Eden Prairie, MN

Bryant Lake Park

4.55(based on 105 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Bryant Lake Park reviews

Filter
7 1
ajkuck
Experience: 16.7 years 55 played 31 reviews
5.00 star(s)

Favorite/Home Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Aug 25, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

It's my home course, so I'm somewhat biased, but it is one of the nicest courses I have ever played. The tee pads, landscaping, and buckets are in excellent condition. There are plenty of birdie/ace opportunities to go after as well. The course also offers several elevation changes and opportunities for a variety of shots. Hole 10 is a short par 3 on top of a hill, which creates for an awesome view of the lake, not to mention the ace opportunity. Hole 17 is definitely the signature hole. It's around 550 ft. and plays downhill probably 200 ft with an awesome tiered pin placement tucked into the hill.

Cons:

Besides being a little busy at times, I really don't have any real complaints about Bryant, just some small, nit-picky things. First off, I wish there were a few more holes in the woods, which would make the course a little more challenging. My least favorite hole on the course would have to be 13, it's a really short downhill hole that plays to the right and really adds no value to the rest of the course. Lastly, the stairs on hole 17 really need to be replaced, as the are somewhat of a safety hazard.

Other Thoughts:

I have played it over 100 times and it never gets old, especially hole 17. It is one of the nicest pay to play courses I have ever played besides Blue Ribbon Pines. Considering all of the money that has been put into the development of this course, it should really have a practice pin to warm up on. A great location would be right by the gravel parking lot. All things considered however, the investment in the course really shows with new benches, signs, and bag holders on every hole and I think many more courses should follow suit.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 5
frolfer97
Experience: 18 played 18 reviews
4.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 25, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Very nice landscaped course
-Variety of shots makes for a challenge
-Lots of elevation changes
-You'll definitely remember hole #17 which has you teeing off of a cliff
-Great signage

Cons:

-Some spots are very overgrown, we spent a long time looking for disks that had strayed off course

Other Thoughts:

Definitely worth playing if you are in the area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 7
berzerker
Experience: 45 played 3 reviews
3.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 23, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

lots of different shots. clean and well maintained, very nice landscaping

Cons:

its like vietnam, chuckers everywhere and theres a 3 hole sweep where you could die from errant shots on other holes. bring a helmet

Other Thoughts:

2 scenic and memorable holes, but other than that not very challenging
Was this review helpful? Yes No
12 0
notapro
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 20.6 years 568 played 281 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Intermediate 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 21, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Course is set in a large, multi-use park with lots of other activities going on. Luckily, the disc golf is well separated from everything else, there shouldn't be any interference.
- Majority of the course are holes with mowed fairways and nasty rough to avoid. While there aren't many trees to avoid in the fairway itself, there are definitely lines that need to be hit, and places to get in serious trouble. A good variety, with RHBH hyzers, anhyzers, flicks, and tricky straight shots. Hyzers include a gradual one on #9, #10, and #14, and a sharper one on #10. Some shorter flick shots like #3 and #6, and longer annys like #8 and #18. Some cool straight shots like #1 past some trees, a flex on #2, a pinch point on #5, and a long downhill bomber on #17.
- A few other holes have more trees to contend with, like a very small RHFH hyzer on #13, a tight downhill tunnel hyzer on #16, a gap over a hill on #15, and a very cool basket placement behind trees and a built-up wall on #4. There is a wide route on the left, otherwise it's a dead straight shot.
- A good amount of spots have elevation changes, both gradual and pretty extreme. #1 is a low valley, #3 is a slight uphill, #5 has an elevated pad, #6 is back uphill, #9 is slightly uphill, #10 has a good downslope, #13 is slightly down, #15 is up and over a hump off the tee, #16 is downhill, and #17 is a BIG downhill. A very good mix from start to finish. There are also many spots where the land slopes off of the fairway, so an errant shot can be in SERIOUS trouble. #6 and #7 are very nasty to the left, past the basket on #9 is rough, must be avoided at all costs.
- Some very cool basket positions, #3 is on a built-up platform, #7 is up a multi-tiered structure, #15 is on an 'island' past some sand, #16 is located directly behind a large boulder, and #17 is on a HUGE built-up, multi-level wood platform.
- A few spots with water, more marshy than anything else. Still hazardous, and something to look out for.
- Amenities here are top-notch; excellent signs, great teepads and baskets, benches, erosion control, paths, stairs, you name it. Only thing missing is a practice basket.

