• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Kansas City, KS

Rosedale Park - Down Under

Permanent course
3.675(based on 44 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Rosedale Park - Down Under reviews

Filter
12 0
EspressoPatronum
Gold level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 18.9 years 261 played 247 reviews
3.50 star(s)

It's Another World Down Under!

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 11, 2024 Played the course:once

Pros:

- high level of challenge with tight, technical fairways
- some variety in hole length, though all on the shorter side
-practice basket
- ample parking
- plenty of benches and garbage cans
- amazing scenery and tight fairways wrapping around the sides of elevation
- baskets are serviceable though showing their age
- limited undergrowth makes finding discs easy in most places
- tight lines force a variety of shots and skill with shaping
- one of the most unique courses you will play
- some intense elevation change incorporated
- even flat holes "feel" steep in places due to dropoffs
- lots of birdie opportunities

Cons:

- not very clear where Down Under course starts
- some may feel holes are too short
- natural tees are short and rather precarious in places
- tee signs are some of the worst, just numbers on trees
- discs can get very chewed up on this rock/dirt type course
- heavy road traffic noise takes away from mystique of this course
- hole 18 ends kind of randomly and its unclear how to exit woods

Other Thoughts:

It pained me giving Rosedale Down Under a 3.5, which objectively I felt like was the right score, because I loved this place. Tight, technical disc golf with high rolloff/dropoff risk - you almost feel like you're playing on the side of a mountain - in Kansas!

At times, I felt like this course could use some built-in stairs in steep spots. I'm not sure I want them though. Part of what makes this course so cool is that rugged, rough around the edges style. Dare I say natural tees make sense here? Some quarried stone might play better, but it's not like you need huge run ups on these sub-250 ft holes. While the equipment is just ok and this course is definitely a bit haggard in places, the feel, scenery, and mystique of this place cannot be overstated. On hole 6, I almost felt like I was on the side of a Colorado mountain with the rocky terrain and evergreens about.

Besides the equipment, I think one of my biggest cons here is navigation - not so much during the course, which mostly flowed ok - it's just getting there and getting out! The start of the course is hard to find, you have to follow the directions laid out clearly. A sign near the parking lot would help immensely. Then the course ends more or less in the middle of the woods and it's totally unclear how to get out and back to the parking lot. It was just weird, really.

This course is scored very well but I could definitely see some people not enjoying it. The disc golf is very technical, there are almost no long holes, and it is kind of dirty/dusty and strenuous. I love courses like this, but some will not. If you don't have good shot control you will struggle here. Being able to throw both backhand and forehand helps to not fall victim to the sheer dropoffs. If you can't do a forehand, an anhyzer may substitute ok. This course feels for awhile like it's just wrapping around a mountainside (ok, hillside I guess) so there is always that "oh crap" opportunity, though thankfully I avoided ever losing one off the edge.

You won't really see grass on this course, but you won't see a really open hole either. Most are heavily wooded though a few have a bit more space. Honestly, anything over a 4 seems generous; this course is rough and it feels like maintenance might not be the best, but I still loved it. This feels like an older style of disc golf before longer holes and it's just a ton of fun. If you are in the KC area I highly recommend checking this course out. It's probably my favorite course in the KC metro, I had more fun here than Water Works. Clover Cliff to the west is even better, but in the KC area this is one I wouldn't miss.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
15 0
wolfhaley
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 20.2 years 1068 played 637 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 14, 2022 Played the course:once

Pros:

Rosedale-Down Under is pure, tight, technical golf. If that's not your thing you probably won't care for this course. If you do, you'll absolutely love this course. I'm in the latter category, so take that into consideration when reading this review.

The tee pads are natural. They're bordered by rocks which frame up the intended tee area. Not the longest pads by any means, but plenty long enough for the types of shots you'll be facing out here. We stumbled across one alternate tee. No idea if there's more or not but it wouldn't surprise me. Lots of benches throughout the course which was much appreciated after lots of up and downhill walks.

The baskets are orange Kingpins. These caught fine, not the greatest targets but plenty serviceable. The orange really stands out in the darkness of the woods. Great color choice on these. 2 to 3 pin positions per hole.

The flow of the course starts out a little wonky. Actually finding the course itself is kind of a challenge. The only place we got turned around was from hole 3 to 4. Other than that we didn't have an issue for the most part.

The design is top notch in my opinion. For the area they had to work with, fitting 9 holes in there without laying them on top of each other is quite the feat. The course is 100% wooded. Not many holes over 200'. Putters and mids are going to be the workhorses here. I threw a lot of flippy fairways, but most will do better with slower discs. Accuracy is the name of the game out here.

This course is going to be WAY less busy than it's counterpart up top. Not for the faint of heart.

Lots of opportunities for birdies out here with the shorter distances. Lots of bogies will happen too, even on the shortest of the holes.

The course will give you reprieve from the sun and wind. Nice change of pace from most of the other courses I played on this trip.

The course is permanent and free to play.


