Stevens Point, WI

Standing Rocks

4.175(based on 39 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Standing Rocks reviews

Filter
14 0
EspressoPatronum
Gold level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 18.6 years 224 played 215 reviews
4.50 star(s)

One of My Best DG Experiences to Date

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 22, 2023 Played the course:once

Pros:

- three loops that generally wrap back around to parking lot
- basket color specific to the loop you are playing
- $5 to play this absolute gem is extremely reasonable
- nice full color tee signs with maps
- some holes have multiple pin positions
- beautiful mature forest property with fantastic elevation change
- iconic "standing rocks" are all over the course, some massive
- high level of technical challenge with heavy woods and elevation change on almost every hole
- challenge level is manageable for intermediate players; not incredibly difficult
- tons of deer throughout course if you like wildlife sightings
- property is used to its fullest potential in every way
- continual improvement/addition of meaningful holes over the years
- good amenities: port o potties, benches, garbage cans
- navigation is very straightforward throughout the vast majority of the course
- some built-in stairs on slopes
- beautiful views of large lake on east loop
- rocks and logs used to build pathways into some slopes as needed
- west loop has several longer holes to offset relatively short course
- some woodchips applied in areas to help with mud

Cons:

- baskets for mid loop appear to be the oldest and are harder to see
- rubber tees were surprisingly anti-slip, but still just ok
- hole 6 throws straight at tee pad for hole 7
- a few areas could use some more built-in stairs
- could argue lack of a true water hazard is a con

Other Thoughts:

I have been playing disc golf for around 18 years, but realistically started traveling heavily to play about 3 years ago. In all this time, there are a few memories that really stand out. I came to Standing Rocks expecting a great course, and it did not disappoint. It unquestionably exceeded my high expectations. This is without a doubt one of the coolest courses I have ever played, and it's probably a tossup between this and Sandy Point for my favorite course in Wisconsin.

This is where I feel like pay to play is a good thing - a reasonable, low fee for not 18, but 33 holes of disc golf, which clearly goes back into the course. I would rather pay $5 to play an immaculately maintained world-class course than play a run down one for free. Even if a course is pristine on day 1, it requires constant upkeep and it is clear that is being done here. Standing Rocks is in my favorites list, which to date includes only 10 of the 211 courses I have played.

Standing Rocks makes incredible use of the property available. Almost every hole has intense elevation change in a beautiful mature forest setting. Fairways are not pinholes in general; they are fair and provide some space, but there is plenty of technical challenge. Rollaways on the hillsides are definitely a factor and will have you carefully choosing your disc. There aren't a ton of holes here to air out long-distance drives, but there may be 5 or so like this in the 33 holes. Otherwise, it is more of a technical game, forcing the ability to throw straight, big hyzers, layups... there's so much variety here you will have a bit of everything.

The baskets are different on each loop, with mid loop having the oldest, uncolored baskets. I started here before official sunrise and it was REALLY hard to see these baskets. I would recommend waiting a few more minutes than I did or maybe starting with east loop which may have the most visible red-banded Mach V baskets. West loop has blue bands. However, from a flow perspective I think the best thing to do is start with the mid or west loop. The east loop starts between holes 6 and 7 of the mid loop, so it makes sense to jump over to east, complete it, and then finish mid. This is now clearly marked with directional signs which is great for this unintuitive flow of the course.

Since I played in October, fallen leaves were prevalent, but they weren't deep enough to really hide discs terribly. The deer were out in force, and the same mom and adolescent fawn held up my throws on hole 3... and then over an hour later, clear across the course, did it again! They were very curious about me and kept approaching, which was kind of amusing.

Honestly, I was tempted to give this one of my elusive 5 scores. It really is that good. What held me back? Mostly nit-picky things. A 5 is really supposed to be a perfect course that cannot be improved in any way - that's a really high bar. My cons for Standing Rocks are mostly nits. Some may feel some of the holes could be longer, but there are 33 holes and plenty of technical challenge - I'm not sure you WANT this course to be longer. It is a pretty intense hike and you will be worn out after this course. Hiking boots are recommended, and it would be almost criminal not to play the entire course, as all of it is so fantastic. There are a few really steep slopes that could benefit from some more built in stairs, and the rubber tees are just ok - but honestly, they grip better than most rubber tees I've played. The middle loop baskets could be replaced someday with something brighter, but they catch fine. There are no water hazards here, which is about the only real "missing" element - I don't think this is required for a perfect course, but it does add another dimension. The one safety hazard I noted was overthrows on hole 6 go straight at hole 7's tee pad - not the best layout, but this was literally the only issue I saw.

