Deerfield, IL

Keller Park

1.815(based on 18 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Keller Park reviews

Filter
8 0
EspressoPatronum
Gold level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 18.6 years 224 played 215 reviews
1.50 star(s)

A Forgettable Suburban 9er

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 6, 2023 Played the course:once

Pros:

- generally well maintained park
- some decent hole distances for a multi-use suburban park
- some obstacles add a limited amount of challenge
- a couple cool water hazards during back half
- course map at beginning of course
- basic but serviceable baskets
- pole provided near creek for disc retrieval is a nice touch
- baskets have hole numbers (a couple are missing)
- concrete tees, though could be larger

Cons:

- very flat
- significant safety hazards - walking paths, playground, houses
- no tee signs (details in concrete on tee)
- bit of a walk from 9 back to beginning
- parking is not ideal; no dedicated spaces near start
- generally open with few unique qualities
- navigation is not completely intuitive
- creek mostly doesn't come into play on first half of course
- no hole numbers on baskets
- most tees are pretty undersized

Other Thoughts:

This course was pretty forgettable overall. The number of safety hazards stands out - tons of throwing over walking paths, throwing adjacent to residential backyards on holes 1 and 2, throwing near a playground and baseball field... virtually every hole had some concern.

The course is entirely flat with some limited obstacles but nothing exciting. There is some good incorporation of the creek as a water hazard on later holes, although the earlier, wooded portion of the creek is not included which is too bad. On the throw over the creek, there is almost no line to the basket that can be seen; cutting back the growth a bit here would be an improvement.

In general, I really dislike hole info being on pavers or concrete tees. It can make navigation surprisingly more difficult on these open courses without obvious fairways, and in the winter forget about finding anything. The other equipment here is serviceable - while the tees could be bigger, they are concrete and the baskets catch well enough.

With all the suburban Chicago area courses, not much about this one stood out besides the water hazard. The hole lengths are decently varied and respectable; this isn't a totally trivial length 9 hole course.

The park is in fairly good shape besides the growth on the water carry which I'd like to see cleaned up. There are parking lots near the back half of the course, but nothing really available near the start - street parking has no parking signs. Overall, there isn't really anything that would make me come back to this course. The vanilla flat/open aspect plus safety hazards make this one not worthwhile unless you're trying to bag everything - and there are a ton of other 9 hole courses nearby.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
DiscGolfer80
Experience: 4.7 years 57 played 56 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Nice 9 hole course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 9, 2020 Played the course:once

Pros:

Descent course for beginners; few obstacles but fairly wide open course. Like the tee pad had hole design on pad. Nice variety of hole lengths and score. Park seems to be maintained well.

Cons:

Can be tricky to play during the week when school is in session or when athletic fields are being used. Possible non playable,depending on good your shot is, when it gets warmer and more people are walking or using playground.

Hard to find parking to play if you are out of town, depending on street parking or school is in session.

Other Thoughts:

As mentioned before, good for beginners.

Hole 5 can be difficult if one is just beginning, since with the creek runs thru the middle of the hole.

Hole 6, same as Hole 5, with creek running along west side of hole so aim to the right a bit to avoid losing a disc.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
Qikly
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 11.7 years 181 played 148 reviews
1.50 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 2, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

Keller Park is a small city park that hosts a decent casual DG course. There's some nice distance to some of the holes that exceeds what is usually on offer in such a small park course. There are enough obstacles in play to force some line shaping and encourage shot versatility. Sprawling tree branches make you aware of your ceiling in a few spots, too. So this course is far from a grip it and rip it one or an ace run fest.

Navigation is fine. The park seems well-groomed.

Cons:

While it's nice that the course layout makes maximum use of the space provided, its layout seems to brush against other park activities at many points. I'd be concerned about conflicting with non-DGers on a day when any are present.

This course is a quick and casual one that doesn't offer you much other than scratching the disc golf itch and bagging a course. I think there are better such courses in the area, such as Central Park and Twin Creeks, which play the same role in roughly the same environment but do so with a little more personality. Still, all of these courses play quickly enough and are close enough together that you won't necessarily have to choose one over the other. That's part of the area's appeal.

