hole.

Cons:

There are a couple of places where the course plays near other park features that might be in use by other park visitors. There are a couple of places where holes are close to eachother and tee shots may come close to other players. The ground can get really soggy when it is wet and you will find some really muddy places, especially around the water features.

Other Thoughts:

When the new baskets and tee signs went in, the start of this course was moved to the parking lot on the far East side of the park. This means that the same parking lot should no longer be used for both courses. This will make tournaments easier but casual play on both courses more difficult. This is probably one of the places you will want to stop at if you are in this part of the country. The course is very fair and does not punish players who cannot throw as far. That is in comparison to the temporary course in Emporia on ball golf courses. The fact that there is a second course to play in the same park is a big plus. I found this course to be really encouraging, even in the midst of some tough holes. The fun factor on this course was really high for me and the uniqueness of most shots on the course pushed the rating higher.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 1
jayhawker737
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.4 years 52 played 41 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Longer Half 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 16, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

This course utilizes water very well. The water is there and definitely in play, but not too intruding.
This course really tests your arm, especially with the Emporia wind.
The technical holes on this course are a great change of pace.
If this was the only course you play in a day, its a great length.
Great baskets!

Cons:

There is a lot of back and forth on this course.
Distance is great, but it would be nice to mix up the distance a little bit more. This was my 3rd course out of 4 on a day trip, and it was by far the longest and most tiring.

Other Thoughts:

This is a great course to test your distance and somewhat of accuracy. However if you are playing multiple courses in a day, make sure to plan a lot of time for this one. I would like to give this a 4, but there is too much back to back and monotonous of holes.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
SteezeOG
Experience: 19 played 8 reviews
4.50 star(s)

The beast 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 2, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Good variety and not just a bomb it type of course although the length is there. Best baskets in town. Usually not busy at all the west course gets more action. Requires strategy and thought but also allows for the grip it and rip it mentality on some holes.

Cons:

The length can be both a pro and con depending on your mood and level of play. It is sometimes too much of a course for your average player but the good thing is you can just walk to the other side of the park and play the west course. Wind will always be a factor but it's Kansas so get used to it.

Other Thoughts:

I really like this course but since getting back into the game recently I just don't have the skill to make it all that enjoyable. If you're looking for a challenge or are a top amateur/pro then have at it. I just prefer the west course. Oh and bring a long stick or some floating discs. There is water on both courses and the wind will land you in some eventually.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 3
kcplease
Experience: 15 years 133 played 31 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Mucho Grande 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 17, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

Pretty good variety of hole length
Many holes allow you to really open up on the drives
Quite a bit longer than the West course, but with fewer obstacles (hole 2 being an execption, 610 feet, trees all over the place. Least favorite hole)
flows well, as does the west course
Baskets catch rather well

Cons:

Sometimes too long, but I have no room to complain, I have played Blue Valley.
Hole 2.
Trees can be obtrusive, (less of avoid the tress, but pick the best one to hit)

Other Thoughts:

I would love to come back and play these in the summer. I am sure they would be more fun. I love how this course lets you bomb on some holes, then makes you place the drive on others. Trees are in a variety of areas, except on hole 2, where they are everywhere. Every hole seems fresh, so it rarely hits a dull moment.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
chad groen
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 24.3 years 42 played 41 reviews
5.00 star(s)

A Very Fun and Unforgiving Course 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Oct 3, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

When you step up to the first tee pad and see the road to the right (OB), a long, wide field (OB) between you and the basket, and also the small cluster of trees near the basket, you know immediately this is going to be a long and difficult course. What you may not realize is that this is only the tip of the iceberg for a course that's filled with fun and challenging layouts. Some holes have blind tee shots, some have OBs, some have weeds, some have water hazards, some have trees, some are hilly, and some have mixture of those. Also, the wind can sometimes be a factor with your shots. Jones Park East is in great shape and shows no mercy to anyone regardless of skill level. The challenges vary with each hole, encouraging you to use different types of throws throughout the course. Each hole has multiple basket locations which offer more variety and more challenges for you to deal with. Even if you don't play that well, you'll still enjoy the experience of playing on this beautifully designed course. It's strategically set up so that if you make the right decisions with a long and accurate throw, you can usually set yourself up for a good chance to get a decent score. That's a lot easier said than done though for this long and difficult course.

