• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Appling, GA

IDGC - Jim Warner Memorial

4.215(based on 39 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

IDGC - Jim Warner Memorial reviews

Filter
13 0
dndelli
Gold level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 16.9 years 138 played 134 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Jim Warner Memorial DGC

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 25, 2023 Played the course:once

Pros:

Like the other IDGC courses that Jim Warner Memorial DGC shares property with, it is graced with a pro shop on site, dedicated staff at the facility, practice baskets, an area to warm up drives, plenty of parking, nice tee signs, benches at ever tee, excellent navigational signage, the IDGC center complete with the Ed Headrick Memorial Museum, as well as a tournament pavilion complete with picnic tables, fans, & a vending machine. Those are at least some of the highlights of the IDGC complex as a whole.

The course featured two layouts. The long tees felt appropriately designed that it would test upper intermediate and advanced players. While the short tees seemed designed more for casual or newer players. A variety of shot shapes are required to navigate the technical, wooded fairways. Accuracy is way more important than having elite distance. Every hole felt like birdie or double bogey were in play based on how clean a tee shot was.

The course forms two nine hole loops meeting back near the parking lot. The course utilizes the terrain incredibly well. The front nine has excellent elevation usage, and the back nine turns the dial on elevation all the way up. Standing on Hole 10, it is clear you are in for an even hillier experience than the front nine as you stare down a long, downhill, straight par 4 fairway towards the lake.

Hole 14 is an incredible downhill shot, with a short water carry, through the woods. It is honestly the kind of hole I imagine most players dream of throwing. It is almost impossible to not smile when watching a good drive from the tee.

Hole 18 is an absolute epic, par 4 finishing hole that plays down and up a valley along a narrow fairway.

While the rough was admittedly a little worse than the other two IDGC courses, it still didn't seem like disc loss would be a huge issue.

Cons:

It is heartbreaking to know that the Jim Warner Memorial course is not long for this world. The need to eradicate the infestation of pine beetles in Wildwood Park means the course is going to, in the very least, be forced to undergo a complete redesign from the ground up in the aftermath of the pine trees being cut down.

As stated before, the rough was a little thicker in places on Jim Warner than it was around the other two courses. So players who like to trebuchet their drives and hope they land close to the basket might find it more frustrating to find errant shots than players who are playing for placement.

While the front nine was full of solid golf holes with a lot of excellent elevation usage, it felt noticeably less exciting than the back nine. If the course could have used the front nine to offer a bit more variety, maybe with a couple of more open holes, I think it would have helped the front nine have a more memorable feeling to it compared to the back.

Other Thoughts:

The Jim Warner Memorial DGC was the second course I played on my spontaneous pilgrimage to the IDGC after news broke out that much of Wildwood Park, where the IDGC is located, was going to have the trees cut down in the wake of a Pine Beetle infestation. So the tee signs on the course had been removed and the benches were being dismantled to prepare for the cutting. It definitely seems to live in the shadows of the other IDGC courses, but it is still the caliber of course that is worth traveling in order to play. It just so happens that it shares property with two other amazing tracks.

I think a 4.0 rating feels appropriate for Jim Warner Memorial DGC. If given the opportunity to play this course in the next couple of days before the IDGC courses are closed for tree cutting to begin, jump at the opportunity. If you are the kind of player who prefers to throw discs to baskets in an open field, you may feel the course is a bit suffocating, but will still leave the course with a smile on your face.

Favorite Holes: 8, 10, 14, & 18
Was this review helpful? Yes No
15 0
autocrosscrx
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 7 years 27 played 27 reviews
4.00 star(s)

The other IDCG course

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 19, 2022 Played the course:once

Pros:

- The IDGC facility is amazing. From the beautiful park, to the the hospitality, to the museum/lounge/pro shop, to practice area with multiple baskets and 15/20/25 ft markers for putting, there is minimal risk that you won't find your visit worth it's while.
- Challenging course with great variety.
- Scenic views.
- Great use of elevation.
- Course is well maintained and I'm sure will continue to be improved.

Cons:

- Navigation is a touch tricky, especially compared to WR and Steady Ed.
- For a first play, I found myself getting a touch frustrated by blind shots and non-obvious pin locations that don't show up that great on a sunny fall afternoon. I think this course would be a LOT more fun after a few more plays.
- The elevation can be pretty tiring if it is your 2nd or 3rd round of the day.

Other Thoughts:

Like a lot of people have mentioned, I found Steady Ed to be a lot more fun and WR Jackson to be iconic. That shouldn't be held against Jim Warner. It is a fantastic course.

But really, it is hard to review this course alone because IDGC as a whole is phenomenal and anyone reading this should find a reason to go. And a reason to play all 3 courses.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
21 0
Bennybennybenny
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 13.3 years 306 played 289 reviews
4.00 star(s)

The Element of Air 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 16, 2021 Played the course:once

Pros:

-The dreamer of the three IDGC courses. The course with the most variety in challenge consisting of easy holes and top level pro holes. Consisting of the most elevation that teaches about adaptation to the sensitivity to throwing up and down steep hills. Starts off flat on the first five holes and out of nowhere, the elevation drastically impacts the mien of the Jim Warner course. A visualization of the element of air. It makes you improvise, and the only way to figure this course out is by trial and error. May be a reason why it is the least played of the three courses in tournaments.

-The elevation is superb, making this course stand out in a different way than Steady Ed and WR Jackson. Holes #10-13 all have elevation changes greater than or equal to the holes with the most elevation at Steady Ed. All are past the 35' mark. Probably just past 40'. There are three valley holes (#6, #14, and #18) that are all truly outstanding as well and were all a real joy to play. #14 was the only water hole. The look of this valley hole over an inlet of the lake makes this one the signature hole. It is the most favorited and for great reason. #18 is a true par four. Plays a lot more uphill than downhill but the drive! Man! It's a memorable tee shot down a hill over a ditch! A 617' par four that ends the course on a very high note!

