• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

SoCal Noob

traumadiver

Bogey Member
I started playing in January and have really gotten hooked. Ive got a few really nice courses around me and am starting to play 2 to 3 times a week.

I currently have in the bag ,

175g Monarch (champ) <-- Straight line Drives
165g Monarch (champ) <-- Straight line Drives
172g Valkyrie (dx) <-- Hyzer drives
150g Valkyrie (dx) <-- Hyver Drives
168g Katana X-out (champ) <-- used for hard left hooks about 200 feet out
168g Wahoo (pro) Afraid of the water at a local course that ive lost 2 in
171g Buzz (esp) fairly beat in, found this one, whil search ing for another lost
167g Buzz (z)
177g Mako (champ glo)
170g Avair (dx)
168g Soft Banger GT (x) Love this thing
150g Avair (dx) dont like it

I feel pretty great about my midgame, and I do well putting :thmbup: ... But Driving... Well if you put one single tree in a field.... I will hit it every time :doh: . I am starting to feel better with the spin and distance from my drives but just having a hard time keeping them on target. I have been playing alot of Night Golf lately (less people and way cooler) and was making progress for a while but the last couple times ive just been off :wall: ...

Any tips and tricks for the new guy?

Try a champion teebird very easy to control and fly very straight. Don't get the plus mold I recommend the 12x. I learned how to play disc golf on that disc and i still carry it in my bag.

Welcome to the site and the sport.

The best advice I could give you would be to join a local league. Playing with like minded people who genuinely want to help you get better is the best thing you could do right now!