• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Knoxville, TN

Tommy Schumpert Park

3.555(based on 33 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Tommy Schumpert Park reviews

Filter
23 0
wellsbranch250
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 10.4 years 663 played 644 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Actually A 3.93 Rated Course On DGCR, When Excluding 13 Reviews That Were Written Before The Course Was Completed.

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 3, 2022 Played the course:once

Pros:

(4.183 Rating) A top tier Knoxville course that wooded course fans dream about.
- GAMEPLAY - I had heard great things from my friends about Tommy before showing up here early on a Sunday Morning. I had largely skipped it over due to its rating outside the Tennessee top ten on DGCR, thus to me, not worth a special trip to see. Wow, was I blown away by how under the radar this course was, namely due to reviews sucking it down that had been written before all 18 holes were completed. Tommy is full of adrenaline pumping disc golf. Several holes require threading a shot through a gauntlet of trees with plus 40 feet of elevation change. Holes, like (7), (11) and (17) for example, could be the signature hole on 80 percent of the courses out there. Lots of multi-play holes on the long to long layout where placement is critical.
- RAW BEAUTY - Tommy Schumpert looked stunning on nearly the entire layout for my early July appearance. Constantly moving well-trimmed fairways carved through a lush green older forest. I've played 90 courses in Tennessee as of this review and would slot this one 4th among that grouping personally. Not quite Harmon Hills or Panther Creek level bombshell looks, but close.
- MULTIPLE FORMATS - There are 4 easy to follow layouts on this course. Short tee to Short basket, Short tee to Long basket, Long tee to Short basket, Long tee to Long basket. Per a recommendation from a local I ran into before teeing, I opted for the Short to Short layout. This layout felt like the perfect Recreational challenge. Birdies can be had from those with sub 250 foot arms, and the punishment is far less severe compared to what the longer layouts can deliver. I took a look at most of the back tees and long basket placements as well. The Shorts to Longs and Longs to Shorts are probably both Intermediate level layouts while the Back to Back is at least Advanced level, perhaps even Pro level.
- CHALLENGING - The Long tee to Long Basket layout is going to be a grind of an excursion to Rec level players. For Advanced and Pro players that thrive on masochistic gameplay, this layout is going to be a real treat. An 8,500 foot par 58. I think at least a couple of these holes are rather flawed though. Hole (5) on this layout for example requires an insane boomerang hook shot through heavy woods and it's labeled a par 3. Nobody's tee shot is getting within 100-feet of the basket on this hole. A few other of the Long to Long holes I'd define as plinko.
- AMENITIES - In addition to the 36 DISCatchers and 36 concrete tees, this course also comes with comfort touches like seating areas and a community board. I think I spotted a couple practice baskets as well. I didn't see a pavilion or restroom by the course start area, although the nearby baseball diamonds probably have them.
- SIGNAGE AND NAVIGATION - The tee signage is fantastic. Sweet looking 3 sided signs with all the info that's needed. Whomever is doing the tee signage in Knoxville is doing a fantastic job. Course map is posted on the community board. Lots of intuitive transitions in the woods. I only looked at my map after (9) and (10), after that I didn't have any issues. I did not pay attention to see how easy the backs were to find. There's probably some layout quirks due to some of the combination mixtures.
- SKILL LEVEL FRIENDLY - This course will appeal to a wide swath of skill levels so as long as they like woods golf.

Cons:

Not for wusses.
- FORGIVENESS - I would classify 13 of the 18 holes here as heavily wooded. Bad kicks are going to happen and it'll occasionally land in a spot where it will be hard to retrieve or be hard to spot. Discs are going to get lost here at a higher clip than that of the average course.
- NOT BEGINNER FRIENDLY - I think many, but not all, Novices will enjoy it. Definitely not a beginner's course. I don't feel sorry for anyone who's brought their new girlfriend here and they wound up single and with slashed tires afterwards. They should know better. I don't take off points due to high new girlfriend loss potential.
- TERRAIN - I wouldn't bring a cart. probably doable but annoying. Lots of rugged terrain is here. I loved it, but I know those that won't due to their joint pain. Players are going to get a full workout. I thought about bagging a second course this morning and after Tommy it became easier to just say "nah."
- TIME PLAY - From me even playing the Short to Shorts, I was still here for quite awhile. I clocked 71 minutes at the break of dawn solo. A group playing the Longs to Longs will likely take over 3 hours.

Other Thoughts:

Anyone who prefers wooded technical play is going to love this course. I've played all of the top courses in the Knoxville area as of this review and this is my favorite by a smidge over The Claytons. It thoroughly reminds me of the front nine of The Claytons, but also nearby regional gems such as Richmond Hill in Asheville and the heavily wooded portions of Harmon Hills. This should be a top 5 or top 10 Tennessee course on DGCR, but sadly it's around the 25th spot due to unjust reasons. Why reviews from its early construction days of 9 tees and 9 baskets are allowed to stay up is ridiculous. It's not the course's fault that the challenging terrain took it several years to complete and that they wanted to get part of it open early. Anyways, for those traveling to the Knoxville area, this should be number one or two on the to-play list. In addition to Richmond Hill and Harmon Hills, it also sort-of reminds me of these wooded gems; IDGC Steady Ed, Inverness, Rollin Ridge, Langley and Wilderness. For those that don't like wooded courses on moving terrain, I would advise them to forget that this course even exists. Overall, a tweener 4.25 course to me that's near its maximum site potential.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
14 0
autocrosscrx
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 7 years 27 played 27 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Endless Layouts 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Mar 25, 2022 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

- The first and most obvious thing about this course is that there are 2 tees and 2 baskets per hole. And these are often quite varied.
- Challenge. I don't think I'd recommend this course to a brand new player or someone who sprays shots, but short to short is a nice course for an am and long to long should challenge any disc golfer on the planet.
- Fantastic use of elevation.
- Rewards shot making and creativity.
- Decent practice area between the parking lot and the first tee.
- Once you enter the park, it is very easy to find the course. That isn't always the case at large multi-use parks.