-Chainstar Pro baskets. They aren't as common but they have a great design and appearance and catch well from my experiences with them.

-Really encourages you to capitalize. Especially if you play the short pads. The diversity in challenge is very extreme on the shorts. Nine holes had two sets of pads. The long pads clearly are aimed for advanced level players. The shorts offer more forgiveness on the holes with short pads with par fours under 400' that are simple birdie holes. Even a few holes on the longs are just right in front of you begging to be birdied, like #10 the big downhill 477' par four. However the hole I consider to be the hardest overall is #11, which has one tee pad and one basket position. So whether you play shorts or longs, you will play this hole. A big uphill monster shaped like a question mark almost. It's a 533' par four that would clearly average over par in the open divisions because of the daunting tee shot slicing to the right side up the hill and the tight approach with hardly any room for forgiveness. You'll see many easy birdie opportunities on the shorts that you'll never want to miss, and then you see a monster hole like #11. #15 is the lone par five. Another monster of a hole. Only 690' and effectively 800+ with two right turns, making it a real stationing type hole.

-Many benches throughout the course that allow you to sit and catch your breath. It isn't the hilliest course that I've ever played, but it is tiring for sure and probably in the top three hilliest courses I've played so far in the state of Georgia.

-Well polished fairways, like at Steady Ed. The looks on holes #8 and #18 down clear and wide trails really make memorable appearances and help enhance the overall quality of this course.

-Many "next tee" signs. The flow of Jim Warner gets a little bit confusing. A couple of holes have you crossing over roads so it's nice to have an indication where to go.

-Jim Warner, like the other two has its own entrance with a kiosk and arch you walk under to get to.

-Pro shop has all sorts of disc brands and wide selection of each brand! Several practice baskets of different brands by the pro shop. Scorecards are available with course maps in case you don't have U disc.

Cons:

-The rough gets messy on some holes. I had a bad tee shot on #9 and had a hard time finding my disc in the rough to the left, even though it wasn't far in there. It's hard to get out of trouble here. It isn't really hard to escape trouble at Steady Ed, but there are spots at Jim Warner where it's difficult to even spot your disc.

-Doesn't seem to have a particular target audience on the short pads. The longs seem to be a clear "blue level" course where even is about 950-955 rated. #11 is more than tough enough to be one of the holes at WR Jackson and that hole doesn't have a short pad. Neither does #15. On the other hand, there are many short and easy par 4s. #12 is listed as a par four and it's a simple downhill straight hole from the short. It's clearly a par three. The long pad is a very difficult 430' par three down a narrow fairway. Loved this hole from both pads but should play a stroke over par from the short. Illogical.

Other Thoughts:

-Jim Warner is an excellent course. The elevation made me enjoy the back nine a little more. On the front nine, I loved holes #6 and #8. #6 was a blast to me because it was a perfect hole for a backhand thrower to throw a truth on. The fairway creates a tight gap on the right side that makes a slower speed disc ideal in order to hit the right side gap over the small ravine. #8's overall look shows how well this course is kept. The fairway is long and grassy and takes you to the woods on the left. The basket is well guarded by trees and makes you be creative in order to birdie.

-The back nine takes you across the road near the Steady Ed course. You see hole #10 and see that Jim Warner really is comparable to Steady Ed. #10 is an awesome long downhill par four that's effectively reachable since it's down probably more than 40 feet. There are a few middle trees you have to dodge in order to have a long drive on this hole and have a look for eagle. You'll really need this birdie because #11 is probably the hardest hole. That one or hole #12 on the long. It's a brutal, yet wonderfully designed pro par three with another big drop in elevation. Probably 40' on this one too. This course is all wooded but it still changes its look. It has a lot of variety that can take you by surprise. Come to Jim Warner prepared because it'll throw its curveballs at you. Many par fours and one par five with different demands. It's not easy on first timers but it's a real blast!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
16 0
BigAl724
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 11.8 years 179 played 144 reviews
4.00 star(s)

I’ll take having this be the third best course on a property 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 5, 2020 Played the course:once

Pros:

Jim Warner is probably the "least cool" course at the IDGC. It doesn't have as much character as the other two (those being insane championship level and super fun), but it still matched my expectations. One of the greatest aspects of the IDGC are the distinctions between all three courses.

Without knowing as much about Warner going in, it has two distinct sections to it. The front 9 has North Carolina-esqe wooded holes. The shots are tight with slightly less forgiving rough than the other courses, while still being fair. Nothing crazy, but some fun holes.

These include real fun shots blind shots, some with large ditches mid-fairway and near the basket to contend with. They also at times offer sneaky elevation changes with a mix of downhill or down then uphill shots. Holes 3 and 6 were the highlights for me.

The back 9 is where it does get crazy. As expected as the front 9 felt, the back 9 were a pleasant surprise that included some extreme elevation changes. They play closer to Steady Ed and the lake, and feel vastly different than the front 9 - offering great variety.

10-13 rotate from extreme downhill to extreme uphill shots. Then 14 comes. I don't know if I've ever stood longer at a tee debating what and when to throw. The only others I can think of are Selah Lakside 7 and Peregrine Point 3. Partly, yes, because I'm a wimp but also because there's really only one route to take. Miss the shot and most likely will be adding multiple shots to your score.

