Franklin, WI

Milwaukee County Sports Complex

Permanent course
2.195(based on 21 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Milwaukee County Sports Complex reviews

Filter
3 1
DiscGolfer80
Experience: 4.7 years 57 played 56 reviews
2.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 6, 2021 Played the course:once

Pros:

Nice use of area with impacting the natural areas surround course. Enjoyed the workout from the elevation changes. Other than hole #1, challenges accuracy of beginners.

Cons:

Potential for a lot of mosquitos and ticks with the tall grasses and water in the open areas. Tee pads were gravel instead of concrete.

Other Thoughts:

SImple easy course before or after workout in complex or hike.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
wellsbranch250
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 10.1 years 651 played 626 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Don’t Play In The Summer 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 2, 2019 Played the course:once

Pros:

(1.841 Rating) A prairie style short niner with an excellent finish.
- ACEABILITY - There are some fun ace runs here if the course isn't overgrown. Six tee shots are sub 250 feet.
- TEES - One of biggest cons I read on many of the previous reviews, were the pitted gravel tees. Six of the nine tees are now concrete. They are awesome. 5 feet by 12 feet and tapering to 7 feet wide in back. This must have occurred in the last couple of years as the last review that mentions gravel is from 2015.
- ELEVATION - Several holes have 20 to 35 feet of elevation change in them. Hole (9) to finish the course off has the most and it's a wonderful way to punctuate a layout.
- NAVIGATION - Some great aspects, but some flaws. Large course map at tee (1). There are also large simplistic tee signs that unfortunately just note the hole number and length. Mostly Intuitive paths between baskets and next tees. The biggest flaw on my play was the fact that the overgrowth had engulfed three tee signs. I didn't even find the tee sign on (2).
- QUICK PLAY - This should be a quick play from late October till May if the baskets are left out. It will likely take longer during the summer due to the info noted above under Navigation.
- FREE - A lot of courses in the Milwaukee area are pay to play. This one is not.

Cons:

Summer maintenance issues.
- SUMMER OVERGROWTH - Brutal rough was everywhere on my play in mid-summer. I would recommend checking course conditions before throwing here from June through September. I dealt with head to waist tall prairie grasses on eight holes. A single 8-foot wide mower path defined the fairways on holes (4), (7) and (8). Hole (3) wasn't mowed at all. I spent a lot of time searching for discs and even lost one on (2) as the trees and overgrowth in front of the tee obscured where my disc landed off-fairway. If the conditions were always like this, I'd score the course a 1.0. It was really bad. From prior experience, I know courses like this are so much more enjoyable when the leaves have fallen till when the tree buds start back. So, I cut the course some slack with my score.
- LACK OF CHALLENGE - likely varies quite a bit season to season. Rec players should have no problem breaking par during the fall and spring when the wind is light. The challenge will be greatly amped up during the summer as players like myself will find themselves opting to throw 100-foot jump putts to stay in the fairway instead of risk spending a lot extra time to find a disc.
- LOOSE DISC OPPS - Extremely high during the summer. I would assume locals head over to Abendschein and Root River during this time frame rather than risk losing plastic here. There is also water short and left on (2), although experienced players should be able to easily avoid it.
- DISCONTINUITY - Hole (9) doesn't loop back to (1) and it's about a 500 foot walk. In addition, the parking lot is another 300 feet after that.
- CHARACTER - With the exception of phenomenal tee pads on six holes, the rest the basics and extras are sub-par. Baskets are adequate Chainstars, tee signs are simple and the other three tees are pitted gravel. Only one bench on (9), almost no tee shading or wind blocking. No multi-tees or alternate basket placements.
- UNIQUENESS - Perhaps average for a nine holer but overall below average. Almost all short prairie shots with undulating terrain.
- BEGINNER FRIENDLY - Despite the shorter distances, not a good beginners course, especially in the summer. They would be searching after almost every throw unless they threw only low 40-foot chip shots. That approach would be horrible for personal development. I would suggest nearby Abendschein as a much better learning course.

