Stevens Point, WI

Yulga Park

3.885(based on 43 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Yulga Park reviews

Filter
5 0
Johnsondere
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 8 months 136 played 83 reviews
4.00 star(s)

The Hidden Gem of Wisconsin Disc Golf Part 3

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 3, 2018 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

- 3 sets of tee pads for each hole.
- Rotating pin positions
- Very beautiful woods.
- Variety of shots and distances asked for.
- Baskets are top notch.
- Navigation is very simple, tee signs are great!
- Open year round and played enough in the winter there are plenty of paths through the snow.

Cons:

- Not a whole lot of parking space.
- Course can get pretty muddy if it rains.
- Can get kinda buggy during the summer.

Other Thoughts:

In part 3 of my hidden gems of Wisconsin we talk about Yulga! To start out, Stevens Point is such a beautiful area to be around. Highly recommend the trip to this central area of Wisconsin. Next up, Yulga is such a high quality course! 3 Tee pads and rotating pins for each will help change it up every time you play. Lastly, Standing Rocks is not too far from Yulga!

Jeeze, I am talking myself into taking a disc golf trip to Stevens Point one of these days soon!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
EspressoPatronum
Gold level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 18.6 years 224 played 215 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Another Hidden Gem in the Woods 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 30, 2021 Played the course:once

Pros:

Course Design/General Thoughts:
- beautiful tall pine trees throughout course, which limit rough
- off the beaten path and very quiet/peaceful
- technically challenging and wooded throughout, but reasonable fairways
- navigation mostly straightforward
- well maintained and clean
- area is exclusive to disc golf, excellent setup for safety
- front 9 ends at beginning of course if you only want to play half

Basics:
- 3 concrete tees per hole, color coded
- full color tee signs with maps
- high quality DGA MACH 7 baskets
- multiple pin locations on most holes (some have 3 or 4) - only 1 basket installed at a time

Amenities:
- 2 practice baskets
- picnic table
- port-o-potty
- natural log benches at most tees
- wood chips around baskets in muddy areas

Cons:

- no next tee signs
- despite good technical challenge, somewhat repetitive
- almost entirely flat
- hole 10 doesn't have a realistic line to the basket
- some backtracking between 13/14 and 15/16
- no numbers on baskets

Other Thoughts:

Yulga Park was a course I hit on my way up to northern Wisconsin, and I'm glad I stopped. This is an awesome course kind of off the beaten path in the woods. The towering pine trees really keep the rough down, and despite being out in a quiet, wooded area, the fairways were clean and mown.

The main reason this course got downgraded to a 3.5 for me was the lack of elevation change and the somewhat repetitive technical holes. It's a great course, and a good challenge, but it wasn't quite a 4 for me.

There weren't many other cons - some nits, such as no next tee signs and no numbers on the baskets. This generally isn't too big an issue, especially on a wooded course with defined fairways, but could offer some areas for improvement. As noted above, the navigation has a bit of backtracking and I felt like hole 10 was so crowded with trees there was no realistic line - it felt more like a "pick a channel and pray" type of throw.

The one hole that gave me some trouble with rough was 18 - my disc landed off to the right of the fairway where there was actually some growth and I had a heck of a time finding it. Other than that, it was a pretty easy course to play and locate discs on.

The multiple concrete tees on each hole were nice for having options and well marked. There are good amenities here and it's definitely worth a stop if you're nearby. I love seeing quality courses as well maintained as this one. There aren't tons of other courses around this one but it's great as a stop on the way somewhere else.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 5
jwilly
Experience: 107 played 7 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Best wooded course ever 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 24, 2020 Played the course:once

Pros:

Easily y favorite wooded course ever. The pine trees prevent any rough from happening which makes it so much more enjoyable. On top of that, the paths and trees are used very well.

Cons:

Busy and some tess are too close to the previous basket.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
JLHJLH
Experience: 6.7 years 13 played 13 reviews
4.00 star(s)

pachenko 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 1, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

the first "4.0" I've given.
I agree with the people who marvel at how well designed this course is. At this time of the year it is ubelievably beautiful country and this course is great fun.
Three tees for each hole and clear maps (on most of the holes.The longer tees are challenging. As I am a bit older I play from the short tees but did not garner an unusual amount of "3's.
On some holes if you miss the fairway you can hit as many as four trees . . . . tall telephone pole pines in great profusion. The course IS very well maintained. The chains glow with flourescent color where it is appropriate.
Wind is not a problem at any time. This is what a course should be, in my view.