Cons:

The potetial for lost plastic is VERY high here. There's a cliff off the right side of the fairway for many of the holes. Having a spotter is recommended. Many of the fairways are rocky and rooted so even initially landing in the fairway doesn't mean that's where your lie will end up being.

As others have said, not the easiest course to navigate. I'd recommend either printing out a map or better yet using Udisc. I found the complaints for this to be majorly overblown though.

The tee pads aren't the greatest. It's been very dry around here recently. I could see the tee pads, and especially the walking of the course itself to be kind of a nightmare in wet conditions or even a few days after some rain.

The rough is very thick in spots. This is a blessing and a curse tbh. It can save you from careening down the cliffside. On the other hand, just pitching back onto/up to the fairway can be a disaster. It goes both ways.


Other Thoughts:

This was my second course played in KS (after the Top course) and my 750th total course. This doesn't appear to be your typical KS course, this course seems like it was plucked right out of Charlotte.

I'd absolutely recommend this course to anyone who loves tight woods golf. If that's not your thing, the other course will be a good time for pretty much any disc golfer. The two courses contrast each other nicely and make for a great one-two punch. It'd probably rate this one closer to 3.75 but it was so damn fun I'm giving it the benefit of the doubt and going with a 4. I'd play this one again in a heartbeat.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
15 1
Pevio
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 12.2 years 190 played 120 reviews
3.00 star(s)

A Real Love-Hate Relationship 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Apr 12, 2021 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Down Under is the classic wooded course. And when I say wooded, I mean REALLY wooded. Whatever course you're thinking of that's really wooded, this is more. Every hole puts all your control skills and endurance to the test nearly every kind of technical shot imaginable. Mistakes are punished severely.

Every hole has some different lines available. Unlike some wooded shots where there's only one way to get to the basket, this course usually has several. Holes are short enough that touchy turnovers often work, but there are opportunities for skip shots and even sky right-to-left shots on hole 2.

The elevation here is amazing. In addition to the holes that play up or down, there are several steep drop-offs, usually to the right side. While it does make for lost-disc opportunity, you always have to be careful and possibly choose a safer line. One bad kick can cost multiple strokes when a shot that pures the tunnel will be on the green.

Despite many holes being fairly short, distance perception is difficult. The tunnels always seem longer than they are, so a full-power driver shot is often a little more than you need. Sometimes it will be really hard to park the hole from where you're at, but a fairly short putt isn't too hard. This makes shot selection important when you really don't need the most aggressive line to get up and down for the birdie or par. One example is hole 6, in the right pin position: a right-fading shot might park it, but might skip down the hill right, while a straight shot is nearly guaranteed to leave you with a longer, but makeable, putt.

Cons:

Despite many holes being really unique wooded holes, it certainly gets old and leaves this course with relatively little variety. You won't find yourself pulling out your furthest-flying discs too often (though if you do, they're probably sailing down a few hills). It means that regardless of your skill level, this course won't have anywhere near a comprehensive test of your skills. Some might say the Up Top course is a good compliment to this one, but I would rather some holes play up the hills and into the open.

Upkeep is not good, and the way the course is makes upkeep nearly impossible entirely. The tees are natural and get muddy easily, and a lot of fairways are treacherous as well. Signage is practically nonexistent, and even having a map won't always solve everything. Being in the woods, you can usually just follow a path to the next tee, but the main space to get confused is around the baskets of 10, 12, and 17, and the corresponding following tees. That area is a little more open, and you even have to walk across the fairway of 12 to get to the tee of 17, potentially without knowing it.

There are a few holes that are not well designed at all. Maybe they were okay when the course was originally installed, but they're certainly not good now. Some examples are hole 7, which has a dumb fairway shape, 8, which is too tight of a line, and 13 and 14, which have little going for them other than the dropoff on the right. Those two are pretty much the same anyway. A few others, like 1 and 17, are a little boring and will leave every drive with a putt, provided it makes one gap. Now, while learning the gaps you need to hit is an important part of this course, parts of it fall flat pretty quickly.

Other Thoughts:

WATCH YOUR DISCS. Rollaways are a common occurrence here, and even anything going slowly is still in jeopardy. There could be steep slopes where you aren't expecting them, and the rocks can make discs quite unpredictable.

While the poor tees are a problem, the ruggedness of this course was intentional, and it's meant to stay that way. In many ways, it helps the feel of the course and makes it a little more exciting, even if it technically makes it a bit worse. That said, this course is by no means neglected. The bridge on hole 8 was replaced recently, and a staircase to leave the course has also been added.

Several holes have two tees, but unless you really want the extra variety, they don't add much to the course. The alternate tees on 1, 4, and 8 are nice, but I always play the right tees on 5 and 10. Hole 17 has two tees, but I think your choice is dictated by the current pin setting - again, there's no signage helping you out there.

Some pins are hard to see from the tee. This isn't usually a problem - the baskets are bright orange - but if you're expecting the basket to be somewhere it isn't, it won't be fun.

