• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Ideas for disc expansion

LauraW

Hello everyone!

I am very new to the sport and this website, apologies if posting this in the wrong forum.
My husband has gotten very into the sport and we enjoy playing different courses together. I want to get him a few new discs, but I am unsure what is missing in his bag. I have tried reading the different posts on this website as well as watching youtube videos trying to educate myself. But seeing as I am quite new to it all and the lingo, it has proven difficult. I am hoping someone here can help. I have no idea if anyone can advise me, when only knowing his discs and not his style as a player, but I thought I would give it a try.
Here's his current collection:

Putters:
Westside Discs, BT Soft Crown
Latitude 64, Pure Gold DecoDye Super Swirl - Gold

Drivers:
Discraft, Z Crank
Discraft, Z-line Avenger SS

Mids:
Latitude64, Retro Fuse
Discraft, Hornet

Thanks in advance!

I want to get him a few new discs, but I am unsure what is missing in his bag.

Hi Laura, welcome to the site!

If your hubby is happy with the discs he is throwing, you can always get him backups for his existing discs. Backups might be greatly appreciated if/when he loses a disc.

You could also try getting him discs he already throws in different plastics. For example:

Z/Champion/Opto (clear-ish, hard plastic) are often more stable (harder to turn);

Star/Gold Line/ESP (opaque durable plastic) may be easier to grip than Z/Champ/Opto; and

Baseline plastics (X/Pro/BT) wear more quickly and become less stable over time (easier to turn, often with more glide).

Last suggestion: You can always get him a few back-ups for his putting putter. Never hurts to have more putters to practice with!