Cons:

Like alot of courses the morons who think it is funny to take or destroy maps have done so on a good number of the back nine (as of the day we played). The markers are all there (with one exception) and someone with a marker has marked the markers with reasonable facsimiles of maps.

Other Thoughts:

I will never understand why someone would want to mess with what is very helpful (maps and markers) to people playing a course for the first time.
The course is cleverly hidden from the surrounding residential area (which is protected by the topography).
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
David Mellies
Experience: 26.5 years 112 played 6 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Loved it! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 11, 2015 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Yulga is exceptionally clean. I have never lost a disc here due to superb grooming. The ancient pines provide challenging technical shots and beauty. There are red, white, and blue tees for players of all levels. I enjoy the great mix of shots (left, right, long and short) for a nice casual fun round. Plenty of ace runs and birdie opportunities. You can light up this course or get your but kicked depending on if you are hitting your lanes. The baskets are in good shape. The tee boxes are concrete. This course also has multiple pin locations. After #9 basket the 10th tee is right by the parking lot for easy access to your car or bathroom.

Cons:

The course is in a college town so expect heavy traffic (and big groups) during peak times. Yulga is extremely flat so not much for elevation change. There are not many long holes to air out long drives for big throwers. You will not encounter any water holes here. The signage seemed a bit deceiving. I recommend checking for the pins on blind shots the first time around. There are no next tee signs so when you follow the walking paths you may go to the wrong color tee a few times.

Other Thoughts:

This is a really nice FREE course, located in a cool town to visit for a weekend. A few other decent courses in the area provide a worthwhile road trip. 4.5 may be a bit of a stretch but it is better than a 4 and underrated on DG in my opinion. Due to the heavy forrest setting this is also a nice course to throw on a windy day.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
Stardoggy
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 12.6 years 1002 played 214 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Parts greater than the sum? 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Aug 22, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

18 hole course located in heavy woods outside Stevens Point.

Solid Mach 3 baskets on each hole. Multiple pin positions on nearly every hole. The different pin positions definitely change the holes up, and are mostly well thought out.

Concrete tee pads on every hole. Every hole has at least two distinct tee pads, and many have three. Most of them are very well though out, and change up the lines well. They offer a nice change of shots for different skill levels.

The course is heavily wooded, for the most part, but there's a nice mix of slightly more open holes, without feeling like wide open holes. You'll use a lot of different shots on all the layouts. The blue tees will test Int/Adv players.

The tee signs are great here. They show lines, distances, and there's a sign at every hole. Navigation was also really easy, with wood chipped trails to nearly every hole. Hole 9 also ends near the parking lot, which is always nice.

Cons:

There's really not a lot bad to say about Yulga. It's extremely flat, which feels very weird on such a wooded course. No water, either, which isn't really a big deal in my book.

Yulga leaves me perplexed, and this is just totally my opinion. As I go through the holes in my head, I can't think of a throwaway hole, or even a bad hole. For some reason, though, I came away without a sense of excitement. My gut feeling is that the lack of elevation can make some of the holes feel repetitive. Again, this is just my sense of it, and others may feel very different about it. I just came out of it with a feeling of repetitiveness...

Other Thoughts:

I didn't dislike Yulga. Quite the opposite. I felt like it would be a fun place to play with groups, for sure, and the plethora of options would keep the replay factor high.

Definitely a must play if you're in the area, but it's #3 to Standing Rocks and Big Eau Plaine in the Stevens Point area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
wolfhaley
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 19.8 years 969 played 542 reviews
4.00 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 1, 2014 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This course is set in a wooded area that is set aside exclusively for disc golf. There is a red powder coated practice basket before hole 1. There is also a restroom located near the practice basket as well. The tee pads are all concrete. These are level and grip nicely. Many of the holes have 3 different sets of tees, most others have 2 and only one I believe has 1 pad. Almost every hole has different pin positions too. The course is moderately wooded on all holes. This is such a well designed course, there are enough obstacles on each hole to make each one challenging yet still fair. Every level of skill will enjoy this course. The different sets of tees not only add distance, they drastically change your shot angle on every hole. Multiple rounds can be played here without it getting stale or repetitive. The baskets are Mach 3's with the number plates on top. These are some of the best baskets to start with but they catch super nice too. There is a great mix of different shots here too, the majority seem to be right turning though which is rare and a real pleasure and challenge. The course is set throughout a mostly pine forest so the pine needles keeps underbrush down. The grass areas though are always well mowed too. Navigation is very easy to follow with there being well defined walking paths to the next fairway. Holes 9 and 18 both end right by the parking lot which is always a big bonus. The rough off the fairways is not bad at all making finding errant shots very simple. The course is up year round and is free.

