• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

West Memphis, AR

ASU Mid-South

2.155(based on 17 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

ASU Mid-South reviews

Filter
8 0
Pizza God
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 36.2 years 1756 played 596 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Not the worst

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 2, 2023 Played the course:once

Pros:

Decent cement tee pads
Unique tee signs that are showing their age
not a horrible mix of shots

Cons:

Several wide open longer shots
Crosses US-70, a major road with only a crosswalk with no lights.

Other Thoughts:

ok, I played the original 9 hole layout here many many years ago. Back then the course was wide open 9 holes with wooden tee boxes.

The new 18 hole course uses the full campus grounds including a pond an many of the trees.

There are 2 signs for the course with maps, one on each side of campus. This really makes it feel more like 2 nine hole courses.

The front nine are on the north side of campus and starts off with several holes that are pretty much wide open. Even holes 3 and 6 have open shots to the basket with a big hyzer and anhyzer. Hole 7 is probably the most picturesque and best hole on the course over the edge of the pond, through and opening between the trees and to a baskt set out in the open.

Hole 8 also throws next to the pond, but the shot more directly to the basket does not have an opening and I would not recommend going that way.

After hole 9 you walk across US-70 for the back nine on the South side of campus.

The back side does use more tree's that mades it interesting. Hole 16 is the most open hole and longest hole on this side. Hole 15 is cool, it's the most wooded hole and does have a decent fare fairway.

In general, this is in the top half of college campus courses I have played. As with most college campus courses, you do have holes where you have to watch out for students on walking paths. But when you look at what they had to work with, not a bad job.

Would I play here again? No, there is a reason it has taken me 10 years to play the new layout. There are just too many other courses across in TN I could play instead. If I lived locally, this course is decent for a quick round, but would get boring real quick. now the day I played it was dry, but from reading other reviews, you might skip this course after a heavy rain.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
MrFrosty
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 31.2 years 764 played 387 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Pretty Good Campus Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 6, 2019 Played the course:once

Pros:

I'm sure the Mid-South Community College disc golf course is on a lot of travelers radar , since you can pick up Arkansas , Tennessee and Mississippi courses in less than a day . It sits a short drive from Memphis and , I don't know much about the college itself , I do know that they wanted to make a believable campus course . I thought they succeeded in their goal . When you pull into lot , the kiosk and first tee greet you to the left . i have been to many courses that sit on college campuses , where most just offer some after class throwing around to unload a students anxiety . Lots of colleges lack the big picture . Prospective students and adults travelling around playing courses may create a buzz about your school , bringing about maybe a prospective student visit and an enrollment here or there . I would have never heard of this school had I not seen it on DGR . The tees for this college are the best I have yet seen . Long wide cement green tees flush with the ground , and Mach 3 baskets with the numbers on the holes on the circular top . The tee signs look like they are made out of rock ( I had to feel the first one and it was actually metal , but it will fool you ) , with hole number , distance and flight path . This has to rank as one of the best sign designs that I have ever seen . The front 9 plays around the perimeter of one of the college's lawns where the holes hug close to the fence line . Not much of a chance of throwing your drive out on the road , but you might go over the fence on 3 if you clip a tree and 4 if you overthrow the basket . I don't know if there are big memorable holes , but they will at least get your attention . Saying this , a good player will beat this course up , but Mid-South probably isn't going to host a B tier tournament here . The online course map is pretty well drawn and includes your score card with it .The course grounds are well mowed and manicured . I am not sure why some of the reviewers stuck it to this course . instead of making long open bomber holes in the middle , they try to incorporate surrounding trees and water into the holes . Example. #3 is a very narrow tunnel shot 333' through a tight tree line on both sides . The trees look fairly new . #5 , I can't remember if I threw off the only hill they have on campus , but the basket sits wedged in by a campus road with OB on the right and back . #6 is a hyzer down a tree line with the basket tucked in at the end ( 276' ) . #7 is a water carry to a basket only 224' away but blocked by trees right after the water . #8 has that same water as a hazard to your right as you tee off .You can take the water out of play by wrapping your drive around the light poles and trees to the pin . #9 is a right to left bender round the trees to the basket that sits a little close to the parking lot . Now is the time to tell you that you need to cross a 4 lane highway to finish your round . My advice is to jump back in your car , drive across the road and park at the lot immediately to your left and almost next to the #10 tee . Cars go flying past here at 50+ . Don't chance it , plus the rest of the course is all on this side anyway . #10 is a low canopy throw to the basket that sits a little lower than the tee . #11 is the shortest hole on the course at 186' . You can eith hyzer in and take to poles out of the equation or throw around part of the lot on the right and bring it in from the side . Easy birdie opportunity . #15 plays through the only real natural grouping of trees on the course . The basket is guarded by a lot of them and it looks as if any line to the basket is closed up .#16 is the longest hole on this course at #431' .It has a tree line guarding the left with a road close the trees , and open space to the right . You turn right to face the buildings to #17 and throw between trees with a lot of branches making for a low canopy shot , or force you to avoid the direct route by throwing around it . Stay to the right of the building in front of you and the tee will be just beyond it . It is pretty much a straight shot to the pin , but with a line of trees guarding it a little more than halfway out . After finishing the hole , take a minute to admire the fascinating sculpture to your left . It might even be worth taking a picture of . The course is almost pancake flat , but that isn't Mid-South's fault . They had nothing to work with , and it's easy on the legs . It is a fast play . I did it in about an hour , which is fast for a traveler . This is a perfect play for newbies , casuals , locals , any college kids interested in disc golf ,travelers , and even amusing for some better players. Disc Risk : losing a disc here is about zero , unless a newbie or young kid limp wrists a drive into the water on 7 , or your drive ( really approach ) ricochets off a tree and into the water to your let on 8 . The college is right off of I-40 and I-55 , so you can be off and back on the highway in a few minutes . Signature hole : Maybe the tight tree lined #3 .

Cons:

#1 pedestrian/car danger . If you are here and choose to play during peak class time , even though the front 9 is away from any buildings there are walkways around the pond . I am sure that you will have to avoid students walking across the course.and your #9 drive comes perilously close to a walkway and the parking lot . The back 9 could face more of a challenge with #11 , #12 #13 #17 and #18 coming within reach of some students or or in #11's case a car , too . #2 Course separation . I know they couldn't make an 18 hole course without it , but to either walk across 4 lanes of highway or drive across the street could be risky at busy times . I hadn't had to get in my car to go to a back 9 since Georgetown Ky. DRIVE ACROSS . #3 Some holes play close to the fence line and a couple of roads . A lot of the course is out in the open , so I imagine that it can get windy here . A good gust can make you have to jump a fence or make your drive a projectile for a passing car. Be careful . It's better to not be involved in a fight concerning disc golf as it can be fuel for a course to be pulled.
If you are into elevation , then this isn't your course . If you are interested in bombers or even woods courses , it's not here .I imagine that if it rains hard in the Memphis area , this course will be soggy since it is so flat . These aren't cons but suggestions Any amenities at all would be appreciated . Benches , water , I didn't check to see if one of the buildings was open in the off season for bathrooms , trash cans ( please carry out what you carry in ) .Bring water .