Cons:

- Since most of the holes are out of the woods, there are some pretty open lines. Being able to follow the usual hyzer or anyhyzer lines can be good enough to score well. There are holes with gaps to hit, certainly, but a lot of them are very forgiving.
- Course is pretty friendly to left handed players, with only a few holes that require a true hyzer line. A straight shot is usually good enough in almost all cases if all else fails.
- A little bit on the shorter side; there are five holes under 250', and some of the longer shots are downhill, like #1, #5, #10, #11, #16, and even the longest hole #17.

Other Thoughts:

- Overall, a very enjoyable course that has a very high fun factor and a good variety of shots. There are a lot of unique holes, like the block-off green on #4, the gap shot on #15, the cool boulder on #16, and of course the mega-bomber on #17. The elevation changes really make things interesting, and missing your lines can be big trouble. Beginners might want to hold off on this one for a little bit, everyone else should thoroughly enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 2
adazm
Experience: 33 played 32 reviews
5.00 star(s)

easily one of best courses in country 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 25, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

wow! where to start?
this is the type of course that you have dreams about. the fairways were immaculately mowed. the higher grass off the fairway was shin (not knee) high. the teepads were as sturdy as they come.
the amount of overall work that went into this course is almost beyond comprehension. the landscaping was to die for. whoever designed this place did not have to concern themselves with remaining "under budget".
even the stairways were ultra high end!
and of course they had numerous platforms and embankments for the baskets that took much love and imagination.
the top of the world hole was superior to most, relatively "reachable". without much danger of losing a disc.
should also be pointed out the entire course is played along a relatively steep hillside above a pristine minnesota lake.

Cons:

the first hole threw us for a loop. there were two tee signs and what seemed like 2 baskets. what made it more confusing, is the feet measurement was almost certainly inaccurate for all combinations of tee pads and baskets. once we sussed out that there were in fact 2 baskets per hole (which seemed unusual), we adjusted accordingly. we basically decided to play long tee pads to short basket for simplicity sake.
we only played to a single incorrect basket on one of the downhill holes, otherwise the tee signs were extremely helpful (except for faulty distance measurements).

Other Thoughts:

3rd of 9 courses played on road trip that week. all courses were roughly rated 4 stars and above on this site. honestly, this was the best one. possibly the best i have ever experienced of the many hundreds of courses i have played.
the scenery was off the hook, and the attention to detail in the landscaping (basket placement, trails, stairs, platforms, etc) was just divine.
this place was the closest i have played as far as being treated and maintained to the level of a nice "ball golf" course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 8
Kevin.Russell
Experience: 24.2 years 121 played 3 reviews
5.00 star(s)

TMDGA 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 29, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

My personal favorite course, I love everything about it! They have done incredible work with the layout and the overall experience of playing a round here. Great layout, flow, challenging shots, beutiful landscaping. Hole 17 is the best tee shot in MN!

Cons:

Nothing

Other Thoughts:

A must play for anyone in the metro! Possible spot for the TMDGA
Was this review helpful? Yes No
11 0
mashnut
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 22 years 831 played 767 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Beautifully groomed 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 2, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

The course plays through a scenic park with some excellent views on many holes. This is one of the most manicured courses I've played, the grounds were immaculately kept and the amount of work that has gone into retaining walls, terraced greens and steps on the steeper hills is just amazing. There is lots of timber and stone work around the tees and greens that really adds a special vibe to this course. There are dual pads and dual pin positions, many holes had two baskets in play when I visited to add some variety and different challenges. The long tees have decent signage, the course flow is easy to follow with no major navigation issues.

There is a nice mix of hole shapes, lots of straight shots with a handful of left and right turning holes. A few longer holes mixed in with the mostly reachable shots keeps things interesting. There is elevation throughout the course, with some really fun downhill holes and some tricky uphills. Many of the greens offer roll away potential. Hole 17 is an empty your bag shot (too bad it wasn't the last hole, it would make a perfect ending to the course), with a great looking view off the tee and space to watch the disc fly.

Cons:

The biggest issue with the course for me is the lack of challenge. Even the long tees and pins don't offer much challenge for better players, and the short setup is pretty beginner friendly. A few holes feel a bit like filler at times. There are several pretty open holes with long grass rough, my least favorite obstacle as it adds frustration not challenge.