On the east loop, from high up on the hills you overlook a large lake through the trees which is a neat view. The small to huge standing rocks everywhere on the course also add a neat element. The west loop was probably my least favorite... which is to say "3 out of 3 amazing loops of disc golf." It has some of the longest holes and a couple of flatter holes, but still is excellent golf and in the same spirit as the rest of the course. If you polled 10 people, I think you'd get a pretty even mix of favorite loop.

This course originally was just one loop and has been expanded and refined over time. It is clear it continues to be improved. This is some of the best disc golf I've ever played, and I drove from Madison up to Stevens Point just to hit this course before heading back south - totally worth it. If you are within several hours you should come out of your way to play this epic course. It's one of the coolest disc golf experiences I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 4
Omgitsben
Experience: 1 played 1 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Beautiful course and park 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 16, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

This course was beautifully landscaped and had a good variety of holes. I only got to play the middle and west portion. I liked how the course had short and long holes unlike some of the other courses near town in point.

Cons:

1. Some of the alternate pin placements didn't specify which location the pin was in.

2. Tee signs could use a little more detail with tree lines to help locate pins from the pad.

Other Thoughts:

Being from Florida I really enjoyed the elevation changes and great upkeep of the park. Will def play next vacation here!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
15 0
jeremyhilss
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 11.4 years 50 played 30 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Gorgeous land, tough golf 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 13, 2017 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Spectacular location, gorgeous scenery- located in the woods with tall trees providing beautiful landscapes and great shade, with beautiful hillsides and valleys galore. Variety of dirt and grassy fairways. Just straight up, disc golf eye candy.

Awesome landscaping - many greens and teepads are surrounded by nice rocks and large boulders. Awesome stairways are abundant around the course.

Signage - serviceable teesigns with hole shape, number, and length - just laminated paper though. Next tee signs are all over the place, and seem to be made with the same quality as traffic signs. Hard to get lost here.

Mach V's - in awesome shape, and each loop of the course has it's own color code - blue, silver, and red. The colored ones stand out and are very vibrant and pleasing to the eye. The silver ones are a bit harder to see, but have orange on the pole, so no real problems.

33 holes - that is a lot of golf. Plays mulitple ways, one of which is three seperate loops, two of which start and end right by the entrance. The east loop is a bit of a walk away though. The other is a combo, starting with mid, jumping to east, finishing east, finishing mid, then doing all of west. This layout flows very well.

Challenge and variety - 32 of 33 holes are completely wooded, and the lengths vary from 150 feet to nearly 500. You've gotta be hitting your line, and have good power at the same time to score well here. There are straight, left, and right holes.

Elevation - there are uphills, downhills, and valleys to throw over. The east loop seems to have the most, starting off with a bang, with a huge hyzer down a steep curving path into the valley. Best hole on the course IMO.

Great basket placements - many make putts a bit scarier with dropoffs behind, and placed on hillsides.

Teepads - they are rubber, but do not worry. They are huge, level, and grippy.

Multiple pin placements on many holes

Pay to play - I list this as a pro, because it is obvious that the money goes into the course. Just $4 a person per day.

Cons:

Pay to play - I'll list as a con cause some people are cheap.

Killer rough - if you get off the fairway prepare for a miserable time on some holes, getting murdered by thorn bushes.

Not many benches or trash cans. There are some, but not a ton.

Could use a couple more open holes, maybe one water hole to balance it out a tad.

The "short tees" don't seem to be marked, more or less just worn out dirt spots? Can't say too much because I didn't play them or put much of an effort to find them though.

Other Thoughts:

This is top tier disc golf here. It is one of the best tests of wooded disc golf skill in the state, with all the long narrow lanes, and different fairway shapes. In my top three personal most beautful locations I've ever played; even if you are just out there for a walk, the scenery is stunning. Absolutely fantastic golf, in the most pristine woods in WI. Absolutely should be considered a top destination course in the state and the region.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 8
Dietrich Discing
Experience: 9.9 years 3 played 3 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Good wooded course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 17, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

So many awesome wooded holes that really test your accuracy. It feels like you are playing in the middle of a forest. Playing in such awesome scenery is great. Good mixture of short and long holes. There are some holes which are for sure "ace able", I hit the basket on two holes. This course is under rated in my opinion. The diversity of the shot you will have to throw is very good and fun.

Cons:

Almost every hole is a tight wooded hole. There could be a few longer open holes.