15 is another fantastic hole, and one of the most memorable ones at IDGC (that's saying something). I'll even put it up there with some of the crazier holes I've played; reminds me of a few at Paw Paw. It is a true par 5 with long windy fairways, and multiple elevation changes and creek crossings.

Cons:

There is not a lot "wrong" here. It's a well-balanced course with a few very memorable holes. It doesn't quite have the fun-factor as Steady Ed or the championship caliber as WR Jackson. It has the lesser versions of both of those aspects, but is still a very solid course.

Not a lot around the area - on our 30 minute drive from our hotel off I-20, all we saw was maybe a gas station and a food truck. Come prepared. Unfortunately, the pro shop was closed when we played there, but I'm sure it's a nice bonus on top of playing the courses.

Other Thoughts:

The IDGC is one of the greatest disc golf destinations in the world. Coming in with very high expectations, all three courses surpassed them to some degree. The price is well worth it, truly a steal for what you get.

We took our time play Steady Ed and then WR Jackson on day 1, then started the next day playing Jim Warner. I think that is a good order to play them in, though would maybe put this one first if playing all three in the same day. Again, this is an incredible destination, and I can't wait to return.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
17 0
Shadrach3
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 5.7 years 321 played 314 reviews
4.00 star(s)

A Standard for Tight Woods Holes 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:May 22, 2020 Played the course:once

Pros:

A very wooded 18 holes worthy of the IDGC.

-Amenities: Top notch, like other IDGC courses. Concrete tees, very descriptive signage for the back tees (not the fronts), plenty of benches, at least a dozen practice baskets, perfectly maintained Chainstars, several next tee signs. Normally the pro shop/museum is open, but wasn't for my trip during coronavirus.

-Terrain/Beauty: A beautiful plot. The first 9 are heavily wooded with some hills, but things really ramp up on the back nine, which play down towards and around the lake. I couldn't play Steady Ed on the day I went, but I would guess that Warner places lower than it and higher than Jackson.

-Elevation: Great use throughout the course. The (10)-(15) region presents an especially brutal workout, but makes the disc-throwing very exciting.

-Shot Shaping/Variety: Warner may be a one-trick pony, but it sure is a pretty great trick with many variations. There is just about every imaginable kind of hole that uses thick woods here. Up, down, flat; left, right, straight; turning, dogleg, pocket; par-3, par-4, par-5; Warner's got it. A sampling of holes includes a straight shot over a creek valley on (6), the downhill-to-left-pocket par-4 (8), a stunning downhill run straight to the water on (12), a cliff-shot to a green just on the other side of an inlet on (14), and a winding, uphill, 619' par-5 beast on (15). Again, just some really excellent woods holes throughout.

-Challenge: The distance may not be as huge as on Jackson, but the thick woods covering renders Warner a high-advanced if not championship-level challenge. Scrambling will be a Herculean endeavor for many lacking tee shots.

-9 & 9: You could just do 9 holes if you're tired, or fed up with hitting trees, or the sun sets.

Cons:

-Navigation: I had some trouble right near the beginning, after hole 2 I think. Because it plays near Jackson, the next tee path goes two directions (one is towards Warner 3, one is towards Jackson). Turn left. Also, the (9)-(10) transition is very long. Follow the road back to the parking area, and tee (10) is near the start of the Steady Ed course.

-Forgiveness: There may be some to be found at Warner, but not a lot. I wasn't on my game the morning I played, and it cost me a lot of strokes. Stay away if you dislike hitting trees and/or have release point issues. My partner and I were both relieved to follow up this scramble-fest with Jackson, which has a little more room for left-right error.

-Workout: With the steep hills, Warner can begin to be a bit of a slog.

-Disc Loss: It would be possible to lose something in the rough, and also in the inlet of (14) or possibly (15).

-Pay-to-play: The combined greens fee and vehicle entry was no more than $10 (I think $8 for PDGA members). That's a pretty reasonable price just for Warner, but it includes Headrick and my favorite course, Jackson, which makes for a sweet deal.

Other Thoughts:

This is a pristine example of a challenging course in the thick woods. The only reason I leave Warner at Excellent is that 18 holes of woods golf begins to get repetitive. It's not boring, but it can be beleaguering. Perhaps in time I'll come to see it as Phenomenal, but for now I still recommend it as a high-quality track.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
28 0
wellsbranch250
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 10.4 years 662 played 643 reviews
4.00 star(s)

The Start Of My Best 5 Hours Of Disc Golf. 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 22, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