Cons:

The course gets very busy on weekends, especially during peak hours. No garbage cans on the course. Therefore there are broken bottles and some litter throughout. If you take it in, take it out and this wouldn't even be a con. No elevation or water if that's your deal. Thought I'd mention it although it's not a con to me.

Other Thoughts:

This is one of the best courses I've played out of about 150 to date. Some great ones too. This is just a super fun course that should be played if you are anywhere nearby, and should even go out of your way to play. I don't know what it is about Yulga but I just know that it is a blast. Couple this course with Standing Rocks or Big Eau Pleine and you'd have one of the best days of disc golf anywhere in WI.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
JeremyAD
Experience: 12.9 years 77 played 9 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Great Mid-Wisconsin DG Course! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:May 17, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

* 3 tee pads for most holes
* Heavily and appropriately wooded on ALL holes
* Several deuce opportunities on short pads, and (sometimes) difficult pars on long pads
* great flow of course layout
* excellent tee signs and nearly perfect tee pads - even during the winter (local disc golf enthusiasts keep them clear).
* GREAT winter course!
* Nearly all holes have at least one alternate pin placements
* Locals are mostly open and enjoyable to toss with
* Rarely "too crowded" of a course
* Tight and challenging (yet fair) fairways
* TONS of fun!!!

Cons:

* Few long-distance holes
* If you love "open-throwing"courses you will hate this place
* Completely void of elevation variation

Other Thoughts:

Whenever I have disc-golf dreams this course somehow seems to be in them. Not a top Championship course, but one that you will never forget. So much fun and so many memories. Although it does not quite compete with the extravagance of Standing Rocks, nor does it match the challenge of Big Eau Pleine, Yulga stands alone for enjoyment. Play this course!!! You will not regret it!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 1
Money_Shot
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 19.7 years 125 played 39 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Tons of Fun 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Sep 6, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Great scenery focused around tall pines.
-Each hole requires different movement on the disc, even though some pins are straight ahead, trees require you to shape your shots.
-Short to mid distance holes optimizing chances for ace shots and a quicker round. Aces and near misses make a course fun imo.
-Signage on every hole.
-multiple pads for each hole
-multiple pin locations on each hole
-concrete pads throughout the course
-Although still "in town", you really get a secluded feeling out on this course.
-Did i say this course is fun to play?

Cons:

-Garbages - I only seen a few out on the course. With the kind of traffic this course apparently gets, it seems necessary to have a garbage at every hole.
-A few distance holes to satisfy the big armed players would help this course fulfill everyones needs.
-I can imagine this course getting very buggy at the right times, on the right days.
-It is the local college course hangout. I would imagine this results in heavy traffic and waiting at times.
-Lack of elevation.
-This land is as flat as it gets.
-No water holes. Just a couple would be nice.

Other Thoughts:

I just made a road trip with 2 friends hitting up 7 great courses in wisconsin including Yulga, Big Eau Pleine, Standing Rocks, Rolling Ridge, Silver Creek and Winter Park.....this course was a ton of fun. In fact of those, this course was in all of our top 3, and questionably the #1. It may not have the ammenities and hole variation that Rolling Ridge has, but it definately has the fun factor and in general i liked the scenery much better than Rolling Ridge. This course is way underrated in my groups opinion. Don't be scared by its rating under a 4. All three of us felt this was a 4.25 caliber course strictly because it made us want to play again and again. I rated it a 4.5 because 4.25 is not an option as a rating and since i felt the course current avg rating was lower than expected I decided to round up instead of down on my rating. I will definately hit this course up if ever traveling within an hour of it. I can see it be disatisfying to the guy who prefers long bomb holes. To call this course boring, however, as one rater did is just downright crazy. I assure you, boring is not the normal reaction after playing this course for your average disc golfer. If throwing open bomb shots time after time is your thing, dont waste your time. This course is playable for all experience levels and i would consider it to be a fairly easy course. Lots of fun though. If anyone would be least satisfied out here, it would like be the professional thrower that prefers an open course. Technical pros, however, could easily come out here and have a great time and a semi-technical course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 2
CaptainMo
Experience: 27.8 years 40 played 2 reviews
3.00 star(s)

yulga 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 28, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

> Nice tee boxes, hole diagrams and directions from hole to hole.
> Multiple basket locations.
> Nice scenery.
> Nice benches.
> Felt very secluded and private from hole to hole, even though the course was relatively busy.
> "Rough" was forgiving so losing a disc is tough, even when you inevitably plink off the trees.

