Crystal Lake, IL

Lippold Park

Permanent course
3.265(based on 38 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Lippold Park reviews

Filter
9 0
knobby325
Gold level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 8.8 years 325 played 248 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Sightly Above Average Park Course

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 24, 2022 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Baskets OK
-Concrete tees, decent size
-Good signage
-Mix of open / technical

Cons:

-Couple of strange transitions
-Walking Path in Play on several holes
-Can get busy

Other Thoughts:

Lippold Park hosts a good DGC on the west side of Crystal Lake, IL. A large park with many other activities. The course stays away from most of these except for the walking trail. The trail comes into play on #1, #2, #3, #6, #7, #9, #10, #11, #15, #16, #17 and #18. This and the busy course were a factor in a little slow play for 2 of us. Overall, a minor disturbance, but would depend on the overall traffic on the walking paths. Otherwise, the course has a good mix of open and technical shots. #14 was a little confusing with the basket beyond the open area and closer to the walking path. A couple of strange transitions: #6 basket to #7 tee is coming back across the #4 fairway. #15 tee is back down the walking path and not far from the #11 tee. I wonder why this course didn't utilize the wooded area to the east of the last few holes and around the dog park, more area to work with and a way to stay away from so much interaction with the walking paths. Infrastructure was excellent with good baskets, decent sized concrete tees and good signage. Overall, I enjoyed the round. A decent course for a rec player like me. Watch for pedestrians but enjoy a round. I would play again, if in the area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 1
DiscGolfer80
Experience: 4.8 years 57 played 56 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Decent 18 hole 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 27, 2020 Played the course:once

Pros:

Hard to lose a disc on this course. Fairly open fairways; holes 12 thru 14 a little tricky but not bad. Nice layout and flow to course. Good variety of holes.

Cons:

Walking path cuts through about half of the fairways. Imagine this park gets busy during the warmer weather with all the athletic fields, so careful of pedestrians. Baskets need some bright colors to help stick out against dark background.

Other Thoughts:

Played better 18 hole courses with much more variety of holes. Good use of all disc(s) in bag. Best to play in early spring or late fall to avoid people using walking path or athletic fieds.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 2
RascalRoscoe
Experience: 14.9 years 9 played 3 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Standard City DG Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 23, 2020 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

• Well rounded mix
• Suitable for all skill levels
• Great flow; easy to navigate

Cons:

• Pads are bumpy, deformed, sliced
• Mosquitoes/bugs can be brutal
• Pedestrians are frequent

Other Thoughts:

• Course leans a little towards shorter holes. I throw only 3 distance drivers in a round: holes 3, 5 & 6.
• I'm sure folks will bash on hole 14 but I love it. The hole is the ultimate risk/reward. If you're scared then lay up and then upshot for your par. Holes shouldn't be considered bad just because they have a low birdie percentage or high bogey percentage.
• Tons of ace runs at this course
• Lippold is not an elite course but it's not trying to be. Great course for standard/casual/practice rounds.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
Tyler4587
Experience: 22 years 12 played 5 reviews
3.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 11, 2018 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

It requires a good mix of skills. There are some really fun holes carved into the woods.

Cons:

It's a multiuse park, so holes #1, & #2 are generally out of commission during soccer events.

Walking paths are throughout the course, you'll likely have to deal with pedestrians.

As others have noted, late summer can get unbearably buggy. It also floods easily, but I think that actually makes hole #14 more fun.

Other Thoughts:

A very respectable course and worth playing. Just make sure you know what the course conditions are and if there are any other events taking place before you make the trek to it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
capskorner
Experience: 7.9 years 15 played 4 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Fun Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 19, 2017 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Mix of open and challenging holes in the woods.
Good mix of distances
trash cans throughout the course

Cons:

very buggy in the late summer months - unplayable
Walking / running path winds through the course - need to watch for people

Other Thoughts:

overall it's a really well maintained course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 2
BenTaylor777
Experience: 1 played 1 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Solid course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 21, 2015 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Nice mix of wooded/open holes. Can be generous with pars and also challenging at some times. Solid course to challenge yourself but also get better and learn from

Cons:

Usually buggy in rainy summer time. Trees can be very obstructive. A variety of holes have hazards that are easy places to lose discs.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 9
MikeM
Experience: 39.4 years 27 played 4 reviews
5.00 star(s)

Only Rated a 3? Why? 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Mar 20, 2015 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

18 holes
Fun layout
Mix of long and short holes
Nice Baskets
Easy to navigate
Mix of woods and open fields
Away from houses.
Hard to lose a disc
Overall an enjoyable course to play.