Other Thoughts:

Great as part of a course-bagging day trip. Be sure to prioritize visiting Fairfield when you're in the area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
The Valkyrie Kid
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 45.8 years 1563 played 1507 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Swell Chicago 9'er! 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 29, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

The course at Keller Park looks like it has seen many changes over time. The holes now are different than those listed for the on-line map. Previous reviewers have me questioning my always accurate notes. Is this the course with the brand new plastic composite signs?

The course starts in one area of the park, then crosses the creek at # 5. # 's 6-9 play over in this space by the ball fields. The course has decent concrete tee pads. The baskets are older DGA models with the red # on top.

Playing without ball games and with few people in the park, things were fine. I wouldn't want to play this course while ball games were in progress.

# 5 was a cool little toss across the murky creek. The problem is the basket here is set fairly close to the backstop. I'm sure if a game were being played, there could be all sorts of folks hanging around here and any throw flying long could be problematic.
Then # 6 would be even a bigger problem if they games in progress. It plays 519' with right field on your right and the creek and tall grass on the left. Players will naturally try to throw away from the creek
and therefore possibly throw into right field. Depending on your drive, your second shot will possibly carry over the spectator area.

# 7 might not be possible during games. # 9 is a 400', par 4, which probably wouldn't be playable during games.

Cons:

I don't know how often they have games here but much of the course probably won't be available during games. Mature, experienced players will know when to throw them and when to hold them. The teenagers with one disc and little control sometimes doesn't make the best decisions.

# 9 is open and boring.

Other Thoughts:

In spite of the problems that might arise during baseball games, I had an enjoyable round here. I would avoid this course(probably between 5:30 - 8:00 pm) during peak hours. Soccer games in the fall might create a whole other series of problem times.

This course wouldn't be a Chicago 9'er if it didn't already come with it's own slew of problems and shortcomings, would it?
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
Parsaver
Experience: 5 played 5 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Better Than It Was 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 11, 2014 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-Situated in a well maintained suburban park
-Park doesn't have too much to work with in the way of obstacles but the design does a good job with what's available. You can't just throw a straight forward hyzer on every hole. Right Handed players will need flicks or anhyzers for 4,7, and 8.
-Holes 1, 6 and 9 provide 400ft+ distance for big arms to really rip, which isn't too common in this area
-2, 4, and 7 offer interesting shots. 2 is a short but tricky spike or skip hyzer. 4 requires a big anhyzer or flick or a tight flex shot. 7's basket is well protected by trees and requires a low ceiling shot that finishes right.
-6 is the best hole on the course, over 500 feet with a slight dogleg to the left. A creek runs next to the fairway on the left the entire length of the hole, and the fences of two baseball fields and trees prevent you from playing the hole wide to the right. You need a well controlled drive and upshot to take a 3.
-Concrete tee pads are small but have good grip, and have nice hole maps embedded in them
-Very easy to navigate this course. There is a nice new map next to hole 1, just east of where Hackberry Rd. dead ends.

Cons:

-Property doesn't offer any elevation change or truly wooded holes
-Course will not challenge advanced players
-Park can get busy with pedestrians. Lots of people walk on paths that come into play on 3, 4, and 5, and a playground comes into play on 2. Also baseball and soccer games can come into play on 6-9. Part of the year a soccer field is setup directly in 9's fairway. If you are going to be playing midday on weekdends during baseball/soccer season be prepared to play with caution and to possibly have to skip 6 and 9.
-Yards come into play on 1, 7 and 8 but usually discs can be retrieved without a problem
-Situated right next to a sanitation facility that can get pretty smelly
-Holds water after rainfall, especially around hole 2

Other Thoughts:

-This course has been updated since the last review. The map listed in the links/files section is out of date, but the pictures are accurate. Basically, two short holes were added behind hole 1. So the old hole 2 is now hole 4, and old 3 is now 5. Old 4 and 5 were combined to make the long 6, and old 6, 7 and 8 are the same but now play as 7, 8 and 9. The old 9th hole is gone.
-The baskets on 1 and 7 are old and single chained but still catch well enough, the rest are DGA Mach 5's (I think) and are in good shape. The basket for 3 is sunk low into the ground, which offers a little variety.
-Course can get pretty windy, which adds some challenge
-Street parking is available on Pine St. or Hackberry Rd. right by 1's tee, and 4's basket can be used for putting warm-up
-Beginner friendly, just beware of the creek hazard on 5 and 6
-While the creek really comes into play on 6, discs that go swimming can normally be easily retrieved with a stick. But beware if you are playing after a heavy rain.
-Locals play that if you can throw a disc straight through the bridge on the walk from 9 back to 1 without hitting the bottom or the sides you can take a shot off your score :)
-Don't go too far out of your way, but if you live in the area its definitely worth playing, it doesn't get as many players as it should
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
Jukeshoe
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.5 years 315 played 266 reviews
0.00 star(s)

Pretty Bad 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 17, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Keller Park plays in a small suburban multi-use park. #1 plays along a yard before doglegging briefly to the right. #2 plays back, a small stream with fairly steep banks to the far right. The course then crosses a rusty bridge (at least one hole seems to have been removed from this area) where the remaining holes play along the stream, along a couple of rows of large trees, and then kinda peters out near a school building where the last two holes also appear to be deleted.
- A couple of risky shots for beginners or amateur players on #'s 4 and 5, as the tree line to the left has been completely cleared of vegetation. This exposes the stream and the bank, greatly increasing the risk of getting wet.
- Decent concrete pads.

Cons:

- Missing hole #'s 3, 8 and 9. Apparently #'s 8 and 9 were located on a small hill that no longer exists.
- Ugly as sin with the surrounding suburbia, other park activities (#4 plays scarily close to a ball diamond's bleachers), the cleared foliage, and the city stream.
- Except for the sign announcing this as a disc golf course, there is no signage. Nothing to tell you to cross the river, no tee signs, nothing.
- Basket #'s 5 and 6 were broken.
- Next to a water treatment facility. Depending on the wind, be prepared for a foul odor.

Other Thoughts:

- At one point, this course might have been fairly decent. It seems to have fallen into utter neglect. Definitely something to skip unless you have NO other options. This is hardly even a course at this point. With no signage, no real flow, and the missing holes, this rates with the "worst of the worst."
- It's not good when you finish playing and literally say, "Is that IT?! Fo' realz?!"
- This course would have frustrated me to no end but luckily I had a guide. Thanks Alan! I'd still be looking for #3.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
Chicagolandlefty
Experience: 26.8 years 93 played 8 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Beginner course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 23, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Most of the tee shots force you to do something a little bit different and there is some distance to be had here. It's a good beginner course to practice your drives on.

There are a few semi-interesting lines thanks to trees in the way on a few holes.

Concrete tees are nice for those that are picky about that.

Cons:

Some of the baskets are in pretty bad shape. I think they have 3 new baskets on the course and the rest are older in varying levels of decay. A few of the baskets rest against the pole on an angle because they are loose. I will say that the chains play a bit 'softer' on the older ones so simply tightening the actual basket would probably be enough.

There's no real memorable holes on this course. It's not too much of a challenge for an intermediate or pro player. With the possible exception of the 9th hole (just because of distance), any decent player should be able to 3 every hole without too much trouble.

There isn't much signage on the course though you shouldn't need it in terms of figuring out where to go. There is a course map by the first tee, but most of the holes are pretty self explanatory. That said, it would be nice to have tee signs for distance markers and pars (though they're all pretty obvious 3s).

