• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Why did you start playing disc golf?

How did you first try disc golf?

• Friend: A friend/family member brought me to a course/league.

Votes: 143 70.8%
  • Event: Went to a intro tournament (World's Biggest/Ice Bowl/Ace Race/etc.)

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Course: Saw a course/basket, asked what it was, and went and tried it.

Votes: 34 16.8%
  • Acquaintance: Someone told me about the sport and I gave it a try.

Votes: 20 9.9%
  • Media: I heard about it in the media and went to check it out.

Votes: 4 2.0%
  • Internet: Found out about it online, found a local course and gave it a try.

Votes: 1 0.5%

• Total voters

StevenDodge

Vibram Company Rep
I started playing in 1987 when a cool guy named Kevin Tiernan showed me and my roommate (Jay Boller) how to play. We would play a round of disc golf as much as we could and that was a lot. As soon as I learned to throw the disc flat and straight, I was hooked. And still am!

What got you into the sport?

I started playing in 1985, pedaling my 10-speed around the northern 'burbs of Detroit I ran across Raintree Park and heard the "ching". Went over to ask the guys what they were playing and I've been hooked for 25+ years now.

Still have the first golf disc i bought at that same park a few weeks later. Got my first ace there with that SAME DISC TOO !!

Played my first round in 1993. My cousin was an avid ball golfer and was getting into disc golf. I played two rounds and stopped. I just started playing again last year, when I found a course 10 mins from my house.

I wish I still had those discs from '93, too. Talk about old school!