Cons:

Can be crowded at times
Carpet Tee Pads

Other Thoughts:

I have visited every course in the area and Lippold manages to stay my favorite.

Hole 3 is a pretty hole as you throw into a large opening in the woods after starting in a grove/field along the soccer fields.

Hole 4 is a fun little hole in the woods that is aceable.

You go over a nice little wooden bridge into wide open 5 and 6. I love these holes as you can really test out your distance drivers.

Hole 7, you must thread the needle and make it between a treeline on both sides. Fun hole.

8 is an opportunity for a short hyzer through trees (or anhyzer if LhBh)

10 is a fun little hole in sort of a grove,

11 is my favorite shot, which you must follow a path and fade into a small opening just inside the woods where the hole sits. There is a nice resting bench here and it is fun to watch people throw at this point as you can see holes 11 and 15 tee off. And you can see holes 14 and 10 putting.

Hole 12 and 13 have fun lines in the woods you must follow in order to avoid plunking a tree.

Hole 14 is a tight wooded cooridore into a neat opening with tall grass on both sides. And the hole is through another opening between two trees.

15-16 you must throw between trees but the corridor isn't so narrow that it is frustrating.

17 is the only hole you must watch your throw so you don't hit people on the next tee. It is also an ace opportunity.

18, if you can throw far enough, and throw RhBh or LhFh, you can fade your disc right on the hole, which is hiding behind a corner to your left.

Great thing is the course starts at the parking lot and ends near the parking lot, going in a big, wooded and fielded and awesome circle.

To address any concern that this course is too close to soccer fields: A thin layer of woods acts as a barrier to the fields on holes 1-3 to your left and so that is not a worry. There are fields on the right from holes 1-3 and 5 but they are more than far enough away to not have to worry about throwing a disc on them. Those that wrote otherwise, I will respectfully disagree with you.

The buggyness here does not seem any worse than the buggyness anywhere else. I actually need less bug spray here than most other courses in the area.

As to it always being muddy...Again, this is not true in my humble opinion. This used to be a concern a long time ago but not anymore. It is very dry once spring clears. Maybe a couple of spots in the woods become suspect after a rain, and the carpet tee pad will get muddy on hole 14, but that is it. P.S. hole 14 is a ton of fun. You have to throw through a corridor of woods, into an opening between taller grass, to make your way to a hole shielded by a group of small trees and bushes. Very fun hole.

What is nice to me is that there aren't houses nearby, and so it is a true park. More importantly, the undergrowth in the woods is low, even in the thick of the growing season, and therefore, it is very difficult to lose a disc on any hole. The last 4 holes run between a woods on both sides, but, if you go look for your disc, you will find it. Really you just have to worry about throwing left on 15 and left on 18. And it is not much of a worry. Hole 11, if you throw too far right, you may have a tough time finding it, as there is tall grass to the right. Too many courses in the area can't claim that it is hard to lose a disc when playing.

This course is fun, you will find a wide range of types of people playing it, types of shots and holes. And it will not frustrate you.

Lastly, 17 was missing it's sign for a long time, now it has a really nice wooden sign :)

I will admit, the carpet tee pads aren't ideal. but, to me, what is the difference between throwing on bricks, carpet or grass. I couldn't care less.

This course received 5/5 from me because, in my opinion, nothing could be done to this course that could make it more enjoyable. For those of us who are looking to have a fun day out disc golfing.

No, Lippold isn't going to have a mountainside to throw from with 18 holes of impossible, technical disc golf that only the most seasoned disc golfer can enjoy and rate 5 stars. But, that is not what I, or many other disc golfers, are looking for.

Enjoyment is what I am looking for. And Lippold takes the cake in that department. It gives me tranquility and peace of mind. And that is important to me when choosing which course to play.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 1
jeffco60
Experience: 17.9 years 1 played 1 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Great short game variety 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 15, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-very fun and unique short game shots
-tees are very on-path and easy to find
-overall a fun course
-a great mixture of pars 3-5 for beginners who want to learn how to play
-cops rarely pass through (1 out of 15 times)

Cons:

-heavily favors right backhand players
-next to lots of soccer/baseball fields and are often being used (i personally don't mind but i know alot do)
-in the summer time mosquitos can be quite terrible
-discs are easy to lose due to heavy foilage
-can flood very easily at certain points

