• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Can someone be successful throwing strictly forehand or backhand?

Topper_34_1

Hey guys hows it going? I have been playing disc golf for about 4 years now and I have no backhand at all. I played baseball for 10 years so the forehand throw is what came natural to me. Playing with other people I have never had a problem beating them because i have learned to throw the FH different ways to fit different holes. So.... My question is do you guys think that a person that only has one set throwing technique can be successful in tournaments or not? Thanks for your time.

Aaron Talley

all backhand? sure

all forehand? maybe

but it's best to be able to do both......unless you're the champ

Sure. But the ability and confidence to hit several lines with both techniques will put one ahead of the competition. My best analogy is a soccer player that only plays with one foot versus two.

I throw both RHBH and LHBH equally well. I have seen several people who do this. What I have never seen, however, is someone who can throw both RHFH and LHFH really well. That is the holy grail of disc golf awesomeness IMHO...

You can become a total badass with your feet if you practice enough. But like others have said, if you have both a BH and a FH, you have that many more shots in your bag.
The more shots you have = the easier it will be on any course.

develop a anhyzer game, and carry lots of flippy discs, thats how I play good on righty courses