Other Thoughts:

Great course that tests many throws. One of the best courses in Wisconsin.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 2
jland969
Experience: 18.5 years 77 played 11 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Exceptional Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 1, 2015 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-Had the opportunity to watch this course grow to it's current state
-Beautiful area
-Secluded
-Affordable
-Elevation factors frequently
-Rarely crowded (if it is start on a different segment)
-Clean and well maintained
-Park offers other recreation as well

Cons:

-Always improving, so new areas often under development
-Bit of a drive from most places
-Very enforcing of rules (dogs and pay)

Other Thoughts:

Check this one out. Amazing course that most people would enjoy, even if you are just walking it!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 11
GetMeOutdoors
Experience: 22 played 8 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Standing Rocks 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jul 25, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

Variety and number of holes
Although not my personal preference, I will add that the difficulty level of the east course is a positive.

Cons:

Poor location
Poor signage, especially for a first time player. Baskets are not painted and difficult to spot if they are even in view. Poor tee pads, many are uneven.

For the entry fee I would expect to see accurate signage, multiple tees, and concrete pads. I've been to many free courses with nicer amenities.

Other Thoughts:

We played the central and Eastern holes. We could not find where the west course started.

This is not a course I would probably come back to, even though I live in the area, unless the fee is removed or reduced.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 1
brentwood_17
Experience: 22.9 years 45 played 6 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Land Built for Disc Golf 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 22, 2015 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This course is on land that is perfect for disc golf. With the expansions over time this course has grown to 33 holes. Have played this course in tournaments and casual rounds. Some holes have secondary placements but most do not. This course rewards accuracy plain and simple. Every hole has a "fair"way some wooded courses cannot boast that. Every shot requires you to hit your line and commit to the shot. This course has severe elevation changes. Most every hole has some form of change in elevation. Some holes are just a blast to throw. Multiple ace runs available if you hit your line. East loop is the easiest. Then mid and then West. West has a couple long holes that will test your shot making to get to the green with a putt for 3. Basket placement on some holes are just plain beautiful. Perched on the side of a hill with rocks laid into the hill circling the downhill side of the basket placement. Big amazing color coded map explaining the loops of the couse. Many signs showing you were the next hole was or even explaining the crossover opportunity after mid 6 to cross over to east 1. I muttered many times this land is "Built for disc golf".

Cons:

Rubber Mats on the teepad. Yes in the perfect world cement would be at every tee location but sometimes not allowed by the parks dept or just impractical other times. That being said I had no problem on any of the holes I played with the mats. One outhouse at the beginning of the West loop during normal rounds. If you get a chance to play a tournament they open up the Chalet with flushing toilets.

Other Thoughts:

No bomber holes depending on your game you can claim as a pro or a con. Don't get me wrong you need distance but controlled distance is way more important. You will hit multiple trees in a round so you will have to bring your salvage shots, I found myself pulling out forehand rollers and many back to the basket backhand attempts just to clear the foliage where your disc might land. Even with vegetation in full bloom when we played we never had to look for more than 25 seconds for a disc. Great course and more than happy to give $4 per golfer to the course fund.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 15
Horsman
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 17.5 years 222 played 100 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Did not live up to the hype 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jun 30, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Easy to get to. GPS takes you right where you need to go and if it doesnt then the signage in the park is great for getting you to the course.
- The course have a lot of signage. From the giant course map at the start, to the next hole markers. Very well done and easy to get thru.
- Flow is pretty natural and easy to follow.
- Has a good bit of distance as well as its fair share of short technical holes.
- Has 3 different loops that you can play so you can play anywhere from a half hour to 2 hours and land right back at the start, no problem.
- Has some good elevation change for WI, so its quite fun to throw up and down and next to the hills.
- The long tunnel shots were a lot of fun to play. Tight and long with enough room to get the full flight of the disc out. I really enjoyed these holes and wish that there were more out there since they were nice and fair.
- Has a lot of potential, but needs a quite a bit of work.