Other Thoughts:

i know i have more cons than pros, but this course is my stomping grounds i have played it 40+ times. it is where i played for the first time and developed my early game and interest, so it has sentimentality with me. :) it is a very fun course and would be a very fun short game play for veterans who play par 3
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 1
booradly
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 12 years 166 played 24 reviews
3.50 star(s)

better then i thought it would be 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 19, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

- decent rubber pads
-nice park
-good signs
-this course uses the woods in the park well
-has a nice variety of shots
most holes make you form a solid line without being painfully hard
-will make you use most of the discs in your bag

Cons:

-the pads could be better
-no elevation
-the first few holes were a little to close to the soccer fields in the park
- could of used one or two longer holes
the walking path comes into play on several holes and i had to wait for many walkers to clear the fairway.a buddy of mine also almost hit a walker who came around a bend right into the fairway.

Other Thoughts:

this course was a lot of fun i wish this course was closer to my house i would play it a lot more. and i bet it would be a lot more fun if it was played when there were no peewee soccer games going on.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
Jagidlund
Experience: 3 played 3 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Home course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 13, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-lots of variety
-course is spread out and does not overlap much
-heavily favors right hand players
-very few open field holes. Trees filter out most of the wind

Cons:

-Mosquitos are TERRIBLE this year (2013) even with cutter. they start biting at the hole 3 basket. they need to spray more often.
-a few tees were moved by a few feet when they installed the rubber mats a couple years ago. Some shots are therefor a bit more difficult than they used to be.

Other Thoughts:

I've been playing this course since I was in high school 10 years ago. It was where I learned how to play. Some of my best (and worst) games have been played here. If you are in the area, I'd recommend swinging by Lippold for a round or two. Just remember to keep it clean!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 0
Harry Manback
Experience: 17.8 years 51 played 6 reviews
3.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 4, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-Something for everyone
-Fairly easy
-Confidence booster
-Good variety

Cons:

-Almost always muddy/wet
-Bugs get very bad during summer
-Can sometimes get too crowded

Other Thoughts:

A nice mix of long holes, open holes, technical holes, and finesse holes. I havent had any problems with people on the path but I can see how that could be a problem. For this being the only 18 hole course in my area I'd say its my favorite and definitely worth visiting.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 3
Stankyjahnke
Experience: 19 years 16 played 7 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Home course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 29, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Great course for anyone I've probably played this course a 1000 times and never get tired of it. The longer holes are pretty wide open and the shorter holes are pretty difficult with alot of trees a difficult angles. This dry summer kept the course really dry and no swampage. People are always friendly except for the soccer people on the weekends that just walk wherever they want on the first two holes like their better than you.

Cons:

The wind always seems really strong there on a breezy day. Can be packed on really nice days. Couple holes can get really swampy if it rains alot. SOCCER PEOPLE on the weekend these people don't have brains or care what's going on or that people are trying to play a sport. The people that are on the paths will wait and let you throw so I wouldn't worry about them.

Other Thoughts:

I wouldn't go there weekend mornings but this course is one of my favorites and made me love the sport. Variety of holes u gotta rip it a couple times and navigate through a wooden hole the next.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 2
steven2361
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 16 years 286 played 55 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Not impressive 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 11, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

There is ok signage but not all holes have concrete tees. There are a couple fun, tight wooded shots, the best being hole 14. This course has a few holes you can rip it on like 3 and 6.

Cons:

This course is pretty short and the only real distance comes into play on 5 and 6. They are both wide open and 6 is more of a tweener hole. This course can get very wet and is eroded badly in spots. There is only a few lefty holes and too many hyzers. Most of this course is open and the lines are not very challenging.

Other Thoughts:

This is a good course to learn to play on and for beginner players.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 4
Marcus0613
Experience: 12 years 9 played 2 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Fun 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 8, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

Love this course!!! Played here for the first time the other day and on hole 4 got m first hole in one so this course will always be my fav. The parkis huge and the people here are friendly. Great all around experience.

Cons:

Can be a little crowded.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
13 0
harr0140
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 15.3 years 1508 played 480 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Kiss my Lippold 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 25, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

1) This course has a nice use of varied distances on holes. They range from 152 up to around 511 with a lot of different distances in the middle. This is a key ingredient to design that can really alter how a course is perceived.

2) Mach baskets with number plates. They just need a little paint around the top or the basket to make them more visible in the woods or certain times of year.