Other Thoughts:

The course underwent a minor redesign in 2012. The former 'signature' hole (which was #3) is no longer there because of construction around the basket. You used to throw over a creek with trees on both sides of an opening, but that hole is no more unfortunately. Same goes for the former 9th hole which was in the same area (may have shared the basket with 3, but I don't remember for sure).
The replacement holes are now 2 and 3 and the old 2 is now the current 4th hole. There is a painted arrow on a sidewalk after the 4th hole to tell you to cross the (very stinky) bridge to reach the tee for 5.

The creek has been cleaned up. It used to have trees lined up all along it (as you can see in the pictures in the media section), but they're all gone. It's completely wide open with a steep downward slope to the water. This makes the two holes lined up along it quite interesting if only for the mental fear of winding up in the sewage creek. Ultimately, it's not that hard to avoid, but since the course is probably best used for beginners it's worth noting that a drive sprayed to the left can easily wind up wet. They're still messing with the creek so who knows what it will look like down the road. They've added rocks for damming and small fences on both sides, which will stop discs from rolling down into the water.

Overall, it's a decent beginner course, but that's about it. If you're intermediate or better you won't find much challenge here. It's a good place for a beginner to learn a few different drives, but it's not worth driving to from outside the north suburbs.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
Ukeubuuke
Experience: 14 years 36 played 3 reviews
2.00 star(s)

A Good Beginner Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 10, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-good beginner course
-some longer holes to practice drivers
-well maintained park
-cement tees
-good course sign at hole #1
-flat terrain and short distances makes for a fast and easy round
-hole #3 plays across a small creek which makes for a fun challenge. Not too great a challenge.
-several holes are ace holes, therefore a fun try at getting your first ace.
-good mix of long and short holes, especially for a 9-hole course

Cons:

-busy park with many other things going on besides disc golf such as baseball games. Only a problem because the course intersects with the ball diamonds.
-a couple of blind spots near paths and traffic,which cause a risk of hitting a pedestrian unknowingly
-a few holes have houses and yards lining the fairways. A bad throw can land you in a yard or even hitting a house.
-a little too flat, even for Illinois.
-no signs at the tees
-tees are on the smaller side

Other Thoughts:

This is a great course to start learning disc golf. Some longer holes create a good tee-off challange and shorter holes leave you encouraged. There are no great challenges to speak of in this course. If you are an advanced player there are other courses in the area you should go to first.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
notapro
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 20.6 years 568 played 281 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Beginner 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 11, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Good mix of hole length. There are a few over 400', and a few that are short ace runs. Not just the same power throw throughout.
- Great use of elevation on a few holes. #8 especially, which has a long, gently downsloping fairway to a pretty big hill with the basket on top. If you can't throw it around 400', you have to get it close to the hill, and then putt up it. The throw over the creek also has a slightly elevated tee box.
- A couple of the holes make good use of trees to provide some challenge. Mostly, this prevents a typical RHBH hyzer shot to get to the basket. RHFH comes in handy on these holes. Conversely, some holes by the creek use the forest to prevent a LHBH syle shot, yet is wide open for a RHBH.
- Navigation easy, especially with the map in front.

Cons:

- These baskets were pretty darn old. Also covered with some sort of paint, I am assuming to muffle the chains. A couple of the baskets were a swift kick away from falling to the ground.
- Teeboxes were nice concrete, but were very small. Probably 6' x 2' or so. Definitely needed a runup on the grass for full power. Also, all of the plaques were missing on each hole (were originally set in the concrete). Make sure to check the map the first time around.
- A lot of non-DG activities in this park. There is a playground on the front side, and multiple kiddie baseball fields on the back side. On a bad day, this place must be packed with little kids running around.
- Water treatment facility is quite smelly once you cross the creek. Makes me wonder what that hill is made out of...
- Holes 3 and 9 share a basket. I didn't have a problem taking turns with the people also throwing to it, but it was still a pain. Not to mention both holes are extremely short, which makes it feel like you are sharing a practice basket.
- Ground was fairly wet around the #3/#9 basket, I can't imagine how it would be after a real rain. A mud pit that you have to throw into twice, probably.