Other Thoughts:

Mid-South has a nice campus and has gone to the Nth degree to make a nice little campus course for the community and travelers just looking to get off the highway and stretch . The equipment and course care are first class . Not challenging for the 900 rated and up clan , but enough to keep many travelers, locals , and especially the college kids interested . I never remembered a flat out open hole drive that didn't involve some shot shaping . Mid-South uses everything handy on its campus lawns to try to spice up the hole . Can you score here ? Absolutely . The course gives you ample chances to recover from a bad drive and par , and many of the holes are short enough that you can find a birdie here and there .Once you get a good grip on this course you can graduate to Disc Side Of Heaven or Bud Hill .I didn't like the way the course was dissected in the middle , but hey , they could have just quit at 9 holes instead of 18 . There is a little fun factor here . Kudos to Adam and Austin for course design and with working what little was available . My Recommendation : Not a destination course by any means , but a good play for tourists in Memphis , travelers driving I-55 or I-40 , great for locals , newbies and the college kids . probably less traffic around the course from memorial to Labor Day and the weekends . .
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
wellsbranch250
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 10.4 years 662 played 643 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Appealing Basic Amenities, Unappealing Layout 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 5, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

(2.043 Rating) A lightly wooded college campus recreational course.
- BEGINNER FRIENDLY - This is the type of course I'd bring a first timer two. Lightly wooded with a handful of open shots. The distances on a few holes with allow the five timers to get a look or two at birdie. The longer holes will encourage further development. There is pretty much no overgrowth. The two water holes are the only occasions where a beginning player could have a hic-up. There is ample bail-out room to the right on both water holes, but beginners will be beginners and sill throw a disc in.
- CHAINS - Brand new adequate Mach III baskets with the typical large viewable number plate accessory on top.
- TEES - Newly poured 4 foot by 12 foot concrete tees. Having just come from Bud Hill to play here, I kind of wish I had these tees over there.
- SIGNAGE - Unique imitation stone tee signs that probably cost a lot to make. Almost all the appropriate info graces the surface; hole number, distance, par designation, ob areas, artistic description of the hole layout. The only missing item on them is the next tee direction. Also, two nice course maps which can be found at the start of both the front 9 and the back 9.
- NAVIGATION - I had no issue finding my way around. Bringing a disc golf cart will be no issue as well.
- NIGHT GOLF - I think this would be a good night owl course if its allowed. I personally finished my first round here under darkness and had little issues.
- QUICK PLAY - I finished in 50 minutes as a solo. Figure a group of four in an hour and 45 minutes.
- MAINTENANCE - A fully groomed landscape that probably only doesn't see a cutting when there's a string of raining days.

Cons:

A lackluster 18 that's short on imagination among other things.
- LAYOUT FLOW - The front nine and second nine are separated by 750 feet and there's a four lane major road between them. I seriously considered driving to (10) and in hindsight I wish I had as (18) finished 800 feet from where I parked at tee (1) and so I had to re-cross this major road again by foot.
- LACK OF CHALLENGE - A birdie fest for skilled players. I'm about a 900 and I shot a 48 on first attempt. Holes (1) and (2) should have been listed as par 3s being both under 400 feet and lightly wooded. Shop shaping is not required on most holes and a minor factor on a handful of holes. Advanced players should be able to shoot low to mid 40s routinely and possibly even throw up a round in the 30s.
- UNIQUENESS - A snooze fest compared to nearby Bud Hill. Maybe one or two holes I'd list as moderately wooded. Minimal hole distance separation from about 200 to 425 feet. The only nice variety items I enjoyed was the back to back water holes, (7) and (8).
- ELEVATION - Go figure that a course on the flood plain of the Mississippi would be flat. The most any one hole varies here is 5 feet in elevation.
- MULTI USE HAZARDS - Several holes on the front play around soccer fields. Roads, parking and walking paths come into play more than ten times.
- CHARACTER - Appealing tees and signs, and also adequate baskets. After these core items, the extras and comfort items are absent. No multi tees, no alternate baskets and no practice basket. No seating at the tees and tee shading is light. No end of round gathering shelter or picnic tables.
- NATURAL BEAUTY - Buildings and roads are constantly in view the entire road. I scored the course roughly a 2 out of 5.
- WIND - Likely an issue for this layout. The west edge of the layout is completely open with an adjacent road and open fields. The typical prevailing west wind is probably the most challenging aspect of this course.