Cons:

- Navigation is a little confusing. Tee signs are missing on the short tees on the back 9. Have access to a map and pay attention to the tee signs. (4/12/22 update: Tee signs have been added. This is a massive help.)
- The course is pretty swampy during the winter and spring. Watch your step in the fairways of 1 and 9. It is also bad walking between 6 and 7 long and 12 and 13.
- The greatest positive of this course in the varied layouts makes for some clunky pace of play. Even playing a solo long to long round, I had to let several groups playing shorts play through.
- It can be a grind for newer players or less accurate players or just those having a bad day.
- A couple of the cages on the basket are pretty beat up. With how wooded this course is, that probably isn't avoidable.

Other Thoughts:

I'd love to give this course a 4.0 and it deserves it (or better) based off disc golf play alone, but it is a little rough around the edges compared to some of the other wooded courses in the area (Claytons front 9, Norris, and Admiral Farragut). Personally, that factors into my enjoyment. But please don't overlook this course for that reason.

All in all, if you love woods golf, this is an absolute must play. Lots of folks in the area consider this their favorite course.

UPDATE: Tee signs added to the short tees on the back 9! This is a massive improvement to navigation and just enough to sway my rating from a really strong 3.5 to a 4.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
17 0
pmay5
Gold level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 21.1 years 486 played 248 reviews
4.00 star(s)

The Best Course in Knoxville 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 20, 2021 Played the course:once

Pros:

Two baskets and two tees on every hole. So they have taken the variety of courses like Rotary and Winged Deer and doubled that, with 4 possible ways to play every hole.
The tees are labeled Red for the short and Blue for the long, very appropriate. There are good tee signs at both tees on the Front 9, but just the Blues on the back 9.
On some holes, the Blues offer more distance and a slightly different path, but on others, they are completely different.
The baskets are two different colors with yellow DISCatchers in the short position and others, normally orange in the long position.
Located in a large, multi-use park with excellent facilities (although there are no restrooms near the course), however the course is located at the end of the park and separated from those other uses.
Good, large tee pads. They are brick/pavers, but framed by 4X4s and very solid.

Cons:

I had trouble spotting the basket on #13, even with the tee sign. Did not locate it until I was walking past it, after throwing to a different location. Shouldn't be a problem after playing it a couple of times.
#14 feels like a "filler" hole, short and located on just a small mound, probably would be a "must-get" in a tournament. But thanks anyway, I'll take my bird and move on.
I don't remember any benches on the course. Starting at #5 through #8 on the front side, then #16 to #18, the hills are pretty steep, would be nice to take a seat somewhere.
When I played in late October, they woods weren't too bad and the grass on the open holes were manageable, but I could see both of these getting out of hand during the summer.
Didn't see any water or restrooms near the start of the course, appeared to be located at the front of the park.

Other Thoughts:

Tommy Schumpert is a well thought and well laid out course. The course starts on a gradual slope, mostly open hole, moves into tight woods with progressing elevation, then gets into steep hills and finishes in the open, all that on the Front 9. The Back 9 has a couple open ones to start (including the "let 'er rip" 1000' 11th, Blue to Long), then some gradual hills before the very steep fairways on #16 and #17.
I didn't get the feel that any holes were duplicated (except possibly #5 and #15), so every hole presents it own unique challenge, "how am I going to play this one?"
This was part of my 81 hole tour of the Greater Knoxville courses, plus I still had an hour + drive back to the Tri-Cities, so I played Red to short. Even playing that course, I got a feel for the variety of hole types and the elevation used.
All of the holes were separated from each other pretty well, #2-#4, were probably the closest together, but even they were separated by woods. Its great to feel like you are the only one on the course, even on the open holes, but there are not huge walks between holes to achieve this separation.
The layout of the holes were ever changing also, for example:
#4-mostly flat and tight; #5-slightly uphill, turning left; #6-turning right and uphill; #7-side slope fairway turning left; #8-side slope the other direction, to a blind fairway with a steep hill behind the green. It feels like you are throwing a different shot on every tee.
Its funny that a mostly wooded course, probably has a signature hole that is wide open (#11), but #16 and #17 are also pretty memorable - #16 has some trees to beat off the tee to a valley, then a steep uphill to the (Blue) basket, of 30-40' I wasn't sure how I was going to get my upshot to stay on that hillside. #17 is that classic mountain valley hole, elevated tee, trees to clear in the fairway, then a basket on a ridge line, steep dropoff behind.
Following that leg workout, #18 finishes as a downhill, turning left Par 4. Just enough large trees in the fairway to force you to hit your line perfectly or be left scrambling.
As I mentioned in the Pros, the Blue tees normally offer a different line than the Reds and added distance, especially on #4, #6, #11, #12, #15 and #17. The long baskets found some very steep slopes also on #6, #7 and #16.
This course is frequently referred to as the wooded compliment to Victor Ashe, that is true, but I thought Tommy Schumpert is a much better and challenging course. Well laid out, great variety (in the elevation, dual tees and dual baskets), and a great setting for a Disc Golf course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
15 0
Baysinger
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.1 years 93 played 55 reviews
4.00 star(s)

So Many Layouts! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 30, 2020 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

2 Baskets per hole
2 Tees per hole
Good mix of left/right playing holes
Good mix of uphill/downhill holes
Good mix of long/short holes
Decent mix of heavily wooded/open holes
Shorts to Shorts great for beginners
Longs to Longs great for pros
Enjoyable for all skill levels
Tee pads are amazing
Tee signs are amazing
Course map located at parking lot
Practice basket located at parking lot
Course is constantly improving

Cons:

If you get off the fairway the rough is really rough
Quite a tiring course if you play a longer layout
Several unforgiving fairways

Other Thoughts:

Tommy Schumpert DGC is likely the most wooded and technical course in the entire Knoxville area. There are definitely several crusher holes where you can really open up and care less about lines, but for the most part, you better make sure you are ready to hit your lines when you go out to this course. A couple bad kicks on some of these fairways can make for a really high score as I have noticed on more than one occasion. This is of course, not the courses fault, as much as it is my own fault for missing my lines. The first time I played this course was years and years ago when only the front 9 had baskets and the back 9 had tone poles. I enjoyed the course then and still enjoy the course now. This course has come a long way since I first played it. The course now has two sets of tee pads per hole AND 2 baskets per hole. This means you could play this course 4 days in a row and play a different layout each day so if you are looking for variety, this is the course for you! Sort Tees to Short Baskets offers a great short layout for beginners and less experienced players while Long Tees to Long Baskets offers a definite professional level layout. Furthermore, if you really want to mix it up at this course, you could always flip a disc twice per hole to decide long/short tee and basket which honestly would give you a never ending supply of different layouts to play. As for the course design itself, this course also features a great selection of left/right holes, uphill/downhill holes, and short/long holes so you definitely have to be ready for diversity on this course. Overall, would I say this is an enjoyable course? For sure! Get out to Tommy Schumpert DGC and play a couple of the layouts. I promise you will never get bored with this course! If you want to see this course on video (Long Tees to Short Baskets) check out the videos below where a couple buddies and I filmed a round there. Of course, we will eventually film all 4 of the layouts here so definitely make sure you check out this Tommy Schumpert DGC playlist as well! (https://www.youtube.com/playl...IySgmS_Meq5c)

Front 9: https://www.youtube.com/watch...lY&t=522s
Back 9: https://www.youtube.com/watch...DU&t=258s
Was this review helpful? Yes No
15 0
FlyingSouthDG
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.1 years 51 played 27 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Tommy Boy, Every Time He Was Slick 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 9, 2020 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

- First and foremost, the course is beautiful. From the rolling hills of the open holes to the leaf-covered floor inside the trees, aesthetically this course is second to none.
- Two brick tee boxes at every hole adding a little bit of variety to your game.
- Very detailed signs at both the short and long tees with distances displayed and well-drawn maps of each hole. There aren't many blind holes, but the consistent and quality signs are a big plus.
- Short and long baskets at every hole.
- Technical challenges through the park. You will have to use multiple types of shots from cranking your fastest driver to running a tunnel with your straightest flying midrange or putter.
- Great layout and flow to the course. One of my favorite aspects of Tommy Schumpert is that, unlike many course that have the front 9 in open field then the back 9 in woods (or vice versa), Tommy has a pretty solid mix throughout.
- Two putting practice baskets at the start of the course right beside the parking lot.
- In my quest to play every course in the Knoxville area, this is one that I kept returning to because of how it challenged me. It's by no means an easy course, regardless of where your weaknesses are Tommy will find them, and by nature of that this course will work your full game.

Cons:

- At no fault to the course itself, because of the high quality of Tommy Schumpert, it will often be crowded and you may even get unfortunate enough to show up for a round on the day of a tournament.
- The far side of the park is dedicated solely to the disc golf course. For the most part this is a plus, but the down side is that bad shots stay bad. By that I mean a bad shot doesn't stand to kick out onto a nearby walking path or parking lot, instead discs will just keep on sailing further and further into the woods. Just be mindful, Tommy Schumpert will eat your disc if your group isn't keeping an eye out.
- For beginner players, this may not be the course for you. It can get frustrating if you're consistently banging trees or can't keep up with the distance.
- All in all, not many negatives with this course! To me, once a course has reached a 4.0 or 4.5 rating, the only improvements could be periphery items such as a driving range, increased course management with multiple pin positions and ever-changing mando's, a club shop, etc.

Other Thoughts:

Without question, Tommy Schumpert is one of my favorite courses in the Knoxville area. I would put this course in a high tier with Victor Ashe and The Claytons (if you're willing to make the drive down to Alcoa). In Autumn you won't find a more beautiful course to play. As long as you don't take your round too seriously, you will undoubtedly have fun every time you return to Tommy. If you're outside of the Knoxville area and you're looking for a course to add to your day-trip plans, Tommy Schumpert should be towards the top of your list!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 1
Colonel Sanders
Experience: 16.1 years 3 played 3 reviews
4.50 star(s)

My home course in Knoxville 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 12, 2020 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-Schumpert is situated in a safe park with plenty of parking.
-It has two tee pads and two baskets on every hole, giving the course a combination of 72 different holes you could play from. -The course isn't too busy, probably because of the technical difficulty of the course.
-Trashcans on almost every whole.

Cons:

-Some of the greens, fairways, and tee pads can get flooded after it rains.
-There are plenty of places to loose your disc in tall grass during the warmer months.
-Mosquitoes can get rough sometimes.
-Plenty of briars to get caught on if you miss the fairway.

Other Thoughts:

Absolutely beautiful course! I love hole 14 the most. My favorite course in Knoxville!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 6
Luke the Pook
Experience: 18 played 2 reviews
2.00 star(s)

uhg uhg uhg 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Aug 10, 2019 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

-The park is clean.
-There are two tee pads and baskets per hole.

Cons:

What do you get when you mix thorns, mosquitos, nats, and dirt? Well, Tommy Schumpert disc golf course...(uhmmm) of course. Look, I understand what this course is about- very tight placement shots. But Come on... I mean Tommy S is absurd. I'm an above-average player and I respect placement shots and wooded courses but Tommy S. takes it to a whole new level. Let's begin...
-Many of the holes have no actual fairway, just dozens of trees between you and the basket, spewed out all over the "fairway". Regardless of how good you are, you WILL get punished by trees for no reason. I personally don't like getting punished for no reason on what would be great placement shots. What's more, the brush where your disc WILL land is 90% thorns.
- I just don't understand how Tommy S is good design. There's not a single hole that really stands out or makes me think "what a cool hole!". The "A" (far) baskets seem to have been an after thought as many are just stuck farther back in obscure locations (such as on the side of a a clif).
-I last visited Tommy S in the Summer, and I have never seen so many mosquitos in my life. When the gnats are so bad to the point where it literally affects your ability to play the game, something is wrong.
-The few holes that are open are in a jungle of grass taller than myself (6-3) with needlessly tight mowed fairways. Yup! forget about finding any of the discs you will lose unless you want to get shredded by thorns.
-Arguably the worst aspect of Tommy S. is the very, very poor signage. The first few are easy to follow along, but around hole 5 you're just wandering around in the woods. How hard is it to put a sign or arrow or literally anything to show you where to go?
-hole 18 is about a third of a mile from the parking lot.