Hole 17 is a ton of fun, but the road, path and parking lot in play are a bit of a safety issue. I would like to see a bit better indication of which holes have multiple permanent pins, and which placement is in use on others. With a handful of blind holes it adds some time scouting out the baskets.

Other Thoughts:

I had a lot of fun playing this course, it's not that tough but it's an enjoyable course in a nice park. Beginners can have a lot of fun here, with reasonable lengths and only a handful of really technical shots that punish misses. More experienced players can enjoy the work on their short game here, but won't find too many different parts of their game truly tested. I love to see courses that get this kind of care and attention, especially with a fairly reasonable price tag to play.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 0
megamerican
Experience: 26.8 years 34 played 7 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Beautiful Bryant 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 19, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

You would be hard pressed to find a better disc golf course in the area, in terms of shot selection, beauty, landscaping, amenities and upkeep. This is what pay to play should be like. Anyone from beginners to advanced players can have fun and be challenged.

*Every hole has wonderful concrete tee pads with plenty of room. No erosion whatsoever around any of them. Tee pads are regularly cleaned by park employees.

*Almost every hole has a bench, trash and recycling cans which are cleaned often, bag holders, signage to where the next tee is on every hole.

*Great variation in elevation, shot selection and distance. You should be utilizing every shot in your arsenal. Every hole has a different feel from the rest.

*Multiple tees on many holes and multiple baskets on a few which allow it to be more accessible to beginner player and can give you different shots on some of the holes.

*Hole #7 has a great multi-layered landscaped green.

*Hole 17 is Bryant's version of the "top of the world" shot. Great view and always fun to throw.

*Actual sandtraps on multiple holes which are considered OB.

There is not enough that can be said in favor of this course.

Cons:

The biggest con of this course, if you want to call it a can is the lack of championship difficulty.

Hole #10 is a blind downhill shot where the basket is very close to hole #11's tee box. A few weeks ago I was hit in the back by someones tee shot from hole 10. With wind or a slightly off track drive someone could get hurt.

Other Thoughts:

If you are looking for a great time playing disc golf and you are in the Twin Cities you need to play here. You won't be disappointed. Pay to play is great.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
sheepweevil
Experience: 15.9 years 31 played 22 reviews
4.50 star(s)

One of the best in Minnesota 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 13, 2011 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

This course is amazing, and is definitely the best one I have played so far. It has an extremely wide variety of shots, alternate tees and baskets, and is very well-maintained.

All baskets have mulch around them, and there is beautiful landscaping everywhere. There are some pop machines about halfway through the course. Almost every tee has benches, a trash can, and a bag holder.

Hole 17 is the signature hole, a monster 500+ footer, driving off the top of a giant hill toward a landscaped hill on the other side. Hole 16 is also distinctive, with a challenging drive through a narrow lane in the trees. The basket is right behind a huge rock, making for some interesting approaches and putts.

The setting is beautiful, with great views of nearby Bryant Lake. Overall, an exceptional course and one of the best ways to spend an afternoon in Minnesota.

Cons:

It's easy to lose discs, as multiple holes have steep wooded drop offs, and there is tall grass in the rough.

Other Thoughts:

As an intermediate-skill player, this course is plenty difficult for me.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 0
#19325
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 22.7 years 351 played 175 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Beautiful Bryant 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 18, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

Bryant Lake absolutely blows my mind away. The course sets the standard on how a disc golf course should be installed and maintained. I'd like to know how much money is invested into the course. The walking paths are awesome and there is little to no errosion due to the landscaping. There is more work in this course than the rest of the courses that i've played combined!

It sits in a beautiful park overlooking Bryant Lake on many holes. This course is mostly open with rough lining many fairways. Elevation comes into play on many holes. Hole #17 is absolutely spectacular!

I was surprised to see this course had a higher rating than Kaposia. It's much more beginner friendly than many of the courses in the area. The work in the course takes it over the top. I had a hard time giving it a rating and believe it deserves a 4.5. If it was a little more challenging it would be getting a 5.0.

Most holes have 2 tee pads and some have 2 baskets.

We had no problem navigating this course. The tee and next tee signs are awesome. Each tee sign had bag holders. Many holes had benches.

Awesome concrete tee pads.

The baskets are very nice new Chainstars.

This course really needs updated pictures. I can't even begin to describe the number of unique landscaping features. The entire course is lined with awesome work. You have to see it to believe it.