Cons:

> Mostly short holes.
> All but 1 or 2 holes are VERY tightly wooded, which was fun a few times, but got a little boring.
> No trash cans, so tee boxes were littered.
> A little buggy, which I'm sure can be a lot buggy.
> On the multi-basket holes, basket placement wasn't indicated at the tee box, so if you couldn't see it from the tee box you had to walk down to figure out where to throw.

Other Thoughts:

I like the wooded holes and there were a few really cool ones, but this course felt like ONLY wooded holes with very tight fairways. If your release is off by a little, be prepared to walk though the trees.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 0
SleekrBeekr
Experience: 14.7 years 63 played 20 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Yulga 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 22, 2013 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

18 hole layout
Multiple concrete tee positions.
Multiple pin positions.
Well maintained.
Not far out of town.
Walking trails surround course.

Cons:

All the hole maps are missing.
Bugs!
Layout gets a little cramped in some spots.

Other Thoughts:

This is a beautiful wooded course. It can be a bit easy, but the multiple tee pads and multiple pin locations can help ramp things up a bit.
Most of the holes require a bit of finesse, with an abundant amount of trees. The course is very clean though, not a lot of thick, unmanageable brush or tall grass. The local clubs and parks department do a great job maintaining the course.
There's a few long holes, a few lefts, a few rights, a good amount of straight on shots, a lot of trees, and little to no elevation changes. There are a couple elevated baskets to make up for the flatland.
The course can get a bit tricky to follow in some spots, especially with no maps, but it's not bad. And if it gets crowded, there's a lot of back-ups.
All in all, this is a very fun course and can be played relatively quickly if there aren't too many people out there. The multiple tee and pin positions add to the enjoyment level of this course.
This course has a high replay value, especially when paired with some of the courses in the area. If there were maps on the pins and some slight layout adjustments, this course would easily get a 4.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
Nambrik
Experience: 13.8 years 3 played 2 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Near my house. 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 12, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-Nice scenery.
-Awesome concrete tees.
-3 choices of tees to drive from.
-Parking lot
-Outside of town, pretty peaceful.

Cons:

-College kid swarm every Saturday afternoon, have fun finding a parking spot.
-Beer cans all over.
-Main sign was stolen, and hasn't been returned.
-Many of the signs are ripped or gone.
-Paths are hard to get around for people new to the course, but after a few games, you will get used to it.

Other Thoughts:

Try to go on weekdays. It will be packed on Saturdays and Friday nights. It is hard to get around, but try to follow the people ahead of you. Please pick up the garbage.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
notapro
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 20.6 years 568 played 281 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Intermediate 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 25, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Course is set in a decent sized park that has a walking path going through in a few spots, and plays by a road in another. All in all, there shouldn't be any interference with other park goers at any point.
- A good majority of the holes are set within an abundance of pine pole trees, the lines are carved out of these trees with little margin for error. There are sneaky, lucky, local lines that can be found, but hitting the lines is definitely necessary to stay out of tree jail or nasty rough. #1, #2, #4, #12, and #16 are the most populated, with varying lines.
- Some of the other holes have more forgiving lines, with not sooo many trees to worry about. #3 is a dogleg right around dense woods, #6 is a nice RHBH hyzer, #8 and #9 are tunnelish shots with woods on both sides, and so on. These holes demand hitting a gap in the fairway, or just staying out of the rough on either side.
- A few other holes are more open, #14 is a blind hyzer/anhyzer around a big clump of bushes, #15 is fairly open hyzer into some shrubbery, and #17 is a tall anny or RHFH shot over a big patch of bushes. Definitely more room to work with shot shaping, but they still have a real potential for punishment.
- Three distinct teepads on each hole provide a lot of different looks, and change the difficulty as well. Some holes change from straight to hyzer, hyzer to anny, long to short, tunnel to dogleg. Really helps with the variety on some similar holes.
- A few tricky pin locations; #4's in on a stump, #8's is behind some trees, and #15's is tucked left in some bushes.
- Very nice teepads, good baskets, signs would be good if they were there - almost all are missing. Practice basket in front of course. Navigation isn't terrible, but it isn't great either with the missing signs. Map can help the first time through.