Other Thoughts:

- This course was pretty unique compared to others in the area. #8 is very enjoyable; you have enough room to rip a drive, and then have to contend with a pretty big hill. The short throw over the creek on #3 is kind of gimmicky, but still fun. The short, open holes are very easy, but a slope to the creek will absolutley punish you if you go too far left.
- The pros and the cons are pretty extreme at this course, I feel. The rare elevation changes are a major pro, but the bad smell is a major con. The holes with denser trees are a nice change of pace, but the wide open, short holes are way too easy. Still, I feel the cons have it, and will probably make this a once-a-year type of course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
Jax11
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.8 years 103 played 35 reviews
1.50 star(s)

Nothing Special 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 28, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

- Some interesting holes (#3, #6, #7)
- Creative use of terrain playing around and over the creek
- Nice distance variety allowed for some open drives
- Concrete tee pads
- Not a lot of traffic
- Nice sign with accurate distances before hole one.
- Good flow, easy navigation.
- Challenging par if you do not have a big arm, some 400+ ft holes.

Cons:

- Few holes are redundant. (#4, #5)
- Concrete tee pads are too small and are starting to show some wear.
- No tee signs, only the one before the 1st hole.
- Baskets are in terrible condition. most have only one set of chains, and the actual basket wobbles on the posts. Some are rusted over or painted brown?
- Some holes play dangerously close to houses that back up the park. Don't shank one!
- If you throw it in the creek it can be annoying to retrieve due to the steep banks.
- A nearby water treatment plant sometimes leaves a funky smell.
- Hole 3 and 9 play to the same basket. Could cause problems if the course was crowded.

Other Thoughts:

Keller Park has a decent layout and some interesting holes, but it lacks the general amenities one comes to expect from a solid disc golf course. No tee signs and rickety baskets to name a couple. Overall it gives me the impression of an incomplete course, that is now neglected. Though others have mentioned it, I have never seen a lot of traffic here. I imagine it makes the course even less enjoyable if it were crowded. Though the smell from the water treatment plant likely can't get fixed it does play into the overall rating. Even if there was a total revamp of disc golf course equipment such as new tee signs and new baskets, the layout of the course only lends itself a 3/5 max. It is worth a play if you are in the area, but don't make a trip for it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 1
steven2361
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.8 years 286 played 53 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Keller 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Sep 28, 2009 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Tucked into a nice neighborhood in a park. Really nice sign by the first tee. Good signage throught the course. This course has decent variety. 2 400+ holes, 1 in the 100s and 1 in the 300s. The rest are in the 200s :p. All the holes are fun except for 4 and 5 (see cons). Hole 8, even though it is wide open has a sweet elevated green that is very punishing to errant putts. I played here in heavy winds once and it was brutally punishing. Some elevation, a tunnel shot, and trees add much to this course. Hole 1 requires a monster turnover shot to get a bird, most shorter throwing players will not like this hole tho as for them it is probably a 3 every time. Hole 3 is a short one over a creek through a small openning. You really need to know where the basket is to card this seemingly easy birdie. I really like hole 5, a wall of trees block the direct route to the basket. How should you attack this hole? Flick Hyzer Bomb, roller, it's a tough birdie to get. 6 requires a good left to right shot. 9 is a short downhill shot, don't overthrow it!

Cons:

Some holes are right next to a school. Errant shots WILL go into backyards. I know this from expirience lol. Literly, like on hole 6, houses are 10 feet off the fairway to the left. Hole 5, it's almost like the basket is in someone's yard. Some houses don't even have fences and their backyards basically seem like part of the course. Short and right on the first >400 bomber and you will be jumpin fences to get your discs back. Throwing over roads sometimes, (9). The baskets are homemade and were not too much to my liking. They were very rusty chain wise and single chained. Very stiff chains did let soft putts in sometimes.

Holes 4 and 5 are stupid filler holes. They are 2 right in a row, short, wide open, straight shots. Boring...

Too many 200 feet range holes.

Tee pads be short...

Other Thoughts:

Fun 9 holer if you're in Deerfield, IL. Definately not a destination though, head north or south for better 18 holers.