Cons:

As a pro player even the longest tee to longest basket isn't quite hard enough to push the limits.

I wish the tee signs were updated with the holes that had 2nd pins. We were playing the toughest layout and had to look to see if there was a 2nd pin.

Other Thoughts:

This course is a must play while in the area. It's super fun to play and you will be blown away by the landscaping work done.

This is my dream property and exactly what I want one of my courses to look like when I win the lottery.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
ZMan44
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 19.9 years 179 played 107 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Immaculate 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 6, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

Where to begin....

Course condition: Bryant lake is pristinely manicured. The rough is well-defined and the fairways are in excellent condition. Amazingly, there seems to be very little deterioration of the grass due to foot traffic.

Amenities: Multiple tee pads and some multiple baskets offer a challenge and variety. All baskets are surrounded by wood-chipped greens. Many greens are tiered. While the area is very hilly, these structures will go a long way in preventing erosion in addition to making the course look nice. Benches and bag holders are at nearly every tee. Baskets and tees were all in excellent condition.

Design: The course requires the use of a number of different shot-shapes. I won't go so far as to say you'll need "every disc in the bag" because I think if you can work your discs, you can make it through this course with only a few discs.

Elevation: Bryant Lake is set among the rolling hills bordering the lake. There are a number of great views as you play the course. The course design does not misuse the elevation that is in play with the terrain. Most holes have a solid degree of elevation change. While this is rampant throughout, a good example is Hole#17 and Hole #18. #17 - "Top of the World" shot...followed by #18 long uphill and back to the parking lot.

Sheer enjoyment: Bryant Lake is definitely high on the "fun-o-meter". It is a relaxing place and the course doesn't stress you out. You can simply enjoy the sport you love in an amazing environment.

Cons:

As seems to be the case with all other reviewers, the only con is the lack of challenge. Advanced players will find this course to be remedial. However, even the pros can respect the aesthetic pleasures of Bryant Lake. If you are looking for a grueling round that will wear you down emotionally and physically...go elsewhere.

A slight navigation issue around Hole #15. This looked like it was due to some course maintenance or changes, so I am willing to write this off as a temporary issue.

Other Thoughts:

Bryant Lake is an amazing area and this course is absolutely gorgeous. If you have not made it to the Twin Cities area for some disc golf, you are missing out. This is the nicest disc golf course I have ever played, without a doubt.

This course does not take a long time to play. However, if you want my advice, take your time and enjoy the views and serenity. While you are still located in a major metropolis, the rest of the world seems to fade away during your round.

Pay-to-play...and worth every penny. I would have paid much more to play this gem.

If you're in the Twin Cities, you are obviously going to try and play Blue Ribbon Pines. Make sure that you don't overlook Bryant Lake, and don't be surprised if you like it better. This course should not be left out when planning an excursion into Minneapolis.

As bjreagh noted: hit up the guys and gals at Gotta Go Gotta Throw. Great selection of discs, clothing and accessories. The store is not far from the course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 1
StoneWallKid
Experience: 15.9 years 18 played 12 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Like playing a real golf course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jul 28, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

This place is like playing a real country club ball golf course. Its fancy. The tees are all concrete and usually of decent size. The fairways are all manicured like you'd expect on a lawn commercial. And there were almost (if not) always two tees (blue & red) and two baskets! They were usually both set pretty far apart and gave a lot of options for hole position. I didnt take notice of what kind of cages they used, but they were nice. All the baskets have wood chips around them. And wherever it looked nice it seems they built beautiful wooden stair cases. 17's TOP OF THE WORLD was pretty nice.. not the best ever, but nice. It was ONLY $3 to play!!!! Usually I'm into free disc golf. But at this course it is clear that your money goes back into the course. For someone sakes there were two brick layers laying what seemed to be the golden brick road between 17's pin and 18's tee.. Not sure why now that I look back..

Cons:

Mosquitos!!!! Seriously I want to copy/paste that 1,000 times.. But I'll leave it at that. Not the courses fault, but you'll feel it anyway, the Humidity is the worst I've ever felt... I'm from out of state. When entering the park I was confused as to where to park, then where to pay. Now let me prefece this with this.. I was having an off day in my head. It was like I couldnt remember how I hold me arm pre-throw so all my drives felt uncomfortable. So it felt to me that all the tees were too short, and not flush enough with the ground. However one of the tees had to be 15-20ft long and I still felt it was too short, so take all that with a grain of salt. There were too many short holes.

