• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Where to work first?

MOTHERBRAIN

Greetings to all. I'm fairly new to the game, so I thought I'd ask for some advice from the more experienced players here. I've been bitten hard by the disc golf bug, and I've got a few discs and a bag and I've played several rounds. I'm pretty consistently shooting between 25 and 30 over through 22 holes.

My question is, what part of the game should I really focus on improving first? A poor drive can set an entire hole up for failure, but a good drive and upshot aren't worth a whole lot if you can't sink the putt. Since all areas of my game are more or less equally lacking, what do y'all think should be my initial area of concern?

Hey, welcome to the sport of disc golf, and welcome to DGCR! As a new player, I would suggest taking time to familiarize yourself with the site and all of the available features. DGCR is full of amazing resources, so find them and use them. Any questions, feel free to ask. The people here are great and very helpful.

All aspects of the game are equally important. I would try to develop a practice routine that allows time to focus on driving, approach, and putting. Like you said, a bad drive can leave you without an approach, a good drive and an approach shot that lands 50ft away leaves you with a low percentage putt, and putting an approach shot 15ft away and missing the putt, well, they all are basically the same result, extra shots added to your score.