At the end of the day, plenty of people will love this course, and that's okay. Other people will hate it, and that's also okay. While it is a great test of skill, there are obvious downsides and many better alternatives for wooded courses. But this place isn't at all bad, so it doesn't deserve a low rating.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
18 0
Surge5
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 9.9 years 170 played 170 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Hideaway

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Apr 19, 2023 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Hidden down the stairs (or the land shelves if you find the original entrance) from the original Rosedale course lies a shorter course with some of the most heavily-wooded technical play you'll come across for a sub-5,000ft course.

The way the ruggedness of this course hasn't been replaced with the modern concrete tees and color tee signs just adds to the experience. No, it's not Diamond X, but dirt tees, 8-inch long pieces of 2x3 with the hole number painted on them, and bright orange Kingpin baskets with a slight lean to them are all marks of an older, but still well-loved course. 1, 4, 8, 10, 12, and 17 all have multiple tees.

Besides the obvious "every hole is heavily wooded" aspect, elevation is abundant and extreme! Hole 2 is a drop of at least 40ft to the pin, hole 15 is back up about the same distance (when's the last time you played a 183ft hole that played like 300?), 11 is fairly flat up until the last 50ft, where the land suddenly jumps 10ft upward to the pin. Hole 5 is a blind uphill, which slowly moves left and back down once you crest the peak of the rise (maybe 8ft up off the tee, just enough to hide the basket). I'm only mentioning about half the holes with the extreme elevation but it's enough to give you a picture.

While difficult, the line is always present, and often there are multiple lines! Those are almost always welcoming to a forehand or backhand, but you will need both to be working well as the pin spots are usually a very fair balance of right- and left-finishing shots. There are several risky putts to be had. Maybe not the best type of risk-reward because on some of them there's also lost-disc risk (5 and 13), but yet another added challenge factor.

The entire course is well-shaded. On a hot day it will either keep you cool, or trap all that heat under the leaves and slowly cook you.

Cons:

Steep dropoffs next to several different areas of the course. 1, 4, 5, 13, and 14 are on the edges of the park and their right sides all have a long way for a disc to go, while 6, 7, and 18 all border hole 9's fairway and it's a steep, plant-filled slope down to it. The same goes for 15/16 filtering onto 14/13 on the left side, respectively. If you want to score well, disc down and keep it on the fairway.

Foliage in the summer is really rough, especially off the fairways. It's hard to do maintenance on a mountainside, but it's something to be wary of.

Navigating is more difficult than most. Finding the beginning of the course, the end of the course, and the run of 10 to 11 to 12 to 13 is tough even with the orange app. (I played with one of the guys who helped install the course and we still got lost from 11 to 12!)

The dirt tee boxes can get really rough toward the end of a season. One bad x-step could leave you limping for the rest of the round. And the course holds water pretty well after a rain, so give it time to breathe after a storm. The paths between holes (and even on holes 9 and 10) can get a little iffy (and steep), but the more regular use is beating those paths in to be safer than when I first came through.

Other Thoughts:

From the course where the stoners could go have a smoke and a round in peace, to a now well-loved and cared for course, this is a reminder of earlier days of disc golf. Everything's a par 3, pack it in/pack it out, and most fun wins (or is it fewest lost discs?). The regular changing up of pin spots makes return trips worth it. I shot +5, then came back four months later and shot -4. It's an adventure of a time.

You'll notice I didn't mention any bad holes... because there really aren't any. Maybe hole 1 is a little short and flat? Maybe 17's green being perched on a hill isn't ideal? Maybe 8 is too easy? Maybe the course overall doesn't have enough long holes? Any of these gripes are outweighed by the other amazing holes on this course. You should always be able to walk away from Down Under with a memory of a new, unique hole, plus a shot or two that you're very, very proud of. And there's a whole 'nother course on site with two baskets per hole!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
12 0
Kev Lion
Experience: 16.9 years 41 played 1 reviews
4.00 star(s)

A Kansas City Legend 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 14, 2019 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Kansas City is spoiled with many top-shelf disc golf courses. Rosedale Down Under may be the cream of the crop. Frustratingly fun- this course will keep you coming back. A lot of high risk-high reward type shots. Many holes will lure you into throwing an Ace runner- only to have you smack a tree and end up on Mission Rd. KCFDC does a great job of mixing up the pin placements. I'd say they get rotated once or twice a week. All the different pins really change the dynamic of the course. You might shoot a -10 on the short settings and then a +10 on the long.

Rosedale is located just down the street from Dynamic Discs. After you lose a disc or two Down Under (you probably will), stop by and see Josh and pick up some new ones.

Cons:

Since the closing of Swope Park, both Rosedale courses have seen an influx of players. Despite all the different courses in the area, Rosedale gets very crowded- especially on weekends. Mornings and weekday-afternoons are your best bet .

Down Under does get very muddy at times. After any rain, give it a few days to dry out.

I'm not bothered by the natural tee pads like some others. A few do have rocks and roots poking through so be sure to check your footing before teeing off.