Other Thoughts:

Its a brilliantly nice course with a good number of fun shots.. Overall too many average shots though. I think I'm slightly overwhelmed by how well manicured it is and its making me feel the course is better than it is.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 1
The Valkyrie Kid
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 45.8 years 1563 played 1507 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Why Aren't All Disc Golf Courses Like This? 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jul 14, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

Bryant Lake is hands down the most well manicured and has the nicest amenities of any of the 350 + courses that I have played to date. To me it was like playing at golf country club. Coming from an state (Washington) where the clubs have to do all their own course work and then to see the amazing amount of work and money put into this course by the parks department and their resources was pretty incredible. I was most impressed with:

Hole 7 with it's four layers of landscaped timbers has got to be one of he single most expensive disc golf holes in the country! Plus it's fun and fairly intimidating to play.

Landscaping rock steps leading up the path leading to # 5 teepad. And then slate rockery steps leaving the # 5 pad.

# 16 with it's large rock sitting squarely in front of the basket makes for a very unique hole.

# 17 Bryant Lake's version of the "Top Of The World Shot." It's a fun throw but not neccesarily a great "Top of the World Shot."

Amazing views of the lake from many places on the course. I love scenic on my courses.

Cons:

I'm agreeing with Mr. scarpfish here and listing as my only con of this course. That is the fact that advanced and pro players will be a little underwhelmed by this course. Even from the long tees, it plays as an intermediate course. It's the nicest, coolest intermediate course I've ever had the pleasure of playing on but still I believe that is the only thing that keeps it from being a 5 star course.

Other Thoughts:

It's not as challenging as Blue Ribbon Pines but I found it to be, for me, a much more enjoyable experience. It's major con, to me, which is it's lack of challenge, is exactly what I like so much about it. An aging rec player such as myself can come to Bryant Lake, shoot a great round and not be overwhelmed in any way.

Dear Minnesotians,

I found quite a few of your courses to be slightly overrated. This was not one of them.

Sincerely,

The Valkyrie Kid
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
bjreagh
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 27.5 years 350 played 317 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Fun and Scenic 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 6, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

Bryant Park DGC is easily the nicest course I have ever seen. The groundskeeping is amazing with neatly mowed fairways and well-defined rough, concrete tees that sit in built-up and framed tee boxes, mulched greens surrounded each basket in a large circle. The course has many benches, excellent bag hangers, and great tee signs. Navigation was a breeze without the map, but you do get a map and scorecard once you pay. I can't express in words how much time, effort, and attention to detail that has been put into this course (check out the pics and you will see). Also, this park does not feel like it is in a big city as it has grassy hills, large trees, and spectacular views of the lake that can be seen from many of the holes.

The course itself features a solid design with good variety of open/wooded, left/right/straight, and flat/up/down. There are two sets of tees for each hole- the shorts are great for any level player and the longs offer more challenge of length and often a different angle. Even from the longs, this course is on the shorter side of the modern day average, but there is enough rough, obstacles, mandos, and o.b. to keep you honest.

There was no repetitive or filler holes. There were, however, multiple unique/memorable/signature holes. For example, #7 features a tiered green, #15 has an artificial "water" hazard, and of course #17 which is one of the ultimate "top-of-the-world shots".

Cons:

Just a very few nitpicky things: There is no water in play, despite the name of the course!

There was one longer than normal walk somewhere in the middle that could have used a sign or two to help navigate through the woods as there were multiple paths.

The hill to #15 tee was steep and did not have stairs- they are found all over the rest of the course but badly needed here. There appeared to be some (presumably temporary) construction/maintenance on holes 15 and 16 so, I unfortunately did not get to play #16 with the big rock as was intended, but instead there was temp discatcher set up short. I am not sure, but #15 may have been different than the normal set up as well.

There were 2 baskets in the ground for each of the first 4 holes, but the rest only had 1. (Maybe 2 per hole is a work in progress?)

The shorter tees did not have a tee sign of their own.

Other Thoughts:

It does cost $3/person/day to play here, but you can clearly see those dollars at work. Bryant is a beautiful course with its natural scenery and the man-made luxuries. It offers a country club feel that you normally only see on ball golf courses.