Other Thoughts:

Mid South CC is not going to win any awards, but for a campus course it's a reasonable layout that offers the basics of the game in a friendly format. If I went to school here I'm sure I'd play weekly. No need for the traveling player searching for top courses to stop by, but its worth a play once for those in the Memphis area, especially for newer players.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
Qikly
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 12 years 181 played 150 reviews
2.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 29, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

Mid-South Community College plays across a well-groomed campus. It makes good use of the relatively small amount of obstacles available to create a variety of shots: low ceilings, tight windows, and OB all factor in, and there is even water in play on a few holes that experienced players will have to consider but new players won't feel they need to run from. There are plenty of more open shots and some real bomber holes but trees and OB are frequent enough to prevent things from feeling too grip it and rip it. Hole lengths are nicely varied though never exceeding 400'. Experienced players will be playing for 2s on most holes but in a variety of fashions so as to keep the round fresh. Beginners will have to engage in introductory-level line shaping that makes for a worthwhile round that will never become a beatdown. Overall my sense is that this layout is good for a low-key round regardless of your level of play; just don't expect much beyond that.

The layout is quite spread out, with front and back nines on opposite sides of the street, but walking between holes is smartly minimized. All holes have concrete tees and are well-signed, so finding the next tee box is easy. Parking is plentiful.

Cons:

There is zero elevation and obstacles are indeed sparse in coming so the level of technicality is capped. Design is straightforward and oriented towards par 3s so don't expect many wrinkles.

The sprawling layout makes for a lot of walking relative to the payoff of the play itself, and with little tree cover and no places to sit the sun can certainly get to you. Bring lots of water and stay hydrated; a stool would come in handy too if you're used to resting between throws. The layout can be hard to follow at a few points due to awkward and distant transitions, even if effort was clearly put in to minimize such moments.

The course plays alongside roads and fences and through more central parts of the campus at several points, so conflict with cars and students could certainly arise. The campus was empty during my late-July Saturday visit, though.

The concrete tees are painted and I found them often to get very slick when wet. The grass seemed regularly watered so this compounded the problem even on an otherwise clear day.

Other Thoughts:

This course is definitely worth a stop to break up a road trip, which is what I used it for. Would also be a good course for casual rounds if I lived in the area. Wouldn't consider it for much more than that, however.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
Cerealman
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 15.9 years 594 played 179 reviews
1.50 star(s)

Confining campus 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 29, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

New baskets and excellent signs at each tee.

The water holes (#7 and #8) are picturesque.

Fairly easy to navigate and find each hole (as long as participants are aware that the front nine and back nine are separate).

Plenty of parking available.

Cons:

This course is literally ON a college campus. Hole #18 requires throwing across a campus green that may be frequented by students hustling to class. In addition, other holes may require throwing near college students depending on the time of day. Also, several of the baskets are located within 20 feet of parking lots, vehicles and other obstacles.

This course feels cramped. The holes are shoehorned into the not-so-available space.

Hole #8 doesn't have much of a fairway. Your options are likely an anhyzer over the edge of the pond and trees or trying to squeeze a hyzer in between trees and lampposts.
Not much variety on the front nine. Most of the holes are fairly open.

Very windy. Throwing might be challenging due to the unpredictable breezes and the claustrophobic design on several of the holes.

Other Thoughts:

Mid-South Community College is near the interstate and the location offers an opportunity to snag an additional state if you're passing by Memphis. However, the course could be a frustrating play with the wind and frustrating proximity to roads, parking lots and vehicles. This course would likely be more enjoyable on a calm day during college break.

While several reviewers mentioned the road dividing the front and back halves, there is plenty of parking available near the #1 and #10 tees, so a 30-second drive is the safer option.