Other Thoughts:

If youre visiting KC for disc golf, Water Works and Down Under should be your first stops. Despite the crowds you may encounter, they are two essential stops for anyone visiting the area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 5
WildBill1981
Experience: 5 played 4 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Best course in KC 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 25, 2019 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Hands down the best course around KC if you want to play technical, challenging golf. Nice views and great elevation changes throughout.

Cons:

Natural tee pads are annoying at best and straight up dangerous at worst.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
14 0
The Valkyrie Kid
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 46.1 years 1562 played 1507 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Thunder Down Under! 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 6, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

The Rosedale Park-Down Under Disc Golf Course plays fairly short but I felt there was usually (except one hole) a fair route to the pinkish orange baskets. Hitting that route was never easy. Down Under just feels a little run down. I played after some heavy rain and anyone exposed dirt was extremely slippery and with everything being wet, it just felt kinda dingy. Part of this feeling was the fact that there aren't concrete pads. The natural pads which are outlined with slate were sometimes slick, sometimes puddled and usually adequate. The Kingpin baskets have faded from orange to kind of a hot pink. I kinda liked them. # 10 looks to have a pretty new basket. There are no signs but navigation is intuitive and not a problem.

With only one basket reaching 300' this is a prototypical technical course. Many of the holes play along this ridge line with it's very steep slopes. It's on your right for quite a few holes.

# 11 has a nice shrine for a former golfer. Probably over a hundred bag tags have been left there. It's pretty touching and impressive, too.

I think my favorite hole was # 9 with the visible basket sitting down there an inviting 275'. # 16 has these two ribbons tied around trees that were only about four feet away from each other. I couldn't really figure out what they represented but then talked to some locals who explained to me in some casual play, that those ribbons actually are a very narrow Mando.

Cons:

A general feeling of dinginess. I don't think this Course gets the play that the Top course. It certainly doesn't get the love and care that the Top course receives.

Short distances. No airing it out here.

Gooey mud is incredibly slippery after rains. Makes for some treacherous footing.

Lots of places to hunt for your discs.

Natural tee pads.

No signage.

Other Thoughts:

I think the Down Under course is more than a little overrated. It's a solid, enjoyable course but definitely seems to take second fiddle to the Top course. It seems as though a course with lots of long, more open, big air throws is more exciting to many players than the technical nature of the Down Under course. Personally, I'm not sure which of these courses I prefer. They are both excellent courses which compliment each other extremely well. Kudos to everyone involved with the Kansas City Disc Golf scene. It looks like you have your act together here.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
15 0
The Katana Kid
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 8.6 years 185 played 56 reviews
4.00 star(s)

These two descriptions properly warn you of Down Under, "almost non-existent fairways" and "lots of small trees guard much of the course." 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:May 26, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

If you are simply wanting to bag a course or just want an easy round of disc golf then don't go to Down Under. But if you want to challenge your technical skills to find lines and use a lot of discs in your bag to shape paths through the woods then this place is a GEM, it is EXCELLENT, which is why I'm giving it a 4.0 rating.

Tee signs are good. Gravel tee pads are serviceable. Baskets catch discs well and show hole numbers.

Rosedale Park is a nice park with two top notch 18 hole courses: Top and Down Under. If there was only Top this would still be a destination course worth your time. I played Top my first time around and was very pleased with the course, other than the fact that it took some of my plastic and didn't give it back. But I don't hold that against Rosedale Top, especially since you can buy more or get your disc returned at a lost and found box in the Dynamic Disc retail store that I talk about below in OTHER.

I came back a few days later to play Down Under since the reviews were good. It's not easy to find the start but is is literally down the hill off Top's first fairway. You wind down a path and find the first tee. This reminded me of another classic disc golf park that I played in West Virginia at Seth Burton Park, which is like Top here. Both of these upper courses are where the non-disc golf people are. They added a course there called Orange Crush, which is very similar in concept to what was done here at Rosedale. In other words, the Top is a nice open park with an above ground course. Down Under, like Orange Crush, is hid from view of the public park and played in a thick woods on steep hillsides. It's just us guys who go there and that's nice. In the case of Orange Crush it's more like on the side of a mountain and here it's a hill.

I thought about going through the holes in detail but decided against a longer review since this is already long and will only mention my favorite. Number 11 throws blind over a ravine to a basket off to the right. I suppose I liked it a lot not just because it favors my RHFH and I nailed it, but also because it's a great risk/reward shot. There were some beginners ahead of me that wouldn't even drive from this tee since it's so intimidating. I don't blame them. And it brings up the point: this is not a course for beginners! Unless you don't like them and you want them to have a bad experience with disc golf.

Cons:

Concrete tee pads would be nice. The gravel was okay when I was there, but it was nice weather and dry. Some complaints in earlier reviews about mud on the tee pads would make this experience in the woods more difficult.

Navigation was difficult. My experience at Orange Crush in WV made me appreciate signage since it was very clearly marked with signs where the next tees were. When you are playing in a thick woods and winding though hills and valleys it can be frustrating not knowing where to go. It was nice for me that a local was just finishing with the tournament and helped guide me through some of the more difficult holes. But navigation is a big con here.