Other Thoughts:

I live closer to Tommy S than any other course in Knoxville but I play it the least. There is a reason for this. I suggest for the most enjoyable experience throw from the blue (long) tees to the short "A" baskets. The shorter basket placements seem to make more sense than the far baskets, which are in some cases laughably bad. It's like whoever designed the course doesn't play disc golf. The long baskets are almost always a 1 par more than the shorter baskets, but are in a far worse location. It's like you can choose a challenging par 3 that kind of makes sense or a stupid par 4 to a poor location that's less enjoyable and just as easy because you get an extra stroke. Stupid.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
11 1
MrFrosty
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 31.2 years 764 played 387 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Strongest Course In Knoxville 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 15, 2019 Played the course:once

Pros:

I haven't figured out the rating system for the disc golf courses in Knoxville yet . Powell Station is given a 3 , and Tommy Schumpert Park is given a 3.46 ? What the ?!?!?! Anyway ,I had played in Knoxville throughout the last 20 years , but had never played Schumpert because it was a former 9 holer and the rating didn't wow me enough to play it . The course only sits a short drive from I-75 or I-640 . Pulling in to the parking lot , you will see a nice kiosk . The park is pretty decent sized , with activities such as ball fields and paths , soccer etc . i was told the bathrooms were open at the ball fields , but I didn't see them . I don't know if the bathrooms are seasonal , though . If you like elevation , this course is perfect for you . Up , then down , then up AND down . Print a map or suffer . The course will give you some guesswork . 2 Good discatcher baskets in good shape and supplied for each of the 18 holes . Yellow for short placement and orange for long . Large cement tee pads or pavers for both pro ( blue ) and red ( short ) . Did I forget to mention that you have 4 combinations to play this course . long tee to short or long basket , and short tee to long and short basket . The long tees or basket don't just give you length and are stacked behind each other . They can give you a completely different look from each position . Impressive . The course designer listed , Daniel Boutte did a great job . They gave him a lot of land to work with and he used pretty much all of it . It sits away from the rest of the park so you won't see much of the non disc golfers . There are some local friendlies that like to come during the early hours of the weekend or during the evenings to let their dogs run or exercise on the course , Be nice . The signage is very common to the Knoxville area . Wooden posts at holes with right-angle signs bent to comform on them . They are descriptive and are on all the pro tees and most of the shorts , showing length for both tee positions and general map of the hole . I feel that none of these holes are a discard . Some are longer ( up to 1040' ) and some can play as short as 152' from the short tees . There are mostly woods holes , but some holes allow you to open up a bit . You will have to control almost all of your drives , using most of the discs in your bag , and will test your resolve . Be prepared to hit a few trees . Some of the woods holes have lines that are questionably tight ( some might think unfair ) . Even though the course has short to short tees , I would never suggest Schumpert for newbies , families , disc golf with a date , or one-disc-wonders . If you have less than 100 rounds of disc golf under your belt , best to go to Morningside , or Farragut or Powell Station . Not only can you get a good workout , but you can literally play her most of the day and play each hole from a different position and length . Easily the best course in the area . The only course that could rival it would be the Claytons , but it is only 9 holes at present . Great starter hole , #1 goes slightly uphill with thick brush to your left and woods to the right . one pin is tucked a little shorter than the obvious pin in front of you ( 416' ) at 235' on your left , Also nice finishing hole , a downhill drive that will move slight left to a basket guarded by smaller trees . Very tight . The course does not favor anything but the accurate . Both righty and lefty holes . My signature hole was a tie between #5 pro tee to pro basket , an uphill drive to an eventual downhill left turn approach to the basket , or #9 a down hill control drive to an eventual left turn , with a basket set uphill , inserted back into part of the woods .

Cons:

Some cons her . #1. Navigation can get sketchy in this park . Even with the map , I wandered off down a defined pathway only to find that I was walking parallel to the next wooded fairway . #2 Dogs . The dog owners around the park try to keep their dogs from running up to you , especially on your release from the tee pad . Hopefully you aren't scared of them . Share the park . #3 Scarcity of benches and trash cans . Hey . You can't have it all . Carry out what you carry in ( bring water or something to drink . This course will drain you ) #4 . The bugs weren't bad when I was here , but I can imagine that those and ticks could be a problem , so you may want to invest in some bug spray . #5 important ! The rough was high here . I lost a shryke on a drive out of the woods and to the right of maybe #13 ? Watch closely where your drives go . The course plays long , and there are many blind shots and possible drives that can ricochet into this . A course trim is really needed right now .This is the main reason that I would discourage newbies and casuals . Nothing will discourage a new or casual player than losing their new $20 driver .#6 , I figure that this course can be hard to stay upright , and be downright dangerous when wet . I would discourage playing here after a hard rain . I don't consider this a con , but many want the finishing hole to end at the parking lot . This doesn't happen here , but the walk isn't bad .

