• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Sheboygan, WI

Jaycee Park Quarry

Permanent course
3.275(based on 22 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Jaycee Park Quarry reviews

Filter
4 0
MrFrosty
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 31.2 years 764 played 387 reviews
3.50 star(s)

A much appreciated local favorite 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 26, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

After playing Vollrath Park , this was automatically going to be my next stop . I enjoy most of the older courses in an area , and this definitely qualified .This course is almost set up as 2 different courses , or parts of one . The first 5 holes and the last 2 are pretty open air holes , and the 13 in the middle play down into a tightly wooded plane . The course boasts mostly 2 sets of tees for it's 20 holes . A lot of love goes into the caring of this course . The baskets are in decent shape and there are concrete tee pads for the shorter holes and gravel tees for the more skilled and longer arms . I couldn't print a map for this , but the course flows pretty well , and I didn't have a problem navigating until close to the end . The lower 13 holes look like they can hold water after a rain , but the locals have put wood chips down in the ungrassy areas of the fairway to soak up excess water and help keep your shoes dry . This course looks like the next step of progression that you go to after you have mastered Vollrath . There is plenty of parking and the course itself is hard to miss as it sits on your left as you drive down 42 toward Sheboygan . Plenty of elevation here and good pin placement . You shouldn't lose your disc here . The steps here help out with the elevation I knew this course was a hit with the locals when I walked up to the first tee and was greeted by a guy sitting on a picnic table ( Hi Larry ? ) who was selling slightly used discs and talking it up with everyone that was coming to play . The first basket is a " good morning " 170 footer that has a tree on your right and overhanging branches that cause you to have to throw you tee shot low and to the right . The next 4 holes become progressively longer and more difficult , even though they are in the open . Now you are standing on a teepad that drops straight down into the flats .This section of the course kind of runs clockwise with hole ranging from pretty easy to " you better be accurate , or else " . The course design here was fun and at most times easy to follow until being confused at about #16 . I thought I saw the basket , but the pad didn't match . Anyway , the last couple of holes are open and #19 is a blind shot over a hill and straight . I met some guys that live fairly close and convene here almost every Sunday . The 3 plus Larry ( who told me that he has been playing since is was object golf only in the early 1970s ) , have been playing since at least the 1980s , have followed the World's when held in the midwest , and have played many courses both close and abroad . Thanks for talking to me and filling me in . Lots of good stories . Have fun playing this course and couple it with Vollrath , which is 10 minutes away .

Cons:

t Even though he course is set away far enough from nonplayers that you shouldn't have them run up on you while playing , playerwise , it can get crowded and it wouldn't be out of the question to clip one with a bad throw . The course looks like it will hold water on the lower level , even with the wood chips helping out . Hey Sheboygan . How about inserting a map on this site for the out of towners ? Bugs could ge bad as it gets humid sometimes , but it's that way at most courses . The course might be considered short for the bigger arms , but I consider this to be a more " enjoyment course " not a championship caliber one .

Other Thoughts:

A fun course that is well taken care of and respected by the community . Clean , obviously utilized by both the community of disc players , and the occasional out of towner . Play the course and enjoy the day . Say hi to the gentleman selling the discs , maybe even buy a putter or approach from him .
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
tangerinewarehouse
Experience: 9.9 years 98 played 34 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Top Park is good, valley is excellent = 3.5 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 7, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

Right off the freeway
Good mix of shots
Great terrain for DG
Two tee pads that often times have totally different lines
Easily navigated
Lots of 'touch' shots
Signs with pics and distances
Lots of fun with several memorable shots

Cons:

one set of tees is just gravel
very soggy in places once you drop down
The baskets are very rusty
Not many cons this course is great

Other Thoughts:

This is a very good disc golf park right off the freeway. I like how a lot of the shots have two tee with totally different lines, not all but a lot. The flow of the course is cool, you can start on 1a and the first few holes start out in a typical park with rolling hills then there is this wicked top of the world shot that drops you down into a valley. All the shots down in the valley are really cool, mostly short and technical. Its pretty wet down there but super fun. You play a bunch of holes then come back up to the park for a few holes.I could see a little TLC going a long way at this park, new baskets, a few tweeked pin locations, concrete tees on all and maybe an elevated pin or something. Also love the wood chips!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 1
Stardoggy
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 12.9 years 1010 played 214 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Quality local course 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Oct 25, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This is the local course I play the most. It's a quality course with a mix of open, wooded, and elevation. Each hole offers quality concrete teepads on the shorts and natural teepads (with crushed gravel) on the longs. The course seems to have been designed for the short holes, with the longs mostly adding distance. A few of the long pads offer a different line.

