• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

[Drivers] Your go to disc for nothing but distance?

John8116

For a wide open, zero elevation, zero wind, 500 feet straight line tee pad to basket shot where the best lie would be whatever is closest to the pin,
what disc are you throwing?

What's the ground surface like? My only chance of getting to 500' would be a roller.

For air distance, tho, flippy pop-top star wraith.

I can't reach 500 feet so I would throw my buzzz twice on that hole, park my upshot and hole out. Now if the hole were say 350, I would hyzer flip my vision.

My max distance throws are backhand. I'm not very good at throwing rollers. I'd most likely throw a beefy Star Destroyer on an anny flex line. I feel a lot more accurate with flex shots than I do with hyzer flips. Though I'm not really sure if I throw farther hyzer flipping a flippy Destroyer or flexing an overstable one.

For a wide open, zero elevation, zero wind, 500 feet straight line tee pad to basket shot where the best lie would be whatever is closest to the pin,
what disc are you throwing?

500 ft.? I'll ask Paul McBeth to throw a disc for me, because I'll need either his arm or a slingshot of Philistine proportions to get a disc 500 feet.

Having said that, when I am throwing a disc for the maximum distance I can get, I'll throw a Star Tern or Blizzard Teedevil.

JMHO, YMMV.

Last edited:
I can't get there on a drive! But, no wind? I have nicely seasoned 149gr Starlite Wraith that I can throw further than either of my Terns.