Other Thoughts:

There are not many courses around that offer both dual pins AND tee pads , plus giving you different looks instead of just length only . The landscape is fantastic. I now wish I had played it when it was a dinky 9 holer , just so I could see the progression of this course . This course is a must play , not only if you are a local , but a traveler , too . It's close to a destiation course . Coupling this with Victor Ashe , Morningside , The Claytons , and adding maybe a fun course like Powell Station or Farragut , then maybe driving up to Oak Ridge and playing the Mounds , and you could stretch this to an overnighter like I did .You don't have to be a tournament player to enjoy this course . Just know and throw enough . My Recommendation : PLAY IT FOR SURE
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
thrembo
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 49.1 years 242 played 195 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Scenic City Course 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 4, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

Very hilly city course set in an area of the park mostly dedicated to disc golf. Like most of the area courses, it features a lot of elevation changes and has a good mix of open and wooded holes. All holes have two tee pads and two baskets so the course is manageable for most skill levels. All of the blue tees have tee signage and about half of the reds. The tees are nice and large and are in good shape. The course has some cool looks and is scenic and fun to play. Navigation is fairly easy, for the most part. Following the logical path away from the basket usually leads to the next tee. This course has one of the coolest finishing holes that I have ever seen (18). There is something to be said for finishing strong!

Cons:

There are a few spots where navigation gets a little tricky and there are a couple of long walks between holes. More navigation aids would be welcome to help out-of-towners find their way around. Hole nine comes within walking distance of the parking lot, but there is a long walk from 18 to the parking lot.

Other Thoughts:

This course is well maintained. The hills get steeper as you go, so I wouldn't recommend this course to those with a weak constitution. Most everyone else will have a good time here. I love you Tennessee!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
11 0
DiscGolfCraig
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 20.1 years 605 played 551 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Mayor Tommy Schumpert 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jun 10, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

Tommy Schumpert is an excellent all-terrain course. It's impressive you can play a rugged, hilly course this close to the city while feeling as if you're out in the country.
- Exceeded expectations. This is a solid course throughout. No wasted holes. No filler. A progressively difficult hole culminating with a test-your-mettle tee shot on #17, followed by a test of one's ability to watch a disc sail downhill and around a bend, followed by a test of your footwear walk-down an eroding hill. And when it was all said and done, I found my way into an easy par 3 on the hole.
- Course is solid throughout if not spectacular. It was after finishing the front nine I first started thinking I hadn't played a bad hole yet. None was exceptional, just 9 straight good, fun and/or challenging plays.
- Course weaves between open layouts and the woods. Course has two tee pads and has duel baskets on the front 9. On the back, the holes (or most of them) only had a single basket in play.
- Wooded holes had wide enough fairways that every shot didn't need to be perfect. On many holes, it allows you to be more aggressive without too much penalty. That said, make sure you play smart disc golf on the toughest of holes, or you will be penalized for bad throws and dumb decision making.
- Very nice park with lots of amenities: ball fields, walking trails, dog park. All of that was kept away from the disc golf course. The only other person I spotted on the course was a fellow disc golfer.
- #11 is the long, open bomber hole. After playing a lot of mid-range discs off the tee on the wooded holes, you finally get to unleash some of that pent-up frustration here. That's followed by #13, one final open hole to air it out before a stretch of wooded holes.
- The course is very manageable if you elect to play safe disc golf. You could end up with a ton of par 3s and 4s by throwing stable discs straight down the middle of the fairway. You could do that, but you would miss out on the fun and challenge the course has to offer. On #6, you could make a safe throw around the right bend, then throw a simple second shot and maybe have a chance at 3. Or, you try to take that corner as hard as you can, get as far down the fairway as possible so you can be aggressive throwing up the hill to the basket. The third option is what I did, try to cut the corner, get stuck deep in the woods, and end up two shots worse on the hole because my aggressiveness backfired.

Cons:

Navigation was tricky at times. I quickly realized the back nine doesn't have tee signs for the short tees after find a tee and having no idea what hole it's for. I was also having to rely on the online map several times to determine which path I walked down to get to the next hole. Next tee arrows would be a help.
- My biggest gripe with the course is not actually with the course itself. It's with whoever entered the hole distances onto this site. I played the short tees. (13 courses in 6 states in 48 hours merited one easier round on the arm). To play the listed hole lengths was as simple as short tee to short basket. It varied between that, short tee to long basket, and long tee to short basket with no rhyme or reason. Short-to-short and long-to-long is such a simple concept, I don't know how, or why, this seemingly arbitrary layout was created.
- I don't recall seeing a single trash can or bench throughout the course.
- A couple layouts seems like they're too forced. There are a couple places where a disc can really get away from you if you're not careful. #8 & 17, as fun as they are in concept, can be a real frustration. A shot slightly off-target can cause real issues. Contrast those to #18, which is a much better executed challenging layout. A great exclamation point on a solid course.

Other Thoughts:

Course had a feel like Victor Ashe. Both offer solid rounds from start to finish. Neither has that wow factor, just 18-straights good vibes.
- The first time I played in Knoxville several years ago, I skipped this course because it was still a nine-hole layout. This go around, I was eager to play the full 18. I was not disappointed.
- The park is named for a former mayor. Does that mean there may one day be a Kane (aka Glen Jacobs) Park? If so, I hope that course is as evil as his wrestling character.
- This area of Knoxville has courses piled on top of each other. You're a couple minutes to Inskip; 15 minutes to Victor Ashe, Morningside, and Powell Station. 30 minutes to several other courses. This is turning into an excellent disc golf scene.
- I feel this course does give a different look and feel from the shorts to the longs. Course isn't so tough from the shorts; lots of birdie chances. From the longs, you're working for your pars on many holes.
- This is an easy 4.0 in my book. It's another excellent course in the Knoxville area. It's worth the play, and worth a day to play all the good courses here.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
Bennybennybenny
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 13.3 years 308 played 289 reviews
4.00 star(s)

The Story of the Knoxville Open: Part 1 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 11, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

-So I'm signed up for the Knoxville Open and I'm super eager about playing Tommy Schumpert because of the many different hole options that are available. Few days before the tournament, I find out that tee-off is at 8 in the morning. Well that's a first for me, and I play a good number of tournaments. This is going to be a story. A story that shall live on forever!