The land is park district land even though it is directly next to the school. You can still play during school hours but watch out for kids.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
tallpaul
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 35.8 years 934 played 133 reviews
2.00 star(s)

a bit of real length 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 18, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

Mashnut and Harr have given you a novelette;and lots of good information.... I'll add my two cents.
Recently installed grippy cement tees.
Nice map at beginning of course.
Some length on a few holes. Two 400 ft. and one, over 350 ft. Rare for nines in this area.
Still not a long course, but a few testers.
This is another course in this area, where playing walking sidewalk as o.b. would add another layer of toughness to course.
#8, nice elevated green, after a long drive.

Cons:

Tees are very small: 2.5' X 6'
No tee signs. Look at the map before you start.
A number of single chain, homemade baskets with very deep buckets. Catch fairly well....but, are single chained.
A couple of holes with private yards definitely in play. My playing partner had to go through one yard, and around a fence into another to retrieve one disc. I am actually somewhat surprised this has not been trouble.
Green for #1 is actually between two residences.

Other Thoughts:

We felt that this was a solid two; equal to Diamond Lake Slough. The Slough was more picturesque, Keller had some tougher shots....and the private residences made things somewhat scary/exciting. I am thinking the neighbors must be "on board" with the course; but, obviously be courteous when dealing with them.
We invented our own hole for #9; which finished across the creek to basket for #4. No one was in the park when we were there.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
harr0140
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 15.2 years 1508 played 475 reviews
1.50 star(s)

Aveage course with some challenge 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 16, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

1) Nice new concrete teepads. They are nice because they are not slick, you can get good grip on your plant foot. The teepads even have a red square in one corner of the pad. I assume this means it is a red teepad . . . perhaps leaving room to add some longer tees? Not sure if there is even that much more room for longer tees. They are also a perfect width and length.

2) Nice main sign by the first tee. It has a nice layout of the course and distances listed (if I remember correctly).

3) Distance varies on a few holes which is positive. It forces you to throw some different shots. It also makes you use different discs. There is a hole under 200' and two over 400' with a good range of distances on the other 6 holes too.

4) Course uses some nice features to its advantage. There is a river that you have to throw over on #3. It is close to the tee but there is a gap you need to keep it in. I instead griplocked over to the tree on the right side and nearly went into the river. Man did it smell I am glad it didn't go in (ask me later about hole #4!).

5) #4 and #5 have that same river on your left that you had to throw over on #3. It seems like you are protected from the river by the dense trees but immediately inside the line of the trees is a severe slope going right down to the river. It is clearly a main drainageway during heavy rains. Well I was warned to throw it out to the right to avoid the water and I chunked it right into the woods and it ran down into the river. It was floating upside down and although I slipped in John was able to get the disc wih a branch as it floated down. THANKS JOHN.

6) #8 has a nice large mound that will come into play. The basket is about 8' up in he air on this mound. Although the mound is large you can still get rollaways especially on windy days where your putter isn;t coming in at the same angle as it normally would on a flat throw. (ASK Doktor John about the rollaways and the wind) Course also uses a nice row of large trees on the 6th hole to force a tight shot between the trees and private property on the left. I decided to try and go outside the row of trees and I chunked it right into the first tree!!! Doktor John launched his disc into the White Pine inside of a fenced in private property. He even went to the door to ring the bell and ask if he could go up the tree to get his disc . . . noone home and I am sure if they were they would have said no because they seemed like that type of people! Anyways he climbed the tree and got the disc.

7) #9 throws from the top of the mound on #8 basket down to the #3 basket. It has a backstop if you go past with the big mound that blocked you on #3 from seeing the basket.

8) Beginner friendly for the most part. Wide open enough to allow some errant shots but #3 and #6 may be tough on the beginner because of the river and the row of massive trees (cottonwoods or poplars if I remember right) on the right and the Private residences on the left.

Cons:

1) No tee signs which would be really nice to have on this course, especially for beginners and new players.