Holes 1-6 (technically 1, 1A, 1B, 2-4) are all open park type holes. No mystery and not much difficulty. Hole 1 does have a large tree obstacle.
The course changes dramatically from there, starting with a wooded downhill hole with a tough line. After that, there's a mix of shorter wooded holes on numerous different lines. Every hole is a chance at birdie, and getting out of trouble isn't usually too much of a problem.

The last two holes come out of the woods for two open holes, with the second to last being a blind, over the hill shot.

Cons:

Distance. The shorts are all pretty short, maxing out just over 300'. The longs do add some distance, but usually just for the sake of distance. They seem to be more of an afterthought, although there are a couple interesting lines.

This course can get crowded during prime hours, and parking is limited directly next to the course.

Other Thoughts:

A lot of work went into this course over the summer. New tee signs, extra gravel on the long tees, and large amounts of wood chips were all added, and done in a quality manner.

Put concrete tee pads on the long tees, and this almost instantly goes up to a 4.0.

This is a great course for a family, or somebody looking to run for birdies all day. Navigation is a breeze with well carved out paths and a really nice natural flow. For a park course, it's kept up quite nicely, with trash cans at many holes.

Overall, a solid course, even if a bit on the short side.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
DGTiger
Experience: 23.2 years 79 played 2 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Course Keeps Getting Better Evertime I Visit! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 20, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

I played on 4/20 and was amazed at the work that was done on the lower holes! Paths have been elevated by abundant wood chips to help keep your feet dry after days of rain. Even in areas where water naturally likes to accumulate, slabs of concrete were played down to create paths to get to your wet disc. Small/low vegetation has even been cleared out on some of the lower holes.

With the quarry, river and excellent work to get this course into top shape, it really gives you a dose of what Wisconsin is about.

EXCELLENT WORK AND THANK YOU TO EVERYONE INVOLVED!

Cons:

Pros/cons are much the same as other reviews. I just really wanted to add in the review of how much work has been put into the course.

Other Thoughts:

I maybe would've rated this as a 3.5, but with the added work put into the course and the beauty alone, it has my 4-disc rating!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
LeddZepp8687
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 13.2 years 115 played 19 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Short and sweet 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 18, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Concrete pads
-Good chances for aces
-Elevation is well utilized on some holes
-Nicely wooded but not overly wooded
-Pretty good mix of shots due to trees scattered in fairways on most holes
-Navigation is pretty straightforward
-Quiet setting one you get back in the woods
-Some water hazard from creek that is near a couple of the baskets and the quarry could claim a disc if you either make a bad throw or roll back towards it
-Fun course for experienced players and challenging for less experience players

Cons:

-There are a lot of very short holes, I didn't find the need to throw any high speed drivers on any of these holes. I personally enjoy throwing mids and fairway drivers so this is not a huge con for me per-say but to some this could be a deal breaker.
-Many of the tee signs are gone or damaged to the point where they cannot be read and I did notice that the signs and baskets are mis-numbered on some holes which made things a little bit confusing at some points.
-There are a few holes and spots where you could get hit by other players if you don't keep you head on a swivel. Granted, if you are paying attention to your surroundings this is a non-issue but it is a possibility.

Other Thoughts:

I played here today for the first time, I went on a weekend road trip from IL with my buddy to crusade some disc golf courses up in the door county area and we decided on playing this one on our way home as it was not far off the highway and looked interesting. After all the other courses we played this weekend the shorter holes here were very welcoming to tired arms like ours.

Locals were real friendly, We played a couple holes with a random guy who was in the lot when we pulled in and he gave us some pointers about navigation and mis-marked pins and signs. We got to talking about random stuff and as it turned out he had went to school with my cousin and knew her, small world!