(4.204 Rating) A stunning medium length technical course.
- UNIQUENESS - The variety on the Warner layout is way up there in my personal rankings. Great use of elevation with up shots, down shots and valley shots. The course is mostly heavily wooded, but several of the longer holes are 30 feet wide or more and feel closer to the moderately wooded moniker. Water comes into gut checking play once with mild clear through some trees. I do however wish (10) and (12) had basket placements further down the slope and closer to the water's edge. Several par 4s and one par 5. Lots of guarded basket placements with pockets and windows to hit. There's not much missing here other than open plays. It's a great mix and it will be cherished by those that like longer technical holes.
- RAW BEAUTY - Full of pleasing fairway lines worthy of snapping a photo. Like the other two courses, Warned is a fully wooded gem with plenty of elevation change. I think the clear pageant favorite is (14). Not only does this hole have part of Clarke Hills Lake in play, it's a valley shot with a framed tee box shot and down fairway tunnel to split. I also very much enjoyed the tee shot look on (6), which is another valley shot, but this one is over a headwater creek that breaks left to one of three basket placements.
- CHALLENGING - The second most challenging layout at the IDGC offering Advanced level plays with a few shorter tees dialing it back to Intermediate level. I peaked at some recent rated rounds from a tourney and noted that an even par was drawing a 951 rated round. The back layout requires players to be precise, but also requires a few controlled 450 foot bombs down 30 foot wide fairways. I personally thought the front tees put my Intermediate level skills to test.
- NAVIGATION - A great large course map posted at the entrance of the layout. The baskets have neat navigational arrows slipped around the polls. There are navigational posts between most baskets and next tees. My only grip is that I wish the navigational posts had tee #'s indicated on them rather than just stating "Next tee."
- FACILITES - The extras away from the course are over the top. I guess that seems fitting for the PDGA headquarters. There's a huge pro shop. A comfortable air conditioned lounge area. A museum with one of Headrick's ash infused discs. There's vending and grills, a huge shelter, picnic tables and 5 practice basket in a warm-up field. The combination of all of these features on and off the course very much added to my experience.
- CHARACTER - In addition to navigation and facilities, the on the course basics and extras are above average. The tees are great. 4 feet by 12 feet and tapering to 6 feet wide in the back. Eight holes have multiple tee pads and seating is on every hole. Just about every tee pad was shaded as well. The baskets are adequate, Chainstars and six holes had multiple basket placements.
- MAINTENANCE - The whole IDGC is in wonderful shape. It appears crews rotate maintenance between the courses, so it's hard to imagine that one could show up here with horrible unkempt fairways unless continuous rains kept mowing from occurring weeks on end.
- LOCATION - 54 high quality holes in one location. This place is a whole day destination.

Cons:

The issue are basically limited to preferential things.
- FORGIVENESS - Although short enough for Recreational players, for those that can't hit 15 to 30 foot lanes consistently, this course can become very self-defeating at times. In addition, regardless of skill level, players will hit trees many times out here. When there's a ricochet in the wrong direction, scrambling for par may take a miracle. The fringes don't really have any insane overgrowth areas but it's still thick enough to require some searching from time to time.
- PAY TO PLAY - I want to say I paid three dollars for the general park entrance fee and another three bucks for my greens fee as I'm a PDGA members. (Non-PDGA members have higher greens fees.) 100 percent worth it for this course by itself.
- TERRAIN - Players that have bad knees or ankles should probably avoid coming to the IDGC. There are lots of undulations in the fairways and I also personally smacked a couple smaller stumps and tree roots. The Warner layout does appear to be somewhat cart friendly, so a Zuca should work well out here.
- TIME PLAY - I finished my solo short tee round in about 80 minutes which is a bit longer than the average course. Figure a group of four will be in at around 2 1/2 to 3 hours.

Other Thoughts:

Put the Warner layout just about anywhere in the country and it will draw in people in droves. It's beautiful, challenging and full of hole variety. This stated, it was honestly my least favorite of the highly enjoyable trio at the IDGC. Warner is neither the gold level challenge of Jackson, nor the super eclectic fun mix of shots seen on the Headrick course. Rather, it's a mix of both elements just dialed back a bit. Despite my slightly overall lower rating compared to both Jackson and Headrick, Jim Warner is a can't miss course in its own right. Players should plan for 5 hours here solo to hit all 3 courses and up to 10 hours here if with a group of 4 players.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
21 0
blake833
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.1 years 160 played 140 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Awkward Middle Child 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 11, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

There is nothing new I can say about this course that hasn't already been said by reviews more experienced and skillful than I. Let me hit some of the highlights for ya:

The IDGC is nestled back in Wildwood park, bordering Clarks Hill Lake. Warner doesn't see the lake often, but the back 9 starts off by the water and plays with some of the creeks a bit. The elevation back here can be extreme, and if you're into throwing straight up and down hills, this will be your favorite section of the IDGC.

The baskets on this course are so much better than Headrick. it was a great relief. The tees are grippy concrete, and the signs are great. On a course with multiple pins and blind throws off the tee, they help a lot. Especially when the baskets are consistently in one position or the other.

The obvious: the hole design is pretty various and fantastic. The pro shop on site is a luxury. There are so many fun holes on this course, and you can lose sight of that in the middle of what is the tightest and can be the most frustrating course of the three.

Cons:

Not having the raw fun-factor of Headrick, or the championship caliber epicness of Hendricks, Warner is just kind of there as the Jan Brady of the three courses: that awkward middle child who's really not bad at all but is pretty much out-shined by the charisma of her siblings.

The fairways here are just a little tighter. The elevation is a little steeper. And that really is what knocks this rating down for me: I tire very quickly on courses that just lay the holes up and down hills for 5 or six holes in a row. It's exhausting.

A good rule of thumb in course design is the longer a hole, the wider the fairway. Sometimes on this course, even on the elevation holes, you had to hit some TIGHT gaps at a pretty long distance. I don't mind a little challenge, but I want to be out on the course for a good time not a long time, and I was on this course for a looong time.

Other Thoughts:

I fell in love with the IDGC. Playing these courses reminded of some of my favorite hikes, or backpacking trips through the mountains. Part of me was looking for good campsites by the water. But this was better because I wasn't carrying 55lbs and I was playing disc golf with one of my best friends, which could be a pro or con depending on who's winning :)

But there's nothing like playing at the Disc Golf capital. Warner may not be my favorite course, but you still gotta play it. I don't think anyone could go to this facility and regret it
Was this review helpful? Yes No
12 1
thrembo
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 49.1 years 242 played 195 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Oh My! 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Apr 17, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

The hilliest of the three courses here, and the most fun in my opinion. Extreme elevation changes have you throwing up and down massive hills and across spectacular valleys. All set in a wonderful wooded area. The course is very challenging, even from the red tees. Real par fours (one or two could have been par fives in my opinion). Two sets of very nice concrete tees and very nice tee signage. Plenty of next tee signs make navigation very easy.