-It's 3:39 AM. I wake up in good ol' Cullowhee and I'm feeling a bit like jello, I'm still exhausted, my hair is tousled and looks like a bird's nest dipped in oil, and my suitemates were probably awaked by the shower. I turn on the coffee maker and finally leave at 4:45 in the morning.

-I'm driving in the dark and all is good on 1-40 toward Knoxville. I'm blasting some good music, I'm not speeding, but then some super giganto 18 wheeler is weaving into my lane like a trigonometry curve playing chicken with the divided highway wall. I get super mad and hold down the horn for like fifteen seconds and now I'm speeding. In the freezing weather, I'm going like 15 over.

-I get breakfast, and now I'm here at Tommy Schumpert. I check in for the tournament, and my hands are rock solid and they are keeping me from throwing more than 300'. We start practicing on hole 1, which is a great bomber hole from the long pad. I practice on a few more holes on the front nine and I'm like "It's pretty good, but with dual pads and pin positions, it's got to be better than this. The first four holes are all good holes, and with the four options (short pad-short pin, short-long, long-short, and long-long) there is a great hole available.

-It starts to get really great once you get to hole 6. It's a very scary hole from the long pad. In the tournament we played long pad-short pin. So it's a 490 foot pro par 4. It plays down a tight and curvy fairway, so it's definitely scary enough from the short. Now the long pin is further up and straight up a steep hill close to 30'. THAT was my starting hole so it got pretty intimidating quickly. Holes 7-9 are all great holes as well from the long pads. #7 is one of those "all around" great holes. It offers two great challenging pin positions and two great tee shots. The long to long is another monster. As it is a long par 4 down a shoot and over a small valley. Holes 8 and 9 are both potential signature holes. But with all the many options on the back nine, you come to see that this is an awesome course.

-Since you have two sets of pads and baskets, you basically have all you want for a casual round. Elevation is pretty severe on some holes, and you can get the most out of it. #17's long pad gives an awesome look. It's awesome enough looking straight up at it from the short pad. If you were to play the short pads to short pins, you'd be playing maybe a 4600 foot layout. If you played longs to longs, you'd be playing maybe an 8400 foot layout. There are hole options that are like 120' long and one that is over 1100'. #11 rocks! A fun long downhill bomb!

-Ends quite well with a unique finisher. A significantly downhill hyzer par 4. When my college buddy played here, he told me he had a run for eagle on the long pin, which could happen with a massive skip. But it can still be difficult to save par, as there are many trees.

-The course kiosk is very helpful and I would recommend you take a photo of it. Just so you have an idea on how you will maximize your fun experience.

Cons:

-When I said that the fun should be maximized, well that means avoid the holes that are duds. And the layout we played, we did not. #10's short pad is ridiculous. It expects you to either throw a massive hyzer that won't go any distance or for you to hit a small gap. I'd recommend you just play the long pad, as it is a better hole from there and gives an actual hyzer opportunity. There is a ton of poke and pray here, like the previous reviewer said. There's just a lot of it. Some fairways are just ridiculous. #4 is a severe curve. It's one of those bogus do everything you can to just three kind of holes. But it's only 281' long from the short pad. The long pad is even more strange. It's practically a double dogleg from long to long, and practically impossible to two from long to short.

-Tee off areas are a bit dangerous in spots. Some of us slipped and fell when we threw, or had a funny feeling when we were about to. Because some pads are raised and some are directly in front of trees. If you have a long run like I do, then you might trip because of the roots by pads or trees right behind them.

-LOTS of lost disc potential. Course is decently kept, but the woods are so rough and unforgiving to where you may lose sight of a bad shot.

Other Thoughts:

-Waking up at 3:45 AM, I was like when I got here "It has to be great. I dodged an eighteen wheeler! An eighteen wheeler!!" Aside from that near collision at 5:30 AM, it was a truly unique experience and it shows how awesome the Knoxville area is. They have multiple pins here and at Victor Ashe. And all we've got in Cullowhee is a decent 13 holer and a bunch of lame dinkers. We are desperate for a course like Tommy Schumpert in the WNC region. It's hilly, and no two holes are the same.

-There may be more than ten signature holes here, because there are 72 different options to play here. If I had to choose the way to achieve maximum fun, I'd say I'd play:

#1: L to S par 3
#2: L to L par 4
#3: S to S par 3
#4: S to S par 3
#5: S to S par 3
#6: L to L par 5
#7: S to L par 4
#8: L to S par 3
#9: L to S par 3
#10: L to L par 4
#11: L to L par 5
#12: S to S par 3
#13: S to S par 3
#14: L to L par 4
#15: L to L par 4
#16: S to S par 3
#17: L to S par 3
#18: L to L par 4

So a par 64 layout. That would be the layout I'd have the most fun playing here at Tommy Schumpert. If you are a beginner, I'd recommend you play the shorts to shorts since they are more forgiving than the course as a whole is. We played a mixed layout, mostly the toughest hole of the four options and this course beat me up. But I loved it and I can't wait to play it again. I shot a not so good 62 on the mixed layout we played.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
12 0
murf1087
Experience: 14.2 years 370 played 17 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Best variety and beauty in Knoxville 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Sep 20, 2017 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Two tees, two baskets on every hole. Good tee signs with "next tee" indicators that all first-timers should note. Various throwing lanes and shot options. Each hole is unique and requires either power, accuracy, creativity, or a combination of them. This course will challenge everyone who plays and is truly a championship course, IMO. Short to short can be a quicker and fun round while long to long can be grueling, but one of the greatest layouts you will play in east Tennessee.
Massive, picturesque oak trees, wildflowers, wildlife, and serenity if the gun range is quiet. This course sits away from major highways and can be very peaceful at times, especially in the morning. You will rarely run into other groups playing.
Two practice baskets by the parking area which makes for a great, wide open bomb and 19th hole.
I'm told the bathrooms between the ballparks are very nice but I haven't used them.