3) Signs are adequate with Hole #, Par, Distance, and a map.

4) Wood chips were used well in the woods,. They were thick enough to keep from seeing much mud, and it simply makes a course look just that much nicer.

5) Some garbage cans along the path running through the course. You will be able to dispose of some things along the way but not at every tee.

6) Rubber mats are used on this course and seemed to be some of the best rubber mats I have played off of. They were mostly level, I was never worried about uneven footing or a bump that was going to trip me.

7) If you want to relive the World Cup or the Olympics . . . come here on a Sunday afternoon and listen to all the vuvuzela's around the soccer fields. Yep I somehow worked vuvuzela into a review.

8) There is a decent variety of shots needed here but it generally favors the hyzer.I actually threw about 3 or 4 rollers because of the low limbs and the firm ground and thin grass allowing for a roller to go farther than an airshot.

9) Beginner friendly for the most part because of the lack of elevation, the mostly park like setting which is open enough to be errant but also enough challenge there to keep people interested. It also has a trend towards the shorter holes, with a few longer and unreachable distances for most people.

10) Birdies are out there, but you need to work hard to get some of them. Its a fun course because you can birdie most holes, but you won't get them all.

11) Flow works pretty well, the only somewhat confusing spot would be the transition from 3 to 4 which also sort of crosses the transition from 6 to 7. Other than that you should be able to follow from hole to hole without issue.

12) Chains disc golf store is closeby. I saw it because I was playing all three of the crystal lake courses.

Cons:

1) There is a lot of compaction but they generally use wood chips to cover up those areas. These areas are still noticeable and will lead to erosion.

2) Athletic path running right through 75% of the course. There are a couple places where I was afraid to throw because I didn't want someone to come buzzing around the corner and take a Destroyer to the brainpan. They really have avoided one hole (I think #11 ) where you throw the entire length of the fairway over the path. Sure you can see the path the whole way but the path users cannot see you until they emerge from the woods and by then it will be too late), the rest seemed fairly manageable except on a really busy summer day it might get dangerous.

3) Not much elevation here to alter your shots in anyway. The biggest elevation change was probably #6 where you throw all of 500' across a flat open fairway with the tee elevated about 3 feet and the basket also 3 feet up a little berm. They both look like part of a water diversion system in case of flooding I believe.

4) Some garbage can be found in a few areas in the woods mostly. There might be more garbage in other areas but it is so close to the athletic path I would expect other park users to help deter the litter from being much of an issue.

5) Rubber are adequate but I still much prefer concrete under all circumstances.

Other Thoughts:

I enjoyed this course despite the few dangerous spots and the few times I was simply afraid to throw. I almost didn't play after I saw all those vehicles and such and then I realized the course was removed from all of the soccer fields. What is it about Illinois and all those massive soccer complexes???? I have seen more than one of these in my few times on disc golf trips in Northern IL.

I had fun at this course, but the biggest detractor would be the athletic path and the potential for injury and the minor lack of maintenance in allowing the compacted areas to just keep growing and growing. Seed could definitely be established in those wore out areas.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
Dr.Hyzer
Experience: 13.9 years 19 played 11 reviews
3.00 star(s)

solid 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jul 26, 2011 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

-It's a solid course
Layout: Solid usuage of natural elements to present different throwing styles and different discs.
Tree lines guarding the fairway on the mid-length holes "Tunnel Shots"
Trees specifically placed around the green for the long holes to bomb with your max distance drivers.
Trees looking you right in the face for the short "planko/pin-ball" holes that can be reached with putters.
11: is just begging to be hit with a perfect S-Curve. My favorite hole.
12: is a sky hyzer through a million trees almost straight up in the air. My least favorite hole.
14: For the first 100 ft of the hole the tunnel is about 5 ft wide, it opens up to a marsh, then it's guarded by a group of tall trees with only two small entrances to hit in order to have a look at a putt. It's a monster hole (in my opinion) the hardest hole on the course.
The course is solid overall.
Shouldn't give an intermediate discer much trouble to hover within a few strokes of par at the end of the day.

Cons:

Tee pads: black rubber over dirt isn't the best.
Tough Navigation: I would suggest printing off a map if possible, or meet up with locals and have them play infront of you and watch where they go.
Walking paths: I didn't experience too many people walking through, I probably had to wait a total of 5 minutes in two complete rounds. I can certainly understand how this would be a con if it was packed.