Some people might call it a CON that there are "almost non-existent fairways" but it you don't want to be challenged you just shouldn't come here. The course is a short distance, but it plays long since you'll be chasing discs down hills and scrambling through the woods after hitting trees. In a few places it took me awhile to find my discs in the rough.

Other Thoughts:

Dynamic Discs has a nice factory outlet store at 2866 W 47th St, which is less than one mile from Rosedale Park. I did not have a car so I walked and was glad I visited there. It was crowded with people and the guys working there were great to talk with. I still have the three discs I purchased in my bag (Warden, Witness, and Sheriff). They gave me a sheet of paper, which is worth your stop, that breaks down all the courses in the Kansas City area. I regret that I didn't scan this and upload it here. This is one of four Dynamic Disc outlets listed on the Dynamic Discs retail site (http://www.dynamicdiscs.com/r...l_a/275.htm).So it'd be a shame to be so close to a factory outlet and not check it out. I may have missed it in the reviews on DGCR, but I thought this was a nice benefit to these two excellent Rosedale courses.

There's a quote on the local club website, kcfdc.org, from Ace Mason, "I love the people who love this game!" I think we can all relate to that. Well said Ace!

Cerealman rated this course a 2.5 two years ago in "Needing TLC in KC" and his biggest complaint was that the course needed some attention. Well, I think it must have gotten some attention since then because the tees were not in bad shape. Two months after his review Upshawt1979 talked about new gravel on the tees in "Doozy Down Under."

There was a local tournament going on when I was there. The guys let me play through. Somebody aced the first hole while I was at the teebox. Then I parked #2 as I played through. That was kind of nice to throw a nearly perfect shot in a great line around trees with four really good players watching who were in a competition. The locals are many and active at Rosedale, which is a favorite in the area.

I'm giving Down Under a 4.0 since it's EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 0
Upshawt1979
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 21.1 years 551 played 429 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Doozy Down Under 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 22, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

Rosedale Down Under is full of woods and has several holes featuring significant elevation changes. None of them are longer than 300', so distance is manageable. If you can make the drives without trees interfering you can get chances at birdies. The pin locations are often near trees and on sloping hilly terrain, so even if you are able to get a good drive, the putt may not be easy.

The tees were natural, but had recently been covered with a fresh layer of fine gravel. They are not very big, but are adequate. Signs near each one indicating the hole number. Benches are usually available by the tee and there are trash cans here and there. I loved the bright orange and yellow baskets, they were easy to spot amongst the trees.

I liked the constant rises and falls in the fairways, and variety of shots presented. The trees are numerous, and create some lanes that demand technical throws with touch. Danger of bad bounces and rolls is there almost constantly, but the lines usually provide a fair chance to get through. A knock down here and there is not the worst, with the short lengths, saving par can be done sometimes.

Cons:

The tees can be smaller than I would like at times, and the rocks at the front end tripped me up once or twice. Number 11 tee is a rock that drops off the side of the hill, if you overrun it the game will likely be cut short right there. Fun hole, but those kind of boxes make me nervous.

Grounds were dry on my first round here, with fallen leaves gathered in the low spots deep enough to hide a disc easily. With the tough footing, I would not want to play here in wet conditions.

The layout is kind of crazy, with a couple of turns that would be tough to find if you're not familiar with the course. I would print or screenshot the map if you are going for the first time and don't know any locals to guide the way. A few of the holes are close together, or blind, so be careful not to hit other players or get hit yourself. The path from hole 11 to 12 goes very near another basket, and might be an easy place to get lost for a new visitor.

Other Thoughts:

I think this is a really fun course in good conditions, and I am looking forward to playing it when the spring brings heavy leaf canopy in the trees. There could be improvements in the signage, and to the tees, but as is I can still dig it. The funky layout is not perfect, but makes great use of the area.

Trent joined my dog and I at the first tee of the top course, and was very helpful leading the way around. The course had a lot of players out, and I can see why. It was a nice day, but there was a fair amount of wind. Down Under is protected from the breeze very well by the hill and trees.

So many fun holes. My faves were 9, 10, 11, and 15 off the top of my head, but a lot of the rest deserve an honorable mention. I shot a 56, with no birdies, and 2 bogies. Had at least 4 or 5 good looks at birdies, but putts were not going in for me. I was just glad to avoid taking any terrible ricochets over the side of a steep hill, or super bad rolls into the rough.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
11 1
Cerealman
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 15.9 years 600 played 179 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Needing some TLC in KC 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 27, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

Technical course - with tight fairways and tough elevation, Down Under offers a challenging test with the likelihood for much score variance.

The course offers excellent variety, even though the entire course is in the woods. Hole #15 is an example of such diversity - even at just 183 feet, it features the steepest incline I can recall.

Your mental game will be tested here. Plenty of opportunities exist to consider risk-vs-reward shots while choosing the placement of your drives and upshots wisely as cliffs threaten to punish your wayward shots.

Nice, brightly colored baskets are easy to spot.