Cons:

- Land is almost perfectly flat here, #2 being an exception with a slight, slight uphill slope. With some of the holes being fairly similar already, it can get a little repetitive at times. The landscape doesn't change that much either, kind of one-dimensional in that regard.
- Hole lengths are pretty uniform from the different tees. For instance, the blues range from 265'-360', with one outlier at 420'. Kind of similar from start to finish.

Other Thoughts:

- Not many cons to think of at this course! The different sets of teepads really help to make things different from round to round, such as shorter vs. longer, easier vs. harder, and providing a variety of lines. Some very tight holes with tricky lines, and others that punish errant shots off the tees. My only gripe is that it is fun, but not too exciting.
- The short tees are good for beginners and the longs are tough. Should be a good fit for almost any skill level.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
mndiscg
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.7 years 480 played 477 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Dang Vandals 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 13, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Great scenery with the tall forests, reminiscent of BRP
-3 tees on most every hole. They are of varying difficulty and offer a different angle of shot as well as distance. Tees are also concrete and plenty big.
-Moving pins.
-Nice baskets.
-Space for signage (see cons)
-Map and bulletin board at parking lot. Parking lot is plenty big for the average day to day flow.
-Practice basket.
-Barry Schultz sponsors a hole here!
-Course is shaded and scenic, a bike path runs along the edge. Unless there are lots of other golfers around you will be alone. It is cool to hear the other players hitting the chains through the woods.
-The course designer is good and active in the local dg community and they have a club.
-The designer did good for the land he had to work with. Other than the trees it isn't that good. The course also loops back to the lot after the front 9 so you can play the front 9 or back 9 if you want to.
-It does require a wide variety of shots and more importantly, accuracy. The lines can be tight on this course. If you do hit the lines, the distances allow for some good birdie and ace runs.
-For some reason, the underbrush isn't that thick and I wasn't too afraid to throw around a blind corner.

Cons:

-Every tee has a place for a signage but I think only holes 1,2 and 12 actually had the signage. It made navigation incredibly difficult. On most holes there were lots of paths leading away from the baskets and you couldn't know which one it is on your first time. Then you get to the tee and it isn't marked so you throw to the basket and you might know if it is the right hole if the basket is still marked.
-They could alleviate the signage problem if they put more permanent signs on. It seems like they were just laminated paper stapled to the boards.
-I think vandalism is a problem and has caused the issues in signage.
-Beer cans and other trash laying near tees. The sign at the start of the course written by the designer warns people like this but they seem to not heed the warning.
-The course wasn't very long and although I enjoyed the woods, some holes were too similar. There was also no elevation, water or open holes.
-I played early in the morning so I didn't experience any crowds but I imagine that this course would be very busy. It is the only 18 in town and is more fun than the two 9s.

Other Thoughts:

I would recommend this course and if it had better signage, it would have better flow and if it had those I would give it a 4. It is good in other aspects than that. It is limited by the flat land and water. I wish that the vandalism and trash would stop but I don't know if it will. This course is the 2nd best in the Stevens Point area. Standing Rocks is great and is the best course in the area. McDill is the third best and Mead is last. Even so, I would recommend making a day and playing all of these courses. They are all different and interesting.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 2
AH14203
Experience: 12 years 18 played 4 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Yugla 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 26, 2012 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Great layout, trees make it fun but hard at the same time.
Fun to play from all tees
pins move
some fun long holes to let loose on!!

Cons:

Hard to follow if you havent played there before. would be more helpful if they had some signs up pointing to the next hole so you dont get off track.

Other Thoughts:

Fun Course, would recomend that you play with someone who has played the course before so they can show you where to go. Also try to take a picture of the map to use as a reference. Also if you would want to have fun play all of the tees. it would be great practice and tons of fun
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 4
Kimando
Experience: 2 played 2 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Not too shabby 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 9, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

Good concrete pads. The course was not very busy and easy too find. Discs were easy to find when off course due to the pine needles keeping vegetation down.