I liked this course, it reminded me alot of a course by my home that I really like but it was better.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
Lokis Tyro
Experience: 16.2 years 12 played 4 reviews
4.50 star(s)

The Quarry 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 20, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Rarely over-crowded. Minimal risk of disc loss. Well taken care of with many improvements in the last few years. Amateur and pro tees for most holes. The short holes are challenging. Concrete Tees. Flags on goals. Wildlife (Ducks, Deer, Misc.). Bells on the necessary blind holes so people know when you have finished. Trash bins. Rest areas. Respectful players. Overgrowth has been taken care of. The walking paths are maintained nicely. The breezy or windy days can be a lot of fun once you get to know the usual patterns and "dead spots" (no wind when it's windy). Easy layout if you haven't played before.

Cons:

It's hard to think of any that aren't because of personal preference, the need, at times, of bug spray for instance. It is not unbearable like it used to be and spray will do the job if the bugs decide to come out. I'm not a fan of the bike trail. Once in awhile you'll have to wait.

Other Thoughts:

I've given this park a high rating because it has transformed into a great playing course and an overall fun place to be. The guys there are doing a bang-up job maintaining and improving. If you haven't played here in a couple years you will be pleasantly surprised. There are still issues of the lower spots having standing water or squishy soil but there are usually logs/branches you can use to walk on or fetch your disc if you don't want to play it where it lies. There are also stepping stones in some of these areas. Some wont be found if you don't know where they are once the brush and such grows in throughout the summer. If you haven't played the course walk through and you can plainly see what you want to avoid. This course deserves a much better rating than what is shown. It blows Vollrath out of the water. The info shows that there are not any water hazards when there is definitely at least 1 and a maximum of 2 in my opinion. I say this because my buddies disc was swept away by the then murky, fast flowing stream/river. If some oddity occurs, chances are you're not getting your disc back. There is another where if you have a bad throw you could fly right towards the quarry and depending on your throw, plop, skip or roll into the water. Stairs were put where needed.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 2
ZDotHalbach
Experience: 13.2 years 21 played 12 reviews
3.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 12, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

Nice mix of long and short shots
Nice tee pads
Good use of the woods

Cons:

Fairly open until hole 7 but other than that it is a nice course

Other Thoughts:

This course had great flow and nice people that let me play through. I will definately be playing this course again
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 2
CConnors3
Experience: 20.1 years 197 played 17 reviews
3.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 4, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

1. Many Different Shot styles but good for both right and left handers
2. Great use of the land incorporated with the course.
3. Short tees= pretty decent scores. Long tees=levels the playing field a lot more for all players.

Cons:

1. Back side in swampy area= tends to be flooded quite often

Other Thoughts:

First time I ever played this course I was very, very impressed with the overall quality of the course. There are some decently long holes, but the shorter ones are chirping at you or they're Ace-able.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 3
BRW33114
Experience: 17.7 years 85 played 2 reviews
3.50 star(s)

The New Quarry 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 16, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

The Quarry offers a nice variety of shots with some longer open holes as well as some tighter technical wooded holes. Many improvements and maintenance has been done to make this a worth while course to play. Offers pro tees as well as short tees depending on your preference. Not the same course as it was in the past.

Cons:

Not really any extremely long holes and lacks cement pro tees at this point.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 3
Dave242
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 30.1 years 394 played 276 reviews
2.00 star(s)

C+ = Interestingly random feeling course 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 25, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

What I personally like and how this course stacks up in my list of 18 (and more) hole courses:

1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == C
(Only about 3 third of the holes are good risk/reward "real" disc golf holes. Lots of the other holes are either wide open or too short to make you stop and think what and how to throw them....and these holes will not punish you for screwing up.)

2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I'm a Blue level player (950ish skill) who throws 300' accurately, 360' max. == C+
(A little under half the holes are in my wheelhouse of challenge/reward. The others are too short to be rewarding or too long to ever expect score variation other than by my mistakes. Overall, the course feels very random....maybe like the designer had no particular audience in mind or decided to design 2-3 holes for each type of player.)

3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == B
(This is the area this course shines the brightest. Lots of right/left/up/down variety in the holes. Although elevation is limited, the designers did a really good job of maximizing what they had to work with. This course has 3-4 more open holes than I prefer.)

4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == C+
(Other than the first couple of holes when you enter the woods (7-8) which are quite nice, the rest of the course feels a little scruffy and tired. A lot of it is that the bottom part of the course is built in a flood plain and the vegetation has that wetland feel to it. The grassy area of the course has a neglected feel to it.)