Cons:

- With a course rated as high as this is and with it being so highly talked about here in WI I expected much better things from it.
- TEEPADS. I had no clue that they were going to be rubber teepads, and if I would have taken a minute to look it up I wouldnt have played the course, but man are they bad. I played on a dry day but that didnt matter at all. All of the teepads were slick, I think I slipped on a good third of them. Majority of them need to have a broom next to the teepad because all of the sand and debris on them made them really unsafe to throw off of. WIth it being pay to play I would think that, that would be something that could easily be done.
- TEEPADS. Pretty much the front of every teepad has been washed away thru time so the front 6 inches of it dipped down. Very unsafe to throw off of. I will say that they are at least pretty long and wide so you can accommodate, but for the times you forget to, you are going to be hurting.
- This style of course, IMO, if not a fun style to play. Id say 80% of the holes out there are what I consider to be all luck. It takes skill to get off the tee and hit your gap, but when you get closer to the basket it takes almost 100% luck to get to the hole. Not a lot of fun to play. Better pin postions or a more manicured green area would solve this problem but majority of the holes were not that fun to play.
- It seems like on a lot of the holes out there that they were originally designed very well. But then somewhere along the way they decided to try to make the course longer so they just took their already complete holes, with the fairways being cut and manicured for the OG position, and moved the pins back further without any more manicuring.
- The short holes out here leave a lot to be desired. A lot of them have a few clear paths to take but none of these paths will lead to the holes. It seems like they were trying to design them so that you kinda had to either lay up or risk going for it and try to get lucky and make it through some pretty impossible gaps. I dont mind that but almost forcing the player to land 40 short and hti a putt on a 180' hole is kinda off to me.
- I didnt know that to get to one of the loops of the course that you played half way thru one and corssed over to it. No clue it was there so it would have been nice to know that so you can seemlessly play all the holes.
- I could see parking here being an issue during tournamnet time. There is a parking lot which is 100% fine for everyday use but I could see this being an issue for tournament time.

Other Thoughts:

I really wanted to like this course but I just did not enjoy my time there. I had the intention of playing all 33 holes but I was so frustrated with the course that I just did 2 of the loops and called it there. THere is so much potential out there and its sad to see that it doesnt live up to what it could be. id love to see a redesign here with some real teepads. Id think that with pay to play here that it could easily be done but until something different happens to this course I will never be going back.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 5
Vince W
Experience: 13.8 years 170 played 11 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Maybe the best course in Wisconsin. 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Aug 26, 2014 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Has variety of elevations and woodsy holes. A lot wildlife in the area. Great basket and tee placements. Has a scorecard with a map of whole course. Uses elevation perfectly on almost every hole. Never really crowded because you can start the course in two different spots.

Cons:

Some holes may have a lot of weeds in late summer. Can get muddy easily if course is wet. Hard to find place without GPS. Not many cons because it's just a beautiful course.

Other Thoughts:

I personally think this is the best course in Central Wisconsin. Does cost 4 dollars but it is definitely worth it. I have seen deer here every time I have gone here. Beautiful course all year. A lot of wildlife to observe too. Different colored baskets on parts of the course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 5
CaptainMo
Experience: 27.8 years 40 played 2 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Standing Rocks - Middle & East 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 31, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

> Nice rolling terrain and woodsy scenery.
> Really nice "greens" and basket placements. It felt like someone planned and cared about the course.
> Clearly marked hole maps and directions made getting around really easy on the first time through.
> Most of the holes felt really natural; that is, they clearly demanded one or two specific shots/flight paths.

Cons:

> No benches or trash cans.
> Not many long holes. All but 1 or 2 were between 200' and 300'.

Other Thoughts:

Really cool course. I'd definitely play it again when I'm in the area. Didn't have time to play the west loop this time. I really liked how a majority of the holes felt like some thought had gone into their design.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 18
in4d
Experience: 20.6 years 27 played 5 reviews
1.50 star(s)

good old course, needs update 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Sep 1, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Hilly ups and down with cliffs that make some holes a workout, challenging and technical.
Well maintained and beautiful area
Mutliple Pin placements that get moved around periodically keep it interesting year round.
Good variety of angles, hyzers, anhyzer, gaps, straight fairways, uphill, downhill, over valleys to pins on top of hills, etc it will test all of your woods skills

Cons:

Not many places to sit down and take a breather after going up and down hills
Could have better tee signs that are more accurate.
Course was clearly designed for Frisbee golfers in the 70s, some holes could be modified to be a little longer for modern discs that are made to fly farther.