Cons:

Not marked well at all. Hole 1 had the sign up explaining the hole, while the other holes had signs down or missing. Broken glass and garbage spewed out on some holes.

Other Thoughts:

Good place to play if you live in the area. Holes are short overall, but some play tough with the large amount of trees and bends.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
bjreagh
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 27.5 years 350 played 317 reviews
3.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 9, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

18 holes set on land solely used for disc golf. It plays back and forth through two distinct types of forests- mostly in a tall pine forest but some in your typical deciduous forest. The baskets are in good condition and each hole has 2-3 possible locations that get moved around offering variety for locals. The holes have a pretty good mix of left, straight, and right with a nice variety of density of trees. The course has 3 sets of tees- blue, white, red- which are the main strength of the course. The distances are not all that different on most, but the angle to the basket is substantially different, and in many cases the shorter tee may not necessarily be the easiest.

This course was really fun, relaxing, and overall enjoyable. It offers enough challenge without being stressfully difficult. The fairways are well-worn and the undergrowth is not thick making it easy to find your disc after errant shots and unfortunate deflections.

Cons:

The tee signs were horrible- most were broken or missing. This is especially bad when there are 3 sets of tees as you don't know which ones are for what hole. In many spots the holes are really close to one another adding to the confusion. Navigation is harder than it should be for this reason and we spent a lot of time wandering down paths only to find a tee with no hole # on it. Not helping this problem are the numerous worn dirt paths that are not the one you want (if in doubt take the most worn one, it is usually the way). This may be because the locals (mainly younger kids and beginners and recreational players of which there were lots there the day I played) appeared to just run around and jump to whatever hole they wanted to play in seemingly random order. I like that the multiple tees played from different angles more so than different distances, but there are many that are blind from the other tee so you have no idea if somebody else is teeing off- makes it difficult if some members in your group are playing from the other, but almost chaotic with other people approaching tees from the other direction blindly out of order and teeing off the same time as you. Also, there are not always 3 tees on each hole. Sometimes the white (middle) tee was the same as the red, sometimes the same as blue, and others by itself.

Not the courses fault, but there is pretty much no elevation and no water, not so much making the holes somewhat repetitive, but more just the fact that these factors are just not present (the kinds of things I expect from a 4.0+ rated course). Also the distance from one hole to the next does not vary drastically.

The parking lot is dirt/gravel and very small. There are no restrooms or water- there was a port-a-pottie though- for restrooms, not water. ;)

Other Thoughts:

This is fun course, geared mainly towards local recreational level players. Experienced disc golfers can enjoy the basic challenges offered here, but should be able to score well. Birdies are possible on many holes, and pars are expected and not too difficult, even from a poor tee shot. This is a nice stop on the way to and from Highbridge, but not a disc golf destination on its own. (I wish we had had time to play Standing Rocks, but having 2 decent courses in the same area is a bonus.)

I think this course has a lot of potential because the land it is on is great for disc golf and the overall hole design is very good. However, there are too many cons and the course is in desperate need of some maintenance- mainly new (more durable) tee signs.

I know many others think this course is a 4.0, but to me it only has the potential to be a weak 4.0. My first thoughts after walking off hole #18 was a strong 2.5- just better than average. After thinking about it a while, I did really like the holes themselves, but it needs more than that to be put into the top 10% of courses I have played. I hope I was able to explain in my Cons why I feel this way. That being said, I liked the course and do recommend it to disc golfers traveling nearby.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 1
harr0140
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 15.2 years 1508 played 475 reviews
4.00 star(s)

YIPEEE for YULGA 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 28, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

1) 3 sets of tees colored red white and blue. Most holes have only 2 tees with red and white sharing or white and blue sharing from time to time, but the course has three different layouts with the 3 tees so that is awesome. The tees completely change the hole too which means this course would play like 2 full 18 hole courses if you play all the tees.

2) Concrete teepads are large and in good shape.

3) White Pines are one of my favorite trees to have on disc golf courses. I love how you can hear the wind blows through them and I love how they look and move in the wind. They also are large trees taking up a lot of space but they also can allow a shot through on occasion.

4) Navigation is fairly intuitive but you might end up at the wrong tee from time ot time if you follow the wrong worn footpath.

5) Red painted practice basket.

6) Benches are available from time to time which is nice. This course is an easy walk but if you are just out for a casual round you can take a breather every once in a while.