Other Thoughts:

In and out of the woods throughout the course. Good variety of distance and accuracy. This course is very manageable to get your 3's and 2's. Navigation is it's biggest con.
Maybe get 2 rounds in if it's your first trip here, the second round you should have it down pact. It's worth two round's anyways :)
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
krc1130
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.9 years 25 played 25 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Fun course with some challenge 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 4, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

Course is pretty easy to follow once you find the first tee. There is ample parking since this is part of a massive park complex. There are rubber tees and signs for each hole which include information on where you'll need to go to get to the following hole. Most of the shots are wooded and somewhat challenging, while they tried to make the more open shots a bit longer. It's a short course as a whole, but even some of the shorter shots require skill. There are ample garbage cans, while the course conveniently starts and ends at the parking lot.

Cons:

Though there was variety, some of the holes did feel pretty similar. Some of the holes are too short and too open to be at all challenging. The course is in the middle of a busy park and most of the holes have the potential for trail interference. The first hole was difficult to find given the two parking lots and the size of the park. Extremely buggy course, but ample amounts of bug spray were helpful.

Other Thoughts:

When playing at Lippold, be sure to park in the lot at the end of the east entrance. The first tee is behind the fence right as you enter and the rest of the course should be very easy to follow. The course was really fun and, since I don't have a bigger arm, was more my speed. I still found the course to be very challenging and a good test of my skills. Many shots require great precision or blind throws, so it's very possible to lose a disc in the woods. Still, my time at Lippold Park was very enjoyable and I would definitely play there again.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 4
tdizzledre
Experience: 4 played 4 reviews
3.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 16, 2011 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

-18 hole course
-It's has a different variation of holes that go from easy then become a little difficult
-It has a few open holes but then it moves into the woods then back out into the open.
-Different types of tee boxs

Cons:

-Bugs!!!!!!!
-On hole 5, it says par 5 and on hole 6, it says par 4. However the two should be switched because there is no way that a par 5 could be that short and a par 4 could be that long.
-There is one dog leg that is in the woods and along a runnig trail with tall grass on the right and thick trees on the left.

Other Thoughts:

Bring bug spray
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 3
Jashwa
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 19.9 years 173 played 87 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Perfect Challenge for Intermediate Players 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jun 18, 2011 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

*Has several tough but manageable lines to hit
*Has great range in distance. Several short holes under 200 ft that are pretty difficult due to the lines given, but also several holes over 340 ft.
*No hole on this course is an easy two, even for experienced players. You have to earn your birdies, which makes a great throw extremely rewarding
*Well maintained, very nice park.
*Turns out, it's right next to a disc golf pro shop, which was a fun way to end the outing!


Cons:

*Had I not been with a friend who'd previously played the course, I would have had a hard time finding a few of the teepads.
*Mosquitoes
*Potential for lost discs

Other Thoughts:

I played this course once, enjoyed it, then played it again two weeks later and decided I just had to add it to my favorites. It's challenging but also very accessible to all players. The majority of the holes are only lightly wooded, but there is a stretch of a few holes in the middle of the round that is heavily wooded, which makes for a fun variety of disc golf. I live about half an hour away from the park and am seriously debating making Lippold my "home course" despite the fact that I have three courses closer to my house.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
ElementZ
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15 years 212 played 200 reviews
3.50 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:May 18, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

I thoroughly enjoyed playing the Lippold Park course. I really wish that I would have had time to play another round here.
Lippold has a great mix of shots, from open 'grip-n-rip' holes to super wooded holes that are very short (under 160 feet).
I don't think that Lippold is a beginner course by any means and it definitely made me think about my lines a lot.
Lippold challenged my disc golf game and made me use every disc I had in my bag.
There was abundant parking and the course flowed really well. It was also very clean and the people here were friendly.
In other words, it meets all the criteria I have for a good DG course.

Cons:

As a lot of past people have said, some holes at Lippold tend to flood which makes some holes unplayable. I didn't have this problem when I was here, but my friends said that it definitely does happen.
On some of the walks to the next tee, you have to cut through fairways which is a slight pet peeve of mine.

Other Thoughts:

In my opinion, Lippold is definitely worth checking out if you're in the area. I had an absolute blast playing here and it was my favorite course out of the 4 I played during my trip.

Also, Lippold Park in general is a great park and has a lot of things to do so you can drop the kids/wife off at mini golf or something if they're not into the sport. :)

Check it out:
http://www.crystallakeparks.o...k/general.htm
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top