Other Thoughts:

A player's experience here could vary wildly depending on the season. I personally got conditions making for a bad experience. I reached out to DGCR reviewer wolfhaley to check about the maintenance of the course over time as this was his original home course. He noted that the conditions over the summer use to be much better. Regardless, outside the summer months, the course is likely in much better shape. I would recommend checking out the course then.
- NATURAL BEAUTY - Average course beauty when comparing it to my other 407 played courses as of this review. I personally like the graceful look of prairie defined fairways, but that play occurred too many times giving the course a bit of monotonous feel.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
Horsman
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 17.5 years 222 played 100 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Nothing to write home about 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 7, 2015 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

- Nice catching baskets
- A really good use of the elevation. Its a pretty short course but the elevation that it has is used very nicely.
- The flow from hole to hole is pretty seemless.
- There is water on the course and a few of the holes that are by it take advantage of it. Easily some fun risk reward shots.
- Very short course with a lot of ace runs so if you are into that then this is your course.

Cons:

- Loose gravel teepads are pretty terrible. Not much you can do but throw a stand still from them because of how loose they are.
- Not too many places to open up your arm and throw but for the land given it makes use of the land well.
- The course might be a bit tough to get too. The parking lot for the complex is pretty big and if you dont know where the course starts then finding it might take you a bit
- Threre are some soccer fields next to some of the holes. There have been a few times where kids have been playing on the course to a point where you cannot play certain holes because they are unaware that you are playing and dont care to move. I can also see some bad shots going really bad here and hitting some of the people just spectating soccer.
- The rough. This course has some very unkept and unforgiving rough. I dont think they ever cut it so if you are not in the fairway then your disc is most likely gone forever.

Other Thoughts:

Overall. yes its another course to play but its just not my style. If you are in the area I would suggest driving to another course to play, but it is still worth playing since there are a few fun holes.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
Stardoggy
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 12.6 years 1002 played 214 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Short, but fun 9 holer 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 13, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

9 hole course at the Milwaukee County Sports Complex.

Natural tee pads with crushed gravel, but they were all relatively long and level, and very easy to play off. We were there after some rain the night before, and none of them were in bad shape.

Good use of elevation. Holes play along, up, and down some rolling hills in the park. Some tricky pin placement can lead to rollaways, but nothing too severe.

Baskets were all solid and in good repair, and caught well.

Navigation was pretty simple, with tee pads relatively close to all pins. Tee signs with distance and intended route.

Cons:

It's pretty short. Most of the holes are 200' or under (don't let hole 2's sign fool you...it's more 200' than 354'...somebody must have though they were pretty funny on that one).

Not a lot in the way of obstacles, save for some trees on hole 3 and 7. Every other hole is pretty open.

Other Thoughts:

Aces runs abound here, some with a bit of risk. If you worked/lived close, this is the kind of place you could easily spin a round (or two) during a lunch break. Nice place for beginners as well, with hole 2's pond being the only real danger on the course.

The rest of the park has walking/biking trails, soccer fields, baseball diamonds, etc. We saw a rugby match forming when we left. I can't imagine there's ever much traffic on the course itself, which is nice.

There are far worse ways to burn a half hour...stop by and check it out!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
fritothedog
Experience: 21.7 years 48 played 6 reviews
2.00 star(s)

No Real Challenge 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 30, 2013 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

It is a fun short course. Great for putting practice since your distance drivers won't get a workout here. The elevation changes near the holes led me to shoot uphill on some holes and downhill on others with elevation between me and the pin varying by several feet in some places.

Cons:

Elavation changes are the only real obstacle on this course. A few trees in play on a few holes but for the most part they are not a factor.

There is good signage but i don't think it is terribly accurate. Hole 2 has a sign that says it is 354 ft. I hammered my Banshee with ease and I can't get more than 250 to 300 ft out of that if I throw my arm out. That said the signs do accurately show the layout, even if the distance is off.

Other Thoughts:

I would say this is a fantastic course for beginners to learn on since it can teach them to throw straight and they don't need much distance.

This course is close to my apartment and I will definitely play it again. My wife would proabably like this course a lot and playing it will probably help her game a lot.

I would like to see some more space used, my friend and I noticed two spots where there could be some nice holes added and if they put holes that went completely around the water feature near hole 2 that could make it a great course.

As it stands, this course is certainly worth playing if you are nearby but there is a lot of potential for improvement.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
wolfhaley
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 19.8 years 969 played 542 reviews
3.00 star(s)

My original home course 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 25, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Never busy. A pond off to the left on hole 2 offers a water hazard. Navigation not a problem. Good mix off shots. Four holes play up, down and along a big hill. Hole 8, a blind uphill shot is pretty fun. Hole 9 is a downhill wide open bomber, A nice way to close the round. Pretty hard to lose a disc here though it is possible in a few spots, Like hole 7's long grass. A fun place to play with not to much real close by besides oak creeks 18 holer.