Cons:

Dirt teepads. More specifically, when I played, the teepads were mud. Also, some of the teepads were poorly marked with occasional rocks, leaving my playing partner and I guessing at the approximate location.

Difficult navigation. The adventure begin with seeking to locate the first teepad - first-time visitors should look for the unmarked steps leading toward Mission Road near the basket of Hole #1 of the Up Top course. After that, occasional small wooden signs with a number confirm your location. No signage indicating distance. No "Next Tee" signs. This lack of direction is frustrating and my playing partner and I had to wander around a few times to determine the right direction. We especially struggled to determine where the teepad and accompanying basket for Hole #10 was. The course map was somewhat helpful, but some new signage would be wonderful.

The "traversability" of this course could be difficult, especially after inclement weather. Several of the first few holes feature steep drop-offs that will likely result in losing a disc if your shot goes too far right. Areas off the fairway feature plenty of uneven terrain and possible slippery footing.

Other Thoughts:

The Down Under version of Rosedale Park needs some love and attention. For a course that is about 20 years old, Down Under boasts the skeleton of an excellent course, but it appears to have been starved by neglect.

The course design is solid and offers a good challenge without being repetitive. However, the cons mentioned strongly influenced my rating. I hope that Down Under receives some aesthetic improvements soon and realizes its full potential again.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 2
Omega.Rider
Experience: 9.2 years 36 played 11 reviews
3.00 star(s)

tight and technical 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 27, 2016 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This course requires you to really think about your shot placement. Not just where it lands, but how it lands. It's also a good workout what with the uneven terrain and climbing up and down hills. The baskets are good and despite have dirt tee boxes, they are well-packed and provide decent footing.

Cons:

Signage is an issue here and if it's your first time, you might want to go with someone that knows the course. The wooded and rocky nature of the course can be treacherous when wet.

Other Thoughts:

This is not a great course for a cart. It can be done, but a bag is so much easier here. The whole course will be played with putters and midranges. There isn't really room for drivers. Be very aware of the slopes, underbrush, and leaves. Our group of 5 lost two discs in one round, but found 4 discs that previous players had lost.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
chaddyboy_2000
Experience: 23.1 years 24 played 9 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Fun, short, technical course! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 1, 2014 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

A great change of pace from the longer courses in the area. With trees everywhere and tight fairways (if you can call them fairways, since they often have trees in them as well), Down Under is a short technical course that's going to test your accuracy much more than it will test a monster arm.

A lot of the fun of the course is figuring out what line you want to take. Since several holes have no clear fairway, it's about picking the gap you want to shoot for and making it happen.

While there are definitely a few holes where you'll need power, I found myself overshooting several of the pins. I thought this was refreshing, as there are a lot of holes where you have an opportunity for a hole in one, but it's going to take pinpoint accuracy in navigating the flight to the basket.

There are also some very unique holes, such as one where the tee pad is a big rock outcropping (where you'll fall a good 10-15 feet if you stumble off the end of it), and another hole where you're essentially faced with a wall of rock, where you'll need to make a steep, short uphill throw to get to the flat area with the basket above.

This is also an awesome choice for a windy day. You're playing in a ravine full of trees, so the wind down there is practically non-existent.

Cons:

Is very muddy after a rain, and due to all of the cover, takes some time to dry out. The tees are almost all dirt, so they get pretty muddy when it's wet. Most of the course is dirt as well since grass has a tough time growing in the thick woods.

Some spots are a bit tough to navigate as well, especially one spot where the course crosses itself. Fortunately, there's almost always people playing the course that can show you if you're not 100% sure. Some of the holes have signage and some don't, so it's pretty hit and miss.

You'll also have to know how to find the course to begin with (you'll head down the hill near the basket of hole 1 of the upper course). Our first time out, we had to ask people until someone knew, or else it's a mystery.

There is also a steep drop-off along a ton of the course that makes it a huge pain if you get a bad ricochet or roll, or if you just have a bad shot and hang one out there. Of course, some might view this challenge as a positive (I'm in that camp), but be prepared for a steep hike a couple times if you don't have the best control.

Overall, the main complaints are that the course is pretty rugged, and not the clearest to find or navigate.

Other Thoughts:

Head here for a change of pace. I think the course is just plain fun, despite the unpolished nature of the course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
jjw4ucm
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 11 years 39 played 32 reviews
4.50 star(s)

A truly unique experience! 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 16, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

This is easily one of the most unique, fun, cool, exciting courses I've ever played. Situated just below a ridge near the top course, down under has a completely different feel to it. It's like a magical walk through the woods, just with baskets and tee pads.

For being so heavily wooded, this course did an excellent job never getting boring and mixing things up. Lots of elevation change and a good amount of left-right vs right-left shots keep things balanced and fun, in spite of the huge amount of trees.

Stunning views. In spite of the road noise from nearby Mission Road and I-35, you get treated to a lot of great views, including a gorgeous vista of downtown from the first part of the course. Overall, it felt extremely woodsy and was a very peaceful place to play.