Other Thoughts:

Bottom line is: Needs a modern redesign overhaul, this is a dated "pitch and putt" course that has been updated partially with a few holes modified/added and then mixed in with old holes, parts of the west loop are great and a few holes on the other loops are good too but if all the 70's frisbee holes in between could be reworked this could be good again for the next generation. Would like to see more par 4's and 5's, One 18 hole course design would fit just fine starting at the west loop some of the holes dont need any changes and then finish with parts of the mid loop being used. Then the East loop could remain a partial loop including some of the mid loop and be the recreational pitch and putt par 3 course that many people still love.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
16 1
notapro
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 20.6 years 568 played 281 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Fun for everyone! 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 25, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Course is set in a large county park that has a lot of land to work with. It is a multi-use park with biking/hiking trails and whatnot, but there didn't seem to be many chances for interference. There are three separate loops here; they can be played independently of each other if desired.
- Lots of wooded areas here, which provides a fantastic variety of shots and lines. There are RHBH annys and flicks, like a sharp one on #E2 and #E11, and some gentler ones on #E6 and #M1. Abundance of hyzers of course, like some sharp ones on #W12 and #M7, and more subtle curves on #M2 and #E3. Also a ton of straight shots, of varying difficulty. Also a good amount of holes that offer a few different lines to the basket. #E7 is a tricky hyzer or a RHFH flex shot, and #M4 and #W9 offer a left or right curve to get around a copse of trees.
- A good majority of these wooded holes are on the shorter side, but demand creative shots to reach the basket. This allows for a lot of birdie chances, BUT, there is definitely the chance to bogey these same holes with a poor shot. It is definitely fun... if the shots are clean.
- Other holes are much longer, with straighter lines to the baskets. These rely on nasty rough/jail off the fairways to punish errant shots. With some tight gaps in the fairway, and some spots approaching tunnel status, it does not take much to throw an errant shot. These are very tough from start to finish. #W1, #W2, and #M8 fit this bill; easily par 4's. #W6 is another par 4; an uphill shot that finishes hard right into a clearing in the woods.
- One of the best features of the terrain at this park is the constant hilliness, which is used extensively. Lots of subtle ups and downs, and slopes left to right, as well as some more extreme examples. Keeps everything fresh and exciting. Some standouts include a steep downhill shot on #E1, a nasty rollaway potential on #E8, an uphill shot on #W6, a nasty valley on #E12, etc. etc. Lots of elevation changes!
- Some tricky basket placements here and there to add more difficulty, plenty behind trees, on a slope, next to a giant rock, next to a big dropoff, and so on. Hitting the lines is crucial to stay out of trouble, shaping the shot to land exactly where you want it goes a very long way to gather the birdies as well.
- Rubber pads are in good shape, as well as the baskets. Navigational signs really help to get around, especially between the various loops. Map definitely helps the first time through, as you switch the east loop after six on the main loop.

Cons:

- The one thing missing at this course is any water; the main punishment for any errant shot is recovering from the woods or the rough. Not a big con, there just isn't any water present.
- There are a lot of short holes here, with 1/3 being under 230'. Might be a little bit of a let down for power players, but there are definitely longer ones to balance it out.

Other Thoughts:

- Well, not much more to say. This course delivers! Lots of short, tricky, and interesting birdie opportunities; some tough longer holes to test any level of player, and lots in between. Shooting left, right, up, down, around and through the woods while avoiding jail, rough, and rollaways from start to finish will keep you on your toes. Lots of fun while still providing a challenge.
- With the option to mix and match between the different loops, this course is perfect for nearly anyone. Advanced players will love the west loop, beginners might want to stay away to keep the scores low.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
16 0
harr0140
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 15.2 years 1508 played 475 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Standing Rocks ROCKS!!! 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 26, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

1) Fairly well done rubber teepads . . . (see also negatives) but overall these rubber mats are better than bare dirt.
2) Signs have distance and a general hole layout.
3) The leaf cover in the woods is appreciated this time of year, as I am sure this would be a negative in the summertime when there is no leaf cover only bare soil and rocks on the ground.
4) Nice mature hardwood trees on this course . . . something that really makes it beautiful and also presents a challenge.
5) Very unique boulders all over the course . . . must be where the name "Standing Rocks" comes from.
6) Excellent directional signage to get you from hole to hole.
7) Excellent elevation changes on this course including some rolling hills. There is variety even in the elevation change . . . how awesome is that.
8) There is a really decent flow on these 3 sections of one course. They work well going from hole to hole but also from West to Middle to East. The signage is helpful, but it simply flows well on its own even.
9) Excellent distance variation on this course. This is a key design ingredient for me.
10) Excellent shot shaping requirements with the need to be able to throw left to right and right to left. The hills add in additional challenge to the shot making.
11) Nice kiosk at the beginning of the course. It shows a nice layout of the 3 sections of course. You can certainly decide where to start (and I chose west then middle and east) If you prefer a specific 9 or 12 holes you can easily play just those holes as each section plays its way back near the parking lot.
12) There is a pit toilet at the beginning of the West course. It's a lot of holes (33) to be played without the use of one toilet.
13) Very healthy grass even in the heart of the woods . . . keep it up whoever is working on this course.
14) DGA powder coated blue baskets . . .they look nice and help with spotting them in the woods.
15) Distance variation is awesome with holes from the 100's all the way to the 400's and everything in between.
16) Incredibly clean woods . . . meaning very little buckthorn, honeysuckle and other undesirable rough plant material. Keep it that way as long as you can please!

