• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

[Drivers] Speed rating vs. WIND Question

JNichols

Smelling the Shame
Hey all. When I started playing Disc Golf, almost 5 years ago, I lived in Salem, Oregon. I built a good bag of discs that worked for me. We moved to Seattle, Washington and that same bag worked well, with only the addition of a couple more utility discs for the trees. Neither place was really "Windy", though.

We have moved to the Phoenix area in Arizona and have been here for a few months now. I have come back to throwing after a almost 2 year hiatus. After throwing again for almost 2 months, my distance is coming back and I am starting to hit 350-360ft on full out drives again. So, I have a Question, especially for folks that Consistently play wind....

I have never been a thrower of HIGH SPEED Drivers. My biggest distance drivers were always 9-11 speed and usually fairly Understable (Beasts, Mambas, Sidewinders, Valkyries, etc.) My Distance right NOW is coming from MOSTLY Fairway Drivers in the 7-8 speed range (Maul, Underworld, Breakout). The Phoenix area has thrown me for a Loop because it is CONSTANTLY Windy here, compared to what I am used to. Generally, I am always throwing in a 5-15 mph sustained wind (depending on time of day), but lately I have been hitting 15-25 mph sustained wind with HUGE Gusts on some courses newer to me. I am NOT used to that....

What I am noticing is that even when I feel like I got a Great throw on a 7-8 speed Fairway driver in the Wind (Especially headwind), the disc just seems to have the Hardest time fighting through and getting distance. Even on LOW lines.