Cons:

Yellow jackets have been a serious issue here with some players claiming to have been stung 25+ times. This is a very bad place to find out you are allergic to bees as the walk from #13 basket to the parking lot is 1/3 of a mile.
The course is not for the faint-of-heart as several holes play on steep slopes with exposed roots and leaves. Standing water during the rainy seasons can become an issue on many holes as well.

Getting back on the fairway can cause some serious headaches as the rough can be dense. The grass fairways on #1, 9, 10, 11, 13 can get ridiculously overgrown with all sorts of tangled grasses and thorns that you don't want to walk through. It is not uncommon for the rough in the fields to be as high as eight feet tall! Some have encountered ticks and chiggers but I have yet to see either.
The course never stays in perfect condition due to the vegetation and erosion here. Everything grows very fast and it is very difficult for The City/County and the Players to keep up with it. Several tee pads get quickly covered with dirt from players approaching the tee box and rain washes mud over entire pads (4S(short), 5L(long), 6S, 7L, and 17S). Just looking at the pads for #7, #17, and #18 will make you scratch your head and ask why the tee pads aren't built up or placed better. Some tee pads can be treacherous if you step off the front and the wood surrounding each tee pad can be very slippery when wet, as I have witnessed a number of wipeouts. I have also seen plant feet getting caught up on the raised wood which is going to lead to a torn ligament someday. 7S needs some serious love as the back half is falling down the hill.
The neighboring gun range can be very noisy on the weekend. Hear it for yourself by watching the coverage of the Vol Classic via The Disc Eye on YouTube.

Other Thoughts:

Navigation is a bit difficult out here due to some little-used hiking trails running through the course and so many pads and baskets. There are old red and blue arrows on some trees but most holes are missing them or they are pointed in confusing ways. Find a friend or make one before you set out to play. Let us know you need a guide on the Knoxville Disc Golf Players page on Facebook and I can almost guarantee someone will be willing to show you around. This is a well loved course in town and do to recent improvements of short pads and extra baskets this place has expanded in popularity with about 40% of Knoxville disc golfers calling this their favorite course in town.
With so many layout possibilities this course has a very high fun-factor and easily sits at the #1 course in town in my book. The course will challenge your game in every way and make you a better disc golfer.
Invasive species galore with dense, tall honeysuckle and privet taking over the fairway edges and rough. Multiflora rose and blackberry (thorns) are fairly common throughout the course. I have personally spent several afternoons clipping rose and greenbrier from just off the fairways and it seems to grow back quickly.
Quick notes:
Busy hours for the park seem to be 5-8pm and weekends due to the dog park and baseball fields. Please visit the Knoxville Disc Golf Lost and Found page on Facebook if you have lost or found a disc golf related item.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 2
Declarkus
Experience: 21.1 years 287 played 16 reviews
4.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 19, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

Tee signage; 2 pads and 2 baskets on every hole so essentially 96 different holes

Cons:

Practice basket too far from parking lot and too close to the course

Other Thoughts:

This is a fun course with a lot of unique, challenging holes. I don't have much more to add to the other reviews, but I agree the course is under-rated. I'd put the elevation on the low end of "very hilly," just because it is well incorporated into the course layout. I wasn't thrilled when I saw the brick teepads, but they were fine. Maybe a bit short, but I never really tripped or slipped.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
12 0
Cerealman
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 15.9 years 600 played 179 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Tommy S is Knoxville's best 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 8, 2016 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Tommy Schumpert Park is a fantastic disc golf course tucked away in a lovely park north of Knoxville that provides variety, challenging lines and major elevation in spots.

The teepads and signage are excellent. The teepads are made up of brick-like stones with wooden borders. These teepads seem like they would dry off quickly after rain, and I've encountered no problems with traction. The front-nine signs could use an indicator of which pin ("A" or "B") is in use, though, I've played this course three times in the last year, and none of the basket locations were changed.

The front half of Tommy S is mostly wooded and offers some tight lines. The back half provides a wide range of diversity - from the long downhill and fairly open Hole #11 to the short but picturesque Hole #14 to the almost-ridiculous wooded challenges of Holes #15 and #16. And the course finishes with two holes that require the usually-fun downhill throw.

In fact, Hole #17 might be one of the most enjoyable holes. While it requires a steep hike up the side of a mountain to reach the teepad, the view and accompanying thrill of throwing your disc down the hill make the journey worth it. There is an alternate rubber teepad available halfway up the hill, but you'll feel like you cheated yourself if you opt to throw from there.

The variety is incredible at Tommy Schumpert. There are plenty of dogleg left and dogleg right holes and the elevation adds to the diversity. Hole #2, for example, nearly demands a RHFH drive, even from a backhand loyalist as myself.

The parking lot is visible from the basket for Hole #9, so a quick round is possible here.

The back nine offers a second basket on each hole. The orange-colored basket adds more than 1,100 feet of distance to the back nine and is perfect for those who enjoy some sadistic disc golf.

Cons:

Finding the next hole might be tricky in a couple spots, but overall, the course flows well. A large map is present at the parking lot.

The "traversability" is tough on a few of the wooded holes. Getting off the fairway on Holes #7, 16 and 17 will prove a bit treacherous.

Erosion is an issue for the short teepad on Hole #8. Due to its location near the bottom of a hill, this teepad might be nearly covered in dirt/mud.

Other Thoughts:

Now that the course has been increased to 18 holes, Tommy Schumpert is arguably the best disc golf course in Knoxville. Don't let the previous DGCR ratings (from when the course was only nine holes) or the nearly vowelless name distract you! If you're passing through the Gateway to the Smoky Mountains, make sure you make time to visit this excellent course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 1
Polecat-Meow
Experience: 12.8 years 44 played 11 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Disc Golf Wonderland 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Sep 23, 2016 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Challenging, fun, variety of pads and pins, seclusion, helluva course overall. A common knock on this course is that it's too hard, even from the short pads, and that may be true but it keeps the course from being too crowded. From when you set off to when you finish you don't see any man-made structures, hear road noise or feel like you are anywhere near a city, even though you are. There are enough opportunities to really huck it that you forget how much of the course is in the trees--this is a much easier course than many others that spend as much time in the woods. Most holes feel like their own little secluded adventure which is a rare and wonderful thing for a course this close to a city center.
Multiple brick pads for every hole is nice, many holes also have multiple pins.