This course is more about having fun in an amazing setting, rather than being difficult- and it succeeds and exceeds its purpose. Those looking for the ultimate challenge will not find it at Bryant Lake so keep that in mind, and if I lived here I would probably get bored after a few rounds here and would seek courses with a higher level of difficulty. However, it is no pitch and putt slouch either- the holes are interesting enough and you still have to throw quality shots to shoot well.

Also, this course is really close to Gotta Go Gotta Throw, so be sure to check out their large inventory while you are here.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 1
puttlikeablowfly
Experience: 23.7 years 139 played 16 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Even better than before. 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Apr 29, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

* Reasonably-priced pay-for-play, and it's clear that money goes back into the course
* Incredible course sculpting / erosion control
* Very nice concrete tee pads (dual on all but a couple of holes)
* Dual baskets on some holes (can be a bit confusing to new players, but more of a pro than a con)
* Short tees are beginner-friendly but still make for a fun course
* Back tees offer plenty of length to challenge all intermediate and many advanced players
* Lots of elevation change
* Good mix of open, light and moderately-wooded holes
* Hole #7 green -- WOW
* Hole #17 when east parking lot is empty
* Nice park overall, with a great playground for the kids. I can't stress how nice it is to have great disc golf in a family-friendly park with other activities.

Cons:

* Hole #17 from back tee when east parking lot has cars in it. IMHO, it is too risky to play anything but an ultra-safe shot way left.
* I could see some advanced / pro players hoping for some more opportunities to let 'er rip

Other Thoughts:

I played this course a number of times in the first half of the '00s, when it was just 12 holes. It was a fun course before, but I was blown away by the improvements when I came back. This should definitely be a model for other courses that already charge fees or are considering becoming pay-for-play.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 1
coolbrees15
Premium Member
Experience: 18.9 years 1983 played 15 reviews
4.50 star(s)

One of the best in the twin cities 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jul 28, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Bryant Lake Park is one of the best courses in the twin cities. The tee pads are excellent and the fairways are meticulously well maintained. There is excellent signage throughout the course. The course really makes good use of elevation and challenges the player by making them throw up and down multiple hills. The course use unique features to create a special course. For example the 7th hole's use of three levels of manmade terraces is very different and really made me think on how to approach the pin after my initial drive the first time I played the course. The distances on the holes are not overly long and the longer holes generally are downhill or have a very forgiving par listed on the sign making the hole not overly tough. The 17th hole is really the signature hole of the course and the downhill throw to the pin on the terrace is very neat and is one of the best tee shots in the twin cities.

Cons:

There are very few cons for this course. I think the biggest con is the while the course is excellent in design and upkeep the course just lacks some inherent wow factor. The difficulty of the course is not as high as other championship caliber course and I think that might be what contributes to the course not having that wow factor. Don't get me wrong the course is an excellent play but nowhere on the course do I get that wow I just played that hole feel like I do at some other championship caliber courses like Idlewild, or Coyote Point. The other con is that the course really does not require to many different shots. A good right hand backhand player can basically throw the same shot over and over again on ever hole other than the short technical 13th hole.

Other Thoughts:

Excellent course that really shows what pay to play can do for a course. One of the best courses in the twin cities and must play for someone passing through the area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
11 0
scarpfish
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 20.7 years 360 played 98 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Its a very purty course, albeit some underwhelming holes 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 10, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

Great intermediate to recreational level course. Probably in terms of amenities and manicuring, Bryant Lake probably ranks at the top of any course that I've ever played. Beautiful detailed signage, spacious dual pads, and often dual baskets on many holes. Terraced tees and pin areas which add a fun element to approaches. Lots of trees and schule to avoid and great elevation changes. Everyone needs to play the signature downhill bomb on 17 long-long just once. $3/day $35/year fee keeps a lot of the riff-raff element away.

Cons:

Advanced to pro level players will be underwhelmed here (although they can still enjoy themselves). For all of its manicured beauty, the amenities do seem to be putting a facade on a course that simply isn't that challenging. I'm not that great a player, and even playing this course for the first time I was able to shoot 6 up from the long pads (albeit to what was the short basket in most instances because it took me awhile to realize some holes had two baskets). I like the idea of having dual baskets as they give the players choices, but they can lead first timers here to confusion as they're not common at most courses. Distinguishing them with different colored flags would help. While I love the shot on 17, there is potential for hitting people on the roadway or bikepath below, or for hitting cars in the parking lot to the area right of the baskets. Watch before you throw if you decide to shoot from the long pad.