Cons:

Last time i was there, the basket for hole 5 i believe was gone. The bugs can be awful at times with the root river being right by hole 1. Other than that not much, just bring bug spray.

Other Thoughts:

I may be a little biased since i grew up about half a mile away but it is a decent course with a good mix of varied shots. Definately worth a look if in the area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 1
misterg
Experience: 12.6 years 24 played 1 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Links style course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 6, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Good use of land including elevation changes. Mixes up left and right approaches.
2/3 blind holes could be listed as pros and cons but I enjoy them.

Cons:

Just like links style golf courses the rough here is very rough. Its easy to lose discs here and have to hunt.
The blind holes (especially 2 and 7) can add to this problem.
The gravel tees are sometimes slippery.
Only nine holes (but you can always play it twice).

Other Thoughts:

This was the first course that I ever played so I didn't know how to judge it. Now that I have played 10 or so different courses I still think that it's a sweet little course. It does have its quirks for sure but it has character that many city courses lack. If you are beginning you may want to make sure that someone is spotting for you on 2, 6 and 7.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
notapro
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 20.6 years 568 played 281 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Beginner/Intermediate 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 26, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Course is set in a hilly portion of a park with some gnarly rough. A bike path winds around some of the holes, so there might be some waiting needed here and there. Not too bad though.
- Pretty good hole variety here, mostly due to the large hill that this plays on and around. There are some steep upshots, including one with a sloping green and a large mound in the way of a RHBH hyzer. A steep downhill shot to end the round, and a blind dowhnill anny on #7, a good mix of more or less open elevation changes.
- Other notable holes include a blind shot on #2, which can be a safe hyzer or an over-the-water straight shot. Really tricky since the tee sign says 354', don't trust it!! I threw my disc and must have sailed waaaaaay past it, it is definitely not 354'. Check it out before throwing! #6 is tricky, too, a short little downhill with some extremely nasty rough to swallow errant shots.
- Great signage (minus #2's hole length), and good baskets. Tee pads were soft gravel that gave a lot, but were serviceable.

Cons:

- Biggest con here is the short length of the course. No holes over 300' (again, don't believe #2), and many play very very short. The uphill shots need a little mustard, but it's still a pitch-n-putt course throughout. Many holes are very brainless, too, more practice than actual discing.

Other Thoughts:

- For a little 9-holer, this one provides some cool shots and some decent challenge in spots. Fun downhill elevation changes, and some rough uphill changes that can be tough. A few tricky holes due to blind baskets or punishing rough; not too shabby at all. A good place to learn the ins and outs of the games, though there are very few obstacles to contend with.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 7
Cannabyss
Experience: 1 played 1 reviews
1.50 star(s)

A decent disapponitment 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 2, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

not too far of a drive, some holes are decent length

Cons:

mosquitoes, skinny and short holes that are just lawnmowed sections of field, and medium or tall grass on the edges of most holes make losing a disc pretty easy....

Other Thoughts:

i went with a few friends and they gave up on the course quicker than i did ... it might be worth a try if youre at all interested
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 2
superberry
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 25.8 years 332 played 95 reviews
1.50 star(s)

Open fields, without the elevation it would be laughable 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 24, 2010 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Some decent elevation comes into play on quite a few of the nine holes, but then it really isn't much of a factor because it is not huge or drastic elevation, and there is no distance involved on the course.
Hole #2 is great - the pond, wind, and elevation come into play (still needs distance though with a second LONG tee!).
Hole 8 is a blind pin uphill.

Cons:

Open, as in no trees in play for anyone who can control a disc even slightly. I suppose there are some trees, but they don't come into play for anyone with a range of shots in their ability.
Throwaway holes, most of them. Despite the illusion of fun/challenge of elevation, there really isn't any challenge brought into play except when it is windy. Even the holes that have elevation are just wide open and short. Holes 1, 3, 4, 5 are essentially just a waste. Holes 6 and 7 offer an illusion of risk by playing around and near a clump of trees, but they only come into play when you overdive your putter.
Only one tee here, and they are short (red skill level). Two sets of tees could really bring distance, wind, and elevation into a challenging round.
There is only one pin placement. None of the greens are risky at all, rather than install a second pin sleeve, just dig these up and install the permanent sleeves on risky parts of the terrain so that you have to consider rollaways and blowby when putting at a precarious pin placement.
Only 9 holes.
Walking paths don't really add any OB risk.
No wide open rippers.
No downhill bombers.
Busy and loud area eliminated the ability to lose yourself in a round.
The pond and woods aren't utilized!