7) The course has some interesting holes and I noticed something interesting in the design. It seems to me like the designer really likes the idea of split fairways as this was a design element used on quite a few holes here.

8) The course is as clean as I have ever seen especially considering there are no garbage cans. Finally a course that people can respect to keep clean.

9) Awesome shot shaping on this course with all sorts of trees to work around. There is a tremendous amount of variety in the shots needed including throwing all directions and some straighter shots.

Cons:

1) No elevation change . . . at all.

2) No garbage cans on the course but it was remarkably clean for a course with nowhere to throw trash.

3) Some crossing points where you might get confused on the layout.

4) A few areas where if you don't know the course you might end up going into another fairway or around another tee or green. This could be dangerous but there generally are a lot of things in the way you would need to miss completely to endanger the other people.

5) Bike path runs around the perimeter of the course.

6) Small parking lot wouldn't allow for many people to be here at any one time, unless they allow overflow parking at the DPW lot across the street.

Other Thoughts:

This is just an awesome course, it has a lot of different holes forcing you to throw a lot of different shots. It has an awesome feel to be playing through the dense old Pine trees. It is beautiful and challenging at the same time something that will always bring me back.

I ranked this a 4.00 but it is on the higher end of that range around 4.20 in my opinion, but it lacks a few features that would have gotten it a 4.5 disc rating from me. I will be back many times and I would love to play a tourney here.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
ZMan44
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 19.9 years 179 played 107 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Surprisingly Great 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 9, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

Variation: Yulga is predominantly a shorter course but there are some longer holes. In order to score well you will definitely have to be able to hit your lines and execute different types of shots.

Terrain: Yulga is played throughout a wooded area, but the brush has been cleaned out nicely. Finding errant shots is not difficult, but you are still punished by being off the fairway. I absolutely love this because it speeds up the pace of play and reduces the probability of lost discs.

Amenities: 3 tees per hole makes the course very versatile: Many of the tees were simply set at different angles, which I think is actually better than simply having a "short" tee and a "long" tee. This was my favorite aspect of the course...even though I only got to play it once. For local players, I'll bet this is very helpful.

Cons:

Elevation: This is not the fault of the course designers...but there is no elevation change at all here. The course is set on a flat piece of land. It makes for an easy walk, but it does decrease the challenge.

While this is not technically a con, I will list it here. It can be confusing when different groups are playing different tees. Like I said in the "pros" section, the course is diverse with multple tees...but sometimes you cannot see the different tees. This could be a problem if you are caught by a "one-disc wonder". You could be teeing off and see a disc go flying down the fairway from a different angle. Probably not a major issue, but it could possibly be annoying.

No water on the course...for drinking or for an obstacle. Only bathroom is a port-a-pottie in the parking lot.

Other Thoughts:

When my friends and I were planning our road-trip to Highbridge, we debated and debated over which courses to play. Being from Tennessee, we are not likely to make the trek again. I wanted to play Standing Rocks...and I was stubborn. However, I was over-ruled by the rest who said that after Iowa, Minnesota and Highbridge that we would probably be worn out and ready for a relaxing course. They were right. I was pleasantly surprised, and I recant my grumblings at playing Yulga. I am sure Standing Rocks is also good, but Yulga was definitely what the doctor ordered for that day. It turned out to be one of my favorite courses from the trip.

Overall, I think the course is a 3.5. However, the presence of three tees per hole bumps Yulga up to a 4.0 for me. I absolutely love the versatility and I wish I had a course exactly like this in my area.

If you are in the area, I would definitely recommend Yulga. It is a good place to get in a round that is not to grueling or stressful, but will definitely challenge you. It is an easy walk and a quick play...but not an easy course by any means. If only there was some elevation and water in play, this course would be way up my list. As it is, I am still happy to have Yulga as an "excellent" addition to my list of Played Courses.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 8
ReinZ_96
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 13.6 years 104 played 46 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Very Fun Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Sep 28, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

1) very well maintained and has great drainage
2) multiple lanes to nearly every basket.
3) good mix of open and wooded.
4) multiple tees that are also cement and offer good footing for drives
5) great variation of shots

Cons:

1) tee signs are VERY undestriptive, couldnt find a few baskets.
2) trees are very annoying in the areas where they are planted in perfectly straight rows
3) very little elevation

Other Thoughts:

only played this course once but man do i wish i could go back and play it again. this course was so much fun to play.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Latest posts

Top