A nice pro shop, disc golf hall of fame and museum, and two more 18 hole courses on site. $5.00 per car entrance fee and $5.00 per person to play (all three courses for all day. $3.00 for current PDGA members and locals) which is a bargain for this facility.

Cons:

Nitpicking time. No trash cans on the course. Only simple benches on the course. A picnic table every few holes would be welcome. The navigation does get a little weird on the front nine in places but the map does help. There are some blind pin placements that will force first timers down the fairways to locate them.

Other Thoughts:

Wow, what a course though! Wear your sturdy hiking shoes and prepare for some serious climbs. It isn't quite as severe as Canopy Tours, but close. Those with weak constitutions might want to avoid this one. New/rec players might be overwhelmed. This is a five-star facility and every disc golfer should put this place on their bucket list!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
12 0
djtripp20
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 10.3 years 60 played 36 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Another great IDGC course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 8, 2017 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Jim Warner is the "intermediate" course at the IDGC, and it has a lot going for it. There is TONS of elevation here, and much of it comes into relevant play during your round. Be prepare to throw uphill on drives, downhill on drives, uphill putts, over valleys, etc. Some tight tunnel drives are mixed with big dogleg fairways. Overall, great course.

And the other stuff to make a great facility:

- Dedicated staff at facility
- Pro shop on site
- Plentiful parking
- Maintained grounds
- Tee signs on each hole
- Next tee direction markers after each basket
- Benches and shade coverings if waiting at teepad
- Practice area for putting and approaches
- Scorecards, etc available in pro shop

Cons:

There's not much to say bad about this course other than it's just not as memorable as the other two. By itself, it's a phenomenal course... but by comparison it's hard to remember more than a few of the holes. Just be prepared to walk up and down hills A LOT. You may also come across some wildlife such as snakes and spiders out there.

Other Thoughts:

This is one course of three at the IDGC... and like I said above... probably the middle in terms of difficulty. The entire facility is great. It's definitely worth a visit if you're in the Augusta area. To make it a real adventure, camp in Wildwood Park (where the course is located). Reservations can be made online.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
13 0
Chained Evil
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14 years 1116 played 232 reviews
4.50 star(s)

A great test in the woods 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 21, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

This course offers great lines that will challenge your shot shaping abilities as well as your mental game.
The elevation is excellent and only adds to the complexity of the course. Low ceiling shots are accounted for here and some holes have protected baskets. Dog leg L and R playing holes and there is a solid mix of short, moderate, and longer holes as well. There were a couple of holes in which would could come into play to add to the challenge of the round.
Tee pads are ample providing for a proper run up and the signage was excellent as well. Directional arrows to keep you headed in the correct direction.
Multiple pin placements to keep things from getting stale.
DGA Chainstar baskets did a great job of catching.
Some of the holes had alt tee pads to provide you will a different look.
Benches could be found throughout the course and some baskets had flags on top so you could see the pin from the tee pad. Bridges in the correct places to assist you in crossing the creeks.

Cons:

The transition from hole 9's basket to 10's tee was rather long and slowed the flow of the round down a bit. I would suggest taking a copy of the map to avoid confusion.
Also the footing in spots could become and issue due to the elevation and the rockiness of the soil.
These are minor cons.

Other Thoughts:

This is one of 3 courses that can be found at the International Disc Golf Center. It is pay to play, $3, and is the bargain of the year and totally worth it. IMO this course has the most elevation of the 3 courses on the complex. I have played several courses over the years and this course was one of the best challenges that I have faced to date. I loved the variance in the elevation changes and the technical shots that each hole presented.
I found myself being challenged both mentally and physically and I didn't mind one bit. I would drive back from Kansas in a heartbeat to play any one of these 3 courses.
Do yourself a favor and plan a trip to the IDGC and play all 3 of the courses in this complex. Make a day of it and tour the Disc Golf Hall of Fame and PDGA headquarters which are on site. If you love quality disc golf and the history of the game then this place will be heaven to you. I can't wait until I can return someday and relive this experience. So worth it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 4
ROTFLandmines
Experience: 14 years 15 played 11 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Worth a trip to play 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 2, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

A lot of elevation changes

Other Thoughts:

Just as everyone else has said, the IDGC has a wonderful atmosphere and a lot of great amenities that most courses will not be able to offer. That being said, I put this course in the middle of the three available. It has a lot of elevation changes, and i enjoyed that a lot. Definitely worth taking the trip
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
lazrman778
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 13.3 years 264 played 100 reviews
4.00 star(s)

IDGC - Jim Warner Memorial 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 16, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

Has concrete tee pads with notches carved across

Has benches throughout the course

Has tee signs

Some holes have alternate basket placements

Has next tee signs posted throughout

Mostly wooded than open fairways with doglegs and significant elevations

Challenging, long course with variety of pars

Water comes into play on a few of the holes where there are opportunities to lose discs but the current drought has significantly reduced the water levels of the lake and creeks for that not to be a concern

Has two loops of the front and back nines

Well-maintained

Has practice baskets from different manufacturers

Cons:

Chainstar baskets are difficult to locate on most holes

Course layout felt repetitive especially playing the back nine - going downhill and going uphill, repeat and then playing across the gully for a few holes

Pay to play but worth it

Other Thoughts:

This is the second of the three challenging scenic courses at IDGC that I enjoyed playing. This course is the one that I enjoyed the least as the layout seems repetitive especially playing the back nine - going downhill and going uphill, repeat and then playing across the gully for a few holes. The course is also less forgiving with its narrow fairways if you make any errant shots and emphasizes on control to shoot a low score. Like the Steady Ed course, this course also takes advantage of its hilly terrain to make it challenging. The Chainstar baskets were in nice condition but they are hard to locate on most holes. It would be nice if IDGC could paint the baskets a color that's easy to spot. I did notice that they painted the tee sign holders and posts orange so maybe they will apply that same color to the baskets someday. All in all, very challenging to play this course after playing Steady Ed on the same day. The pay to play can dissuade some from playing but I have paid more to play a less enjoyable course before. $3 to enter the park and $3 for a PDGA member to play all day is a bargain! In the clubhouse, the pro shop sells discs from many manufacturers as well as issue out course maps and scorecards with the highlighted current pin positions. Along with the pro shop, there is a snack machine, breakroom, restrooms, and the Hall of Fame all inside the clubhouse operating from 9am-5pm. A soda machine is located outside the clubhouse underneath the pavilion nearby. Playing this course and one of the other two on the same day makes a nice day trip.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 2
Moose33
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 12.5 years 219 played 216 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Challenging but fair 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 6, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

One of the three excellent courses at the IDGC and possibly my favorite.

The teepads are very highly textured both on the long black tees and the shorter red tees.

Baskets are chainstars and they are fine, balanced well and catch nicely, most have a flag on the top which makes the all silver bakset easier to find on a wooded course.

Maintenance is meticulous, pads were clear paths were safe. There is work done here.

There are two pin placements for a total of 4 possible configurations of the course.

Really nice mix of elevation and heavily woods a little water and overall some great golf out there.

Course is medium long but the mix is good and fair, so newer players would find it hard but not punishing. Experienced players would have a challenge but one you can handle.

Cons:

Long walk between 9-10 stood out.

If the flags weren't on the baskets it's hard to see them.

Really heavily wooded and there is not one open hole so it can get slightly repetitive.

Other Thoughts:

This one might have been my IDGC MVP. Really want to get back and play it again.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 0
prerube
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 17 years 275 played 236 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Solid course. 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 25, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

Huge variety. I started out thinking this is a simple par 3 pitch and putt and it changed quickly. The course lulls you into a false sense of security with 2 simple holes before each difficult hole.

This course is definately the step child of the other 2 courses. It does not have the fun factor that the Headrick course had or the challenge of W.R Jackson. But if this course were located in your neighborhood park it would probably rate between 3.5-4 stars. Once you add in the pro shop, museum, other 2 courses on premises, powerade vending machine, paper map and score card given, and other amenities offered, this course deserves the 4.5 rating.

Cons:

There was a little confusion from hole 9 to hole 10

Lots of blind baskets.

paying to enter and paying to play is a con, but the fee is modest and worth it.

Other Thoughts:

It kind of felt like a normal course plugged in between 2 giants.

If this course did not have the IDGC amenities, It would still be great, but closer to a 4 star course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
15 0
markmcc
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 12.1 years 278 played 254 reviews
4.50 star(s)

The Third Sister 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 2, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

This is considered the "middle" course at IDGC. It doesn't have the epic length of the Jackson course, nor the water carries and "fun" holes of the Steady Ed Course. So I found it to be the most typical of the three courses, and that is not a bad thing at all.

I was told at the Pro Shop that this was the hilly course, but after nine holes I wasn't convinced. I played this course last and wasn't finding it to be significantly more hilly than the other two. Until Hole 10.

Hole 10 begins a string of holes that plays down and back up a large hill that runs down to the lake. The elevation difference is significant and makes the holes play much shorter or longer than their stated distance.

Hole lengths vary from 231' to the 690'. Hole 15 plays longer than 690' because it is significantly uphill and and it is the sole par 5 on this course.

Only Hole 14 brings the lake into play by requiring a drive across a shallow cove. The carry is modest, but trees on the far bank are ready to knock your drive back into the water. This happened to me, but the water is clear and I was able to easily recover the disc with my Golden Retriever.

Two tees per hole. I played from the longs and enjoyed the excellent concrete tee pads. Tee signs were the usual quality Houck signs with excellent graphics and hole information. Baskets were in good shape and caught well. Numerous next tee indicators and well worn paths make navigation simple.

The course is set up as two nine-hole loops so a return to the parking lot mid-round is easy.

Cons:

This is a very solid course, but it lacks the uniqueness that would make it a 5 for me. In many other places this course would stand out as the best, but at IDGC it has some fierce competition.

Other Thoughts:

Great pro shop on site, along with the PDGA museum and hall of fame. The location itself (Wildwood Park) is a great place to camp. We spent four nights here and enjoyed ourselves.

The modest fee to play ($3 a day for PDGA members) is more than fair, considering how nice these courses are.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
17 0
DiscGolfCraig
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 20 years 605 played 550 reviews
4.00 star(s)

The IDGC's Third Tenor 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 5, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