Cons:

1) The only issue I see with the tee-pads is the fact that the corners of the gravel underneath the rubber is falling away. These will eventually be unusable and the rubber will be worthless if this is not resolved.
2) I imagine during the growing season . . . the ground would be slippery because there is no leaf cover. I played in the fall when almost all of the ground had leaf cover making what would be bare soil or mud (in wet conditions) decent to walk on because of an inch of fallen leaves.
3) There are a lot of stump trippers around the course . . . but at least they have painted the stumps with paint so people can more easily see the stumps.
4) Gravel short tees leave a bit to be desired. Most of them are ok, but a handful of them have eroded enough to be nearly unusable or simple like teeing off of bare ground.
5) Little to no garbage cans throughout the course . . . I guess they expect the disc golfers to pack in and pack out. While the ideal is correct, the realistic view is that garbage will still be found on the course. I did pick up a handful of beverage containers around the course and tote them back to the garbage.

Other Thoughts:

Not much else needs to be said about this course . . . there are so many positives and so few negatives . . . you have to agree this is one of WI finest courses. It may not be top3 in the state overall . .. but it exemplifies what WI disc golf is all about. It has a little bit of everything, albeit heavily weighted towards the tight wooded holes.

I will say this . . . this course is a solid 4.25-4.35 course . . . I just cannot rate it 4.50 or better because some of the negatives are preventable with minor changes or improvements . . . but it hardly took away from my first trip here!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 2
IHearChains
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 19.8 years 203 played 34 reviews
3.50 star(s)

very fun short course! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 28, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

Disclaimer -- I played this course during the Standing Rocks Open tournament, and I am not sure how different the regular layout is, but I had the impression the tourney layout has a handful of temporary holes. My review pertains to the tourney layout only.

There are two parts of the course, an older shorter course, and a longer course with a few newer holes. Both are built on very hilly, wooded, and rocky terrain that is well-suited to challenging disc golf. However, both courses are mostly par 3 golf.

On the older course, almost every hole is a deuce run. Still it is challenging because of the technical lines through the woods, on most holes there is a good chance you'll end up scrambling for par after a tree kick. Even though some players might end up throwing a lot of midranges off the teepad, there are a lot of different shots needed, because there's a good mix of uphill and downhill, left/right/straight fairways. But the max distance drivers won't get much use on this course. There is one big downhill throw about 600ft down a ski hill (I think this was a temp hole) and the day I was here Will Shusterick was throwing putters at it. I threw driver and didn't make it. :-|

The newer course is a tougher challenge, several of the holes required more thoughtful disc choice and line shaping. There were also a few holes that had wider fairways where you could let 'er rip, kind of nice after playing the shorter old part of the course.

I took advantage of the camping at Lake Emily campground which was a pretty large campground. I didn't see the whole thing but the part I camped in was built into a sweet pine grove, it was nice and I would recommend it.

The whole area is beautiful and would be fun to hike around in, even without throwing plastic, so if natural beauty is important in choosing your disc golf courses, this one gets a bonus for that.

Cons:

The older part of the course seems to have been designed in a different era of disc technology, and needs an updated redesign to fully take advantage of the beautiful terrain. Even if it means the number of holes is fewer, I think the course could be improved by a complete redesign to include several legitimate par 4 and par 5 holes.

There are no water hazards, and OB looks like it would rarely be a factor. Penalties for going in the rough were not all that bad when I was there, but might be worse during mid-summer.

