• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Tips for my wife

ray1970

* Ace Member *
While I've been playing for about five years now, my wife just started playing about three months ago.

For three months in, I think she plays quite well. She putts pretty solid but sometimes she's just a little off and it frustrates her. I would say her max distance is about 260 but she has some inconsistencies off the tee and an average drive is probably around 225 or so. For reference, she is 53, not very athletic these days, and has some knee issues.

Anyhow, I really try and keep her on easier courses with shorter holes to boost her confidence as she develops her game.

Lately she seems to be getting frustrated with her game and I don't want her to give up as she goes all in with everything she does and in her mind she should be much better by now and throwing farther than she does.

I think some of her recent frustration comes from the fact that she mostly plays with me and sometimes with the guys that I normally play with. I think we are all 850-960 rated and have all been playing for 5+ years and are all men.

I want to keep her interested and having fun. I always encourage her and congratulate her on good shots and try to help her with disc and shot selection when she doesn't know what to do.

Sorry for the long post but I'm looking for ideas to keep the game fun for her until she gets her game dialed in and consistent. Bad days and bad rounds have never discouraged me but sometimes it gets to her and I don't want to see her give up on it.

Well, it's a much different situation for me, but relatable. I play a lot of rounds with my 6 year old. What I've done playing with him is develop a handicap system so that we can fairly compete.