Jim Warner is the 'other' course at the IDGC. While Jackson is the 'epic' course and Steady Ed is the 'fun' course, Warner, in Seinfeld-ese, is the third tenor.
- With all regards to Ed Headrick, Warner is actually the steadiest of the three courses. It's not flashy, just consistently excellent throughout. I wasn't blown away by any amazing hole layouts, but was deeply impressed with how good-to-great each hole is designed.
- Accuracy is crucial at J-Dub. The fairways are a little tighter than at Jackson (and the rough seemed a little tougher as well) and the holes are longer than at Steady Ed. If you can't keep your disc in the fairway here, you're really going to struggle. If you can throw 350 feet and straight, you'll be in great shape. If not, it's probably better to throw 275 and straight than 350 and be deep in the woods.
- Great use of terrain. I really enjoyed the elevation these holes had to offer. #10 was a great, long downhill par 4, at 477 feet. It's somewhat similar to #1 at Steady Ed (long basket location). Great way to begin the back 9. #15 and 18 were the closest to this course's 'epic' holes. Both are long, uphill layouts, #15 at 690 feet and 18 at 617 feet, which obviously play much longer. You're either thankful they saved these beasts until the end of the round, or are already totally exhausted by this point, and dread having to attempt surviving them.
- Warner forces you to take advantage of the easier holes. There are five holes (from the long tees), shorter than 300 feet, and all are birdie-able, especially by IDGC standards. Or, like me, you're just pleased to finally get an easy 3 in order to slow the bleeding.
- Very solid variety throughout the course. I mentioned the elevation, which Warner seemed to take best advantage of. This is most wooded of the three courses, so, other than #8, good luck finding the green stuff. There's a great blend of layouts, challenges and lengths. Even with the 5 'shorter' holes, the average hole length is still 413 feet from the longs. The shorter tees come in at just under 352 feet, and can take a bite off some of the more challenging holes. Also, at a par 63, you get your mix of par 3s, 4s and 5s.
- The course rewards smart shot making. The risk/reward scale tilts heavily towards the risk side, so throughout your round, playing conservatively is the right choice. You get a taste of that on back-to-back holes - #8 & 9. Both are 550 feet plus, with #8 playing long and straight for 80% and then having a sharp dogleg to an opening in the woods to the left. You can be aggressive and try to get to the basket with your second shot. If you miss it, however, you could be deep in the woods and taking several shots to get out. On #9, you have a narrow gap to shoot through partway down the fairway. Clear it with a smart, well-placed shot, and you're doing well. Miss the gap, and you're wasting strokes to get back to the fairway.

Cons:

The grind here is brutal, both physically and mentally. Jackson plays longer, but has more forgiving fairways, giving you a little margin for error. Warner makes you be on your game, which can wear a player down. Regardless, whatever course you play last, you'll be hurting by the end.
- This course seemed to have the least amount of variety of the three IDGC layouts. For a wooded course, it's great variety, which is why I listed that as a pro. Compared to Jackson and Steady Ed, which featured great variety with open and beach holes, Jackson is "only" a wooded course. Now, if you want an exclusively heavily wooded course, you'll probably like this one best. I'm sure also playing this course last, when I was running on fumes also contributed to the course handing me my lunch.
- There's a definite 'lost disc' factor here. Throwing long shots on heavily wooded holes means you'll probably get a horrible kick off a tree, deep into the woods. Along those lines, this could be a tricky course to play in the fall, right after the leaves are off the trees, making the 'lost disc' factor really shoot up.
- This is going to be a copy and paste comment for all three IDGC courses. The overall difficult of the courses, terrain and elements are going to be a negative for some players. Basically, if you're not a good enough player, you should not play here. Know what you're getting into before you tackle this three-headed monster.
- Another copy and paste note. These courses probably present a higher than normal 'lost disc' factor. For errant throws, be prepared to spend considerable time searching or be prepared that you might lose a disc or two while playing.
- Final copy and paste note. Be prepared when playing. Pack plenty of food, water, bug spray and other essentials. You can purchase some items inside the center. Besides that there's one gas station a mile from the park. After that, it's another 15 minutes back towards Augusta and restaurants, gas stations, etc.

Other Thoughts:

Jim Warner feels like the course that gets the most overlooked. It feels like it suffers from middle-child syndrome. Jackson is the oldest child, the overachiever. Steady Ed is the youngest, the wild child. Then you have Warner right there in the middle, trying to create its own identity without having any of the flair of the others. Take Warner out of the IDGC and place it somewhere else, and it'd be a 'must play.'
- Warner does get increasingly tough throughout the round. The front nine is overall 'easier' with the back end just being brutal. In that regard, the course reminded me of a layout you'd see at a golf tournament, especially at the U.S. Open, when you see the top players hanging on for dear life in the closing holes. At least Warner does give you two shorter holes on #16 & 17, between the two killers.
- The course does offer a number of holes with shorter tees. Really thought, what fun is that? Taking your beating like a man. At least then, you can convince yourself your round could have been better if you played the shorts.
- The back nine feels like you're going up and down hills on every hole. #10 is a great downhill, 11 is a long uphill gauntlet, 12 is back downhill, and so it continues on. As if it weren't tough enough already.
- This was the only course I felt I had played in some regards before. I kept thinking Nevin in Charlotte when I played this course. Granted Warner did have more elevation, but Nevin makes up for that with tighter fairways. And maybe because Warner had a comp, it didn't wow me as much as the others, both of which felt truly unique.
- All that said, this is still a great course. It just so happens two more elite courses are on the same property. And that's a great thing for the disc golf community.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 5
Peter S
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 30.1 years 165 played 32 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Jim Warner 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Apr 30, 2014 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Challenging with many long S shots. Lots of elevation to bomb a sky roller, thumber or any trick shot you have. I had my best round ever on my most recent trip. However, Jim Warner is just so huge, long and steep it can wear you down. The fairways on some of the long holes seem plenty wide and I had some great long throws & hit intended landing spots and I would feel great about myself but by the time I would climb up the steep hills to my next shot I found myself missing putts that I should make. The courses at IDGC are just known for zapping the strength & concentration right out of you. Even the short holes place baskets on steep fast greens forcing the perfect shot to match the angle of the hill to stick. Manage that and you still have to find the perfect putting stance on a knife edge and stick a putt. You better have all the putting stances on you bag.

Cons:

Very thick tick infested woods in some spots. Thin on next tee signs in some areas.

Other Thoughts:

Often reviews say you have to throw every disc in your bag. I carried 20 discs and for what seems like the first time I actually used every single disc I brought. Not only that, I used every shot in my skill set.