Other Thoughts:

All in all, I would say this is a great course for a relaxing day of golf suitable for lots of different skill levels, and I would definitely stop there again and have fun. But is not the supreme challenge that would warrant giving it a 4 rating or higher.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
wolfhaley
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 19.8 years 970 played 542 reviews
4.50 star(s)

The best in central WI, period. 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 29, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

33 holes! Theres 3 different loops that can all be played together as one 33 hole loop or in different configurations for many different ways to play. Theres a 12 hole east loop, 9 hole mid loop and 12 hole west loop. The mid loop is where you would start at to play the whole 33 hole layout. You play the first 6 holes on the mid loop then cross the road and play the whole east loop, cross back over the road and finish the last 3 on the mid loop, then walk west and finish with the last 12 on the west loop. This sounds way harder than it actually is, especially by reading about it. The signage directing you thru the course is top level here, again its sooo well marked that the map is almost unnescessary. Excellent mach 5 baskets which are one of the best in my opinion. Very hilly area which is used very well here. The $4 to play this is alomost to cheap, you get what you pay for and then some. Solid signs at each and every hole with hole layout and distance plus loop and hole number. The landscaping here is unbelievable! It's called standing rocks for a reason, you gotta see the design of this course...I've never seen anything like it, beyond gorgeous. Theres a huge wooden sign with all the holes color coded by loop and numbers engraved into the wood before hole 1 of the mid loop. The map offered is accurate and will help tremendously to newcomers of this course. Very clean course. Garbage cans throughout, but again if you pack it in you should be able to pack it out. Like i've said in other reviews this is a Randy Shukar designed course, which are all top notch, and this is the crown jewel of them all in my opinion. Fair lines on all holes. Fair not simple, You gotta be accurate here, smart with shot selection too. Rollaways can kill you. A thinking mans course, execution will only get you so far, strategy is a key factor here. Bathrooms located just before the start of the west loop. The west loop offers more distance compared to the other 2 loops. Bugs never seem too bad here, though having bug spray playing disc golf in WI should be a no brainer. Almost all shorter but extra technical. Hole 1 on the east loop is an awesome downhill bomb, Super fun hole! Minimal walking between holes too, however you WILL be walking, up, down and across steep hills. Pretty hard to lose a disc here. Only about 15 minutes south of stevens point, so a great day of discin awaits with Yulga, Mead Park, and Mcdill Pond minutes away. And if you wanted Big Eau Pleine (another Randy Shukar designed course) Under an hour away for a ton of options to choose from for an awesome day(s) of disc golf. A MUST PLAY!

Cons:

The black rubber mats get really slick in spots. When they get dirt on them they're at their worst. Just be careful. Pay to play but like I said its totally worth it. Open May 1st to October 31st, however the work they do when its closed shows up trifold every May. Besides the tees and maybe a lack of alternate pins and tees theres nothing you can honestly complain about here.

Other Thoughts:

All I can tell you is this is a must play course. It's rated this high for a reason, its phenomenal. Many other fantastic courses nearby too (Yulga, Big Eau Pleine) and even very underappreciated 9 holers too (Waupaca H.S. and McDill Pond).However a whole day of discin here would be good enough in itself, and physically taxing enough for most, but the option is still there for it. Make sure to bring enough liquid! This course will test the best. I can't stress enough how great this course is. If even remotely close, take a trip here. Will not disappoint, guaranteed.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 6
steinkecm
Experience: 18 years 43 played 4 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Beautiful, but Short 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Sep 1, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

Lots of technical shots
Great signage
Lots of holes to make P2P worth it
Beautiful area

Cons:

Very few benches
A few signs are a bit "off"
Quite short. Only a few holes break the 400+ mark. It doesn't take a whole lot of arm to park most holes.

Other Thoughts:

I would have preferred fewer holes for more distance, but overall this course was well worth the trip.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
11 0
mndiscg
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.8 years 480 played 477 reviews
4.50 star(s)

A Fav 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 4, 2007 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Nice parking lot with bathroom near the loops, big course sign with map, maps and scorecards at pay station.
-It is 33 holes!
-Nice baskets which are different color based on which loop of the course you are on.
-Course is designed so that you can play a big combination of holes. Options:
Just West 12 holes
West and Mid 21 holes
Mid and East 21 holes
East 12 holes
All 33 holes
I guess you could skip the mid loop and play the others but it would take a lot of walking.
-Nice tee signs, very informative. Good for the blind shots.
-Great elevation use. There is shots uphills, downhills, on the side of hills, valley type shots, fast greens. This really adds to the course.
-The course is very wooded and challenging but almost all the holes have good lines and are fair.
-The tee pads are good and are big, grippy rubber pads.
-This course caters to all levels of players. Some parts of the course were longer than others. I would recommend the mid loop for beginners with the exception of hole 8. The East loop was a little harder and many of the long holes are found in the West loop.
-This course is very clean. I attribute that to its remote location and pay to play. It is well worth the 4 dollars.
-All the rock formations are cool. I really liked the basket locations of M8 and 9.
-Lots of wildlife. I came quite close to deer on M2 when I play early in the morning.
-This course isn't very busy. Again, I attribute that to its remote location and pay to play.
-I have mentioned the remote location a few times. You are in the Wisco Woods out here. You are going to see only other park users and not too many of those even. I really appreciate this setting.
-Next tee signs are needed in woods like these and are there on almost every hole.
-Finding discs off the fairway is very easy for a wooded course. Not saying that you won't lose one but the brush is pretty controlled here.
-This course truly requires all kinds of shots to be successful. It is very important to have a controlled drive on many of the holes or you will be off the fairway hitting trees. There are longer holes but they are still fairly wooded. There are right and left turning holes and many many ups and downs. One hole has a huge dogleg to the right. Like 90 degrees. This course contains everything but water in its 33 holes.