2) Baskets leave a little to be desired. They are old and some have only one ring of chains. Some of them have had a new top and basket put onto the post which is nice. The older ones have the chains painted brown . . . which truthfully I feel like it helps the chains catch better, so they don;t look like they are n good shape because the paint is chipping off. Some of the baskets are taller than others and we weren;t positive but it did seem like a few of them may have been higher up the chains making them inconsistant. This should be corrected if there truly is a difference. It changes how you throw at each basket and we all know routine and consitancy are important with putting.

3) #3 basket is not visible from the tee being difficult for a new player.

4) #8 basket and #9 tee are way too close together. The mound could be used for both but another 50' of seperation would be better.

5) Path winds through #3 and #9 and you need to have some etiquette for passerbys. We had to wait for about 8 family bikers that took a minute or two so we could throw on #9. Not seeing the basket and the path on its left on #3 is also a shot that could hit passerbys without even being able to see the danger. The soccer field is also slightly in the way on #8 drive. Noone was there when we played so we could take a straight line at the basket but other day you might have to throw a 45 degree dogleg around the field.

Other Thoughts:

This was an allright course and was the 6th course on my 9 course day. It had some length that some of the other courses lacked. It had a slight elevation change by using the mounding on #8 basket and #9 tee. It has river that can come into play on 3 holes. It also has some nice placement of trees to force certain shots. There is a big willow on the right of #1 and a long 200' hedgerow with the basket tucked around to the right of the hedge. I enjoyed this course even though i didn't particularly play that well. Basket placement is pretty good and the concrete teepads are a plus.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 2
Seananagins
Experience: 17.8 years 8 played 5 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Fun for begginers and pros 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 5, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

There is a nice curve on hole one. The third hole goes over a creek and you can't see the hole from the tee so it's pretty tricky. 4 and 5 run along the creek, so be careful to keep it to the right. Nice placement of trees on a few holes makes fo a little challenge

Cons:

Fairly short course. Nothing exceeding a par three makes for a quick round of 9. The creek can eat you disk if you hook it wrong on 4 or 5 so try to stay to the right more.

Other Thoughts:

Fun little course to keep my game intact. Don't go out of your way for it tho.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
clipnfly
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.7 years 60 played 57 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Nice Grass! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jul 31, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

Amazingly well maintained grass. Might just have been my timing to visit, but grass was short and smooth. Great for rollers and skippers. Nice tee pads, but might be a bit small for shooters who like a bit more run up.. not that you need it here 'cept for on 8. Dog leg on 1 is fun. 3 had me worried as it is a shot over the creek and screamed "lost disc", but I made it. Amazing the mind game water plays. 4, 5, 6, 7 skirt the park and are easy to navigate. An unexpected hyzer can put you in the creek on 4. Garbage can placement on 7 in front of basket is not great (has since been moved). Needs to be relocated. 8 is a slightly different uphill longer shot and the wind around the school building can be fierce. Shared basket 3 and 9 can make for a wait for the others t finish. Tee off on 9 from on top of the hill is nice change. I keep finding different ways to play 6... Nice options. As of 5.25.12... Tee pads have been poured on NEW 2 and 3. Landscaping along new 5 and 6 changes things up a bit. New 5 is now a tight fall away on the left into the creek. RHBR tossers will be in trouble with the water willies. Many a disc will land in the drink on this one.

Cons:

Move from basket #1 to tee #2 was not clear. (head dead east). A few baskets are a bit damaged 2, 4. Update 3.22.12 NEW 2 and 3 are added between old 1 and 2. old 3 is gone. Old 9 is gone. 4 is now 5, 5 is now 6, 6 is now 7, 7 is now 8. 8 is now 9. I am not crazy about the choice of tee pad location for new 2. I would have gone 40 feet east to make a harder hyzer out of this one... but it is still a bit blind and a fun hole. Pad for NEW 3 is O.K. I might have moved it back a bit to place the trees deeper into the fairway... But the trees will make this one a shot shaper with a few different playing options.