Other Thoughts:

Oh man! If the pond and the woods to the left of the pond could be utilized here, then Milwaukee county could really have something! Of course hole 1 just needs to be dumped altogether, and the existing holes all need a second set of tees installed at blue/gold level to make the open fields any sort of a challenge. But alas, this is simply a lackluster 9 holer with more than majority of throwaway holes. Play it if you must, check it off your list, and quickly move on. The only problem is - nothing else in the area. Although now Fox River Park I hear is high above average. Because half or more of the 9 hole course is throwaway, I can't rate higher than - passable.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 1
Bob Chavez
Experience: 1 played 1 reviews
3.00 star(s)

fun 9 hole course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 7, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

lots of open space makes you feel as though you are out in the country. hole #2 is quite challenging with trees right in front of you and a pond on your left to deal with. also liked hole #4 where placement is the key or you can shimmy around the side of a hill looking for your disc. hole #7 is a fun hole to play with its dog leg right and lots of trees on the right side to make a right hander have to go anhyzer.(my shortcoming). hole #9 is a straight shot down hill, but if its windy like it was when i played it, you will need to decide on how to approach it.

Cons:

none that i can think of.

Other Thoughts:

overall a fun little 9 hole course to play which was made more fun by being able to play it with my son.(whos 26)
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 1
mashnut
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 22 years 831 played 767 reviews
1.50 star(s)

Some fun holes, and some really boring ones 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 8, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

The course plays through a small part of a large sports complex. Half of the holes are flat with mowed fairways and tall grass rough. The other half play up and down a small but steep hill with some great elevation shots, and a fun finishing hole that's a fun downhill ace run off the top of the hill. There are some scattered small trees in play on a few holes, and a couple have some larger stands of trees with thick brush to stay out of. Hole 2 brings the pond into play, with a bail out route way out to the right and a risky route over the edge of the water with lots of trees to knock an errant shot down into the water.

There are basic but good tee signs with hole distance and the layout to each of two pin placements. The alternates looked like they would change up the course some, and keep it a little more interesting. The baskets seemed pretty new still, and caught well. The flow of the course was easy to follow, and there was a course map at the first tee to help with navigation.

Cons:

There definitely are some fun holes here, but the other half of the course is pretty boring. A few holes are basically flat and wide open, with no punishment for an errant drive other than having to search in tall prairie grass for your disc. There is no real length or shot variety here, so you won't have to use many different skills here.

The tees are natural, and weren't in the best shape. Most had some gravel on them, but they were spread out and some were rutted, leaving less than ideal tee surfaces to throw from. The tee signs did not mark which position the pins were in on the holes that showed alternate pin placements, not a big deal but I like to see that information on tee signs.

Other Thoughts:

This course has some really fun holes with some cool elevation, and some really boring holes. If the whole course was like holes 2,3,4,8,9, it would get a higher rating from me, but as it stands the design just doesn't have enough going for it. Beginners will find the distances reasonable, but may be frustrated by the tall grass waiting to hide inaccurate shots. More experienced players won't find much challenge here, but there are a couple holes that are just plain fun to throw. If you're in the area, make a quick stop, but don't go out of your way for this one.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 1
esjaygee
Experience: 14.8 years 174 played 3 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Nice 9-hole course that's always empty! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 8, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

- Nice use of the available land. The mix of holes is very good for a nine hole course. Uphill, downhill, left to right and right to left. Hole two has nice risk reward with the left edge on the pond and I love eight's uphill blind shot and nine's big downhill for a finishing hole.
- There's hardly ever anybody here so you can play at your own pace and take lots of extra shots.
- Ample parking day or night, just make sure to park in the lot and not along side of the DG course or you'll get a ticket.
- A couple of big fields behind hole two and three if you want to practice. I've never seen them in use, they must be soccer or practice fields.
- Great signage and an easy to follow course.
- Holes are nicely wood chipped.