Mid-South Community College has several amenities, including new signs and good baskets. But despite these niceties, the course design is poor and confined, hence my rating. Avoiding the many surrounding obstacles will require extreme caution and plenty of luck. Establishing a disc golf course in an area that can endanger autos and academics is a recipe for disaster.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
mrbro855
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 10.7 years 368 played 105 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Hmmm... 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:May 18, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

Concrete tee pads, great signage. Manageable water holes.
Liked the back nine better than the front- better use of trees. Shorter but more challenging.
Liked the two water holes on the front nine- both very manageable even for shorter throwers off the tee.

Cons:

Seven of the 9 front nine holes seemed liked the same throw off the tee. Kinda boring....
Crossing the main street (twice- no matter where you park) - lot of traffic!!
No elevation to speak of....

Other Thoughts:

Like the previous reviewer- seemed like two nine's.
Without the two water holes, I'd give it 1.5. The back nine rates rates a 3 in my book and the two water holes bring the whole course to the 2.5 that I rated it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
aclay
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 39.7 years 326 played 249 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Two 9-hole courses? 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 22, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

The front nine has two water holes (both fairly easy carries but with obstacles, so there is some challenge). It also brings out of bounds into play to make shorter holes challenging. One hole has out of bounds within 20-25 feet on three sides, and two of those are less than 15 feet. Trees, although not abundant, are used well, particularly on the back nine. The course maps are very helpful.

Cons:

A four-lane U.S. Highway runs through the middle of the course. Open flat terrain and limited trees can make some holes feel repetitive. Holes 1 & 2 are listed as par 4, but both are under 400 feet with no significant obstacle. There appears to be room to make one of them (probably 2) 50-75 feet longer and make it more of a legitimate par-4.

Other Thoughts:

While this is officially an 18-hole course, it really plays like two nearby 9-hole courses. I don't know of many people who would walk across four lanes of traffic on a busy road and think they were on the same course. The front 9 is definitely better than the back 9 with slightly longer holes, both water holes, and more/better use of O.B. The front 9 is on the north side of U.S. 70, and the back nine is directly across the highway on the south side.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
Memphis Newbie
Experience: 12.6 years 33 played 23 reviews
3.00 star(s)

unique signs and tees 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 1, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

Cool looking Faux stone tee signs
tees have been painted green-nice touch
nice course map in the parking lot helping you navigate
the designers have tried to maximize the use of foliage which is difficult since most the trees are bordering large grass ball fields.
The water shots are scenic and manageable for most players.
Good hole variety

Cons:

unfortunately, the terrain is mostly flat and open.

Other Thoughts:

When I played this course there was extreme wind, stronger than any wind I have ever played in. I used a firebird on almost every hole. The previous review also mentioned strong winds every time he has played. I would put this in the cons if I could confirm that these are normal conditions for the course. Great design work on a property with a lot of limitations. I would have loved to have a course like this available in college. It is a convenient stop off the freeway if you are passing through.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
DiscoBriscoe
Experience: 14.6 years 238 played 3 reviews
3.00 star(s)

new improved 18 hole course 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jan 22, 2013 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

-new design has fewer open holes, used more of the trees, etc.
-added 2 water carry holes.
-much improvement over the old design

Cons:

-still can have ankle deep standing water in a few places in the fairways and even "greens".
-although when we played the campus was empty, 2 or 3 of the holes seemed to be where people would be present when school is open. I could be wrong.
-not really a con, but the flat openess of the area helps the wind be a real force to be reckoned with all 3 times I've played there. [helps you learn but can ruin your score]

Other Thoughts:

The pictures are from the old design and are no longer accurate.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 0
DGfan68
Experience: 12.1 years 52 played 5 reviews
1.50 star(s)

Down to 6 holes 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 30, 2012 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Clean, safe environment, ample parking when school is out. Well manicured lawn, and pine trees. Easily navigated.

Cons:

This course is now down to only 6 holes, number 5 is now missing due to building construction. Tee boxes are elevated about 4-5 inches and if you have a long approach you will have issues. The lawn sprinklers were on from about 7:00-pm to 8:00 pm at various times through out the course.