Other Thoughts:

Shared basket for 3 and 9 requires good etiquette when others are playing. Info board at tee off for #1 is nice, gives distances, but not pars... have to make up your own. The more I play this course, the more I like it... if for no other reason than it is always deserted... and it plays a bit longer than my fave course by my house... and the more I play my arm is getting bigger and bigger holes are getting smaller. Other park improvements, path between 1 and 4 had been moved. 4 now shoots over path. new trees have been added to 4 as well... This will make 4 a better hole in that as trees grow in you will have to make different tee shot and approach choices. New changes as of 5.25.12 are overall improvements here. it is a better place to play than it was 1 year ago. Cannot say anything bad about that.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 0
mashnut
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 22 years 831 played 767 reviews
1.00 star(s)

Mixed feelings 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jun 18, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

The course plays through a flat park and around the ball fields of a school. There are only trees on three of the nine holes, but they are used well to make interesting holes on those. There is a nice mix of different lengths, from just under 200' to over 400'. Unlike many of the other local courses, there are a few holes where you can really open up and throw some drives.

This course has a nice mix of holes, and feels much less repetitive than other area courses. Holes 3 and 9 have slightly elevated tees, and 3 plays over the small creek. 8 is a long open bomb, but the hole sits on top of a small hill to keep it interesting.

There is a nice course map by the first tee, with accurate distances for all the holes. The tees are nice non-slip cement, and are basically brand new. The course is very easy to follow, even without tee signs on ever hole, and there isn't really any chance of getting lost.

The course is nicely maintained, with well-mowed grass throughout. Baskets have been broken or missing at various times, and are always replaced in a reasonable amount of time.

Cons:

The tee signs, though nicely made, are extremely short. They just don't allow enough room to throw from, especially on the longer holes. There are no tee signs, though this isn't a major deal as the distances are on the course map and the course flows well.

Holes 4 and 5 play right on top of the 5th and 6th tees, so watch out for any players in front of you on these holes. Similarly, holes 3 and 9 share a basket, and you can't see the tees from one another, so careful of players on the other hole.

Holes 1, 6 and 7 play right along backyards of houses, and it's very easy to end up in a yard or right up against a house. Many of the holes play right over walking paths and sports fields, so other park users are often on the fairways. The last 7 holes are not playable during school hours.

Other Thoughts:

This course is much more interesting than many of the other local 9 hole courses, but the conflicts with other park and school field users make it difficult to play at times. There are some easy places to lose discs in backyards or in the creek, but otherwise this is a good course to bring kids or beginners. More experienced players will enjoy the challenges of a few of the holes.

This course is worth playing if you're in the area, but just like all the other mediocre nine hole courses around isn't worth driving too far to play. If you do want to play, make sure you go during non-school hours, and times when the park is less busy or you'll spend a while waiting for fairways to clear.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 9
Dave242
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 29.8 years 393 played 271 reviews
0.50 star(s)

D+ = Doesn't have much happenin' for a 9 holer 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 19, 2007 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- C-
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- C-
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- D+
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- D
5) Multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- NA

Other Thoughts:

I ranked this course subjectively based on my own personal enjoyment factor...more accurately my "personal addiction factor". Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they chose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage...if what I say adds anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me. See my profile for my rating philosophy.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 1
heywillard90
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.8 years 31 played 28 reviews
3.00 star(s)

One of my favorite courses 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 1, 2008 Played the course:never

Pros:

3 out of the 9 shots are long open fairways that will test your maximum distance. Easy to navigate.

Cons:

Many different ways in which you can lose your disc. When softball or soccer is going on, it is hard to shoot some holes. People get grumpy when discs fly into their yard.

Other Thoughts:

A lot of people dont like this course, yet I would opt it over most other courses in the area. You can play around it very quickly, takes about 30 minutes with two people. Their are few courses around here that have any shots over 360 feet, this course has 3 (holes 1, 2, 8). On weekends Baseball and soccer would go on anywhere from 9:00 to 3:00, although it is possible to play the course even if games are going on. I highly recommend this course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top