The elevation here is used perfectly! Holes and tee pads frequently sit next to steep dropoffs (as with the top course), and there's lots of drops all over the course, making you really think before you shoot.

I can't really call the lack of signage, worn tee pads, and the like a "pro", but in a way, it almost adds to the ambience. The abandoned cinder block building between 12-13, general lack of anything but nature and DG, and various beaten paths just kind of "click" together for a gorgeous experience.

There are a good amount of "benches" and trash cans throughout, even if the benches are just old wooden spools or tree stumps. It's a place to sit and put your bag up off the ground and that's all I care about.

Baskets are bright orange and easy to spot in the woods. We played just after most of the leaves had fallen; this might be different in Summer, but we rarely (if ever) had to shoot blind on this course.

Most of the baskets are in good shape. Not the grippiest I've ever played, but very functional and the color really helps with navigation. Trash cans abount at most tee pads as well.

The bluffs shield you nicely from the wind; we played on a day with 40mph wind gusts and it was barely a factor in our play, with the trees and hills blocking for us. I can imagine the shade would be nice in Summer as well.

Trash was well managed when we were there; cans were mostly empty and it looked like people were using them and not the ground, which was nice.

It's neat to feel so isolated even in the middle of the city. The lack of signs, concrete tee pads, and wood benches almost helps to add to the atmosphere and doesn't affect the gameplay too adversely. However, this also means...

Cons:

...the big downfall on this course is navigation. It definitely has a rougher feel than its up-top cousin, which is really neat and unique, but navigation can be problematic. We played alongside many other groups which helped, but on many holes, especially the woods between 12-18, it's not obvious where you're going and it's easy to get lost. (FYI, keep walking past 12's basket until you see the old stone building on the right. 15 plays back up the hole you climb down to get to the tee pad. Hang a left to get to 16. 17 is a left dogleg shot, and 18, shoot from the teepad on the right with the memorial by it).

Again, tee pads are mostly dirt which makes it harder to get footing. There are a few signs giving the hole numbers, but not many, so pay attention. We found watching for trash cans to be the best strategy.

Wear good shoes! The footing out here can be treacherous. It was after most of the leaves had fallen, and I can imagine it's a muddy mess after any kind of rain too.

Lost disc opportunities everywhere - your discs WILL roll if they take any kind of bounce and with so many dropoffs, you really have to watch them.

This course is crowded, so prepare to see lots of friendly faces. We generally met up with super nice folks, but be prepared for some crowds.

Other Thoughts:

Rosedale is very centrally located in the metro; take I-35 and get off on Mission Road, head south, and hang a right. To get to the down under course, go to the pin for hole 1 up top and look to the right; you'll see a little staircase that'll take you to the first hole.

This course is so unique and different that I feel it deserves its 4.5 rating. I've never seen a course use the nature available to it in a way that's so perfect and really adds to the experience. The technical aspects of this course are fun, but it's the way it flows with the nature that makes it so unique and cool. It feels like a DG course perfectly slid into a part of the park they couldn't use for anything else, and that unique experience makes it worthwhile.

Keep in mind that if you're a huge fan of creature comforts and the like, you won't like this course as well as I did. BE PREPARED to walk on some rocks, climb some hills, and maybe scramble down steep ravines to get discs. It's very rough around the edges and the tee pads, navigation, signage, and footing isn't what you'll find up top or at many area courses. But, if you're here to play disc golf and don't care about the creature comforts, I think the 4.5 rating is worthwhile. Happy discing down under!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
dbroockerd
Experience: 10.9 years 6 played 1 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Doesn't get any funner 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 10, 2013 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

I love how technical this course is. I carried 7 mid-range discs and used them all. No need for drivers. Plenty of ace chances. Bright orange baskets. Pretty easy to navigate with worn paths. Trash cans on every hole and places to set your bag off the muddy ground. Finesse is a must and many chances to make some long lofty putts.

Cons:

Tee signs would be nice but these aren't a must. All the baskets are visible. Tough on the legs due to the climbing up and down but a good workout for sure. Can get crowded for sure.

Other Thoughts:

Watch your shot close. It could hit a tree and roll forever down a hill. In the fall the leaves can easily hide a disc on the ground as well. Think before you shoot. If you over shoot you could cost yourself a few strokes easily. Wear good shoes.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
bkern85
Experience: 16.1 years 34 played 8 reviews
3.50 star(s)

If you're looking to improve your accuracy... 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 26, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

Tight, wooded area perfect for working on your aim, technique, and accuracy. The holes are fairly short, so don't expect to use a driver on this course. Pins and tee are easy to locate and there are signs at each tee box. Tee boxes are poured concrete. Shaded from the sun on hot days for pretty much the entire course. If you don't like it, the other Rosedale course is a quick walk back up the stairs.

Cons:

OB can be unforgiving. One side is uphill in the brush (usually not too thick, but that isn't the side I'm worried about) the other is quite a lofty drop-off at points and you may need your spelunking gear if you accidentally toss a disc down there.