Cons:

This course might be a little too difficult for beginning players, especially if they don't have strong arms, but it's a course they'll definitely want to work up to. They'll probably be better off playing the friendlier, though still challenging, West course in this park first.

Other Thoughts:

This course will challenge you in almost every imaginable way, but the holes are designed in ways that also make them very fun to play. Depending on your skill level, you may not get a low score on this course, and you might possibly lose a disc or two, but you'll still enjoy playing here. It's easily one of the best courses I've ever played.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
scarpfish
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 21 years 360 played 100 reviews
4.00 star(s)

The East is a BEAST 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:May 11, 2009 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Incredibly challenging. Its long, but its not a fun and gun kind of long. You really have to assess your abilities and plot a strategy right from the teepad on many holes. Steering your disc around, between and over trees is a big part of the challenge here. Many baskets are set in areas where dense trees, OB areas or other objects are close so placement is key. The water holes have an around route for people who can't clear them by going over. Its tough. Very tough, but its fair. In the minds of many who play disc golf in Kansas, this is the arguably the most difficult course in the state when the pins are set long. If this course emasculates you your first time out, you will want another shot at it.

Cons:

Some of the same drainage issues that plague its sister course which it bumps right up against. Some hellatious thorns (more like small daggers) in the woods along the little creek by holes 9-11, and some less endangering ones in the tall grass areas on Hole 1 and 16-18. They provide for excellent obstacles, but I hate the idea of risking tetanus for a round of DG. Best keep your disc out of these areas. The conjoined teebox on holes 5 and 8 (see hole 8's picture) is rather awkward.

Other Thoughts:

This one's not for the kiddies folks (send them to the other side of the park), but tournament caliber players will love this, even if the course is set in a short configuration. Much like the West course, I recommend seeing what position the basket is before you tee off as that may have an effect on your strategy. If you're passing through on I-35, and demand a challenge, this one is a must hit.

UPDATE: 5/2012. I've decided to lower this course to 4.0 discs. Nothing is particularly wrong that constituted the drop, but looking at where it fit compared to other courses that I've reviewed, the new score in hindsight seemed more befitting. If 4.25 was available, I'd give it that.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
KSLAWDAWG
Experience: 19 years 27 played 4 reviews
4.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 6, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Course does have a good mixuture of open and wooded. Mostly longer holes. More for advanced players. Good tee pads. If you cant drive a long ways - this course will be perfect for you.

Cons:

Very long and diffucult. Not a good course for beginners that want to shoot a good score.

Other Thoughts:

I live in emporia and really like the east and west course, but prefer playing the west course. Prolly b/c I cant throw like a pro either
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 3
ZCRogers
Experience: 18.3 years 21 played 10 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Great course. 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 16, 2007 Played the course:never

Pros:

Very challenging. I played this at the 07 Glass Blown and I was blown away. Tons of shot variation with alot of OB's. This course definately left me wanting more.

Shooting over ponds, through gaps in tree lines, elevation, distance, technical, everything you would want to see in a course.

Cons:

No real cons I can think of.

Other Thoughts:

This is my favorite of the two Jones Park courses.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 1
FoleyT
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 19 years 86 played 85 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Big Arm Paradise 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 3, 2007 Played the course:never

Pros:

Nicely laid out course, lots of challenges, water, trees, doglegs to the right and left, tunnel shots. This course has it all. Rolling Prairie scenery, old growth trees, set in a large public park. Lots of opportunities to 'let it fly' if you've got the arm for it.

Cons:

I mistakenly played the 'East' course, after being lured here by the description of the 'West' course. 'East' is considerably longer and harder, from what I understand. Some of the signage could be a bit clearer, I got lost and played a few of the wrong holes around the back 9 where the two courses intersect. I imagine this course is pretty tough when the wind blows.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Latest posts

Top