5) Bonus points for multi-throw holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == NA
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 3
barrykatiejones
Experience: 8 played 7 reviews
3.50 star(s)

swamp thing 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 7, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Challenging, Pro and rec. tees, lots of obstacles after number 7, great for finding discs, not to busy.

Cons:

Garbage can pile up at tees be nice to have garbage cans OR PPL WHO TAKE HOME THEIR OWN GARBAGE !! Bugs are bad, Easy to lose disc, could use better maps.

Other Thoughts:

Over all we have always enjoyed this course. defiantly a course for locals and hard core players.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 2
eric2010
Experience: 25.1 years 4 played 4 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Memories 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 5, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

The back tees on the top side of this course make those holes very long. Going down into the woods is always pretty cool, wildlife, scenery, ect. I like this course a lot because I have played it with so many friends over the years.

Cons:

They changed a couple pins recently to placements that I hate. Gets pretty muddy down in the woods. Mosquito heaven during the spring and summer. Some holes are pretty short. Not much grooming. Littering people that trash the course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
mashnut
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 22.3 years 831 played 777 reviews
2.50 star(s)

A little disappointing 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 2, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

The course plays through a park area that seems mostly dedicated to disc golf. The beginning and end of the course are in a grassy field with scattered small trees, and the middle plays down in the lower area of the park in dense woods. A couple holes have some fun elevation that adds some challenge and interest to the course. The wooded holes have a nice balance of left and right turning holes to make you throw some different shots.

The short tees are concrete and other than one that was in several pieces, they were in pretty good shape. The long tees were level and mostly rut free. The baskets were in good shape and caught well. Some of the long tees added some interesting shots that were different lines than the short tees, always a plus.

Cons:

The beginning and the end of the course are quite boring, with very few obstacles in an open field. Many of the holes on this section of the course have only one or two small trees that don't really provide much challenge. The first hole going into the woods is a lot of fun playing down the steep hill, but the hillside is eroded and slick going down. The lower part of the course is more interesting, but is very flat other than the hole going down and the hole going back up, and doesn't have all that much variety of hole lengths. The lower area of the course is quite wet, so it can be really muddy and buggy.

Other Thoughts:

This course has some nice holes, but the beginning and end really bring the experience here down a lot in my opinion. It also felt a little neglected, and obviously doesn't get as much play or attention as Vollrath. It's not a bad place to play once you get down into the woods, so don't avoid it, but don't drive too far out of your way for it either. Beginners will find the top part of the course approachable but not all that interesting, and the lower part of the course iis a reasonable length but a little thick on the schule. More experienced players won't find too many real challenges, and not enough variety even with dual tees for it to be worth playing very often.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 1
danabike
Experience: 4 played 2 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Time to come back to the Quarry 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 6, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Lots of new pro tees have really widened the challenges available

Cons:

It's low-lying areas & proximity to the river can make for a buggy round down in the hole (7 thru 15). Bring your Deep Woods Off. Parking could be better.

Other Thoughts:

Since I consider this one of my home courses, I was really glad to see some area guys that were unemployed go wild on this course with some help from the city. Signs have been replaced and a world of landscaping has been done. New pro tees and fairways....it's like night and day. Definitely much better than Vollrath now.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
Shuie
Silver level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 22.2 years 940 played 43 reviews
2.50 star(s)

alright course... 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 7, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

i really like number 7 346' down hill with a slight left fade.......... adn number 16 along the quarry. the wooded hole were nice some were challenging.....

Cons:

Signs were damaged.. a lil' confusing to navigate but found our way... Hole 8-10 with the exception of 7 were really soggy, the hillside on number 8 was really wet..... the wooded holes could use some more length even from the pros... some were ok tho....

Other Thoughts:

over all i wasn't overly impressed with the couse but i'd hit it up after a round at vollrath
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 0
jhgonzo
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 26.1 years 92 played 46 reviews
3.50 star(s)

The Quaint, Quiet Quarry 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 31, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

1. Variety. The wooded holes especially utilize as much of the land as possible, with an intimidating sharp downhill tunnel shot to begin the wooded holes, a good mix of righty/lefty/straight with nearly every tree and bush a potential shot-killer, and a few blind holes (especially if you play 9A and 9B). Even the more open holes on the front use some mandos to keep things interesting, and the wind can play with your shots on these short, flat holes.
2. Dual tees. The long tees are a bit lacking (rutted gravel pits), but I understand some new funds have been made available for improving various aspects of this course. The short tees are concrete and for the most part in decent shape.
3. Not too crowded. The big groups of kids and less-experienced players tend to flock to Vollrath Park, so it's usually pretty quiet and peaceful out here.
4. Nice baskets. There were some issues with a lot of basket theft out here (and I'm sure it'll still be a problem in the future), but the baskets seem to have been upgraded since the last time I played in early 2008.
5. Optional holes. You can play the 2 blind holes, 9A and 9B, for a 20-hole round. A spotter is recommended unless you're a local intimately familiar with the neck-high grass, multiple bushes, and tight fairways.