Other Thoughts:

This course is designed for skilled players and players who want to hone their accuracy with a midrange disc and putter.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 2
Hockeydoc2112
Experience: 18 played 13 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Fun, tight course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 7, 2009 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Tight but fair holes abound here.
Strikingly visible baskets - best paint job ever.

Cons:

No long or open shots but this course is not about that....walk 5 minutes and play its twin course for that.

Other Thoughts:

Best wooded course I have ever played.Only here for the 2009 World's. Kansas City probably has the best collection of DG courses in the world and this is one of the reasons why.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
pineappletrees
Experience: 29 played 2 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Love/Hate Relationship 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 20, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This course surrounds the upper course and can be reached from many holes uptop. It plays quick and has the most visible baskets in disc golf. Very easy to spot discs in the winter. Ace runs everywhere!

Cons:

This course has so many trees that when you hit one in the summer, it can go missing 5ft from the hole. There are cliffs are slops that you have to pay attention to when walking or you could tumble down. Very humid since no wind can make it down there. Tee pads are uneven gravel pits. Poison Ivy.

Other Thoughts:

I love this course and I hate this course. The best time to play is in the fall/winter.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 1
bball7273
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 13.7 years 72 played 40 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Pretty Awesome! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Oct 18, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

This course is super fun. I love courses that are very hilly and havily wooded because they are such a challenge. This course didnt dissapoint. It has sick looking baskets that are yellow and orange so you can see them in the dense woods. They are really nice baskets, too. Ace oppurtunities are often on this course (I came 2 feet away on one of the holes). It was a really cool course. Benches on most holes and a few trash cans. There were alt. pin placements to make the course different every time. Pretty friendly locals.

Cons:

Trash was on the course mostly at tees. There were really not many signs for the holes but the baskets were easy enough to see so it wasnt that big a deal. Tee pads were dirt which isnt so bad but i rather have concrete. The grafitti was unbearable as it was on everything! Hole 18 ends in middle of course so you have to safari to make it out.

Other Thoughts:

It was a great idea of a course. It needs some work but i would for shure come back (living 3 1/2 hours away stinks). It was really a enjoyable course. If you play the top course, you should for shure come and see whats for store in the "down under"
Was this review helpful? Yes No
11 2
bigreddog
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 12.3 years 198 played 63 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Not a fan of wooded courses, but this one was okay 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Aug 7, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Tons of elevation present and it's used very well. Makes walking a little tough, but it's great for the disc golf. 10/10

A large variety of shot paths are required, some left to right, some right to left, some straight, some high, some low etc. You really need every shot in the bag to do well here. 10/10

Once you find the tees, the baskets are pretty easy to find, except in a couple hole positions on some holes. 9/10

The course uses the obstacles well, they did a good job of not overdoing the how wooded the course is on most holes. 8/10

Holes have a variety of distances. Several are short enough to ace, but some are longer and require good shots for reasonable par chances. 8/10

Alternate hole positions really add something to the holes and offer different spins on many holes. 7/10

Tees are flat, and have well defined borders, but they're dirt which makes footing a little difficult. Some are a bit on the short side, and are even a little dangerous so be careful. 6/10

Definitely not a beginner course, be sure to have good control of your disc before you try it. The course is pretty challenging overall, but still provides lots of chances for birdies or even aces with great shots, there just isn't a lot of margin for error. It has the ability to challenge all levels past beginner and novice without being impossible. 6/10

Cons:

VERY hard to find discs. Many holes have steep ridges if you go very far at all of the "fairways" (rockways). Rocks can be very frustrating, as discs can hit and skip and roll at any time even after a perfect shot. Discs tend to roll down ridges, and it can be difficult and dangerous to find them 1/10

Navigation between holes is difficult at best. Many holes have multiple paths leading off into seemingly the middle of nowhere, so bring a map or a friend who's played before. 2/10

Overall comfort level: Footing is very rocky everywhere and a little treacherous in some many areas. There are "benches", but they are mostly fallen trees or stumps somewhere close to the tees. No running water or bathrooms on the actual course, so be sure to empty and fill up before you start. Lots of trees mean lots of shade which is good on a hot day. 3/10

Course maintenance: Many tee signs are missing, and the ones that are there only show what hole number it is. Trash cans are usually stuffed full and benches are uncomfortable. 3/10

There is some variety of openness in shots, but none are open at all. The variety is just between very tight and moderately tight. 4/10

Other Thoughts:

Overall Challenge 7/10
More Precise Rating 3.041

Very heavily wooded, but most of the obstacles are tree tree trunks, not brush and leaves, which makes the bounces more predictable and fair.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 2
spcmitchell28
Experience: 13.1 years 20 played 1 reviews
4.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 21, 2012 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Most baskets can be seen from the tee pad, good course to test your accuracy because there is very little margin for error. Has a variety of uphill and downhill shots. I threw thumbers off most of the tee pads and ended up with my first course par.

Cons:

Entire course wraps around the side of a big hill which makes it crucial to never take your eyes off any rollers. There are also no signs on the baskets, and many of the tee pads are not marked as well.

Other Thoughts:

One of the best courses I have played in KC.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top