• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Why Do You Like Disc Golf?

cjsleme

Hey everyone! As some of you know, I am new to this game as of a few months. I just bought a bag and new discs and everything recently and I have been going to the park several times a week. I am not very good yet but I love this game! (You are all awesome btw!) There are a few reasons why I am so interested and getting so into this:

1. It is cheap - Once you have all your starting gear, you can play at parks for free! This is way better than Ball Golf because anyone can do it!

2. The courses - Disc golf courses can be in almost any environment and terrain; in the woods, In fields, I even played it in a big cave. (Crystal City Underground, where I first played and got into it.) Traditional ball golf needs greens and the same kind of layouts for courses.

3. The People - Everyone on the courses always have been nice to me and helpful, some people taught me technique and another person gave me a disc because I was new.

4. Something to do - I finally have a reason to be outside and I can have fun getting some exercise too. Instead of just video games. It is also fun casual recreation with friends.

So what are your favorite aspects of Disc Golf? Why do you prefer Disc Golf over traditional Ball Golf?

I think you just started and finished your own thread lol. There isn't much to say that you didn't, other than maybe the rush of competition but you haven't gotten that far yet. Keep at it and since your new I'll give you some words of wisdom. If you intend on getting serious at this sport, practice putting A LOT. Watch video's on form and technique find what works for you and practice practice practice your putting. I wish I had devoted more time to it in my first year or so. welcome and good luck