Cons:

The bugs get bad around dusk in the summer time, but hey that's nature. There are three or four holes that feel similar, all dog leg rights so make sure you have something under-stable if you can't throw a flick off the tee pad.

Other Thoughts:

This course has come a long way and is now, arguably, the best course in Knoxville.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
NAWWWLEDGE
Experience: 4 played 4 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Watch out for that tree! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Apr 15, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

You can tell whoever thought up these holes has an eye for good course design. There's an even variety of forehand and backhand shots or holes that favor left handed throws and holes that favor right handed throws - however you want to look at it. There's an even mix of uphill and downhill holes. Dogleg lefts followed by dogleg rights. You can tell the designer put a great deal of thought into making sure no one would get bored with having to throw the same shot over and over here.

There's essentially a par3 and par4 option on every hole. The front nine has a short pad and long pad, while the back nine has a short pin and long pin, again adding to this demand for players to bring every shot in their bag to the course.

Every hole offers challenge, usually in the form of trees as it's a wooded course, but on the select few open holes there is some tall grass which can play as rough or OB.

Discatcher baskets that are relatively new and in great shape.

Stone teepads are level and economical and do their job well.

Drinking water fountain.

The course has good flow - there's no 5 minute walks from a basket to the next teepad.

There's an open and relatively flat space between the first tee and last basket that makes for a good driving range so you don't have to get in the way of other people playing by unloading your entire bag on a hole.

Cons:

Getting punished after a good throw is a regular thing here. On the par 3s the lines are a little more defined and the luck factor isn't as prevalent but the par 4s are another beast. Some of them I argue are simply unplayable. And by that, I mean you could play the hole 10 times and still not see a line that isn't riddled with trees. Essentially, you just have to hope that when you do hit a tree, it stays in the "fairway".

It's a lot of poke and hope, and you'll hear that from a lot of people who play there.

In the winter the water fountain is turned off so make sure to bring your own fluids.

Not so much of a con as a warning and this may be obvious to some but there is wildlife out there so be aware. Check for ticks throughout your rounds and after you're finished. There are copperheads in East Tennessee. They don't go out of their way to harm people and in fact do the opposite so if you avoid running, you'll give them enough time to get away from you before you come in contact with one.

Other Thoughts:

From the short pads on the front and to the short pins on the back, with a few exceptions, the course plays smoothly while still being a challenging wooded course. Again, some of the lines are tight but they're there. You can thank the dedicated local volunteers for making the course what it is today with their work on maintaining and improving the fairways. People who've been playing Schumpert from the beginning know it has come a long way.

There seems to be a running theme with the course designer when it comes to wooded courses and it's that he likes for there to be adequate challenge by leaving in trees that most people think should be taken out. That's the nicest way I can put it.

Once again though, locals love this course and see its true potential and these guys are making much appreciated improvements on a regular basis. There's nowhere to go but up for Schumpert.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 1
kohldad
Experience: 8.5 years 53 played 10 reviews
3.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 27, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

Enjoyed the layout and variety of the course. Nice tee pads and baskets. Very clean with very little trash, probably because of a trash can at most tees for the first nine holes. Was easy to figure out the way to the next tee even if I did forget to remember the sign at the tee which did show the way.

Cons:

First nine holes seemed to have only one basket, not two as in the description, though the back nine did have two baskets. Only the blue pads were all there but a number of the red pads either weren't there or I'm very blind, did find a couple that were only logs outlining the pad. Since I'm still a beginner, I wanted to play the shorter red so sometimes had to just guestimate. Only other negative is it is right next to the rifle range and some times the noise was pretty intense.

Other Thoughts:

Visiting my daughter on the east side of town and was lucky enough to get a long enough break to play one course. This seemed like it was worth a visit and not too far from her house so choose it. Glad I did as I had fun and will be back.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 3
Hippykamp
Experience: 9 years 17 played 4 reviews
4.00 star(s)

GREAT DGC! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 16, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

Everyone has a type of course that they like. This one is the kind for me! A few holes in the fields but for the most part you are playing in the woods with tight lanes and basket placement on both the left and right of the pad. The first nine have two tee pads with one basket while the back nine have one tee pad with two baskets. Easy to follow course with nice tee pads and signage. Baskets are all good and all the holes are well thought out.

Cons:

None really

Other Thoughts:

In my opinion this is the best course in Knoxville bar none. I would play here even over the Claytons. Do yourself a favor and play this course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 1
johngarcia79
Experience: 10.1 years 35 played 11 reviews
3.50 star(s)

I'll go again 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 18, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

Not many people in the way. The layout gives wooded technical play and wide open big shots. Has some opportunities to gain shots on the field with a few big wood shots. Plenty of room to mess up big or win big.

Cons:

Some shots could be more dynamic and there is room to make some alternate pin locations that could make it really good. Also needs some signage. But that is understandable.

Other Thoughts:

I look forward to playing this course a few more times. One of my favorites in the area. It's no slouch course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
Jwolfe1982
Experience: 23.5 years 1 played 1 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Must play! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 27, 2015 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Great tee pads, highly variable shots needed, and good mix of open and wooded holes.

Cons:

May be tough to navigate if you aren't familiar. Be sure to snap a pic of the course map if you're playing for the first time.

Other Thoughts:

This is definitely my favorite course in Knoxville. It has a great variety of shots needed with a good mix of open and wooded holes. Highly technical. Even on the holes that are open bombs, it still requires some placement on your disc. It seems as most of the reviews came from before it was complete. Definitely check this one out!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Latest posts

Top