• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

How long did it take you to finally get it?

How long did it take?

• 1-3 years

Votes: 44 47.3%
  • 3-5 years

Votes: 16 17.2%
  • 5-8 years

Votes: 3 3.2%
  • The future is bleak.

Votes: 30 32.3%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

Uncle Dougie

Double Eagle Member
Just curious to know how long it took those of you who have everything down. I understand there's no quick fix...just interested in wanting to know how long it took some of you.

I think it all depends on how much you practice/play to get it. I played sporadically for years, but when I started playing at least once a week and put a basket in my backyard for putting practice, then my game went to a whole new level. I'm still not there as I need to get proficient with my forehand and develop good rollers before I have a completely well rounded game.

Tim S.

Depends on your definition of "getting it". I've known from day one what I wanted to do and will never feel like I've reached the pinnacle of my abilities until I ace every hole that is physically possible to ace 100% of the time. Since that will never happen, I will never 100% get it. When you're green you're growing, but when you're ripe you're rotting.

I'd say it really took about 2 years. I played casually for about five years before I really started getting more serious. After two years of serious play I started to piece it all together to where I feel I have a nice consistent, well-rounded game. Of course, I'm always looking to practice more and improve, but I like where my game is now.

I say "getting it" because I always read posts on here where people are saying, "Oh, it finally clicked for me", or "I had the ah-ha moment". It's all relative guys...no need for analyzing it.