Other Thoughts:

I see this course as for beginners, it is a simplistic, basic short course. Was in town for another event and had time to kill so my family tried it twice. It is the only course locally. It would be a disappointment to an experienced player, I would not go out of my way for this one.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
bjreagh
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 27.8 years 350 played 321 reviews
1.00 star(s)

7 holes and shrinking 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 18, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

Course is set on a very nice campus. The tee signs are some of the best looking I have ever seen- had the look of gray granite or a fancy countertop- giving it a classy look. The baskets (Machs) were in great shape. The tee boxes were raised and covered with artificial turf and were fairly long, not your standard tee structure but they worked just fine. I played on a weekend and there was nobody there and the parking lot was huge. (Not sure what parking would be during weekdays when classes are in session.)

The course makes a decent loop. It is all flat and not too long. There are a few trees to avoid on most of the holes. And then other than the fact that there are indeed 7 playable tees and baskets and here, this just about ends the cons for this course.

Cons:

Currently the course only has 7 holes (thanks to the giant parking lot I referenced in the pros that apparently sits where holes 1 and 2 used to be.) Soon there might be even less than 7 holes as well (*see other). There is a kiosk and a #1 tee at one end of the lot closest to the road, but that is all. So start with hole 3 at the other end.

Holes 8 and 9's sign distance seemed to be way off- said 350' and 320' but are more like 260' and 280'.

Many holes were swampy with standing water. Not much of an issue, and the area just had a good rain a couple days earlier, so just be prepared during rainy seasons.

Anybody with experience will find this course pretty easy, and then boring after a round or two. You also will really only need a couple of discs.

Other Thoughts:

This course would make for a quick round between classes. This is also a good place for beginners to learn the game.

*I found a disc with a number so I called and the guy quickly met me and was also able to give me some good info. A couple more holes (probably 4-5) will be removed soon as they are putting in a new building. He did say, however, that the plans are in the works to redo this 9 on the South campus and to put in 9 more holes across the street on the North campus.

I was in town playing the Memphis courses for a few days and had a small amount of time to kill so I crossed the River to check this place out. And unless it shows up on DGCR with 18 holes someday, I would never consider playing here again.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
carrioke
Experience: 14.9 years 36 played 8 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Wanna throw between classes? 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 22, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

Clearly marked tee pads (hole 1 & 2 do not exist) and signs, port-a-potties, good flow

Cons:

Hole 1 & 2 do not exist, making this a 7 hole course, no places for trash, signs not true to hole structure and distance.

Other Thoughts:

Not a bad course to practice on between your classes if you attend school here, but not worth a long drive unless you plan on playing 3-4 rounds. Good use of the obstacles available, but the last hole does not wrap back real well to the start. (It goes fairly close to tee 3 where you have to start now until 1 & 2 are replaced.) Good lengths and skill shots for beginners to just better than average. Pro players would most likely not find this course challenging enough.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
Martin Dewgarita
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.6 years 1600 played 95 reviews
1.50 star(s)

My water tastes like Ice Cubes 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 8, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

A quick little college course that is decent for introducing newer players to the game.

Amenities. Plenty of parking, Porta-John, College campus if you need a degree.

Tees. The carpeting worked fine, careful on the elevated edges.

Signage. Tee signs had Hole #, distance, par and a rough map.

Navigation. Easy to follow, the next tee is easily visible from the previous basket.

Beginner Friendly. Is an ok place to be introduced to the game, though the replayability factor is low.

Baskets. In good shape.

Well Manicured. Clean well maintained college campus with an occasional trash can to keep things clean.

Coeds. 'Nuf said.

Cons:

Other users. 1 and 2 play over the parking lot, parked cars could become an obstacle. During the college day there's students abound, not many using the course.

Short. Every basket should be reachable in 1 if you can throw 300.

Basket 1/Tee 2 appeared to be absent.