Cons:

-This course isn't as long as a true championship course but that doesn't mean that it doesn't have its longer holes or that it isn't challenging.
-It is also missing the water factor that a true championship course needs (unless it's a mountain course)
-All the possible cons for a wooded course: bugs, muddy, erosion. They weren't really a factor when I played but I could see them being an issue.
-Some may find pay to play as a con but I don't. It is only 4 dollars and this course is a beautiful 33 holes. Well worth the money.

Other Thoughts:

This course is great. I had high expectations for it and it even exceeded them. I think this course is better than its high ranking on this site because many of those reviews are from before this course was 33 holes and before the signage was put in. If this course was a little longer I would have given it a 5 for sure. more props to Randy for the design and maintenance of this course. I would stop in and play at Yulga as well if I were in the area again.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 2
Fighter
Experience: 35 played 13 reviews
4.50 star(s)

One of Wisconsin's Finest 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 4, 2012 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

+ Elevation and Wooded beauty
+ Landscaping of rock structures on pins and pads
+ Grippy Rubber Mats
+ Loop design options
+ Incredible variety of shots
+ Tight, technical fairway design

Cons:

- Sometimes overgrowth can be an issue for disc hunting on semi-blind holes
- Bugs can be a concern

Other Thoughts:

One of top 5 favorites I've played. This course brings elevation, tight fairways, left and right turns all together into a very challenging course. A little length would give this course the final bump it needs to be the top tier of the state, but even now its such a phenomenal design that won't disappoint. Tournament layout bomber hole down the ski hill would be a great permanent addition if possible.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 1
ReinZ_96
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 13.6 years 104 played 46 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Standing Rocks DGC 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:May 27, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

1) For being mats the tee pads are surprisingly grippy, even when wet.
2) Great design, good mix of left right and straight holes. Uphill, downhill, sidehill, cliffs, valleys, this course has got it.
3) Great baskets, catch awesomely.
4) Good variation of distances, the first 19 holes (for the most part, are under 300ft but very technical. Then hole M8 (the infamous Barry Shultz hole) and on the course has got some daunting distance. A few par 4 holes on the west loop, and they remain just a technical as the mid and east loops.
5) VERY wooded while still remaining fair.
6) course is very clean (thanks to the 4 dollar fee keeping the chuckers out)

Cons:

1) not a single bench or trash can on the entire course, but the rocks made good benches in some areas.
2) Only ONE hole that is not in the woods, and it still finishes in the woods. Playing so many tight and technical shots is quite mentally draining.
3) A little confusing in places, sign for hole W9 is completely missing and some signs are wrong. But other than that navigation is fairly easy.

Other Thoughts:

This is an amazing course and should not be passed up for any reason. It is quite the hike, bring lots of liquids, your hiking shoes, and about 3 hours of your time...you'll need it. Benches and trash cans on all the holes and concrete tees would make this a no brainer 5/5 disc course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 4
plex
Experience: 19 played 1 reviews
5.00 star(s)

Best in Central Wisc 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:May 1, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Challenging course in the woods with a large variety of shots, angles, and distances on all of its 33 holes. Spectacular rock work, landscaping and tree placement makes it a beautiful course for the whole family to enjoy. I like the "middle of the woods" atmosphere. I am confident that many great disc golfers will develop because of this well designed course. Standing Rocks constantly forces me to improve my disc control because of all the tight angles and gaps. Standing Rocks is the best course i have played in central Wisconsin.

Cons:

I can think of 1 or 2 holes that seem to be "connectors" in order to get from one tee to the next... would be nice if a little more creativity and work was done on these connector holes to make this course perfect.

Other Thoughts:

The $4 fee to play eliminates the "scrubs" and routy teens who seem to invade most of the other free to play courses in my area. Its truly enjoyable and tranquil playing at Standing Rocks. No trash laying on the ground, No Vandalism, No bullshit!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top