Cons:

- Only nine holes, not terribly long and only open late spring to late fall.
- Like many courses in the area, it can be buggy in summer, especially on hole one which plays along side a forest.
- Natural tees with gravel aren't bad, but they aren't cement.
- The thick grass, shule and brush can be quite annoying at times. I've spent 20 minutes looking for a disc and I had a pretty good idea where I thought it was and it wasn't too far from where I thought as well. I chucked my yellow wraith into a huge patch of yellow weeds on number five near dusk and I was lucky to find my disc.

Other Thoughts:

While it's only nine holes, I usually play it twice when I go. The fact that it's usually empty is a great plus for me. I can warm up on hole one and then play a few rounds. Hole nine ends near the tee for hole two so it's only a short walk back to start the next round. I enjoyed playing this course after work a lot in fall when the brush wasn't nearly as high.

Walkthrough
Hole one pretty much a straight forward hole with trees lining the left side and back of the hole with a ditch in the middle and a path on the right side. Hole two has a large pond on the left and a patch of trees in line with the basket on a big hill. I usually throw along the right side as there is a fairway there that you can't see when teeing off. Hole three plays up moderately uphill and to the right, a nice birdie op if you can park it on the hill. Hole four plays a bit more uphill with a large steep tree lined hill in front of the basket and plenty of shule off to the left. Probably the toughest hole on the course. Five is straight ahead with large shule on the left and more on the right. The hole sits slightly up hill. Hole six gives you another easier birdie op, but it's shrouded by trees on both sides and behind with the ever apparent shule if you miss left or right. Hole seven presents a blind tee shot on a left to right dogleg that's protected by trees. There's a big crater ditch in front of the hole on the right which my wife lands in every single time we play. Hole eight is up a hill and off to the left, my natural hyzer throw. In summer, there's so much thicket around, you might want to send a spotter ahead as it's a blind tee shot with a steep up hill that goes back down a bit to the green. Hole nine is my favorite hole on the course as it's a big downhill hole. Don't miss too far left or you might never see your disc again. Miss a little left and you'll be shooting a blind shot over a big mound.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 2
edward felcohands
Experience: 18.7 years 36 played 2 reviews
3.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 25, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Makes excellent use of an otherwise useless mound of fill. Good variety of shots. Some good lessons in elevation, and the lack of trees means wind is always a factor except in perfectly calm days. Several real risk vs. reward holes. Hole 2 you can take the safe RHBH hyzer route away from the water for an easy par, or you can snake an anny or straight shot through the gap in the trees along the waters edge for a run at the pin. Hole 4, if you shoot too far left you are down in a steep valley with tall grass, if you shoot too far right you hit the side of the steep hill and must climb along the side like a mountain goat. Either way, don't overshoot the hole because the basket is on the edge of a steep hill and you wont be able to see where your disc goes. Hole 7 is a sweet blind dogleg right, bordered on both sides by disc eating rough, especially on the left. I have found at least a dozen discs on this hole. Hole 9 is a wide open downhill shot, but of your disc gets caught up in the wind it just may sail straight back into the pond directly behind the hole.

Cons:

Not many trees, tee areas are washed out beaten down gravel divots in the ground, some better than others. People with control issues will spend a lot of time searching for discs. Can be punishing on very windy days. Lots recreational traffic on the paved trail through the course, inconsiderate dog walkers who cant control their animals, and if there is a soccer game going on the crowd blasts off air horns constantly.

Other Thoughts:

This course is lovely during late fall and early spring, when the rough is low. Great for learning to handle the wind and has some good elevation lessons. This course is much better than it looks on paper, and is seldom crowded. A much better challenge than nearby Abendschein.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 11
DarthErikUWRF
Experience: 19.8 years 6 played 2 reviews
1.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 20, 2007 Played the course:5+ times

Cons:

Tall grass on every hole which makes shots very difficult to track. The fairways/ holes themselves are not cared for in any way. Most of the time it is lucky that you can find the fairway more than once in a year.

Other Thoughts:

I will never go back to this course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 9
bschommer
Experience: 19.8 years 50 played 8 reviews
1.00 star(s)

tall grass and really short holes 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 18, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

um...lets see...there aren't many...

decent elevation change

Cons:

tall grass on every hole, blind shots on 2 holes into tall thick grass

hole 2 has a pond right next to it, as a course for beginners this is a terrible spot for a pond because it is only 10 feet off the straight path to the hole and down hill towards it.