Replayability. I know I won't go out of my way to play this one again.

Other Thoughts:

If passing by, it's the only course in the area, if you have nothing better to do, it's a quick 9 holes, but I wouldn't go out of my way for this one.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
mashnut
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 22.3 years 831 played 777 reviews
0.50 star(s)

Blah 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 21, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

The course plays through a grassy area around a college campus with some scattered low trees. There are some open field shots, and a couple that bring more trees into play making you shape some lines. One hole has a bit of a low ceiling to navigate, another is either a tunnel shot or a big hyzer out and around a row of trees with an ob road if you don't make it back. There are nice (springy) tees with outdoor carpet, this seemed to have pretty good grip even with a little moisture. The baskets are in pretty good shape and catch well. The signs have distance and hole layout, and have a nice stone look to them. I love seeing courses on college campuses where new players can be exposed to the sport!

Cons:

The course is pretty boring, with way too many open field shots that don't challenge any different parts of your game. The trees that are in play are pretty small, so they're not hard to shoot around or over. The first basket and the second tee seem to have been the victims of a parking lot expansion, I don't know if there are plans to redesign the course to get it back up to 9 holes or not. The 9th hole ends quite a ways from the beginning of the course, so it's a long walk through the campus to get back to your car if you park by the first hole. Several of the holes are a little long for a course that's going to attract a lot of beginners. Several of the tee signs have really inaccurate distances listed.

Other Thoughts:

This course is fairly easy and straight forward, but is just a little too long for many beginners, though with no punishment for errant shots it shouldn't be all that frustrating. More experienced players won't find any challenge or variety here to bring them back. I do enjoy seeing college campus courses, and I hope that the students make use of this one (I definitely would), especially with some decent safari possibilities, it just doesn't have great land to work with to make all that interesting of a course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 4
andrewkh
Experience: 17 years 54 played 28 reviews
2.50 star(s)

The best course in the middle of nowhere 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Aug 20, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

I used to drive a truck for schneider national and there is a terminal just down the road from this course. anytime i was threw the terminal i would walk down and play the course. being a long haul driver it wasn't very often i'd get to throw a course but i always new i'd get a round in if i was heaading threw west memphis

Cons:

most holes are fairly open providing little challenge. also, mostly open so can be windy

Other Thoughts:

i used to work for a company and had a stop just down the road from this course so have played it several times because i was in the area, seeing that i no longer work for that company, i will likely never play this course again
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 6
wizard
Experience: 16.9 years 78 played 1 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Wizard 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 9, 2007 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

It is close to home. It has good baskets.

Cons:

Short. Flat. They were building more parking lot which only made it. 7 holes which was pretty lame.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
The Valkyrie Kid
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 46.1 years 1562 played 1507 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Fairly Long College Course! 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 9, 2008 Played the course:once

Pros:

This course is set up on a community college campus. It's long enough to provide a challenge with a couple of holes in the 350'-375' foot range. Most play around 220'-260'. The course works its way around the back of the campus. The course is fairly well designed to stay out the way of the soccer fields, etc. It's very well marked and easy to follow. The signs are a cleverly shaped design, kind of an artsy thing. The teepads are on raised wooden platforms, then covered with indoor/outdoor carpeting. I think this area of campus might get a little wet at times. There are some trees forcing you to throw some hysers, rollers, low tunnel shots, so a pretty good variety of shots is required to score well.

Cons:

Overall, it's kinda boring and open. It lacks any WOW factor! No hills, no water, no natural beauty, no signature hole of any kind. But, I think the course designers did OK with the land they had to work with. I'm never very excited about a basket in the middle of an open field and this course has 2 or 3 of those. The first two holes play with a wooded area on the left and a parking lot on the right. I don't think I'd want to park my car on the outside row next to a college course.

Other Thoughts:

It's longer than the average college course that I've experienced but that's probably better for the locals. But then again, it's more of a challenge than most college courses.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top