Make sure your dog's tick meds are up to date if you bring Fido. We brought our dog who is on tick meds and were picking them him after the round. Found one in his paw when we got home. Who knows how many are in my car & bag? I did rate a 4. However, could easy be a 4.5 in winter when bugs are down and lines are more visible.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
11 0
reposado
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 13 years 278 played 276 reviews
4.00 star(s)

An Up and Down Charmer 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 26, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

If there is one hole that I will remember from the entire IDGC, it is 14 on Warner. The fairway runs downward through a narrow tunnel but the throw needs to stay level as to land high on the other side of the valley. In the middle, a wide stretch of shallow water. If there is stretch of holes that I enjoyed the most at the complex, it's 14-18 here. With the exception of 17, that's four holes that cross the stream, dry creek bed or inlet. 18 is an uphill slog that makes a great finish to the course and for me a great finish to the day.

I think in the end that Jim Warner was my favorite of the three courses, and the reason is entirely the elevation. Most of the hills are strongly uphill or downhill and some, like 14, have a heaping portion of both. There's not as much length as WR Jackson, and it doesn't have as much water as Steady Ed, but it has a little of both and it sets it all against a hilly backdrop. In some ways, it's not as flashy, and perhaps it doesn't have as much challenge, but it's undeniably a solid, solid course that knows what it wants to be and comes closer to the goal than either of the other two.

I can see this course being overlooked at the complex. It was an afterthought for me. An if-I-have-time course at the end of a long day. It's the lowest rated and on paper it seems so standard. For someone familiar with Carolina courses, it looks in pictures to be a standard woods course. And it is that, but it's just really well done throughout. The fairways hit that balance of tough and fair perfectly. The shape of the holes is varied and frequently clever. And with the hills, this is just a real solid play. It's the type of course that I'm glad I traveled to play, but also one I could play on a regular basis.

Cons:

It doesn't "go for" as much as the other two courses on site. It doesn't have the multiple paths to the basket that WR Jackson has. It doesn't have the length. It's not quite as challenging. And though there is the stream in play, there's only the one actual carry. It's not championship-caliber the way that Jackson is and the way that Headrick might be to the long pins.

The baskets are inferior to those on the other courses on-site. After playing to the blue baskets on Headrick and the towards the yellow bands of the Jackson course, it can be really tough to spot the plain grey baskets among the trees and branches.

Other Thoughts:

All three of the IDGC courses are top notch. Picking a favorite is tough. They all have their own unique qualities and each excel at something. But forced to choose, I think Jim Warner is the course I'd be most anxious to play again.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 2
sgamerp
Gold level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 16.2 years 103 played 73 reviews
4.00 star(s)

the Middle Brother 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 19, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

As most people have said this course along with all the other courses on this land have the basics plus. Great Signs, Lots of benches, huge practice area, pro shop, grills before the course, maps/scorecards for all the courses and a power aid vending machine.

But lets get to this course itself.

If the three of these courses were a family, I think this would be the middle brother. It's kind of long, but not too long. Has the best elevation of all the courses, but seems to be a bit similar to both of the courses.

Two sets of tee pads(on most holes) which makes it nice. We place a lot of the shorts and a few of the longs to not get to beat up this weekend.

in the middle of the round you get a chance to get back to the parking lot, makes it nice as you may need to fill up water or anything else.


Cons:

For a gold Caliber course, there were no trash cans on the course.

Some people may not like all the up and down of the course,

I think this had the least amount of seating around the park of the three courses.

Other Thoughts:

The other two courses at IDGC is the biggest flaw to this course as this is just kind of the MEH of the three of them, that being said it's still a great course.

I came down here for a camping trip in the park and a meet up and it was well worth it to fly from Michigan and play this.

A small issue for some is that there is no drinking on the course, which isn't horrible, but needs to be known.

The Pro Shop is great, but for some people may make you spend more money then you need too.

The whole course is for sure a huge destination to come to all three of these, and depending where you come in, there are plenty of nice courses within a few hours.

______________________________________
If you do not like my review, please give me a PM on what I can improve. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
19 0
DavidSauls
Gold level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 29 years 131 played 68 reviews
4.00 star(s)

(Though my aching legs would give it a 2.0) 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 1, 2013 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

It goes without saying but, being at the IDGC with all the amenities and other stellar courses on site, is a big plus before you ever start.

The Warner course has the most elevation of the three. Holes that throw down huge hills. Holes that go back up big hills. And holes that do both. (The first two level holes are just to sucker you in).

It also has very clearly defined fairways. Not as tight, threading through trees as many are on the neighboring Headrick course.

The two nine-hole loops get you back to the parking lot midway through the round, or allow you to mix-&-match with the two loops of the Jackson course, or the closest 9 holes on the Headrick course.

The holes are consistently good. Not a bad or filler hole in the bunch. And, with perhaps 1 or 2 exceptions, they're so varied that you don't get to a hole and think, "This reminds me of...."

And the Warner course is perhaps the most scenic of the 3, set among towering deciduous trees instead of the upland pine forest.

Cons:

Perhaps the uphill & downhill is a little too much of a good thing. There comes a time when you wish a few shots had run along the grade or angled down, forcing you to land on a hill sloped from side to side.

The routing, while not hard to follow, is a little peculiar. Hole 1 is across the street from the rest of the course, and a few times you walk right by one tee on your way to the next one.

Other Thoughts:

I finally got to play the Warner, after playing the other two IDGC courses multiple times and playing the front-9 once. It was a great joy. I was a bit surprised because, just glancing at it, it looked very similar to the Headrick course, but playing it, it has its own, rather different personality.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Latest posts

Top