Other Thoughts:

i will never go back to this course even tho i live 8 miles away

lookouts are very necessary
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 9
Dave242
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 29.8 years 393 played 271 reviews
1.00 star(s)

C- = a little below average for a 9 holer 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 17, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == C-
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I throw 300' accurately, 360' max. == C-
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == C
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == C-
5) Bonus points for multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == N/A

Other Thoughts:

It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (125 18-hole, 64 9-hole as of mid 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage...if what I can add anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me....that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
16 1
harr0140
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 15.2 years 1508 played 475 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Nice 9 Hole course! Great use of terrain 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jul 27, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

1) Excellent use of the property. Water in play on #2 only. Awesome rolling terrain on a handful of holes. Rustic links style disc golf, it is not an open park setting, but there arent many large trees in play either except if you have errant shots.

2) Lots of elevation change for such a small property. Must have been soil that was dumped but never used because it is definitely artificial mounding.

3) Variety of shots is fairly decent. There are a few up hill, a few on sidehills, one big downhill (#9) and a few that are right out there in front of you. Gunning for Birdie is possible for even a beginning player on these few holes.

4) #7 is an awesome anhyzer hole 240' with the basket not visible from the tee, but you better keep it on the fairway!!!!

5) Awesome tee signage. it is very clear where your next hole is especially because of the mowed paths between each hole. The tall grass areas will probably be very punishing in season.

6) For the most part this would be beginner friendly, except for #2. I could imagine a lot of discs ending up in the water on that hole, but all the rest errant shots aren't punished too severely.

7) Nicely woodchipped greens. There aren;'t any mud spots around greens, only around tees and on some of the thin turfed fairways.

Cons:

1) #2 could use some thinning of the small underbrush. It isn't clear where you are headed because there really is no fairway visible. Just a 300' throw right over a washout basin with water left. You can throw way right but without having played the course it isn't clear that there is a mowed area to the right of the trees.

2) Wow . . . whoever on earth decided to put pea gravel down for the tees should have their head examined . . . that gravel does not firm up so you are throwing from loose gravel which is so inconsistent.

3) Mud can be found in some spots on this course but they have used woodchips from time to time to help clean up the course. They could use more in some areas in my opinion.


Other Thoughts:

I really enjoyed the design of the course, and it looks like it is well maintained. I played coming out of the winter so I havent seen it in season, but I will defeintely be coming back when I am in the area. I am kindof a nut about playing new courses so I didnt mind the drive plus it was on my 4 course SUNDAY and it was only a few miles from another course I was playing. I wouldnt say it is a destinaton course, but if you are playing Abendschein you can get there in less than 10-12 minutes for another 9!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
12 0
tomjulio
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.7 years 77 played 41 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Disc Golf in a shot glass 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Nov 16, 2008 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

-perfect signage
-wood chip greens
-manicured fairways
-elevation changes
-technical holes
-FUN!

Cons:

-the obvious, only nine holes
-on the short side
-non-cement tees BUT groomed gravel ones.

Other Thoughts:

This is one of those nine hole courses set up in a sports complex park as part of an overall outdoors activity center...BUT it was VERY well set up and designed. Hole #4 sitting on an elevated hill with a risk/reward like no other I have seen in the Milwaukee area.

Only nine holes, 300 feet and less for most. First tee is a straight away 290+, then all of a sudden you have an over a pond, or hyzer shot for tee 2. wow, what a surprise! This place has tiny hills and whoever designed this mini course used the terrain PERFECTLY. I wish this course was 18, but it isn't, and that's ok. I had so much fun on it today. Perfect signage that rivals any 5 star rated course, manicured fairways and tees, new baskets. The tees are a loose gravel type, but it is packed gravel which makes it feel like you are on rough sandpaper without worrying about slipping. Just a sweet little nine worth making a detour for on your way to another course in the area.

If this thing was 18,longer, and designed as is, it would be pushing a 4 easily. A sweet little gem.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 7
UltimateGeek
Experience: 25.8 years 2 played 1 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Surprisingly tricky 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 22, 2008 Played the course:never

Pros:

Unique up-hill/down-hill & blind shots. Nice views of the surrounding area on the hills.

Cons:

Lots of foliage in which to loose your disc. Scary 2nd hole in which to loose your disc in a pond.

Other Thoughts:

I was skeptical of a 9-hole course with dirt tees, but it was surprisingly fun.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top