Cons:

1. Vandalism. I'm so sick of seeing the way Sheboygan people treat their courses...no, it's not everyone; in fact, a lot of the locals I've met and played with are very respectful of the courses, but there's such a high rate of theft, litter, vandalism, and general no-goodery that a travelling player passing through and playing could get very easily turned off. Some dumbass even scrawled "N*gger Basket" on the basket of 9A--Whatever that's supposed to mean, I don't know, but whoever did that is an idiot and should be stripped of all his/her plastic and banned from the game. I guess you'll see that kind of crap in any metropolitan area, as there's always worthless douchebags that think the stupid sh*t they do is funny.
2. Maintenance. The upkeep is mediocre from what I've seen. I don't expect the whole front grassy area to be mowed (I like the "defined fairway" look, even if the "rough" in these areas isn't much of a factor to errant shots), but the long tees definitely are lacking in upkeep (when and if concrete gets installed may impact my overall rating), and the slope/steps leading you down into the woods on #7 could be a little safer.
3. Short tee drop-offs. Some of the concrete tees have been extremely worn on the front edge, to the point where in places there is a 1" to 2" drop-off from the front edge...not too much of a safety issue, but having your toe slip off the edge on the moment of release can definitely affect your shot.

Other Thoughts:

Overall, this is a really fun course with plenty of challenge. I suppose the ne'er-do-wells negate the maintenance, so I can understand if those responsible for the upkeep have gotten fed up with taking 2 steps forward and then 3 steps back. I personally would like to see a heavier police presence out here, and I'm no fan of cops in general, but somebody needs to scare off or teach a lesson to the douchebags showing such disdain for a sport that is such an integral part of the Sheboygan area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 1
Sensai Scuba
Experience: 18.1 years 7 played 7 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Pretty Standard 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 20, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

First few baskets offer good warmup shots. The middle holes take you into the woods in a beautiful down hill shot and then throws you in the swamp but brings you back up for some nice cool down shots. Nice wildlife.

Cons:

Tee start point signs are not all up or marked correctly, the Tees are (cracked on some) concrete and/or dirt. This course gets very confusing to navigate once you get inside and swamp (my least favorite disc golf food group) is prevailant in the middle holes. Throughout the summer you have a good solid two weeks of dry weather when this course is actually fun to play, otherwise it's just too easy to step into swamp or lose your disc in all the vegitation.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 4
thefranchise3
Experience: 5 played 5 reviews
3.50 star(s)

U could always Jump In 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 22, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Holes go through heavy woods for nice challenging shots. Pro tees, and 2 extra holes.

Cons:

First holes kind of open. Lots of bugs in summer. Not maintained very well.Most holes are short.

Other Thoughts:

If ur not playing good and ur fed up u can always jump in the quarry!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
13 0
harr0140
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 15.5 years 1508 played 480 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Well designed, challenging course, lacking only in safety and maintenance. 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:May 9, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

1) Awesome property for a disc golf course. Not much other activity butting up to the course which is always positive. Has large elevation change on a handful of holes. Has lots of somewhat densely wooded holes which I enjoy thoroughly, runs along a river (apparently it is called the Mullet River (which I know is a type of fish, but it is also an awesome 80's hairstyle (which I think is an underused hairstyle)).

2) Lots of fun factor and challenge on the middle holes from #7-16. The first few holes are open and at the very least warm you up a bit before getting ver technical in the middle holes.

3) Some of the holes are beginner friendly, but many of the holes will cause them to struggle mightily. I guess as the very least it will teach a beginner how to throw in the woods. Nothing outrageously difficult however.

4) It has a handful of ace runs (I even hit my first ace here on Hole #9B) which is positive to have a few on every course. You shouldn't always have to struggle to make par on every hole in my opinion.

5) Nice concrete tee pads for the am tees.