Other Thoughts:

Yeah, while it wasn't exactly BRP, I'd definitely come back here and play again, and I think people should stop by here if they're in the Twin Cities just to see what is possible as far as sprucing up their course if we start embracing the idea of pay to play. If you come here, definitely keep an eye on your throws or send out someone to spot as there are plenty of spots off the fairway that can hide your disc.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 34
dipple
Experience: 24.6 years 4 played 1 reviews
3.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jan 18, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Well maintained. Nice landscaping. The downhill bomber hole is really fun.

Cons:

Pay to play. Park police are overzealous.

Other Thoughts:

Doesn't quite make my top 5 for the twin cities, but it's a really nice course that I don't mind paying to play.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 1
E_Rock25
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 13.7 years 77 played 35 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Awesome!!! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Oct 16, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

This course is exceptionally nice & challenging. It has everything a top tear course should have (with the exception of very little water). The use of the property is well though out and there are some incredible views. It is very clean and well maintained.

- Wide variety of shots.
- Big long tee pads.
- Two tees and pins on most holes.
- Lots of elevation changes.
- Exceptional landscaping & maintenance.
- Wooded holes, open holes, rights, left, ups & downs.
- Great signage & benches. Awesome tee pad areas in general, best I have seen.
- Sand traps. THIS IS SUCH A GREAT IDEA!!!!
- Hard for beginners but doable because of short tees and pins.

This is one of the nicest course I have played it is right up their with Blue Ribbon Pines. There are three or four signature holes and the rest of the course is awesome as well.
-The 17th hole is what this course is known for 542ft over the parking lot off a massive cliff. Very sweet but can be dangerous as well.
-16 has a very cool rock in the middle of the fairway that comes into play and makes this hole interesting.
-14 or 15 has a sand trap, which I think is a great idea. I wish there was more holes like this and more course that put traps in use.
-Hole 7 is set atop a four-tear, landscaped pyramid that was made for erosion control. It is very intimidating and can make for some bad rolls.

Cons:

1)Most of the difficulty of this course comes from the length. It has some interesting hole placement but for the most part you don't have to think about your line to much. Don't get me wrong I think this is a wonderful course I just think some of the pins could be placed better.
2)There is very little water on this course and only if you have a real bad throw dose it come into play.
3)There are some places where there is the chance of getting hit by a disk. 17 & a big down hill hyzer I think 9 or 10 are the two most dangerous.
4)This course can get busy and if there are leagues you might as well go some place else. It is great that the course is so well received but I think their needs to be another top tear course near by to relive some of the pressure.
5)This is not a con for me but may be for some pay to play.
6)This is not a con for me but there are lots of good players and it can get a little bit intimidating sometimes.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 3
smyith
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 22.4 years 210 played 68 reviews
3.50 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jun 12, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Great cement tee pads
- Amazing tee areas
- Great tee signs
- Well manicured and maintained
- Some great views
- Elevation changes are well used
- Wind plays in interesting ways
- Fun shots
- From Pro's 340'+ consistent distance required for a good score
- Water plays in well
- The rough although punishing, is easy to find your disc
- The way the course is set-up really shows you how much the park district actually cares.
- Amenities wise one of the best P2P I've played, second only to BRP.

Cons:

- No Dogs allowed
- Hole 17 is over a parking lot
- Not overly challenging
- Minimal shot shaping required!
- Too many hyzer shots over and over again. I can only remember throwing maybe 2-3 holes without using a hyzer line.

Other Thoughts:

Distance is the main challenge on this course. A few holes here and there require moderate shot shaping. As long as you can drive consistently 340' you'll be in good shape. Elevation can punish arrant shots. On the majority of holes I threw a gentle hyzer shot and had good putt opportunities at the basket. This course lacks a truly challenging hole. There wasn't a single hole that I felt I wasn't going for the optimal line. To break into the 4 disc rating I feel that at least a few holes should leave me pondering what I should've thrown. This is a fun course and I suggest playing it. If your limited on time I would suggest playing some of the other more noted courses in the area.
I am an intermediate player, if I can walk on to this course blind and shot a negative score and miss several birdie putts it isn't a tough course. Even my two friends who were with me, step above chuckers, shot right near even. We played all the long tees too.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top