6) I ran across about 10 young deer, plentiful squirrel and rabbit population, and a very wide variety of nature. Lots of unique plants in certain areas makes this a fun walk through the woods.

Cons:

1) 8 of the holes are boring and wide open with little to no challeneg.

2) Maintenance is nonexistant on the wooded holes. They could seriously use some woodchips and some stairs would be helpful in a couple spots.

3) While the concrete teepads are nice for the am tees, the pro tees leave a lot to be desired, there are a couple that are obviously getting overgrown from lack of use. Plus they are gravel which is very loose in spots. The one Am tee on #9 is also broken up completely. Pick one to throw from but they are all fairly small portions.

4) Vandalism is apparent in spots, missing tee signs and some of the teesigns are so old the paint is peeling off, why even put those up. Save yourself 1 hour of labor and repaint one or two of them per year!

5) Garbage isn't a huge problem, but some more garbage cans would be helpful.

Other Thoughts:

This review is based more on challenege and fun factor than it is on maintenance. There isn't much they could do to improve the maintenance because the bare areas will never grow grass. It dtracts from the safety on a few places, especially when it is wet (and I played it after an inch of rain and it was still raining when I was there). The fun factor on this course is awesome because of the memorable holes like #7 (massive dropoff), #8 (short short hole with a basket tucked on a steep sideslope) #9B (admittedly only because I aced this hole, blind teeshot, all I heard was chains, but saw nothing). The rest of the holes (#9, #9A, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15) are also all good wooded holes. There were serious puddles on some of the lower holes because you are set right down in a valley where all the water from surrounding area must end up. I started here and had wet feet all day because I had to trounce around in the puddles. This is a cool fun course that will challeneg many of your shot making skills. Half of the holes however leave a lot to be desired (1-6 and 19 and 20). These also happen to be the wide open holes. There just wasn't lot of challenge with these holes.

I KNOW THIS RATING MIGHT BE INFLUENCED BECAUSE OF MY FIRST ACE, AND I WILL CONSIDER IT OVER THE NEXT FEW WEEKS AND IF THE GLOW WEARS OFF I WILL ADJUST THE RATING BUT I DO THINK IT WILL STILL BE NO WORSE THAN A 3. I DO THINK THIS IS A GREAT COURSE WITH LOTS OF CHALLENGE AND FUN, DESPITE THE LACKING MAINTENANCE, TEE SIGNAGE AND PRO TEES.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 1
tomjulio
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 16.1 years 77 played 41 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Lack of upkeep kills this 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 18, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

-a few memorable holes. #7 in particular with it's elevation drop through the woods
-beautiful location next to a huge man made quarry. Perfect for a summertime dip
-a few holes next to a trout river that adds to the wilderness feel
-pro/am tees(some)
-am tees concrete, sometimes

Cons:

-first six holes completely open and lackluster
-baskets in horrible shape
-signs SOMETIMES there, or sometimes findable
-pro tees a thin strip of gravel. some dangerous
-one am tee in the woods was in four pieces. looked like it went through an earth quake
-a few sketchy walk paths to the next hole or basket

Other Thoughts:

Played the course for the first time this past weekend and was disappointed all way around in so many things.

Holes1-6
Typical open filed community park holes. Non-technical throws around trees and short. Can use the non-cement pro tees but they are very thin gravel filled/packed patches which seem more dangerous than fun. Signage? Forget about it. Some holes have signs attached, some don't. Some baskets have the correct numbers on them some don't. This seems like an early implemented DG course that has had almost no upkeep since it's inception.

Holes 7-16
Now the course presents it's main signature hole. An elevated drop shot from approx 50 feet down to a basket that sits 250+ away and through trees. Very cool hole. Going down the hill to the basket seemed sketchy at best. After this you play the next 8 or nine in the woods and the weeds near the river. Signage missing on many holes and on one tee (10 I believe) the concrete tee pad is in four unusable pieces. I imagine during the summer that finding wayward discs here is next to impossible with the weeds and marsh. Mosquitoes must also be unbearable in late spring,summer. Hole 16 is neat, uphill.. although down a two track that people were using to access the quarry.

Holes 17-18
nothing special. Back into the open field.

Overall, ok course that I imagine at one point in the past was a very well maintained and appreciated course. This seemed like the local course that time forgot about and no one cares about anymore.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Latest posts

Top